DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant’s response filed on 02/02/2026 to a Requirement for Election/Restriction mailed on 12/18/2025 for Application #18/617,436 filed on 03/26/2024 in which Claims 1-20 are pending, Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from current consideration due to a restriction election as non-elected claims.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 11-20 are now pending, of which Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102, Claims 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant’s Most Recent Claim Set of 05/15/2024
Applicant’s most recent claim set of 05/15/2024 is considered to be the latest claim set under consideration by the examiner.
Prior Art Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by American Bar Association (Digital Signature Guidelines Tutorial, American Bar Association Section of Science and Technology Information Security Committee, 2002).
Regarding Claim 1, American Bar Association discloses:
A communication method, wherein the method comprises: receiving first system information from a network device, wherein the first system information comprises a first signature; determining a first digest based on the first signature; determining a second digest based on the first system information; and in response to determining that the first digest matches the second digest, storing or applying the first system information [(American Bar Association Page 4 Par 5 Lines 1-7, Par 6 Lines 1-5, Par 7 Lines 1-12; Page 6 Par 6 Lines 1-5) where American Bar Association teaches the industry standard digital signature procedure, in which a message or file to be signed and transmitted from a sending network device to a receiving network device, is signed by the sender’s private key, the resulting signature being inserted into the signed message or signed file before transmission to the receiver, this signature created by computing a hash digest of a delimited area in the message or file to be signed, then signing the computed hash digest with the sender’s private key, creating a digital signature from the hash digest that is unique to both the message and the sender’s private key, then upon receipt of the message by the receiving network device, reversing the procedure by using the sender’s public key to retrieve the unsigned hash digest form the signature, then re-compute the hash over the received message’s delimited area using the same hash algorithm for comparison with the received signature’s decoded unsigned hash digest, with a match indicating that the signature is verified, and the transmitted message or file is authenticated, this is the identical procedure defined in these more broadly written claim limitations of Claim 1, and has been in regular use in industry as the industry standard PKI digital signature algorithm for decades].
Regarding Claim 2, American Bar Association discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a second digest based on the first system information comprises: setting a field corresponding to the first signature in the first system information to preset content, to obtain first information; and determining the second digest based on the first information [(American Bar Association Page 4 Par 5 Lines 1-7, Par 6 Lines 1-5, Par 7 Lines 1-12; Page 6 Par 6 Lines 1-5) where American Bar Association teaches the industry standard PKI digital signature algorithm described above in the limitation coverage for the limitations of Claim 1, which also completely read on and cover these limitations in Claim 2] .
Regarding Claim 4, American Bar Association discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a second digest based on the first system information comprises: when the first system information comprises second information and the first signature, determining the second digest based on the second information. [(American Bar Association Page 4 Par 5 Lines 1-7, Par 6 Lines 1-5, Par 7 Lines 1-12; Page 6 Par 6 Lines 1-5) where American Bar Association teaches the industry standard PKI digital signature algorithm described above in the limitation coverage for the limitations of Claim 1, plus additional information inserted into the message or file to be transmitted of a time-stamp that is capable of aiding in verifying the signature] .
Regarding Claim 5, American Bar Association discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first signature is carried in an extension field in the first system information [(American Bar Association Page 4 Par 5 Lines 1-7, Par 6 Lines 1-5, Par 7 Lines 1-12; Page 6 Par 6 Lines 1-5) where American Bar Association teaches the industry standard PKI digital signature algorithm described above in the limitation coverage for the limitations of Claim 1, plus that the digital signature is normally attached to the transmitted message including the first system information, which indicates it would be in an extension field].
Regarding Claim 16, American Bar Association discloses:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the determining a second digest based on the first information comprises determining the second digest based on the first information by using a hash function [(American Bar Association Page 4 Par 5 Lines 1-7, Par 6 Lines 1-5, Par 7 Lines 1-12; Page 6 Par 6 Lines 1-5) where American Bar Association teaches the industry standard PKI digital signature algorithm described above in the limitation coverage for the limitations of Claim 1, including the use of a hash function in computing the hash digests used in creating the signature and verifying the signature based on the message or first information].
Regarding Claim 17, American Bar Association discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first digest matches the second digest when the first digest and the second digest correspond based on a preset rule [(American Bar Association Page 4 Par 5 Lines 1-7, Par 6 Lines 1-5, Par 7 Lines 1-12; Page 6 Par 6 Lines 1-5) where American Bar Association teaches the industry standard PKI digital signature algorithm described above in the limitation coverage for the limitations of Claim 1, including that the first digest and the second digest correspond based on a preset rule that they need to match].
Regarding Claim 18, American Bar Association discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first digest matches the second digest when the first digest is the same as the second digest [(American Bar Association Page 4 Par 5 Lines 1-7, Par 6 Lines 1-5, Par 7 Lines 1-12; Page 6 Par 6 Lines 1-5) where American Bar Association teaches the industry standard PKI digital signature algorithm described above in the limitation coverage for the limitations of Claim 1 including that the first digest and the second digest correspond when they match].
Regarding Claim 11:
It is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 12:
It is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 14:
It is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 15:
It is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 19:
It is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 16. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 16 above.
Regarding Claim 20:
It is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claims 17 or 18. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claims 17 or 18 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over American Bar Association (Digital Signature Guidelines Tutorial, American Bar Association Section of Science and Technology Information Security Committee, 2002) and further in view of Galand et al US Patent #6,317,433.
Regarding Claim 3, American Bar Association discloses:
The method according to claim 2, wherein:
American Bar Association does not appear to explicitly disclose:
the preset content is that all bits comprised in the field are 0; or the preset content is that all bits comprised in the field are 1
However, Galand et al discloses:
the preset content is that all bits comprised in the field are 0; or the preset content is that all bits comprised in the field are 1 [(Galand et al Column 4 Lines 20-23) where Galand et al teaches that as part of a computerized mathematical computation that all bits in a preset field are preset to 0].
American Bar Association and Galand et al are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem-solving area,”. Namely, they are all from the field of “information security”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of American Bar Association and the teachings of Galand et al by providing that that as part of a computerized mathematical computation that all bits in a preset field are preset to 0 as taught by Galand et al in the teaching described by American Bar Association.
The motivation for doing so would be to increase the usability and flexibility of American Bar Association by providing that as part of a computerized mathematical computation that all bits in a preset field are preset to 0 as taught by Galand et al in the teaching described by American Bar Association so as to utilize an Industry Standard computerized mathematical computation custom of presetting all bits in a preset field to an established value in order to affect the outcome of the computation in a predetermined fashion.
Regarding Claim 13:
It is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al - US_20200145821: Lee et al teaches the use of signature verification in communication messages.
Paya et al - US_20080229111: Paya et al teaches authentication of signatures.
/BRADLEY W HOLDER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408