DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 3/26/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9, and 15 are independent claims.
This application claims benefit of Priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) from Provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63613728, filed on 12/21/2023.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive since TPC is part of IEEE 802.11h standards which was approved in 2003. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CONTROLLING OVERALL RF EMISSION LIMITS FOR CLIENT DEVICE which is the title of the provisional application the instant application claims benefit to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10, 12-13, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindswamy et al., US Patent No. 10681651, Filed on 03/29/2017 (hereinafter Govindswamy) in view of Desai et al., US Patent No. 12342291, Filed on 8/17/2022 (hereinafter Desai).
For independent claim 1 Govindswamy discloses
one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, a combination of the one or more processors configured to:
(Govindswamy [column 6, line 34-37] discloses “For example, user may be listening to music over Bluetooth while accessing internet from WWAN through the WLAN which may be serving as a hotspot (Access Point).”; Govindswamy [column 10, line 35-42] discloses “The application processor subsystem 101 as shown in FIG. 8 may include a controller 108 such as a microcontroller, another processor or other circuitry.” FIG.8 further discloses the memory and peripherals)
determine a location of a first device (user device);
(Govindswamy [column 1, line 21-25] discloses “The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and other regulatory agencies require electronic devices to reduce the RF transmit power of a user device when in close proximity to a human body to keep SAR at or below allowed levels.”
Govindswamy [column 6, line 38-59] discloses “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, if user proximity is detected, the RF transmit power reduction for meeting SAR requirements may be performed according to the total power PTXTOTAL of WWAN RF transmitter and WLAN RF transmitter.”)
determine, second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN)) for a wireless fidelity (WiFi) radio of the first device (user device);
(Govindswamy [column 1, line 57-65] discloses “A user device may support communication over a Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN). One of the most commonly used WLAN technology is based on the IEEE 802.11 standards and it is also commonly known as Wi-Fi. The terms WLAN and Wi-Fi may be used interchangeably herein.”
Govindswamy [column 3, line 11-16] also discloses “according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device”. Govindswamy discloses a user device may have a capability to communicate with a mobile wireless network based on different radio access technology (RAT). WLAN and WWAN are example of RAT. Total RF power is maintained to ensure the device will not transmit more than the PTXTOTAL.)
and in response to determining that a total power transmitted (WLAN+WWAN RF power) by the first device (wireless communication device) would exceed a threshold transmission power (predetermined emission requirement) if the first device transmitted using the first amount of power for the WiFi radio of the first device, reduce a power transmitted by at least one radio (RF power of WWAN) of the first device so that the first device is allowed to transmit using the first amount of power for the WiFi radio (RF power of WLAN or WiFi) of the first device.
(Govindswamy [column 3, line 6-16] further discloses ” In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for emission control at a wireless communication device may include controlling, by a processing device at the wireless communication device, when proximity of a user to the wireless communication device is detected, reducing radio frequency (RF) transmit power of the wireless communication device to satisfy a predetermined emission requirement, according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device ”. )
Govindswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose “an access point” and “based on the location of the first device”. However, Desai discloses an access point and device configured to determine and based on the location of the first device a first amount of power
(Desai [column 1, line 51-66] discloses “A network of access points may be provided. Access points operating in a low power indoor (LPI) mode and access points operating in a standard power (SP or SPI) mode are identified. The access points operating in an SP or SPI mode are sorted by available frequencies and maximum power budget.”
Desai [column 2, line 56-57] discloses “FIG. 1 is a chart 100 illustrating permissible locations for power levels for a given frequency spectrum.”
Desai [column 2, line 48-55] discloses “From the radio frequency (RF) point of view, 6 GHz brings a unique set of challenges with a subset of the spectrum being regulated by automated frequency coordination (AFC) that governs whether a set of radios can operate at lower power (e.g., LPI: low power indoors) or operate at standard power (SP), which can support a higher effective isotropic radiated power (EiRP) of up to 36 dBm in certain regulatory domains.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Desai with Govindswamy for the benefit
of having an access point to manage the transmit power of other devices within the access point network. Access point further integrated with AFC to determine the permissible power level at a given location for a device. The combine further benefits a fast integration of devices for a given location to reduce impact on radio interference and mitigate radiation impact to nearby human.
Claim 3, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Govindswamy discloses the access point of Claim 1,
wherein reducing the total power transmitted by the first device (wireless communication device) comprises reducing a transmission power of a cellular radio of the first device.
(Govindswamy [column 3, line 6-16] further discloses ” In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for emission control at a wireless communication device may include controlling, by a processing device at the wireless communication device, when proximity of a user to the wireless communication device is detected, reducing radio frequency (RF) transmit power of the wireless communication device to satisfy a predetermined emission requirement, according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device ”. )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Desai with Govindswamy for the benefit with an AP integrated with AFC to regulate the maximum transmission power for a device at a given location. AP is using TPC commands to alter the transmission power of a mobile device.
Claim 5, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Govindswamy discloses the access point of Claim 1,
wherein the threshold transmission power is
(Govindswamy [column 1, line 57-65] discloses “A user device may support communication over a Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN). One of the most commonly used WLAN technology is based on the IEEE 802.11 standards and it is also commonly known as Wi-Fi. The terms WLAN and Wi-Fi may be used interchangeably herein.” In the same paragraph, Govindswamy further discloses “the maximum RF transmit power for Wi-Fi may be up to 20 dBm as per FCC regulations. It may vary depending on regional regulatory requirements.”
Govindswamy [column 7, line 63-66] discloses “Specifically, the threshold THRa above which the RF transmit power reduction may be required for meeting SAR requirements is configured based on values obtained from measurements.”)
Govindswamy does not appear to explicitly discloses device comprising reported by a cellular network. However, Desai discloses device comprising reported by a cellular network.
(Desai [column 5, line 8-18] discloses “Furthermore, like outdoor access points, all access points having an external antenna are mandated by Automated Frequency Control (AFC). AFC allows access points operating in the 6 GHz spectrum to operate at a Standard Power of about 23 dBm/MHz, which is about 36 dBm EiRP at 20 MHz. AFC requires candidate access points to report their geolocation and to enforce a revised set of frequencies with a power budget every 24 hours.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Desai with Govindswamy for the benefit of having a threshold transmission power reported by a cellular network to detect the transmit power (frequency) supported by each device at a designated location. Further Enabling self-locating networks for easy, fast and cost-efficient WLAN deployment for navigation and 6GHz AFC operations.
Claim 6, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Govindswamy discloses the access point of Claim 1,
wherein determining that the first device is allowed to transmit using the first amount of power (maximum budget) for the WiFi radio of the first device comprises
(Govindswamy [column 1, line 57-65] discloses “A user device may support communication over a Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN). One of the most commonly used WLAN technology is based on the IEEE 802.11 standards and it is also commonly known as Wi-Fi. The terms WLAN and Wi-Fi may be used interchangeably herein.”
Govindswamy [column 3, line 1-3] further discloses “The present disclosure may be applied to any user device that employs an RF transmitter and a proximity type of sensor.”
Govindswamy [column 3, line 11-16] also discloses “according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device”. Govindswamy discloses a user device may have a capability to communicate with a mobile wireless network based on different radio access technology (RAT). WLAN and WWAN are example of RAT. The object is to limit the total transmission power for the user device, thus, the first and second transmit powers already assigned to respective transmitter.)
Govindswamy does not appear to explicitly discloses referencing an automated frequency coordination database. However, Desai discloses device comprising referencing an automated frequency coordination database
(Desai [column 5, line 48-62] discloses “The SPI and SP radios are then sorted by the set of available frequencies at which they operate, which is determined from the AFC system. The candidate Access points are sorted by ascending order, from the lowest frequency to the highest frequency. The candidate access points are also sorted in descending order by maximum EiRP budget allowed on these allowed frequencies. The maximum budget is provided by the AFC system. A composite RF density score is calculated for the neighborhood of access points based on the station density around each access point and also based on radio neighborhood information such as the EiRP for each radio in the neighborhood and location of the access points. A lower composite RF score corresponds to a sparse deployment of access points and a higher score corresponds to a denser deployment of access points.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Desai with Govindswamy for the benefit of referencing an automated frequency coordination database for the maximum transmit power (frequency) supported for each device at a designated location. Further Enabling self-locating networks for easy, fast and cost-efficient WLAN deployment for navigation and 6GHz AFC operations.
As for independent claim 8, claim 8 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in independent claim 1, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 10, limitation of parent claim 8 have been discussed above. Claim 10 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 3, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 12, limitation of parent claim 8 have been discussed above. Claim 12 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 5, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 13, limitation of parent claim 8 have been discussed above. Claim 13 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 6, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 15, claim 15 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in independent claim 1, and is rejected along the same rationale.
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instruction that, when executed by a combination of one or more processors, cause the combination of one or more processors to:
(Govindswamy [column 10, line 57-67] discloses “In one example, the controller 118 and/or the signal processor 110 may include or control the protocol entity circuitry. The software may reside in internal or external memory and any data may be stored in such memory. The hardware may be an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), field programmable gate array (FPGA), discrete logic components or any combination of such devices. The terms controller and processor are used interchangeably herein. The consumer electronics devices that may use the aspects of the disclosure may include smartphones, tablets, laptops”)
As for claim 17, limitation of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Claim 17 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 3, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 19, limitation of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Claim 19 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 5, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 20, limitation of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Claim 20 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 6, and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindswamy in view of Desai in view of Liu et al., US Patent No. 9215666, Published on 12/15/2015 (hereinafter Liu).
As for claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Govindswamy discloses the access point of Claim 1, wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to,
in response to determining that the first device reduced the total power transmitted by the first device,
(Govindswamy [column 3, line 6-16] further discloses ” In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for emission control at a wireless communication device may include controlling, by a processing device at the wireless communication device, when proximity of a user to the wireless communication device is detected, reducing radio frequency (RF) transmit power of the wireless communication device to satisfy a predetermined emission requirement, according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device ”. )
Govindswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose “instruct the first device to transmit using the first amount of power”. However, Liu discloses device configured to
instruct the first device to transmit using the first amount of power
(Liu Fig. 4 is a “flowchart of an exemplary embodiment of an AP transmit power control (TPC) procedure when the AP has the information on the per link packet/frame loss rate in accordance with the principles of the present invention.” At block 465, Liu discloses “set Tx power for transmission to client” after the frame loss rate is greater than the set threshold. The uplink or bandwidth from client to AP to be altered base on frame loss rate (FLR))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu with Govindswamy and Desai for the benefit of having an AP to instruct the first device to transmit using the first amount of power. Further benefit with an AP integrated with AFC to regulate the maximum transmission power for a device at a given location. AP is using TPC commands to alter the transmission power of a mobile device.
Claim 4, limitations of parent claim 3 have been discussed above. Govindswamy discloses the access point of Claim 3,
wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to
(Govindswamy [column 3, line 6-16] further discloses “In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for emission control at a wireless communication device may include controlling, by a processing device at the wireless communication device, when proximity of a user to the wireless communication device is detected, reducing radio frequency (RF) transmit power of the wireless communication device to satisfy a predetermined emission requirement, according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device ”.
Govindswamy [column 9, line 29-38] discloses “Yet another commonly used duplexing method is Half-duplex FDD (H-FDD). In this method, different frequencies are used for DL and UL but the client devices may not perform receive and transmit operations at the same time. Similar to TDD wireless communication systems, a client terminal using H-FDD method may periodically switch between DL and UL operations. For example, in every 5 ms time duration, during the first half, DL operation may be performed and during the second half, UL operation may be performed.”)
Govindswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose device configured to instruct the first device to increase a bandwidth of the cellular radio. However, Liu discloses device configured to instruct the first device to increase a bandwidth of the cellular radio
(Liu Fig. 4 is a flowchart of an exemplary embodiment of an AP transmit power control (TPC) procedure when the AP has the information on the per link packet/frame loss rate in accordance with the principles of the present invention.” At block 465, Liu discloses “set Tx power for transmission to client”. The frame loss rate is greater than the set threshold. The uplink or bandwidth from client to AP to be altered base on FLR by adjusting the transmission power.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu with Govindswamy and Desai for the benefit of having a method to instruct the first device to increase a bandwidth of the cellular radio. Further benefit to combine is for the AP to dynamically adjust the UL TX power on the device to increase/decrease the bandwidth base on the frame loss rate (FLR).
Claim 7 The access point of Claim 1, wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to:
determine a location of a second device (user device);
(Govindswamy [column 1, line 21-25] discloses “The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and other regulatory agencies require electronic devices to reduce the RF transmit power of a user device when in close proximity to a human body to keep SAR at or below allowed levels.”
Govindswamy [column 6, line 38-59] discloses “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, if user proximity is detected, the RF transmit power reduction for meeting SAR requirements may be performed according to the total power PTXTOTAL of WWAN RF transmitter and WLAN RF transmitter.”)
determine,
(Govindswamy [column 1, line 57-65] discloses “A user device may support communication over a Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN). One of the most commonly used WLAN technology is based on the IEEE 802.11 standards and it is also commonly known as Wi-Fi. The terms WLAN and Wi-Fi may be used interchangeably herein.”
Govindswamy [column 3, line 11-16] also discloses “according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device”. Govindswamy discloses a user device may have a capability to communicate with a mobile wireless network based on different radio access technology (RAT). WLAN and WWAN are example of RAT. At the access point, the limitation of total transmit power is the summation of the first RF Power (WWAN) and second RF power(WLAN). Since the first device consumed the first RF power, it is obvious that the second device uses the remaining second RF power. The access point will not transmit more than the total RF power.)
and in response to determining that a total power transmitted by the second device (a total RF power) would fall below the threshold transmission power if the second device transmitted using the second amount of power (total RF power at AP – first amount of power) for the WiFi radio of the second device,
(Govindswamy [column 3, line 6-16] further discloses ” In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method for emission control at a wireless communication device may include controlling, by a processing device at the wireless communication device, when proximity of a user to the wireless communication device is detected, reducing radio frequency (RF) transmit power of the wireless communication device to satisfy a predetermined emission requirement, according to a total RF power PTXTOTAL including a first RF power of a RF transmitter in a Wireless Wide-Area Network (WWAN) modem and a second RF power of an RF transmitter in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) modem of the wireless communication device ”.
Desai discloses an AFC assigns a maximum transmission power per device; thus, the AP will maintain this limitation. Total RF power is the summation of first and second amount of power on the AP. Therefore, the first device consumes the first amount of power on the AP, the remain transmission power is the second amount of power.)
Govindswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose based on the location of the second device and instruct the first device to transmit using the second amount of power. However, Desai discloses device configured to based on the location of the second device transmit using a second amount of power
(Desai [column 2, line 56-57] discloses “FIG. 1 is a chart 100 illustrating permissible locations for power levels for a given frequency spectrum.”
Desai [column 2, line 48-55] discloses “From the radio frequency (RF) point of view, 6 GHz brings a unique set of challenges with a subset of the spectrum being regulated by automated frequency coordination (AFC) that governs whether a set of radios can operate at lower power (e.g., LPI: low power indoors) or operate at standard power (SP), which can support a higher effective isotropic radiated power (EiRP) of up to 36 dBm in certain regulatory domains.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Desai with Govindswamy for the benefit of having a permissible power level at a given location for a device. Also, to allow AP to configure power level to a device. Further benefit to integrate with an AFC for both AP or UE for power assignment to reduce the RF interference.
Govindswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose “based on the location of the second device” and “instruct the first device to transmit using the second amount of power”. However, Liu discloses device configured to instruct the first device to transmit using the second amount of power
(Liu Fig. 4 is a flowchart of an exemplary embodiment of an AP transmit power control (TPC) procedure when the AP has the information on the per link packet/frame loss rate in accordance with the principles of the present invention.” At block 465, Liu discloses “set Tx power for transmission to client” after the frame loss rate is greater than the set threshold. The uplink or bandwidth from client to AP to be altered base on FLR).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu and Desai with Govindswamy for the benefit of having a permissible power level at a given location for a device. Also, to allow AP to configure power level to a device. Further benefit to integrate with an AFC for both AP or UE for power assignment to reduce the RF interference.
As for claim 9, limitation of parent claim 8 have been discussed above. Claim 9 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 2, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 11, limitation of parent claim 10 have been discussed above. Claim 11 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 4, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 14, limitation of parent claim 8 have been discussed above. Claim 10 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 7, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 16, limitation of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Claim 16 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 2, and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 18, limitation of parent claim 17 have been discussed above. Claim 18 reflects the method comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the article of manufacture as claimed in claim 4, and is rejected along the same rationale.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646