DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga et al. (US Patent No.: 9627943) in view of Endo (US Patent No.: 8492941), Kimoto et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0274411 A1), Horii et al. (US Patent No.: 10116178), and Tardy et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2022/0399770 A1).
For claim 1, Tokunaga et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a rotor shaft (reference numeral 10) comprising a shaft channel (reference numeral 11, see figure 21); an end plate (reference numerals 30A, 30B, see figure 21), and a rotor core (reference numeral 20d) disposed about the rotor shaft (reference numeral 10) defining: inner channels (reference numerals 26A, 26B) extending between opposing axial ends of the rotor core (see figure 21); and magnet channels (i.e. between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A which extend in the axial direction) extending between the opposing axial ends of the rotor core (see figure 21), each of the magnet channels (i.e. between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A which extend in the axial direction) containing a magnet (reference numeral 23, see figure 12), wherein: the shaft channel (reference numeral 11) is fluidly connected to the inner channels (reference numerals 26A, 26B) by the inlet passages (reference numerals 41A, 41B); the inner channels (reference numerals 26A, 26B) are fluidly connected to the magnet channels (i.e. between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A which extend in the axial direction) by transition passages (i.e. passages 43A, 43B extending within plates 30A and 30B, see figure 21). Tokunaga et al. however do not specifically disclose inlet passages formed into the end plate, and outlet passages formed at a circumference of the end plate; the inlet passages being at opposing ends of the rotor shaft; the transition passages being positioned axially between the inlet passages; and wherein each of the magnet channels connects to multiple respective the outlet passages positioned at the opposing axial ends of the rotor core; and the inlet passages facing the rotor core.
Having inlet passages formed into the end plate, forming inlet passages at opposing ends of the rotor shaft, and having the inlet passages face the rotor core is a known skill as exhibited by Endo (see figure 1, i.e. inlet passages 62, 72 formed at opposing ends of shaft 51; these inlet passages continue into the end plates 31, 36 as shown in figure 1, and these inlet passages formed in end plates 31, 36 face the rotor core 22, see figure 1); and Kimoto et al. disclose transition passages (see annotated figure below of Kimoto et al.) fluidly connected to the inner channel (reference numeral 35, see figure 1, also see annotated figure below of Kimoto et al.), the transition passages being axially positioned centrally in the core in relation to the inlet passage (see annotated figure below of Kimoto et al.), and when these transition passages are combined with Endo's teaching of inlet passages (reference numeral 62, 72 in figure 1 of Endo) this would disclose the transition passages being positioned axially between the inlet passages. Horii et al. disclose each of the magnet channels (reference numerals 17, 18, see figures 1, 2) connecting to multiple respective outlet passages (reference numerals 28, 32) positioned at the opposing axial ends of the rotor core (reference numeral 11, see figures 1, 2); and Tardy et al. disclose the outlet passages (reference numeral 33, figure 5) being formed at a circumference of the end plate (see figure 5; also end plates 30a, 30b shown in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet passages at opposing ends of the rotor shaft and formed into the end plate as disclosed by Endo and also have transition passages as disclosed by Kimoto et al. so that the transition passages are positioned axially between the inlet passages in Tokunaga et al., and also have magnet channels connecting to multiple outlet passages as disclosed by Horii et al. with the outlet passages being formed at a circumference of the end plate as disclosed by Tardy et al. for the magnet channels of Tokunaga et al., for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating effective cooling flow in the device.
For claim 2, Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a first end plate coupled to a first end of the rotor core, the first end plate at least partially defining first inlet passages and some of the multiple respective outlet passages; and a second end plate coupled to a second end of the rotor core, the second end plate at least partially defining second inlet passages and some of the multiple respective outlet passages. Endo discloses a first end plate (reference numeral 31) coupled to a first end of the rotor core (see figure 1), the first end plate (reference numeral 31) at least partially defining first inlet passages (reference numeral 32, see figure 1); and a second end plate (reference numeral 36) coupled to a second end of the rotor core (see figure 1), the second end plate (reference numeral 36) at least partially defining second inlet passages (reference numeral 37, see figure 1); and Horii et al. disclose first and second end plates (reference numerals 25, 29, figure 1) defining multiple outlet passages (reference numerals 28, 32, see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first end plate defining first inlet passages and a second end plate defining second inlet passages as disclosed by Endo and also have the first and second end plates defining multiple outlet passages as disclosed by Horii et al. for the rotor core of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 3, Tokunaga et al. disclose the first end plate (reference numeral 30A) and the second end plate (reference numeral 30B) at least partially defining an outlet passage (reference numerals 31A, 31B) at each of axially opposing ends of each of the magnet channels (i.e. between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A which extend in the axial direction, see figure 21).
For claim 4, Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the magnet channels radially overlapping a corresponding one of the inner channels. Kimoto et al. further disclose the magnet channels (reference numeral 37, see figure 1, also see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in claim 1 rejection) radially overlapping a corresponding one of the inner channels (reference numeral 35, see figure 1, also see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in claim 1 rejection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channels overlapping in the radial direction as disclosed by Kimoto et al. for the magnet channels and inner channels of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 5, Tokunaga et al. disclose each of the inlet passages (reference numerals 41A, 41B) and the transition passages (i.e. passages 43A, 43B extending within plates 30A and 30B, see figure 21) extending transversely to a rotor axis (i.e. axis Zr in figure 21) extending through the shaft channel (reference numeral 11) and about which the rotor assembly is configured to rotate (see figure 21).
For claim 15, Tokunaga et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: providing the rotor assembly (reference numeral 20) comprising a rotor shaft (reference numeral 10) and a rotor core (reference numeral 20, see figure 3); providing a fluid to a shaft channel (reference numeral 11) of the rotor shaft (reference numeral 10, see figure 3); and directing the fluid to flow through magnet channels (reference numerals 44A, 44B, see figures 12, 14, 15) of the rotor core, wherein the flow of the fluid in a pair of the magnet channels (reference numerals 44A, 44B) is directed in opposing directions (see figures 14, 15) towards each of the opposing axial ends of the rotor core (see rotor core 20 in figures 14, 15), each of the magnet channels (reference numerals 44A, 44B) containing a magnet (reference numeral 23, see figure 12). Tokunaga et al. however do not specifically disclose directing the fluid to flow from the shaft channel and radially through inlet passages, defined in part by an end plate, originating from the shaft channel at opposing axial ends of the rotor core; directing the fluid to flow from the inlet passages and through inner channels; directing the fluid to flow from the inner channels and radially through transition passages that are positioned axially between the inlet passages; wherein the flow of the fluid in each of the magnet channels is directed in opposing directions towards respective outlet passages, formed at a circumference of the end plate, positioned at the opposing axial ends of the rotor core.
Forming inlet passages at opposing ends of the rotor shaft is a known skill as exhibited by Endo (see figure 1, reference numerals 62, 72), the fluid flowing from the shaft channel (reference numeral 52) and radially through the inlet passages (reference numerals 62, 72), defined in part by an end plate (i.e. inlet passages 62, 72 continue from the shaft 51 into end plates 31, 36, see figure 1), originating from the shaft channel (reference numeral 52) at opposing axial ends of the rotor core (reference numeral 22, see figure 1). Kimoto et al. disclose directing the fluid to flow from the inlet passages (reference numeral 54, figure 1, also see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in the claim 1 rejection) and through inner channels (reference numeral 35, see also annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in the claim 1 rejection); directing the fluid to flow from the inner channels (reference numeral 35) and radially through transition passages (see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in the claim 1 rejection), Kimoto et al. disclosing these transition passages to be axially positioned centrally in the core in relation to the inlet passage (see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in the claim 1 rejection), and Horii et al. disclose magnet channels (reference numerals 17, 18, figures 1, 2) being connected to outlet passages (reference numerals 28, 32, see figure 1) positioned at opposing axial ends of the rotor core (reference numeral 11, see figures 1, 2), and when these transition passages are combined with Endo's teaching of inlet passages (reference numeral 62, 72 in figure 1 of Endo) this would disclose the transition passages being positioned axially between the inlet passages, and together with the magnet channels of Tokunaga et al. and Horii et al. the combination would disclose the flow of the fluid in each of the magnet channels being directed in opposing directions towards respective outlet passages positioned at the opposing axial ends of the rotor core. Having the outlet passages formed at a circumference of the end plate is taught by Tardy et al. (i.e. outlet passages 33 in figure 5 being formed at a circumference of the end plate in figure 5; also see end plates 30a, 30b in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet passages originating from the shaft channel at opposing ends of the rotor core and also have inlet passages defined in part by an end plate as disclosed by Endo and also have the inlet passages, inner channels, and transition passages as disclosed by Kimoto et al. so that the transition passages are positioned axially between the inlet passages in Tokunaga et al., and also have magnet channels connected to outlet passages at axially opposing ends of the rotor core as disclosed by Horii et al. and the outlet passages formed at a circumference of the end plate as disclosed by Tardy et al. for the magnet channels of Tokunaga et al., for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating effective cooling flow in the device.
For claim 16, Tokunaga et al. disclose the fluid flowing within the magnet channels (reference numerals 44A, 44B) across each magnet (reference numeral 23, see figure 12).
For claim 17, Tokunaga et al. disclose providing the fluid to the shaft channel (reference numeral 11) comprising operating a pump (reference numeral 8) to receive the fluid from the rotor core (reference numeral 20) and direct the fluid to the shaft channel (reference numeral 11, see figure 3).
For claim 18, Tokunaga et al. disclose directing the fluid away from the magnet channels (reference numeral 44A) via outlet passages (reference numeral 31B, see figure 14).
For claim 19, Tokunaga et al. disclose the fluid flowing through two of the inner channels (reference numerals 42A, 42B) in opposite directions (see figures 14, 15).
For claim 20, Tokunaga et al. disclose directing the fluid to flow comprising rotating the rotor assembly (i.e. centrifugal force caused by the rotation of the shaft, see column 4, lines 28-38).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0384801 A1).
For claim 6, Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the inner channels being fluidly connected to a corresponding one of the magnet channels by at least two transition passages. Forming multiple passages between two channels is a known skill as exhibited by Oh et al. which shows multiple transition passages 141, 142 (see figure 8) which connect one channel 136 and another channel 136 (i.e. two channels 136 that are extending axially as shown in figure 8), which when applied to the inner channels and magnet channels of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. this would disclose each of the inner channels being fluidly connected to a corresponding one of the magnet channels by at least two transition passages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have multiple passages as disclosed by Oh et al. so that the inner channels and the magnet channels would be connected by at least two transition passages for Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ruffing et al. (US Patent No.: 8159094).
For claim 7, Tokunaga et al. disclose the rotor core (reference numeral 20d, figure 21) being formed of multiple layers arranged along a rotor axis (i.e. figure 3 of Tokunaga et al. illustrates the rotor core 20 being formed of multiple layers 21 arranged along a rotor axis), but Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. however do not specifically disclose each of the multiple layers being circumferentially offset with respect to an adjacent other one of the multiple layers such that the magnet channels wind about the rotor axis between the opposing axial ends of the rotor core. Having layers being circumferentially offset for the rotor is a known skill as exhibited by Ruffing et al. which discloses the skewing of rotor laminations (see column 5, lines 9-13, and figure 10), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have circumferentially offset layers as disclosed by Ruffing et al. for the rotor core layers of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., Horii et al., and Tardy et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the fluid flow of the device.
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga et al. (US Patent No.: 9627943) in view of Endo (US Patent No.: 8492941), Kimoto et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0274411 A1), and Horii et al. (US Patent No.: 10116178).
For claim 8, Tokunaga et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a stator (reference numeral 6) comprising stator coils (reference numeral 6C) configured to generate a rotating magnetic field (see figure 21); and a rotor (reference numeral 20d) defining: a rotor core (rotor 20d being a rotor core, see figure 21); a shaft channel (reference numeral 11, see figure 21) extending along a rotor axis (see figure 21); inner channels (reference numerals 26A, 26B) distributed about the shaft channel (reference numeral 11) and configured to receive a fluid from the shaft channel (reference numeral 11) via inlet passages (reference numerals 41A, 41B, figure 21), wherein the inner channels are arranged azimuthally through the rotor core (inner channels 26A, 26B being arranged azimuthally through rotor core 20d, as shown in figure 21); and magnet channels (i.e. between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A which extend in the axial direction) containing magnets (reference numeral 23, see figure 12), being distributed about the inner channels (see figure 21), and being configured to receive the fluid from the inner channels (reference numerals 26A, 26B) via transition passages (i.e. passages 43A, 43B extending within plates 30A and 30B, see figure 21), and the magnet channels are arranged azimuthally through the rotor core (i.e. channels between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A are arranged azimuthally through rotor core 20d, see figure 21). Tokunaga et al. however do not specifically disclose the inlet passages being at opposing ends of the shaft channel; and the transition passages being positioned axially between the inlet passages, wherein each of the magnet channels is configured to direct the fluid to each of multiple respective outlet passages positioned at opposing axial ends of the rotor.
Forming inlet passages at opposing ends of the shaft channel is a known skill as exhibited by Endo (see figure 1, reference numerals 62, 72); and Kimoto et al. disclose transition passages (see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in the claim 1 rejection) fluidly connected to the inner channel (reference numeral 35, see figure 1, also see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in the claim 1 rejection), the transition passages being axially positioned centrally in the core in relation to the inlet passage (see annotated figure above of Kimoto et al. in the claim 1 rejection), and when these transition passages are combined with Endo's teaching of inlet passages (reference numeral 62, 72 in figure 1 of Endo) this would disclose the transition passages being positioned axially between the inlet passages. Horii et al. disclose each of the magnet channels (reference numerals 17, 18, figures 1, 2) being configured to direct the fluid to each of multiple respective outlet passages (reference numerals 28, 32, see figure 1) positioned at opposing axial ends of the rotor (reference numeral 11, see figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet passages at opposing ends of the shaft channel as disclosed by Endo and also have transition passages as disclosed by Kimoto et al. so that the transition passages are positioned axially between the inlet passages in Tokunaga et al., and also have magnet channels directing fluid to multiple outlet passages as disclosed by Horii et al. for the magnet channels of Tokunaga et al., for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating effective cooling flow in the device.
For claim 9, Tokunaga et al. disclose the magnet channels (represented by numeral 24 in figure 12) providing a space on each of opposing sides of each of the magnets (reference numeral 23) for a flow of the fluid (see figure 12).
For claim 11, Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the rotor further comprising end plates coupled to opposing ends of a rotor core, the end plates at least partially defining the inlet passages and the multiple respective outlet passages. Endo discloses end plates (reference numerals 31, 36) coupled to opposing ends of the rotor core (see figure 1), the end plates (reference numerals 31, 36) defining inlet passages (reference numerals 32, 37, see figure 1); and Horii et al. disclose end plates (reference numerals 25, 29, figure 1) defining multiple outlet passages (reference numerals 28, 32, see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the end plates defining inlet passages as disclosed by Endo and also defining outlet passages as disclosed by Horii et al. for the rotor of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 12, Tokunaga et al. disclose the end plates (reference numerals 30A, 30B) at least partially defining an outlet passage (reference numerals 31A, 31B) at each of axially opposing ends of each of the magnet channels (i.e. between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A which extend in the axial direction, see figure 21).
For claim 13, Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the inner channels comprising: first inner channels connected to the shaft channel at a first end of the rotor; and second inner channels connected to the shaft channel at a second end of the rotor. Endo already discloses the shaft channel 61, 71 having an inlet passage 62 formed at one end of the rotor and another inlet passage 72 formed at a second end of the rotor in figure 1, and when applied to the shaft channel of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. this would disclose first inner channels connected to the shaft channel at a first end of the rotor; and second inner channels connected to the shaft channel at a second end of the rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet passages as disclosed by Endo so that the shaft channel would be connected to the first and second inner channels at the first and second ends of the rotor of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function of the device.
For claim 14, Tokunaga et al. disclose a pump (reference numeral 8) configured to receive the fluid from the magnet channels (i.e. between reference numerals 43A and 31B and between numerals 43B and 31A which extend in the axial direction) and direct the fluid to the shaft channel (reference numeral 11, see figure 21).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ruffing et al. (US Patent No.: 8159094).
For claim 10, Tokunaga et al. disclose a rotor core (reference numeral 20d, figure 21) of the rotor being formed of multiple layers arranged along the rotor axis (i.e. figure 3 of Tokunaga et al. illustrates the rotor core 20 being formed of multiple layers 21 arranged along a rotor axis), but Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. do not specifically disclose each of the multiple layers being circumferentially offset with respect to an adjacent other one of the multiple layers such that the magnet channels wind about the rotor axis between opposing axial ends of the rotor core. Having layers being circumferentially offset for the rotor is a known skill as exhibited by Ruffing et al. which discloses the skewing of rotor laminations (see column 5, lines 9-13, and figure 10), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have circumferentially offset layers as disclosed by Ruffing et al. for the rotor core layers of Tokunaga et al. in view of Endo, Kimoto et al., and Horii et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the fluid flow of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. With regard to claim 8, the reference of Tokunaga et al. can still be considered to teach the inner channels and the magnet channels being arranged azimuthally in figure 21.
Conclusion
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834