DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “smooth” in claims 1, 10 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “smooth” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination this is interpreted as no visible signs of roughness.
Claims 2-6, 9, 11-15 and 18-20 depend therefrom.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11958340 in view of Eisel (US Patent No. 3591945)
Instant claim 1 corresponds to patent claim 1 except that instant claim 1 requires the transparent inspection region to be of transparent material including plastic and requires a mounting section of fasteners. However, Eisel (US3591945) does disclose inspection transparent region 11 being mounted by fasteners 19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include fasteners in the instant claim 10 at the inspection region for replacement or removal of the transparent region as shown by Eisel. Eisel additionally discloses the interior of the enclosure comprises a plurality of smooth surfaces and rounded edges(Figure 3, as the housing 22 is clearly circular) as in claim 1 .
In regards to the transparent material such is anticipated by the combination of patent claim 8 and patent 1.
Instant claim 2 correspond to patented claim 2.
Instant claim 3 corresponds to patented claim 3.
Instant claim 4 corresponds to patented claim 4
Instant claim 5 corresponds to patented claim 5
Instant claim 6 corresponds to patented claim 6
Instant claim 9 correspond to patented claim 9.
Claims 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims10-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11958340 in view of Eisel (US Patent No. 3591945)
With respect to instant claim 10 and 16 correspond to patented claim 10 except that patented claim 10 does not disclose an inspection region having a plurality of fasteners. However, Eisel (US3591945) does disclose inspection transparent region 11 being mounted by fasteners 19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include fasteners in the instant claim 10 at the inspection region for replacement or removal of the transparent region as shown by Eisel. Eisel additionally discloses the interior of the enclosure comprises a plurality of smooth surfaces and rounded edges (Figure 3, as the housing 22 is clearly circular) as in claim 10 .
Instant claims 11-15 correspond to patented claims 11-15 respectively.
Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11958340 in view of Eisel (US Patent No. 3591945).
Limitations of Claim 17-18 corresponds to the combination of patent claims 1, 7-9 except for the plurality of fasteners. However, Eisel (US3591945) does disclose inspection transparent region 11 being mounted by fasteners 19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include fasteners in the instant claim 10 at the inspection region for replacement or removal of the transparent region as shown by Eisel. Eisel additionally discloses the interior of the enclosure comprises a plurality of smooth surfaces and rounded edges(Figure 3, as the housing 22 is clearly circular) as in claim 17 .
In regards to claim 19, Eisel discloses a rubber seal. It would have been obvious to include a rubber seal 28 for the gasket of instant claim 17 in order to effectively seal the enclosure.
In regards to claim 20 mere changes in shape of the inspection region is well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in order to conform the inspection region to the general shape of the enclosure. Mere change in shape being obvious expedient without further criticality see MPEP 2144.04 IV. B
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Eisel (US 3591945)
Eisel teaches an air box (figures 1-3) for communicating an airstream from one or more aerodynamic elements of a vehicle to an air intake duct of an engine, the air box comprising:
an enclosure (12,27) configured to support the air filter (14) within an interior of the enclosure; one air inlet (23) that are configured to receive the airstream from one or more air inlet ports
a duct (21,24) configured to direct the airstream from the one or more air inlets to the interior of the enclosure, wherein the duct joins the interior with smooth edges configured to decrease turbulence and air resistance through the airbox (figure 3, the joining, which shows no roughness, between duct 21 and interior defined b 12 and 27);
a substantially transparent inspection region(11) disposed on a surface of the enclosure, the inspection region including a window comprised of a substantially transparent material comprising one of glass, plastic, or a combination thereof(col. 3 lines 15-20), configured so that an exterior of the air filter and conditions within the interior of the enclosure may be viewed without requiring complete uninstallation of the air box (col. 2 lines 25-30), wherein the inspection region further comprises a mounting section including a plurality of fasteners(18,19) for attachment to the enclosure;
and a conduit (16,17) configured to communicate the airstream from an interior of the air filter to the air intake duct.
Eisel further discloses wherein the duct and the interior of the enclosure comprises a plurality of smooth surfaces and rounded edges (Figure 3 shows housing 22 as circular edges) .
In regard to claim 4 Eisel discloses an opening coupled to the air inlet port (23) the inlet port has an opening as seen in figures 1-3.
In regards to claim 6 there is a flat surface 27 engaging the air intake duct (16,17) and a seal 29 engaging the air intake duct.
In regard to claim 7 and 8 the window (11) is transparent and made of recited materials including glass and plastic (col 3 lines 15-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11124059are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wall et al (US11124059) taken together with Eisel (US 3591945).
The applied reference has a common inventor Steve Williams with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Watt et al. discloses as in claim 1, 10 and 17 an airbox 100 with an enclosure 108 having a filter element 124,
One or more air inlets 104 communicating with one or more air inlet ports 168,
A duct 112 to direct air from inlets to the enclosure interior 120,wherein the duct joins the interior with smooth edges configured to decrease turbulence and air resistance through the air box (figure 12, 112 connecting with 120 with no visible rough spots)
An inspection region having a transparent window 188 and a mounting region 184 having flat panel and plurality of fasteners (col. 8 lines 33-35). It is clear window 188 is part of the unnumbered flat panel over opening 180 as shown in figures 1-4, this window would also allow for the exterior of the air filter and conditions within the interior of the enclosure to be viewed
And a conduit 128 to communicate airflow form enclosure interior to air intake duct (col 4 line 64),
Wall et al further disclose wherein the duct and the interior of the enclosure comprises a plurality of smooth surfaces and rounded edges configured to decrease turbulence and air resistance through the air box, thereby improving performance of the engine. (col. 5 lines 1-5)
In regards to claims 2,3,11,12 Wall et al disclose supports to couple the enclosure air box to engine mounts
In regard to claim 4 Wall et al disclose air inlets having opening coupled to corresponding air inlet ports (col. 2 lines 35-40).
In regards to claims 5, 10 Wall et al disclose a gasket 172 surrounding perimeter edge of air inlets (col 2 lines 59-62)
In regards to claim 6 and 13 Wall et al disclose a flat surface and base including a seal to receive air filter (col 5 lines 40-50)
In regards to claim 14 the window is transparent (col. 8 line 50).
Wall et al does not disclose as in claim 1 ,15,17 the material the transparent window is comprised. However, Eisel discloses a similar air box with a transparent inspection region formed of like materials (col 3 lines 15-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the window of Wats et al of glass or plastic as in Eisel as such are well known material for forming transparent windows in air boxes and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Wall et al does not disclose a plurality of windows as in claim 10 and 17. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of windows such providing multiple viewpoints. To increase for multiplied effect being well within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regards to claim 18 Watts et al disclose the plate having a locking mechanism (unlabeled fasteners and gasket of unlabeled flat panel (col 8 lines 33—45)
With regards to claim 19 the gasket seal is pliable in Walls et al (col. 2 line 66).
In regards to claim 20, Wallet al does not disclose the window to be an annular configuration. However mere change in shape being an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the shape of the inspection region to annular depending on the engine obstructions and construction to allow better view.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 9-15 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
AMBER ROSE ORLANDO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/AMBER R ORLANDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731