DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamgaing et al. (2016/0020165, hereafter Kamgaing).
Regarding claim 1, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (102, par. 0025); a first passivation structure (M7/230) over the substrate and defining a first opening; a first conductive pattern (236 lower) formed in the first opening; a second passivation structure (M6/230) over the first conductive pattern and the first passivation structure, wherein a part of the second passivation structure defines a second opening (M6), and wherein another part of the second passivation structure defines a third opening (230) that extends through the second opening; and a second conductive pattern (236 middle) that extends through the second opening and the third opening of the second passivation structure, wherein the part (M6) is disposed between the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern (Fig. 6).
Kamgaing fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second passivation structure comprises a high-resolution polymer and a high-function polymer, wherein the high-function polymer of the second passivation structure defines a second opening, wherein the high-resolution polymer of the second passivation structure defines a third opening and high-function polymer disposed between the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern.
However, in another embodiment, Kamgaing teaches wherein the second passivation structure (D3) comprises a high-resolution polymer and a high-function polymer (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036), wherein the high-function polymer of the second passivation structure defines a second opening (228, par. 0036), wherein the high-resolution polymer of the second passivation structure defines a third opening (224, par. 0034) and the high-function polymer is disposed between the first conductive pattern (236 lower) and the second conductive pattern (236 upper) (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing by providing high-resolution and high-function polymers in order to increase transistor density and improve performance while facilitating advanced packaging architectures.
Regarding claim 2, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein a part defines the second opening comprising a first via (M6) extending to the first conductive pattern (236 lower), wherein another part defines the third opening comprising a second via (230) extending through the first via to the first conductive pattern (Fig. 6).
Kamgaing fails to explicitly disclose the high-function polymer defines the second opening wherein the high-resolution polymer defines the third opening.
However, Kamgaing teaches the high-function polymer defines the second opening (228, par. 0036), the high-resolution polymer defines the third opening (224, par. 0034) (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing by providing high-resolution and high-function polymers in order to increase transistor density and improve performance while facilitating advanced packaging architectures.
Regarding claim 4, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein the high-function polymer comprises a dielectric constant (Dk) less than 3.0 (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 5, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein the high-function polymer comprises a dissipation factor (Df) less than 0.004 (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 6, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein the high-resolution polymer comprises a material capable of patterning at a resolution value less than 2 micrometers (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 7, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein the high-function polymer comprises a first organic (inherent in ABF, par. 0034) and the high-resolution polymer comprises a second organic (inherent in LCP, par. 0034).
Regarding claim 13, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (102, par. 0025); a first dielectric material over the substrate and defining a first opening (230); a first conductive pattern (236 lower) formed in the first opening; a second dielectric material (228) disposed over the first conductive pattern and the first dielectric material, wherein the second dielectric material comprises a high-function polymer that defines a second opening (par. 0036); a third dielectric material (224) disposed over the second dielectric material, wherein the third dielectric material comprises a high-resolution polymer that defines a third opening (par. 0034); and a second conductive pattern (236 upper) extending through the second opening of the high-function polymer and through the third opening of the high-resolution polymer, wherein the high-function polymer (228) is disposed between the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern (Fig. 6).
Kamgaing fails to explicitly disclose a third material extending into the second opening.
However, in another embodiment, Kamgaing teaches a third material (230) extending into the second opening (M5/234) (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing by implementing a material extending into another opening in order to provide structural reinforcement, reduce mechanical stress, and establish electrical continuity between layers.
Regarding claim 14, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein a first via (234) extending through the second dielectric material (230/234) to the first conductive pattern (236 lower), wherein a second via (230) extending through the first via to the first conductive pattern (236 lower) (Fig. 6).
Kamgaing fails to explicitly disclose the high-function polymer defines a first via, wherein the high-resolution polymer defines a second via.
However, in another embodiment, Kamgaing teaches the high-function polymer defines a first via (228, par. 0036), wherein the high-resolution polymer defines a second via (224, par. 0034) (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing by providing high-resolution and high-function polymers such that a material extends into another opening in order to increase transistor density and improve performance while facilitating advanced packaging architectures and provide structural reinforcement, reduce mechanical stress, and establish electrical continuity between layers.
Regarding claim 15, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein the high-function polymer comprises a dielectric constant (Dk) less than 3.0 (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 16, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein the high-function polymer comprises a dissipation factor (Df) less than 0.004 (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 17, Kamgaing discloses an electronic device wherein the high-resolution polymer comprises a material capable of patterning at a resolution value less than 2 micrometers (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 18, Kamgaing discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate (102, par. 0025); providing a first dielectric material over the substrate (230), wherein the first dielectric material defines a first opening; providing a first conductive pattern (236 lower) in the first opening; providing a second dielectric material (228) over the first conductive pattern and the first dielectric material, wherein the second dielectric material comprises a high-function polymer (par. 0036) and defines a second opening; providing a third dielectric material (224) over the second dielectric material and extending into the second opening, wherein the third dielectric material comprises a high-resolution polymer (par. 0034) and defines a third opening; and providing a second conductive pattern (236 upper) disposed in the third opening of the third dielectric material (Fig. 6).
Kamgaing fails to explicitly disclose a third opening extending through the second opening wherein the high-resolution polymer in the second opening separates the second conductive pattern from the high-function polymer defining the second opening.
However, in another embodiment, Kamgaing teaches a third opening (230) extending through the second opening (M5/234) wherein the high-resolution polymer in the second opening (par. 0039) separates the second conductive pattern (236) from the high-function polymer defining the second opening (from above) (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing by providing high-resolution and high-function polymers such that a material extends into another opening in order to increase transistor density and improve performance while facilitating advanced packaging architectures and provide structural reinforcement, reduce mechanical stress, and establish electrical continuity between layers.
Regarding claim 19, Kamgaing discloses a method wherein the high-function polymer comprises a dielectric constant (Dk) less than 3.0 and a dissipation factor (Df) less than 0.004 (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 20, Kamgaing discloses a method wherein the high-resolution polymer comprises a material capable of patterning at a resolution value less than or equal to 2 micrometers (inherent in LCP, par. 0034, 0036).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamgaing in view of Jang et al. (2022/0157730, hereafter Jang).
Regarding claim 3, Kamgaing, discussed above, fails to disclose an electronic device further comprising a seed layer extending through the first via and the second via to the first conductive pattern.
However, Jang teaches electronic device further comprising a seed layer (par. 0046-0047) extending through the first via (115) and the second via (132) to the first conductive pattern (122/131) (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing with Jang by providing a seed layer extending through the vias in order to act as an adhesion-promoting and electrically conductive base enabling uniform electroplating while preventing diffusion between layers.
Kamgaing discloses wherein the high-resolution polymer (230, par. 0039) is between the high-function polymer (M6 from teachings in par. 0034, 0036) and the seed layer (from Jang) (Fig. 6).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamgaing in view of Sun et al. (2024/0243056, hereafter Sun).
Regarding claim 8, Kamgaing discussed above fails to disclose an electronic device wherein the substrate comprises: an electronic component; and an encapsulant disposed around lateral sides of the electronic component.
However, Sun teaches an electronic device wherein the substrate (106) comprises: an electronic component (102(1), Fig. 1, par. 0030); and an encapsulant disposed around lateral sides of the electronic component (par. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing with Sun by providing an encapsulant around the electronic component in order to reduce or minimize warpage and avoid die interconnect breaks and delamination.
Regarding claim 11, Kamgaing fails to disclose an electronic device further comprising an underfill disposed between the electronic component and the first passivation structure.
However, Sun teaches an electronic device further comprising an underfill disposed between the electronic component (204(1), Fig. 2) and the first passivation structure (202(1), Fig. 2) (par. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing with Sun by providing an encapsulant around the electronic component in order to reduce or minimize warpage and avoid die interconnect breaks and delamination.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamgaing in view of Sun as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Yen et al. (2023/0037201, hereafter Yen).
Regarding claim 9, Kamgaing and Sun fail to disclose an electronic device further comprising: a thermal adhesive coupled to a top side of the electronic component; and a heat spreader coupled to the thermal adhesive.
However, Yen teaches an electronic device further comprising: a thermal adhesive (107, Fig. 1, par. 0031) coupled to a top side of the electronic component (103, Fig. 1, par. 0030); and a heat spreader (101, Fig. 1, par. 0030) coupled to the thermal adhesive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing and Sun with Yen by implementing a heat spreader via a thermal adhesive in order to provide better adhesion to the electronic component than the thermal insulating material, and to distribute energy density across the device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamgaing in view of Sun and Yen as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Jang.
Regarding claim 10, Kamgaing and Sun discussed above fail to disclose a heat spreader is coupled to the base substrate.
However, Yen teaches a heat spreader (101) is coupled to the base substrate (113) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing and Sun with Yen by implementing a heat spreader in order to distribute energy density across the device.
Kamgaing, Sun, and Yen fail to disclose an electronic device further comprising a base substrate electrically coupled to the electronic component through the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern.
However, Jang teaches an electronic device further comprising a base substrate (500A2) electrically coupled to the electronic component (310) through the first conductive pattern (122/131) and the second conductive pattern (123/132) (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing, Sun, and Yen with Jang by coupling a substrate to an electronic component through conductive patterns in order to provide separate electrical paths or independent interconnects for minimizing mechanical and thermal stress.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamgaing in view of Lin et al. (2019/0139784, hereafter Lin).
Regarding claim 12, Kamgaing discussed above fails to disclose an electronic device wherein the high-resolution polymer comprises a positive-type photo-sensitive polyimide (PSPI).
However, Lin teaches electronic device wherein the high-resolution polymer comprises a positive-type photo-sensitive polyimide (PSPI) (110, Fig. 1A, par. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kamgaing with Lin by implementing a high-resolution material with positive-type PSPI in order to allow direct, finely-detailed patterning of insulating layers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, 13, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (20220087034), in reference to high-function material, LCP;
Pau et al. (20200209602), in reference to high-resolution material, LCP.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817