DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) document submitted on March 26, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 discloses “….step S10: acquiring, through an auxiliary unit….”; “ step S11: processing, according to….”. The claim is not clear whether there are preceding steps prior to step S10 and step S11. Appropriate correction is required (If there are no preceding steps, appropriate correction of step numbers is required).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “module” or “unit:” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first processing module is configured to…”, “second processing module is configured to…”in claim 16, “ auxiliary unit is specifically configured to….” in claim 18, “auxiliary unit is further configured to…..” in claim 19, “ first processing module is configured to..” in claim 20.
Claim 17 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph as being dependent from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1,2,5,6,7,8, 16,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2017/0278263 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka et al. discloses a data processing method (Para 35; digital camera as an image processing device), comprising the following steps:
step S10: acquiring, through an auxiliary unit (Para 50; the main body device 20) , a target image request to determine or generate an image processing instruction ( Para 50; the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices) ;
step S11: processing, according to the image processing instruction, image data through an image processing unit ( Para 43, 73; CPU of main body device 20) to obtain a target image (Figs.3-5; Para 50-77; when the degree of similarity in the central portion of each image is the predetermined threshold value or more, i.e., when the degree of similarity between both is high (YES in step A13), it is determined that the two imaging devices 10 are in the state as illustrated in FIG. 3C, where the distance between the respective imaging devices 10 is narrowed down to come close to each other (first distance or less) in the second positional relationship, and in the state where respective images are to be shot from different viewpoints in the same shooting range (i.e., the images are in a predetermined positional relationship). In this case, the procedure proceeds to step A14 in which the synthetic format flag is set to “2” as information for specifying 3D (three-dimensional) synthesis processing using one image as a left-eye image and the other image as a right-eye image.).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step S10 comprises at least one of the following:
issuing, through the auxiliary unit (Para 50-77; main body device 20), an imaging control instruction to a camera service (Para 50-77; The main body device 20 acquires attitude information (optical axis direction) detected by the attitude detection unit 17 from each of the two imaging devices 10, and determines a relative positional relationship between the two imaging devices 10. Then, the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices (Para 50). When the release key is pressed halfway (YES in step A2), each imaging device 10 is instructed to perform shooting preparation processing such as AF(autofocus processing) and AE (automatic exposure processing) (step A3)(Para 54) ) ,
and issuing the image processing instruction to the image processing unit (Para 38;62,63; CPU control the entire operation of the imaging device ; When the synthetic format flag is not “0” (NO in step A22), the synthetic format is further determined (step A23). When the synthetic format flag is “1,” 360-degree celestial sphere synthesis processing is performed to put together respective images captured by the two imaging devices 10 so as to generate a synthesized 360-degree celestial sphere image (step A24). In this case, the synthesis processing is performed after processing for correcting a distortion of each fisheye image captured in the embodiment is performed to generate an image without any distortion (the same applies hereinafter). When the synthetic format flag is “2,” 3D synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized 3D image (step A25). When the synthetic format flag is “3,” panoramic synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized panoramic image (step A26). Whether to record/store only the synthesized image or to record/store respective fisheye images together with the synthesized image is determined according to the storage format arbitrarily set in advance with a user's operation. When the processing for recording/storing the image(s) is thus completed, it is checked whether the shooting mode is released (step A29));
issuing, through the auxiliary unit, an image acquiring instruction to an image supply
service (Para 50-77; The main body device 20 acquires attitude information (optical axis direction) detected by the attitude detection unit 17 from each of the two imaging devices 10, and determines a relative positional relationship between the two imaging devices 10. Then, the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices (Para 50). When the release key is pressed halfway (YES in step A2), each imaging device 10 is instructed to perform shooting preparation processing such as AF (autofocus processing) and AE (automatic exposure processing) (step A3)(Para 54); wherein the imaging device can be considered as image supply service) , and issuing the image processing instruction to the image processing unit (Para 38;62,63; CPU control the entire operation of the imaging device; When the synthetic format flag is not “0” (NO in step A22), the synthetic format is further determined (step A23). When the synthetic format flag is “1,” 360-degree celestial sphere synthesis processing is performed to put together respective images captured by the two imaging devices 10 so as to generate a synthesized 360-degree celestial sphere image (step A24). In this case, the synthesis processing is performed after processing for correcting a distortion of each fisheye image captured in the embodiment is performed to generate an image without any distortion (the same applies hereinafter). When the synthetic format flag is “2,” 3D synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized 3D image (step A25). When the synthetic format flag is “3,” panoramic synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized panoramic image (step A26) . Whether to record/store only the synthesized image or to record/store respective fisheye images together with the synthesized image is determined according to the storage format arbitrarily set in advance with a user's operation.[0063] When the processing for recording/storing the image(s) is thus completed, it is checked whether the shooting mode is released (step A29).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step S11 comprises:
performing, according to the image processing instruction and/or image metadata of the image data, image processing on the image data through the image processing unit to obtain the target image (Para 50-75; The main body device 20 determines, based on the information related to the optical axis directions of the two imaging devices 10, whether the relative positional relationship between the respective imaging devices 10 is a predetermined positional relationship. Since the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when it is the predetermined positional relationship, each image captured by each imaging device 10 in the positional relationship is targeted for synthesis processing and the synthetic format is set, while when it is not the predetermined positional relationship, each image captured by each imaging device 10 in the positional relationship is set not to be synthesized without being targeted for the synthesis processing, the determination of whether to obtain an image captured by special-effect shooting can be easily controlled without any instruction given with a user's operation ) .
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka et al. discloses the method according to claim 5, before the step S11, further comprising:
acquiring, according to the imaging control instruction, the image data and/or the image
metadata of the image data through a camera service (Para 50-75; The main body device 20 acquires attitude information (optical axis direction) detected by the attitude detection unit 17 from each of the two imaging devices 10, and determines a relative positional relationship between the two imaging devices 10. Then, the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices.) ;
and/or, acquiring, according to the image acquiring instruction, the image data and/or the image metadata of the image data through an image supply service (Para 50-75; The main body device 20 acquires attitude information (optical axis direction) detected by the attitude detection unit 17 from each of the two imaging devices 10, and determines a relative positional relationship between the two imaging devices 10. Then, the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices.) wherein the imaging devices can be considered as image supply service ) ;
after the acquiring, according to the imaging control instruction, the image data and/or the image metadata of the image data, further comprising:
transmitting the image data and/or the image metadata to the image processing unit ( Para 72-73; the main body device 20 sets such a synthetic format as to generate a panoramic image or three dimensional image from respective images captured by the respective imaging devices 10 depending on the magnitude of the predetermined distance.)
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka et al. discloses a data processing method, comprising the following steps:
step S20: determining or generating, according to a preset module (Para 43; main body device 20 includes CPU) and image processing requirement information (Para 50; when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition), an image processing instruction (Para 50-75; a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices);
step S21: performing, according to the image processing instruction, image processing on image data to obtain a target image ( Para 72; When the distance between the respective imaging devices 10 in the second positional relationship is the predetermined distance, the main body device 20 sets such a synthetic format as to generate a panoramic image or three dimensional image from respective images captured by the respective imaging devices 10 depending on the magnitude of the predetermined distance. Thus, the positional relationship suitable for synthesis processing to generate a panoramic image or a three dimensional image can be specified properly.).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka et al. discloses The method according to claim 7, before the step S20, further comprising:
determining or generating, in response to a request for acquiring the target image, at least one of an imaging control instruction (Para 50-77; The main body device 20 acquires attitude information (optical axis direction) detected by the attitude detection unit 17 from each of the two imaging devices 10, and determines a relative positional relationship between the two imaging devices 10. Then, the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices (Para 50). When the release key is pressed halfway (YES in step A2), each imaging device 10 is instructed to perform shooting preparation processing such as AF(autofocus processing) and AE (automatic exposure processing) (step A3)(Para 54)), an image processing instruction (Para 50-75; synthesis processing ) and an image acquiring instruction corresponding to the target image (Para 50-77; The main body device 20 acquires attitude information (optical axis direction) detected by the attitude detection unit 17 from each of the two imaging devices 10, and determines a relative positional relationship between the two imaging devices 10. Then, the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices (Para 50). When the release key is pressed halfway (YES in step A2), each imaging device 10 is instructed to perform shooting preparation processing such as AF (autofocus processing) and AE (automatic exposure processing) (step A3)(Para 54));
acquiring, according to the imaging control instruction and/or the image acquiring
instruction, the image data and/or image metadata of the image data (Para 50-75; The main body device 20 acquires attitude information (optical axis direction) detected by the attitude detection unit 17 from each of the two imaging devices 10, and determines a relative positional relationship between the two imaging devices 10. Then, the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when the positional relationship satisfies a predetermined condition, a synthetic format is set for images shot with the respective imaging devices).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka et al. discloses a data processing system (Para 35; image processing device), comprising:
an auxiliary unit (Para 35; main body device 20 ) and an image processing unit (Para 35; imaging devices 10); wherein the image processing unit comprises a first processing module (Fig. 2; Para 38; A CPU (Central Processing Unit), a memory, and the like, not illustrated, are provided in this control unit 11) and a second processing module (Para 40; The imaging unit 16 is to construct an imaging device capable of shooting a subject with high definition, and a fisheye lens 16B, an image sensor 16C, and the like are provided in a lens unit 16A of this imaging unit 16);
the first processing module is configured to control, according to an image processing instruction, the second processing module (Para 38; The control unit 11 operates by power supply from the power supply unit (secondary battery) 12 to control the entire operation of the imaging device 10 according to various programs in the storage unit 13. ); the second processing module is configured to perform, according to the image processing instruction, image processing on image data to obtain a target image ( Para 41; Para 46; When each imaging device 10 performs shooting using the fisheye lens 16B in this positional relationship, a fisheye image shot forward at 180 degrees and a fisheye image shot backward at 180 degrees are obtained. In other words, an image with a shooting range of 360 degrees (a 360-degree celestial sphere image) can be obtained as a whole from the forward 180-degree shot and the backward 180-degree shot.).
Regarding claim 17, Tanaka et al. discloses The data processing system according to claim 16, further comprising: an inter-process communication driver (Para 44; communication unit 24 of main body device, communication unit 14 of the imaging device 10 and control unit ), wherein each of the auxiliary unit (Para 44, The communication unit 24 exchanges various data with the imaging devices 10. ) , the first processing module ( Para 39; The communication unit 14 transmits a shot image to the side of the main body device 20, and receives an operation instruction signal and the like from the main body device 20. The operation unit 15 is equipped with basic operation keys such as a power switch. ) and the second processing module contains an inter-process communication interface ( Para 38; imaging unit 16 receives instruction fro the control unit 11 wherein the control unit 11 controls the entire operation of the imaging device 10 includes imaging unit 16 ) ,
the inter-process communication interface is used between corresponding processes of any two of the auxiliary unit, the first processing module and the second processing module, and the inter-process communication driver is utilized to implement an inter-process communication ( Para 44, The communication unit 24 or main device 20 exchanges various data with the imaging devices 10.) ;
wherein the auxiliary unit further comprises a program library for implementing an
application programming interface and the inter-process communication interface (Para 38; The control unit 11 operates by power supply from the power supply unit (secondary battery) 12 to control the entire operation of the imaging device 10 according to various programs in the storage unit 13. A CPU (Central Processing Unit), a memory, and the like, not illustrated, are provided in this control unit 11.) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Claims 3,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2017/0278263 A1), in view of Chen et al. (US Pub.: US 2020/0068123 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka et al. discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the step S10 comprises:
determining, through the auxiliary unit (Para 50-75; Figs. 5, 6; When the synthetic format flag is not “0” (NO in step A22), the synthetic format is further determined (step A23). When the synthetic format flag is “1,” 360-degree celestial sphere synthesis processing is performed to put together respective images captured by the two imaging devices 10 so as to generate a synthesized 360-degree celestial sphere image (step A24). In this case, the synthesis processing is performed after processing for correcting a distortion of each fisheye image captured in the embodiment is performed to generate an image without any distortion (the same applies hereinafter). When the synthetic format flag is “2,” 3D synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized 3D image (step A25). When the synthetic format flag is “3,” panoramic synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized panoramic image (step A26). The synthesized image thus generated is recorded/stored on the recording medium in the storage unit 23 after being subjected to development and conversion to a file of a predetermined size (step A27).), the target image request to determine at least one of imaging control requirement information (Para 50-75; specifying wide-angle, panoramic synthesis processing to line up two images side by side), image processing requirement information (Para 50-75; synthesis processing) and image acquiring requirement information (Para 50-75; determine whether positional relationship of the devices satisfy a predetermined condition) corresponding to the target image.
However, Tanaka et al. does not disclose parsing the instructions.
Chen et al. discloses parsing the image request/ instructions (Para 95; Parses the image capturing instruction. The configuration parameters are then sent to the image processor 866.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to parse the image request as disclosed in Chen et al. for the system disclosed in Tanaka et al. in order to provide automated and precise image enhancement and improve efficiency for image synthesis.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tanaka et al. and Chen et al. discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the step S10 comprises at least one of the following: determining or generating the imaging control instruction according to the imaging control requirement information (Tanaka et al. ; Para 59; while when the degree of similarity in the periphery is the predetermined threshold value or more and hence the degree of similarity is high (YES in step A15), it is determined that the respective imaging devices 10 are in a state of being arranged by widening the distance therebetween (second distance or more) as illustrated in FIG. 3D, and a state of performing shooting by widening the shooting range (in the predetermined positional relationship), and the procedure proceeds to step A16 in which the synthetic format flag is set to “3” as information for specifying wide-angle, panoramic synthesis processing to line up two images side by side.);
determining or generating the image processing instruction according to the image
processing requirement information (Para 61; while when the release key is fully pressed (YES in step A18), each image captured by each imaging device 10 at the time of the full press operation is acquired (step A20), the above-described synthetic format flag is read (step A21), and it is checked whether the synthetic format flag is “0” (step A23). Here, when the synthetic format flag is “0” (YES in step A22), processing for recording/storing each of images captured by the two imaging devices 10 on a recording medium in the storage unit 23 after each image is subjected to development and conversion to a standard-sized file individually in order to set each image not to be synthesized);
determining or generating the image acquiring instruction according to the image acquiring requirement information (Para 50-75; The main body device 20 determines, based on the information related to the optical axis directions of the two imaging devices 10, whether the relative positional relationship between the respective imaging devices 10 is a predetermined positional relationship. Since the main body device 20 performs control in such a manner that, when it is the predetermined positional relationship, each image captured by each imaging device 10 in the positional relationship is targeted for synthesis processing and the synthetic format is set, while when it is not the predetermined positional relationship, each image captured by each imaging device 10 in the positional relationship is set not to be synthesized without being targeted for the synthesis processing, the determination of whether to obtain an image captured by special-effect shooting can be easily controlled without any instruction given with a user's operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
5.Claims 9-15,18,19,20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, prior art on record Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2017/0278263 A1) discloses The method according to claim 8, wherein the determining or the generating, in response to the request for acquiring the target image, the at least one of the imaging control instruction, the image processing instruction and the image acquiring instruction corresponding to the target image (Para 50-75; Figs. 5, 6; When the synthetic format flag is not “0” (NO in step A22), the synthetic format is further determined (step A23). When the synthetic format flag is “1,” 360-degree celestial sphere synthesis processing is performed to put together respective images captured by the two imaging devices 10 so as to generate a synthesized 360-degree celestial sphere image (step A24). In this case, the synthesis processing is performed after processing for correcting a distortion of each fisheye image captured in the embodiment is performed to generate an image without any distortion (the same applies hereinafter). When the synthetic format flag is “2,” 3D synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized 3D image (step A25). When the synthetic format flag is “3,” panoramic synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized panoramic image (step A26). The synthesized image thus generated is recorded/stored on the recording medium in the storage unit 23 after being subjected to development and conversion to a file of a predetermined size (step A27) comprises:
acquiring, through an auxiliary unit, the request for the target image; through the auxiliary unit, determine at least one of imaging control requirement information (Para 50-75; specifying wide-angle, panoramic synthesis processing to line up two images side by side), image processing requirement information (Para 50-75; synthesis processing)and image acquiring requirement information (Para 50-75; determine whether positional relationship of the devices satisfy a predetermined condition) .
Prior art on record Chen et al. (US Pub.: US 2020/0068123 A1) discloses parsing the image request/ instructions (Para 95; Parses the image capturing instruction. The configuration parameters are then sent to the image processor 866.).
However, the prior art does not disclose “if the imaging control requirement information is obtained through the parsing, determining or generating the imaging control instruction according to the imaging control requirement information; if the image processing requirement information is obtained through the parsing, determining or generating the image processing instruction according to image processing
requirement information; if the image acquiring requirement information is obtained through the parsing, determining or generating the image acquiring instruction according to the image acquiring requirement information; wherein the acquiring, according to the imaging control instruction and/or the image acquiring instruction, the image data and/or the image metadata of the image data comprises:
sending, through the auxiliary unit, the imaging control instruction to a camera service,
and acquiring, according to the imaging control instruction, captured image data and/or
image metadata of the image data through the camera service;
and/or, sending, through the auxiliary unit, the image acquiring instruction to an image supply service, and acquiring, according to the image acquiring instruction, the image data and/or the image metadata of the image data through the image supply service” in combination of other imitation in the claim.
Claims 10-15 are objected to as being dependent from claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, prior art on record Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2017/0278263 A1) discloses the data processing system according to claim 16, wherein the auxiliary unit is configured to:
determine at least one of imaging control requirement information, image processing requirement information and image acquiring requirement information corresponding to the target image (Para 50-75; Figs. 5, 6; When the synthetic format flag is not “0” (NO in step A22), the synthetic format is further determined (step A23). When the synthetic format flag is “1,” 360-degree celestial sphere synthesis processing is performed to put together respective images captured by the two imaging devices 10 so as to generate a synthesized 360-degree celestial sphere image (step A24). In this case, the synthesis processing is performed after processing for correcting a distortion of each fisheye image captured in the embodiment is performed to generate an image without any distortion (the same applies hereinafter). When the synthetic format flag is “2,” 3D synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized 3D image (step A25). When the synthetic format flag is “3,” panoramic synthesis processing is performed to generate a synthesized panoramic image (step A26). The synthesized image thus generated is recorded/stored on the recording medium in the storage unit 23 after being subjected to development and conversion to a file of a predetermined size (step A27) ) ;
Prior art on record Chen et al. (US Pub.: US 2020/0068123 A1) discloses parsing the image request/ instructions (Para 95; Parses the image capturing instruction. The configuration parameters are then sent to the image processor 866.).
However, the prior art does not disclose “determine or generate the image processing instruction according to the image processing requirement information, and issue the image processing instruction to the image processing unit;
wherein the auxiliary unit is specifically configured to: determine, according to the image processing requirement information and algorithm description metadata of an algorithm module, at least one algorithm module that matches the image processing requirement information; assemble, according to the image processing requirement information, the at least one algorithm module to determine or generate the image processing instruction” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is objected to as being dependent from claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, prior art on record Tanaka et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2017/0278263 A1) discloses the first processing module (Fig. 2; Para 38; A CPU (Central Processing Unit), a memory, and the like, not illustrated, are provided in this control unit 11 of imaging device 10).
However, the prior art does not disclose “wherein the first processing module
is configured to at least one of the following:
according to the image processing instruction, if it is determined that there is a second
processing module that matches the image processing instruction and is in an idle state, use the second processing module that matches the image processing instruction and is in the idle state as a second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction; according to the image processing instruction, if it is determined that there is a second processing module that matches the image processing instruction and the second processing module that matches the image processing instruction is in an occupied state, create a second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction, or until the second processing module that matches the image processing instruction enters an idle state, use the second processing module that matches the image processing instruction and is in the idle state as a second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction;
according to the image processing instruction, if it is determined that there is no second
processing module that matches the image processing instruction, create, according to the image processing instruction, a second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction;
after using the second processing module that matches the image processing instruction and is in the idle state as the second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction, if the second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction is not stored in a memory, load the second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction into the memory and start the second processing module corresponding to the image processing instruction” in combination of other limitation in the claim and its base claim.
Conclusion
/XI WANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637