DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 01/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voss-Wolff (US 2021/0264661 A1) in view of Turbell et al. (US 2022/0417532 A1) (Turbell).
Regarding claim 1, Voss-Wolff discloses a method performed by a first device (See Figs. 1 and 10, e.g. remote servers or computer system), comprising:
generating a first layer of an output image (See Fig. 4C, content region 465);
generating first depth information for the first layer (See Figs. 4B and 4C, depth values for content region 465);
generating a second layer of the output image (See Fig. 4C, content region 470), wherein the second layer comprises valid pixels and invalid pixels (See Fig. 5; para. 60-64);
generating second depth information for the second layer (See Figs. 4B and 4C, depth values for content region 470);
generating dilated depth information, comprising dilating the second depth information (See Figs 7A-7B; para. 85-88; Dilated Depths 730);
generating a mask using the second depth information (See Fig. 5; para. 62), the mask indicating the valid pixels of the second layer and generated before dilation (See Fig. 5 and 7A; para. 62 and 85-86; content vs non-content regions (e.g. black vs white), wherein the mask is generated before the dilation ); and
transmitting the first depth information of the first layer, the dilated depth information of the second layer to a second device (See Figs. 1, 2A, and 8).
However, Voss-Wolff does not explicitly disclose transmitting the mask to a second device.
Turbell discloses a system to process masks in video content (See Figs. 2 and 4). Turbell discloses transmitting the mask to a second device (See Figs. 1 and 4; para. 47 and 49).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mask system of Turbell with the mask system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in order to reliably and efficiently transmit and receive masks (See Turbell para. 01 and 0014).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the mask indicates valid pixels of the second layer (See Voss-Wolff para. 61).
Regarding claim 3, further comprising:
generating color information for the second layer;
generating dilated color information, comprising dilating the color information for the second layer;
transmitting the dilated color information to the second device (See the rejection of claim 1, wherein the process is performed on color images) (See Voss-Wolff para. 47).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the mask is transmitted separately from the first depth information (See Turbell para. 27-29, wherein the masks can be transmitted in its own stream or channel).
Please see motivation discloses in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the dilated depth information after compressing the dilated depth information (See Voss-Wolff para. 38).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the mask indicates transparent pixels in the second layer (See Voss-Wolff para. 61).
Regarding claim 10, Voss-Wolff disclose a method performed by a first device (See Fig. 1, e.g. HMD), comprising:
receiving first depth information for a first layer from a second device (See Figs. 2B, 4B, 4C, 9);
receiving dilated depth information for a second layer from the second device (See Figs. 2B, 7A-7B; para. 85-88; Dilated Depths 730);
a mask indicating valid pixels of the second layer and generated before dilation (See Fig. 5 and 7A; para. 62 and 85-86; content vs non-content regions (e.g. black vs white), wherein the mask is generated before the dilation);
generating second depth information for the second layer using the dilated depth information and the mask (See Figs. 2B and 9; paras. 118 and 120);
compositing an output image from the first layer and the second layer using the first depth information and the second depth information (See Figs. 2B and 9; para. 120); and
rendering the output image on a display of the first device (See Figs. 2B and 9; para. 120).
However, Voss-Wolff does not explicitly disclose receiving a mask for the second layer from the second device.
Turbell discloses a system to process masks in video content (See Figs. 2 and 4). Turbell discloses receiving a mask for the second layer from the second device (See Figs. 1 and 4; para. 47 and 49).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mask system of Turbell with the mask system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in order to reliably and efficiently transmit and receive masks (See Turbell para. 01 and 0014).
Regarding claim 11, this claim is drawn to a method of receiving what is transmitted by the method of claim 1, wherein claim 11 contains the same limitations as claims 3 and 10 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the generating color information comprises removing portions of the dilated color information which do not correspond to pixels indicated by the mask (See Voss-Wolff Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, this claim is drawn to a method of receiving what is transmitted by the method of claim 1, wherein claim 13 contains the same limitations as claims 5 and 10 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is drawn to a method of receiving what is transmitted by the method of claim 1, wherein claim 14 contains the same limitations as claims 9 and 10 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the generating the second depth information comprises:
removing portions of the dilated depth information which do not correspond to pixels indicated by the mask (See Voss-Wolff Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 18, wherein receiving the first depth information comprises:
receiving second dilated depth information for the first layer from the second device (See Voss- Wolff Figs. 2B, 7A-7B; para. 85-88; Dilated Depths 730; wherein the process to continuous with each video frame);
receiving a second mask for the first layer from the second device (See Turbell Figs. 1 and 4; para. 47 and 49; wherein the process to continuous with each video frame);
generating the first depth information using the second dilated depth information and the second mask (See Voss-Wolff Figs. 2B and 9; paras. 118 and 120; wherein the process to continuous with each video frame).
Please see motivation discloses in claim 10 above.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voss-Wolff (US 2021/0264661 A1) in view of Turbell et al. (US 2022/0417532 A1) (Turbell) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-15, and 18 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 2023/0222669 A1) (Zhao).
Regarding claim 4, Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the dilated depth information in a video stream (See Voss-Wolff Fig. 8 and Turbell Fig. 4).
Please see motivation discloses in claim 1 above.
However, Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell doesn’t disclose wherein the mask is at a higher resolution than the video stream.
Zhao discloses a mask system. Zhao discloses wherein the mask is at a higher resolution than the video stream (See para. 18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Zhao with the system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell in order to provide more accurate masks (See Zhao para. 04).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voss-Wolff (US 2021/0264661 A1) in view of Turbell et al. (US 2022/0417532 A1) (Turbell) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-15, and 18 above, and further in view of Matsuda (US 2010/0303360 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Voss-Wolff discloses the method of claim 1. However, Voss-Wolff doesn’t disclose wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the mask after the mask has been losslessly compressed.
Matsuda discloses an image process system. Matsuda discloses wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the mask after the mask has been losslessly compressed (See para. 85).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Matsuda with the system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell in order to reliably and efficiently transmit and receive masks (See Turbell para. 01 and 0014).
Claim(s) 8, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voss-Wolff (US 2021/0264661 A1) in view of Turbell et al. (US 2022/0417532 A1) (Turbell) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-15, and 18 above, and further in view of Fortin-Deschenes et al (US 2021/0011289 A1) (Fortin-Deschenes).
Regarding claim 16, Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell discloses the method of claim 10.
However, Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell does not disclose wherein the compositing comprises, for each pixel of the output image:
comparing a first depth value for the pixel from the first depth information with a second depth value for the pixel from the second depth information; and
assigning a first pixel of the first layer or a second pixel of the second layer to the pixel of the output image.
Fortin-Deschenes discloses a head mounted display system. Fortin-Deschenes discloses wherein the compositing comprises, for each pixel of the output image:
comparing a first depth value for the pixel from the first depth information with a second depth value for the pixel from the second depth information; and
assigning a first pixel of the first layer or a second pixel of the second layer to the pixel of the output image (See paragraph 87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Fortin-Deschenes with the system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell in order to efficiently use occlusion masks to better blend the environments (See Fortin-Deschenes para. 83-87).
Regarding claim 8, Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell and Fontin-Deschenes discloses:
receiving a second image from a third device (See Fortin-Deschenes Figs. 1 and 3, cameras 11 and 12; para. 72);
generating third depth information for the second image (See Voss-Wolff Figs. 4B and 4C, wherein the system generated depth data based on the input frame e.g. from HMD feed as disclosed by Fortin-Deschenes);
generating second dilated depth information, comprising dilating the third depth information (See Voss-Wolff Figs 7A-7B; para. 85-88; Dilated Depths 730; wherein the system generated dilated depth data based on the input frame e.g. from HMD feed as disclosed by Fortin-Deschenes);
generating a second mask using the third depth information (See Voss-Wolff Fig. 5; para. 62; wherein the system generated mask data based on the input frame e.g. from HMD feed as disclosed by Fortin-Deschenes);
transmitting the second dilated depth information and the second mask (See Voss-Wolff Figs. 1, 2A, and 8 and Turbell Figs. 1 and 4; para. 47 and 49 and Fortin-Deschenes Fig. 3; para. 72).
Please see motivation discloses in claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is drawn to a method of receiving what is transmitted by the method of claim 1, wherein claim 19 contains the same limitations as claims 8 and 10 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voss-Wolff (US 2021/0264661 A1) in view of Turbell et al. (US 2022/0417532 A1) (Turbell) and Fortin-Deschenes et al (US 2021/0011289 A1) (Fortin-Deschenes) as applied to claims 8, 16, and 19 above, and further in view of Fan (US 2024/0169568 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell and Fortin-Deschenes disclose the method of claim 16.
However, Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell and Fortin-Deschenes does not disclose wherein the assigning comprises:
assigning the first pixel if the first depth value is smaller than the second depth value or the second depth value is invalid; or
assigning the second pixel if the second depth value is smaller than the first depth value.
Fan discloses a head mounted display system. Fan discloses wherein the assigning comprises:
assigning the first pixel if the first depth value is smaller than the second depth value or the second depth value is invalid; or
assigning the second pixel if the second depth value is smaller than the first depth value (See Fig. 11 and paras. 330 and 348).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Fan with the system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell and Fortin-Deschenes in order to generate more accurate imaging (See Fan para. 13).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voss-Wolff (US 2021/0264661 A1) in view of Turbell et al. (US 2022/0417532 A1) (Turbell) and Fan (US 2024/0169568 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Voss-Wolff discloses a head mounted display device (See Fig. 1), comprising:
a processor (See Figs. 1 and 10; para. 125);
memory comprising instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the head mounted display device to (See Figs. 1 and 10; paras. 125 and 129):
receive first depth information for a first layer from a remote rendering endpoint (See Figs. 1, 2B, 4B, 4C, 9);
a cutout mask indicates valid pixels in a second layer and is generated before depth information from the second layer is dilated (See Fig. 5 and 7A; para. 62 and 85-86; content vs non-content regions (e.g. black vs white), wherein the mask is generated before the dilation);
receive dilated depth information for a second layer from a remote rendering endpoint (See Figs. 2B, 7A-7B; para. 85-88; Dilated Depths 730);
remove portions of the dilated depth information for the second layer which correspond to pixels not included in the cutout mask to generate second depth information for the second layer (See Figs. 4A-7B); and
composite the output image, wherein the compositing comprises, for each pixel of the output image (See Figs. 2B and 9; para. 120):
render the output image on an integrated display of the head mounted display device (See Figs. 2B and 9; para. 120).
However, Voss-Wolff does not explicitly disclose:
receive a cutoff mask;
comparing a first depth value for the pixel from the first depth information with a second depth value for the pixel from the second depth information;
assigning a first pixel of the first layer corresponding to the pixel if the first depth value is smaller than the second depth value or the second depth value is invalid, or assigning a second pixel of the second layer corresponding to the pixel if the second depth value is smaller than the first depth value.
Turbell discloses a system to process masks in video content (See Figs. 2 and 4). Turbell discloses receiving a cutoff mask (See Figs. 1 and 4; para. 47 and 49).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mask system of Turbell with the mask system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in order to reliably and efficiently transmit and receive masks (See Turbell para. 01 and 0014).
Fan discloses a head mounted display system. Fan discloses:
comparing a first depth value for the pixel from the first depth information with a second depth value for the pixel from the second depth information (See Fig. 11 and paras. 330 and 348);
assigning a first pixel of the first layer corresponding to the pixel if the first depth value is smaller than the second depth value or the second depth value is invalid, or assigning a second pixel of the second layer corresponding to the pixel if the second depth value is smaller than the first depth value (See Fig. 11 and paras. 330 and 348).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Fan with the system as disclosed by Voss-Wolff in view of Turbell in order to generate more accurate imaging (See Fan para. 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to claims 1, 10, and 20 that Voss-Wolff does not disclose the mask indicating the valid pixels of the second layer and generated before dilation. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Voss-Wolff discloses the mask indicating the valid pixels of the second layer and generated before dilation (See Fig. 5 and 7A; para. 62 and 85-86; content vs non-content regions (e.g. black vs white), wherein the mask is generated before the dilation ). Figure 5 shows the indication of the “valid” or content vs. “invalid” or non-content. Figure 7A and para. 85-86 discloses receives and uses the map to perform dilation, therefore the mask is generated before dilation.
Applicant also argues with respect to claim 5 that Turbell does not send the mask itself in an independent data stream. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Turbell discloses various methods for mask transmissions. Turbell discloses that the masks can be transmitted in its own stream or channel (See para. 27-29).
Based on at least the foregoing remarks, the 103 rejections of claims 1-20 are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH G USTARIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2483