DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Limitations appearing inside of {} are intended to indicate the limitations not taught by said prior art(s)/combinations.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
input module in claim 17
segmentation module in claim 17
descriptor module in claim 17
matching module in claim 17
localisation module
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter (i.e., process machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) because the claim, reciting A machine-readable medium, is directed to a program/signal per se, mere information in the form of data, without a tangible medium. Note, it is not necessary for a claim to fall into a single category, as long as it is clear that it falls into at least one category (see MPEP §2106.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Zhang” (ZHANG LINTONG ET AL, "InstaLoc: One-shot Global Lidar Localisation in Indoor Environments through Instance Learning", pages 1-11, URL: https://scholar.google.com/citations?view_op=view_citation&hl=en&user=wWODV5wAAAAJ&citation_for_view=wWODV5wAAAAJ:ufrVoPGSRksC, May 16, 2023), as cited in the IDS (03/27/2024).
1. Zhang teaches a computer-implemented method of localisation of an imaging apparatus in an environment, the method comprising:
receiving a point cloud map indicative of the environment, the point cloud map captured by the imaging apparatus located at a position within the environment (Zhang, [p 2, Col 2, §III.A., ¶1]; The map M is a collection of registered lidar scans, Pt = {mi,t ∈ R3}, accumulated over time.);
segmenting the point cloud map into a plurality of object segments each comprising an object feature (Zhang, [p 3, Col 2, §III.B., ¶1]; the network predicts for each point pk a semantic label sk corresponding to the object class that the point belongs to (e.g. chair, table, wall, ceiling) and an instance label ik representing the unique object that the point corresponds to (e.g. chair1, chair14 or chair42);
assigning a unique descriptor to each of the object features (Zhang, [p3, Col 1, §III.A., ¶2]; we use object level descriptors that capture the distinguishing features of each object);
matching at least one of the object features to a corresponding feature in an existing map of the environment using the unique descriptor (Zhang, [p3, Col 1, §III.A., ¶3];descriptors of the objects segmented from the query scan need to be matched against the database of objects with descriptors in the map to determine correspondences between the query scan and the map. We use the approach from [1] to group descriptors based on their similarity and to find correspondences.); and localising the position of the imaging apparatus in the environment based on the at least one matched object feature (Zhang, [p3, Col 1, §III.A., ¶3]; use RANSAC on a subset of correspondences to estimate the 6-DOF pose of the lidar sensor by aligning the matched objects between the two scans).
2. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches comprising matching a plurality of the object features to respective corresponding features in the existing map of the environment using the unique descriptors of the plurality of the object features; and localising the position of the imaging apparatus in the environment based on the plurality of matched object features. (Zhang, [p3, Col 1, §III.A., ¶3];descriptors of the objects segmented from the query scan need to be matched against the database of objects with descriptors in the map to determine correspondences between the query scan and the map. We use the approach from [1] to group descriptors based on their similarity and to find correspondences. Finally, we use RANSAC on a subset of correspondences to estimate the 6-DOF pose of the lidar sensor by aligning the matched objects between the two scans).
3. Zhang teaches the method of claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein each object feature belongs to an object category indicating the type of object, and at least two of the plurality of the object features belong to different object categories (See Zhang, Table 1, shown below, exhibits features belonging to different object categories;
).
4. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the point cloud map represents an image of the environment captured by the imaging apparatus in a single position and a single orientation within the environment (Zhang, See expert from Fig 2, exhibits a single scan depicting an environment from a single position and orientation:
).
5. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein segmenting the point cloud map comprises representing the point cloud map using sparse tensors (Zhang, [p 5, Col 1, §IV.B., ¶1]; sparse tensor framework).
6. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein segmenting the point cloud map comprises, for each point in the point cloud map:
predicting a semantic label indicating an object class of the object feature comprising the point (Zhang, See Fig 2, shown below, “Semantic classes”, and [p 3, Col 2, §III.B., ¶1]; the network predicts for each point pk a semantic label sk corresponding to the object class that the point belongs to (e.g. chair, table, wall, ceiling)); and
predicting an instance label indicating a unique instance of the object feature comprising the point (Zhang, See Fig 2, “Instance classes”, [p 3, Col 2, §III.B., ¶1]; and an instance label ik representing the unique object that the point corresponds to (e.g. chair1, chair14 or chair42).).
7. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein segmenting the point cloud map comprises grouping a plurality of points in the point cloud map, the plurality of points associated with an object feature (Zhang, [p 3, Col 2, §III.B., ¶2]; to obtain correct segmentation group points using “radius threshold proportionate to the vertical distance between two beams”).
8. Zhang teaches the method of claim 7. Zhang further teaches wherein the point cloud map is obtained using depth imaging (Liu, [p 3, Col 1, §3, ¶1]; high-resolution LiDAR depth camera), and
grouping the plurality of points is performed using an adaptive radius threshold proportionate to a vertical distance between two depth imaging beams used to capture the point cloud map (Zhang, [p 3, Col 2, §III.B., ¶2];group points using “radius threshold proportionate to the vertical distance between two beams”).
9. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein segmenting the point cloud map is performed using a neural network (Zhang, [p 3, Col 1, §III.A., ¶4]; both the instance segmentation module and the instance description module are modeled using deep neural networks which work directly on 3D point cloud data).
10. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein assigning the unique descriptor comprises:
for each of the object features, each of the object features comprising a plurality of points of the point cloud map using a network comprising a series of convolutional layers to generate a plurality of point descriptors each corresponding to a particular point in the plurality of points of the object feature; and pooling the plurality of point descriptors to generate the unique descriptor of the object feature (Zhang, [p 3, Col 2 – p4. Col 1, §III.C., ¶1]; The descriptor network output for each object instance Ij is an NjxD tensor where every row is a descriptor of length D for one point in the object instance. Finally, an average pooling layer computes the average of the Nj descriptors to create a single descriptor of length D for each object instance).
11. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein assigning the unique descriptor is performed using a neural network (Zhang, [p 3, Col 1, §III.A., ¶4]; both the instance segmentation module and the instance description module are modeled using deep neural networks which work directly on 3D point cloud data).
12. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein matching at least one of the object features to a corresponding feature in an existing map of the environment using the unique descriptor comprises:
matching one or more object features in the point cloud map to a corresponding feature in the existing map; and
identifying a closest match to the corresponding feature from the one or more matched object features using a correspondence grouping method (Zhang, [p 3, Col 1, §III.A., ¶3]; descriptors of the objects segmented from the query scan need to be matched against the database of objects with descriptors in the map to determine correspondences between the query scan and the map. We use the approach from [1] to group descriptors based on their similarity and to find correspondences. Finally, we use RANSAC on a subset of correspondences to estimate the 6-DOF pose of the lidar sensor by aligning the matched objects between the two scans).
13. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the plurality of object segments comprises a first object feature in a first object segment and a second object feature in a second object segment, and wherein the first object feature comprises a different number of points of the point cloud map than the second object feature (See Zhang, Fig 1, exhibits different object features, such as desk, floor, sofa, etc.,) each comprising a different number of points of the point cloud.
).
14. Zhang teaches he method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the environment is an indoor environment (Zhang, [p 2, Col 1, §1, ¶1]; lidar localization approach for indoor environments).
15. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the imaging apparatus is a lidar and the point cloud map captured by the imaging apparatus is a lidar map (Zhang, [p 2, Col 2, §III.A., ¶1]; The map M is a collection of registered lidar scans, Pt = {mi,t ∈ R3}, accumulated over time.).
16. Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein localising the position of the imaging apparatus comprises identifying the spatial position and directional orientation of the imaging apparatus (Zhang, [p 2, Col 2, §III.A., ¶1]; We seek to determine the pose of the lidar at time ti defined as follows, xi ≜ [ti,Ri] ∈ SO(3) × R3 (1) where ti ∈ R3 is the translation, Ri ∈ SO(3) is the orientation of Q in M.)
Claim 17 is similarly analyzed as analogous claim 1.
18. Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 17. Zhang further teaches wherein one or more of: the segmentation module comprises a neural network configured to segment the point cloud map into the plurality of object segments; or the descriptor module comprises a neural network configured to assign the unique descriptor to each of the object features (Zhang, See Fig 2, shown below, “Semantic classes”, and [p 3, Col 2, §III.B., ¶1]; the network predicts for each point pk a semantic label sk corresponding to the object class that the point belongs to (e.g. chair, table, wall, ceiling) and an instance label ik representing the unique object that the point corresponds to (e.g. chair1, chair14 or chair42).).
19. Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 17. Zhang further teaches wherein:
the apparatus comprises the imaging apparatus located with the apparatus (Zhang, Abstract; Localization for autonomous robots) the imaging apparatus is configured to capture the point cloud map (Zhang, [p 2, Col 2, §III.A., ¶1]; The map M is a collection of registered lidar scans, Pt = {mi,t ∈ R3}, accumulated over time.) and provide the point cloud map to the input module (Zhang, [p 3, Col 1-2, §III.B., ¶1]; Given a lidar scan, i.e. a set of N 3D as input, the network (i.e., input module) predicts for each point pk a semantic label sk …We use the state-of-the-art Softgroup [22] network architecture to construct this module); and
the localisation module is configured to localise the position of the apparatus (Zhang, [p 4, Col 2, §III.D., ¶1]; for the 6 DoF pose estimation, we apply a RANSAC step on the subset of correspondences to align the query scan with the prior map, with τ and ϵ.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view “Liu” (Liu et al. HIDA: Towards Holistic Indoor Understanding for the Visually Impaired via Semantic Instance Segmentation With a Wearable Solid-State LiDAR Sensor. Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV) Workshops, October 2021, pp. 1780-1790).
20. Zhang teaches A machine-readable medium having program code stored thereon which (Zhang, [p 5, Col 1, §IV.B., ¶1]; 4GB mobile GPU, NVIDIA Quadro T2000), when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform the method of claim 1. While Zhang implies that a computer is used in order for the GPU to operate, “a computer” is not explicitly disclosed.
However, Liu, a similar field of endeavor, teaches a machine-readable medium having program code stored thereon which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform the method of claim 1 (Liu, [p 3, Col 1, §3, ¶1]; A laptop placed in a backpack is the second component of our system. The laptop with a GPU processor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a computer as taught by Liu to the invention of Zhang. The motivation to do so would be to ensure that the instance segmentation and localization can be performed in an online manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited
/CHANDHANA PEDAPATI/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669