Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on March 27, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 2018/0137076) in view of Wen et al. (US 2022/0073020) in view of Turner et al. (US 12,200,914) and further in view of Tomiji et al. (US 2005/0269176).
Regarding claim 1, Shao teaches a system, comprising: an autonomous vehicle configured to travel on a road autonomously; and an enclosure associated with the autonomous vehicle, and configured to: house a set of components that facilitates an autonomous function of the autonomous vehicle, (see Shao at the [0001] and at claim 1 which discloses an apparatus for controlling and operating an autonomous vehicle; see Shao at [0034] in conjunction with Fig. 5 which discloses a perspective view for operating an autonomous vehicle according to one embodiment; see Shao at claim 1 which discloses that the apparatus comprises a chassis housing a plurality of compartments.)
wherein the set of components comprises: a sensor processing unit that is configured to detect objects from sensor data captured by at least one sensor; (see Shao at the Abstract which discloses that the apparatus includes a chassis housing a control server compartment, a compute server compartment, and an input and output (IO) subsystem compartment, that the apparatus further includes an IO subsystem inserted into the IO subsystem compartment, a compute server inserted into the compute server compartment, and a control server inserted into the control server compartment coupled to the compute server via an Ethernet connection, and that the IO subsystem includes one or more IO modules, where at least some of the IO modules can be coupled to sensors; see Shao at [0020] which discloses that IO subsystem includes a number of IO modules, that at least some of the IO modules can be coupled to one or more sensors, that the sensors can sense a surrounding environment of an autonomous vehicle and generate sensor data perceiving the surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle; see Shao at [0028] which discloses that each IO module may include processing hardware such as a graphic processing unit (GPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or a field programmable gate array (FPGA), etc. to perform specific operations such as processing sensor data received from sensors or execute a particular algorithm, etc. Examiner maps processing hardware of IO module coupled to one or more sensors as well as the one or more sensors to sensor processing unit.)
a compute unit that is configured to determine a navigation path for the autonomous vehicle based at least in part upon an input signal received from the sensor processing unit; (see Shao at [0002] which discloses that when operating in an autonomous mode, the vehicle can navigate to various locations using onboard sensors; see Shao at [0019] which discloses that according to one embodiment, a hardware platform includes a chassis to house a number of compartments, including a control server compartment, a compute server compartment, and an input and output (IO) subsystem compartment; see Shao at [0028] which discloses that each IO module may include processing hardware such as a graphic processing unit (GPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or a field programmable gate array (FPGA), etc. to perform specific operations such as processing sensor data received from sensors or execute a particular algorithm, etc. Examiner maps compute server compartment to compute unit.)
a vehicle control unit that is configured to control the autonomous function of the autonomous vehicle based at least in part upon input signals received from other components from among the set of components; (see Shao at the Abstract which discloses that the control server controls and operates the autonomous vehicle by sending control commands to hardware of the autonomous vehicle based on the planning and control data received from the compute server.)
Shao does not expressly disclose a communication gateway that is configured to establish communications between the autonomous vehicle and other devices; which in a related art Wen teaches (see Wen at [0070] which wireless communication unit (e.g., a cellular communication transceiver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao to include communication gateway that is configured to establish communications between the autonomous vehicle and other devices, as taught by Wen.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide wireless communication via a wireless communication unit, as suggested by Wen at [0070].
and a data diagnostics unit that is configured to determine a health data for at least one component of the autonomous vehicle; (see Wen at [0070] which discloses that the vehicle sensor subsystem 644 may also include sensors configured to monitor internal systems of the vehicle 605 (e.g., an 02 monitor, a fuel gauge, an engine oil temperature, etc.) Examiner maps vehicle sensor subsystem to the data diagnostics unit. Examiner notes that monitoring the various internal systems of the vehicle corresponds to determining health data for at least one component of the autonomous vehicle.).
meet a set of requirements comprising a space requirement, a communication requirement, a cooling requirement, and a shock absorption requirement, wherein: the space requirement indicates that the enclosure to have a dimension less than a threshold dimension; (see Wen, at [0052] for example, which discloses that sizes of the cabinet body 100 can be designed to match a sleeping compartment in the cab. Examiner notes that designing the cabinet body to match a sleeping compartment in the cab corresponds to meeting a space requirement to have a dimension less than a threshold dimension. Alternatively, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice for a person having ordinary skill in the art to require that an enclosure have dimensions less than a threshold dimension, based on the size of a cab of a tractor trailer.)
The modified Shao further teaches:
the communication requirement indicates to provide transmission lines to facilitate a communication throughput more than a threshold communication throughput among the set of components; (see Shao at [0023] which discloses that the platform 100 includes an Ethernet switch module 112 inserted into an Ethernet switch compartment. Also, see Shao at [0024] which discloses that back panel 106 further includes one or more openings to expose an interface of another side of IO subsystem 111 to allow the IO subsystem 111 to be coupled to other components such as compute server 113 using appropriate cables. Further, see Shao at [0027] which discloses that back panel 106 further includes an opening to expose Ethernet connectors 206 of Ethernet switch module 115, which allow other components to communicate with each other using Ethernet protocols and that in this example, control server 114 can be coupled to Ethernet switch module 115 by connecting any of Ethernet connectors 204 with any of Ethernet connectors 206 using an Ethernet cable. Examiner notes that using appropriate cables, such as using an Ethernet cable, which provides a standard for data transmission, corresponds to providing transmission lines to facilitate a communication throughput more than a threshold communication throughput among the set of components.)
the cooling requirement [indicates to satisfy a threshold temperature] within the enclosure; (see Shao at [0025] which discloses that a portion of the cool air travels through a power supply unit (not shown) to exchange heat generated therein and exits the air exhaustion screen 109 to reduce the temperature of the power supply unit; see Shao at [0030] which discloses that the backend of the IO subsystem units 111A-111B includes a cooling fan mounted thereon to cool the temperature of the IO modules inserted therein. Examiner notes that utilizing a cooling fan to cool the temperature corresponds to having a cooling requirement in within the enclosure.)
and the shock absorption requirement [indicates to satisfy a threshold damping factor]; (see Shao at [0039] which discloses that as the vehicle moves, the ride may be bumpy, that in order to reduce the vibration of the platform, according to one embodiment, platform 100 may be placed onto a vibration reduction platform, that FIG. 12 shows an example of a vibration reduction platform according to one embodiment of the invention, and that referring to FIG. 12, the vibration reduction platform includes a vibration reduction board 1200 supported by stands 1201-1203. Examiner maps vibration reduction to shock absorption.)
wherein: the enclosure comprises a backplane that is configured to satisfy the communication requirement; the backplane comprises the transmission lines that enable communications among the components of the set of components; (see Shao at [0023] which discloses that according one embodiment, backend 102 is covered by back panel 106 having various openings to allow certain components to be inserted into or removed from their respective compartments and that in this example, platform 100 includes compute server 113 inserted into a compute server compartment, control server 114 inserted into a control server compartment, and Ethernet switch module 115 inserted into an Ethernet switch compartment; see Shao at [0024] which discloses that back panel 106 further includes one or more openings to expose an interface of another side of IO subsystem 111 to allow the IO subsystem 111 to be coupled to other components such as compute server 113 using appropriate cables. Examiner maps back panel to backplane. Examiner notes that the Ethernet switch compartment would include Ethernet transmission lines within the compartment used in switching inputs and outputs amongst the various components.)
the backplane further comprises a set of connectors to connect at least one of the set of components to the at least one sensor; the backplane is positioned across a side of the set of components and against a back wall of the enclosure (see Shao at the Abstract which discloses that the IO subsystem includes one or more IO modules, where at least some of the IO modules can be coupled to sensors; see Shao at [0020] which discloses that IO subsystem includes a number of IO modules, that at least some of the IO modules can be coupled to one or more sensors, that the sensors can sense a surrounding environment of an autonomous vehicle and generate sensor data perceiving the surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle; see Shao at [0027] which discloses that in one embodiment, back panel 106 further includes an opening to expose Ethernet connectors 206 of Ethernet switch module 115, which allow other components to communicate with each other using Ethernet protocols; see Shao at [0028] which discloses that back panel 106 further includes an opening to expose a side panel of IO subsystem 111, where the side panel of IO subsystem 111 includes various interfaces for accessing IO subsystem 111.)
The modified Shao does not expressly disclose indicates to satisfy a threshold temperature, and the backplane is connected to a set of manifolds configured to provide a flow of coolant between a heat exchanger and each of the set of components; which in a related art Turner teaches (see Turner at col. 2 lines 3-20 which discloses a secondary distribution manifold can be configured to distribute the secondary coolant among the plurality of server-cooling nodes; see Turner at col. 14 at lines 63-67 which discloses that when a temperature of the facility coolant in the return line 353 is at or below a threshold temperature for the inlet to the facility-level cooler 340, the valve 359b can permit the relatively cool facility coolant from the return line 353 to directly flow into the supply conduit 321; also, see Shao at col. 20 lines 26-32, for example, which discloses that control logic can determine a minimum flow rate that each rack (or node) needs to maintain a given component (e.g., a processor) at or below a threshold temperature, as described above.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao to include satisfy a threshold temperature, and the backplane is connected to a set of manifolds configured to provide a flow of coolant between a heat exchanger and each of the set of components, as taught by Turner.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to efficiently remove heat dissipated by processing units, as suggested by Turner at col. 1 at lines 30-33.
The modified Shao does not expressly disclose to satisfy a threshold damping factor which in a related art Tomiji teaches (see Tomiji at [0036] which discloses that the damping force is kept in a low range. Examiner notes that keeping the damping factor in a low range corresponds to satisfying threshold damping factor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao include to satisfy a threshold damping factor, as taught by Tomiji.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to arrest the movement of a moving body, as suggested by Tomiji at [0002].
Regarding claim 3, the modified Shao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the communication requirement further indicates to provide the communication throughput between at least one component of the set of components and the other devices (see Shao at [0020] which discloses that IO subsystem includes a number of IO modules, that at least some of the IO modules can be coupled to one or more sensors, that the sensors can sense a surrounding environment of an autonomous vehicle and generate sensor data perceiving the surrounding environment of the autonomous vehicle; see Shao at [0023] which discloses that the platform 100 includes an Ethernet switch module 112 inserted into an Ethernet switch compartment; see Shao at the Abstract which discloses that the IO subsystem includes one or more IO modules, where at least some of the IO modules can be coupled to sensors; see Shao at [0027] which discloses that in one embodiment, back panel 106 further includes an opening to expose Ethernet connectors 206 of Ethernet switch module 115, which allow other components to communicate with each other using Ethernet protocols; see Shao at [0028] which discloses that back panel 106 further includes an opening to expose a side panel of IO subsystem 111, where the side panel of IO subsystem 111 includes various interfaces for accessing IO subsystem 111. Examiner notes that communication throughput is implemented by way of implementing the Ethernet switch module inserted into an Ethernet switch compartment which communicates between the various IO modules and sensors.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Shao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the other devices comprise at least one of: an oversight server configured to provide software resources to the autonomous vehicle; or one or more other autonomous vehicles (see Shao at the Abstract which discloses that the apparatus further includes an IO subsystem inserted into the IO subsystem compartment, a compute server inserted into the compute server compartment, and a control server inserted into the control server compartment coupled to the compute server via an Ethernet connection; see Shao at [0019] which discloses a control server inserted into the control server compartment. Examiner maps control server to oversight server. Examiner notes that the control server is communicatively coupled to the compute server where software resources are provided.)
Regarding claim 8, the modified Shao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cooling requirement is satisfied by a liquid-based cooling system (see Turner at col. 6 which discloses that a heat-transfer (e.g., cooling) system can use a liquid coolant to collect heat from each heat source and carry the heat to a suitable heat sink, e.g., a radiator that rejects the heat from the coolant to a facility liquid, atmospheric air, and/or air in a conditioned room containing the rack of servers and that such an arrangement for cooling rack mounted servers is described in further detail in U.S. Pat. No. 9,496,200.)
Regarding claim 9, the modified Shao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the communication requirement further indicates to facilitate the communication throughput more than the threshold communication throughput between at least one component of the set of components and the other devices (see Shao at [0023] which discloses that the platform 100 includes an Ethernet switch module 112 inserted into an Ethernet switch compartment. Also, see Shao at [0024] which discloses that back panel 106 further includes one or more openings to expose an interface of another side of IO subsystem 111 to allow the IO subsystem 111 to be coupled to other components such as compute server 113 using appropriate cables. Further, see Shao at [0027] which discloses that back panel 106 further includes an opening to expose Ethernet connectors 206 of Ethernet switch module 115, which allow other components to communicate with each other using Ethernet protocols and that in this example, control server 114 can be coupled to Ethernet switch module 115 by connecting any of Ethernet connectors 204 with any of Ethernet connectors 206 using an Ethernet cable. Examiner notes that using appropriate cables, such as using an Ethernet cable, which provides a standard for data transmission, corresponds to providing transmission lines to facilitate a communication throughput more than a threshold communication throughput among the set of components.)
Regarding claim 10, the modified Shao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the enclosure further comprises a cooling system configured to satisfy the cooling requirement (see Shao at [0030], for example, which discloses that the backend of the IO subsystem units 111A-111B includes a cooling fan mounted thereon to cool the temperature of the IO modules inserted therein. Examiner notes that cooling fan may be mapped to cooling system.)
Independent claim 11 is directed to a physical enclosure that performs the steps recited in the system of claim 1. The cited portions of the cited references used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the steps performed by the physical enclosure of claim 11. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as stated for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Shao teaches the system of claim 11, wherein a cooling system comprises: the set of manifolds configured to flow a cooled liquid toward the set of components; (see Turner at col. 2 lines 3-20 which discloses a secondary distribution manifold can be configured to distribute the secondary coolant among the plurality of server-cooling nodes; see Turner at col. 14 at lines 63-67 which discloses that when a temperature of the facility coolant in the return line 353 is at or below a threshold temperature for the inlet to the facility-level cooler 340, the valve 359b can permit the relatively cool facility coolant from the return line 353 to directly flow into the supply conduit 321; also, see Shao at col. 20 lines 26-32, for example, which discloses that control logic can determine a minimum flow rate that each rack (or node) needs to maintain a given component (e.g., a processor) at or below a threshold temperature, as described above.)
and a dual pump configured to pump the cooled liquid to the set of components (see Turner at col. 5 lines 55-61 which discloses that in some embodiments, a controller can adjust operation of one or more pumps, one or more valves, or a combination of one or more pumps and one or more valves to tailor the cooling capacity of a selected cooling nodes to correspond to the heat dissipated by the components, servers, and/or racks cooled by the cooling nodes. Examiner maps two of the one or more pumps to the recited dual pump.)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Shao teaches the physical enclosure of claim 11, wherein: the physical enclosure further comprises a shock absorption system configured to satisfy the shock absorption requirement; the shock absorption system comprises a plurality of shock dampeners positioned at various locations underneath the physical enclosure; and each of the plurality of shock dampeners is configured to dampen vibrations caused by movements of the autonomous vehicle while traveling (see Shao at [0039] which discloses that as the vehicle moves, the ride may be bumpy, that in order to reduce the vibration of the platform, according to one embodiment, platform 100 may be placed onto a vibration reduction platform, that FIG. 12 shows an example of a vibration reduction platform according to one embodiment of the invention, and that referring to FIG. 12, the vibration reduction platform includes a vibration reduction board 1200 supported by stands 1201-1203. Examiner maps vibration reduction board supported by stands to plurality of shock dampeners positioned at various locations underneath the physical enclosure.)
Regarding claim 14, the modified Shao teaches the physical enclosure of claim 11, wherein: each component of the set of components is implemented by a circuit board on a blade; the blade is a computing device with a predefined dimension that fits into a bay within the physical enclosure; the circuit board comprises a set of electrical components that is configured to perform an operation of a component of the set of components; and the set of electrical components comprises at least one hardware processor (see Shao at [0028] which discloses that each of 20 subsystem units 111A and 111B includes one or more slots to contain one or more IO modules and that each IO module may include processing hardware such as a graphic processing unit (GPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or a field programmable gate array (FPGA), etc. to perform specific operations such as processing sensor data received from sensors or execute a particular algorithm, etc.; see Shao at [0030] which discloses that the frontend of IO subsystem units 111A-111B includes a number of slots to receive a number of IO modules; see Shao at [0032] which discloses that front end of storage module 112 includes one or more slots to receive one or more storage cards (e.g., plug-in cards) having one or more storage devices such as solid state devices; see Daly at [0024] which discloses that the controller 150 may be provided in many forms, including, but not limited to, a circuit board with chips and/or processing components thereon. Examiner maps plug-in card to circuit board on a blade. Examiner notes that processing hardware such as a graphic processing unit (GPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or a field programmable gate array (FPGA) correspond to electrical components.)
Regarding claim 15, the modified Shao teaches the physical enclosure of claim 14, wherein: the blade comprises a set of connectors configured to accept one or more manifolds of a cooling system and a set of transmission lines associated with the backplane; and the blade is configured to be connected to the one or more manifolds and the set of transmission lines via the set of connectors when the blade is slid into the bay within the physical enclosure (see Shao at [0028] which discloses that each of 20 subsystem units 111A and 111B includes one or more slots to contain one or more IO modules; see Turner at col. 2 lines 41-52 which discloses that the heat-transfer system can also include a gateway having a first communication connection with the control logic, the plurality of sensors, or both, that the gateway can also include a second communication connection with a Data Center Information Manager, a Building Management System, or both, that in some embodiments, the gateway is configured to receive first information over the first communication connection and to communicate the received first information over the second communication connection, to receive second information over the second communication connection and to communicate the received second information over the first communication connection, or both; see Turner at col. 9 lines 17-30 which discloses that each server-cooling node 110a-d receives cool coolant from the distribution manifold 124 and returns heated coolant to the collection manifold 122 and that, for example, each server-cooling node 110a-d has a supply connection 114a-d with the distribution manifold 124 and a return connection 115a-d with the collection manifold 122. Examiner maps the one or more connections to set of connectors.)
Regarding claim 16, the modified Shao teaches the physical enclosure of claim 11, wherein the autonomous vehicle is a semi-truck tractor unit attached to a trailer (see Daly at Figs. 1B and 1C which depicts a semi-truck tractor unit attached to a trailer; see Daly at [0020] which discloses a modular rack assembly 100 which may be used for a selected range of autonomous vehicles 110, for example, vehicles pulling tractor trailers and/or trucks.)
Regarding claim 17, the modified Shao teaches the physical enclosure of claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a camera, a light detection and ranging sensor, a motion sensor, a Radar sensor, or an infrared sensor (see Shao at [0031] which discloses that a sensor can be any one of a camera, a global positioning system (GPS), an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a radar unit, a light detection and range (LIDAR) unit, an infrared sensor, a wheel encoder, a steering sensor, a throttle sensor, a braking sensor, etc.)
Claims 19-20 are directed to a physical enclosure that performs the steps recited in the systems of claims 3-4. The cited portions of the cited references used in the rejection of claims 3-4 teach the steps performed by the physical enclosure of claims 19-20. Therefore, claims 19-20 are rejected under the same rationale as stated for claims 3-4 above.
Claims 2, 5, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 2018/0137076) in view of Wen et al. (US 2022/0073020) in view of Turner et al. (US 12,200,914) in view of Tomiji et al. (US 2005/0269176) and further in view of Daly, JR. et al. (US 2021/0178983) (hereinafter, Daly).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Shao does not expressly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the enclosure is modular such that the enclosure is configured to be integrated with a semi-tractor truck, which in a related art, Daly teaches (see Daly at [0020] which discloses that FIG. 1A schematically shows a modular rack assembly 100 which may be used for a selected range of autonomous vehicles 110, for example, vehicles pulling tractor trailers and/or trucks; see Daly at the [0026] in conjunction with Figs. 1B and 1C, which discloses placement of the herein disclosed modular rack assembly 100 on an autonomous vehicle 110. Examiner notes that Figs. 1B and 1C depict a semi-tractor truck.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao to include wherein the enclosure is modular such that the enclosure is configured to be integrated with a semi-tractor truck, as taught by Daly.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a modular rack assembly that is a universal assembly for one or more different types of sensors used for autonomous driving of vehicles and that brings modular functionality to those sensor arrangements, as suggested by Daly at [0019].
Regarding claim 5, the modified Shao does not expressly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the threshold dimension is 36 inches x 24 inches x 22 inches, which in a related art, which in a related art, Daly teaches (see Wen, at [0052] for example, which discloses that sizes of the cabinet body 100 can be designed to match a sleeping compartment in the cab. Examiner notes that designing the cabinet body to match a sleeping compartment in the cab corresponds to meeting a space requirement to have a dimension less than a threshold dimension, such as 36 inches x 24 inches x 22 inches. Alternatively, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice for a person having ordinary skill in the art to require that an enclosure have dimensions less than a particular threshold dimension, such as 36 inches x 24 inches x 22 inches, based on the size of a cab of a tractor trailer. Furthermore, see Daly at [0026] which discloses that Figs. 1B and 1C and that the illustrated embodiments are designed to show one example of placement of the herein disclosed modular rack assembly on an autonomous vehicle; see Daly at [0055] which discloses that the modular rack assembly 100 is configured to be attached to any number of mounting surfaces of a vehicle 110, that accordingly, it should be understood that, in some embodiments, mounting the rack assembly 100 to a roof may include mounting the rack assembly with respect to a back of the vehicle, which may or may not include a back window of the vehicle. Thus, alternatively, the Examiner notes that the modular rack assembly may be designed or configured for attachment or placement to any number of mounting surfaces of a vehicle corresponds to being able to design the rack assembly at the recited threshold dimension.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao to include wherein the threshold dimension is 36 inches x 24 inches x 22 inches, as taught by Daly.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to accommodate attachment of the modular rack assembly to a number of mounting surfaces of a vehicle, as suggested by Daly at [0055].
Claim 18 is directed to a physical enclosure that performs the steps recited in the system of claim 2. The cited portions of the cited references used in the rejection of claim 2 teach the steps performed by the physical enclosure of claim 18. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as stated for claim 2 above.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 2018/0137076) in view of Wen et al. (US 2022/0073020) in view of Turner et al. (US 12,200,914) in view of Tomiji et al. (US 2005/0269176) and further in view of Harmon et al. (US 2024/0208421).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Shao does not expressly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the enclosure is placed within a cabin of the autonomous vehicle, which in a related art Harmon teaches (see Harmon at [0029] which discloses a first embodiment of a modular center console configured with module holders to hold removable modules; see Harmon at [0082] which discloses that it should be appreciated that the vehicle 10 may be a motor vehicle, such as a wheeled car, truck, SUV, van or bus, for example, or an airplane, train, boat or other vehicle capable of transporting one or more passengers and items; see Harmon at [0084] which discloses that the cabin interior 14 is shown equipped with a front center console 30 located in the space between the driver first seat assembly 20A and the passenger second seat assembly 20B in the front first row of seating. Examiner notes that a cabin interior is within a cabin of a vehicle, such as the disclosed truck.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao to include wherein the enclosure is placed within a cabin of the autonomous vehicle, as taught by Harmon.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to accommodate for the removable attachment of a module from a module holder, as suggested by Harmon at [0003-0004].
Regarding claim 7, the modified Shao does not expressly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the enclosure is placed between a driver seat and a passenger seat of the autonomous vehicle, which in a related art Harmon teaches (see Harmon at [0029] which discloses a first embodiment of a modular center console configured with module holders to hold removable modules; see Harmon at [0082] which discloses that it should be appreciated that the vehicle 10 may be a motor vehicle, such as a wheeled car, truck, SUV, van or bus, for example, or an airplane, train, boat or other vehicle capable of transporting one or more passengers and items; see Harmon at [0084] which discloses that the cabin interior 14 is shown equipped with a front center console 30 located in the space between the driver first seat assembly 20A and the passenger second seat assembly 20B in the front first row of seating.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao to include wherein the enclosure is placed between a driver seat and a passenger seat of the autonomous vehicle, as taught by Harmon.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to accommodate for the removable attachment of a module from a module holder located in a space between the driver first seat assembly and the passenger second seat assembly, as suggested by Harmon at [0003-0004] and at [0084].
Conclusion
/ROY RHEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664