DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant’s remarks, filed on 5/31/2026. The amendments to claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 12 and 14-15 have been entered. No claims have been cancelled, and no new claim(s) have been entered. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-15 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 1-5, with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been fully considered.
After review of the Applicant’s remarks regarding the objections to claim(s) 6-7 and 12, Examiner respectfully agrees with Applicant and the prior objections have been withdrawn. However, new objections to the amended language have been raised. Regarding the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Examiner respectfully agrees with the remarks and the prior 35 USC § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. §103, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the following: new amendments provided by Applicant and attached remarks; updated search and review of pertinent, eligible prior art; and/or different interpretation of the previously applied references. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant’s arguments only address independent claim(s) 1, and no remarks regarding the subject matter of the dependent claim(s) have been presented. Accordingly, the rejections to dependent claims 2-15 are modified to address Applicant’s amendments and the new rejection to independent claim(s) 1 and are sustained. The rejections of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 7 recite(s) the limitation “such that […]”. It is suggested to replace the phrase “such that” with the term —wherein— to ensure the positive recitation of all elements in the claim. The use of the phrase “such that” may be interpreted as a negative limitation in the claim, resulting in an interpretation of subsequent limitations (i.e., “such that at least a portion of the clamp part remains inserted in the second through part, only the motor part is moved away from the cap part along the axial direction of the body part by the first drive unit,”) as preferred or suggested limitations, and therefore may be excluded from examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Strickler et al. (US20080097223A1, 2008-04-24; hereinafter “Strickler”).
Regarding claim 1, Strickler teaches a catheter rotary apparatus for optical coherence tomography (OCT) (“A catheter carriage interlock system for an optical catheter system” [clm 13]; “a catheter system 100 connected to a pullback and rotation system 200” [0037]; [fig. 1-11]), comprising:
a rotary junction module (“a pullback and rotation system” [clm 13]; “The pullback and rotation system 200 controls the movement of the inner catheter scanning body sb and catheter head 130 both in terms of rotation 84 and longitudinal movement 86” [0043]; [fig. 4-11]); and
a catheter (“an intraluminal catheter that provides optical signals to a patient and carries optical signals from the patient,” [clm 13]; “the catheter system 100 comprises an intraluminal catheter 110.” [0038]; [fig. 1-7A]),
wherein the rotary junction module includes:
a body part including a first through part formed at a first end of the body part and configured to enable an optical fiber on a sample stage side of an OCT system to pass therethrough, and a second through part formed at a second end of the body part and configured to enable an optical fiber on a catheter side to pass therethrough (“the pullback and rotation system 200. It generally comprises a pullback and rotation frame 212. A front member 212 f of the frame 212 holds the interface release ring 210 that forms part of the catheter interface 205 to which the catheter system 100 connects. A center member 212 b runs laterally from the front member 212 f to a rear member 212 c.” [0053]; “The carriage drum system 325 is mounted to rotate on the front carriage frame plate 333 f and the back carriage frame plate 333 b. […] Specifically, this provides the optical connection between a delivery channel provided by delivery fiber 74 and collection channel provided by the collection fiber 72 of the optical fiber bundle ofb.” [0056]; The carriage drive system frame has a front member and rear member with holes that allow optical fibers to pass into the pullback and rotation system through rotating drum and into intraluminal catheter [0037-0075], [fig. 4-11; see fig. 4 reproduced below]);
a fiber optic rotary joint provided at the first end of the body part and configured to connect the optical fiber on the sample stage side of the OCT system and the optical fiber on the catheter side, the fiber optic rotary joint including a stator connected to the optical fiber on the sample stage side and a rotator connected to the optical fiber on the catheter side (“the input optical fiber 361 of the delivery channel connects to the rotating carriage drum 325 via an input optical fiber rotary coupling 360. This allows the input optical fiber 361 to remain stationary, i.e., not rotate.” [0064]; “The delivery tunable optical signal, such as generated by a tunable laser 20, is transmitted on fiber 361, through the input optical fiber rotary coupling 360, to the rotating drum 325. […] The remaining signal is transmitted on fiber 361 e of the delivery optical fiber 74 of the catheter system 100 via the duplex couplers 312/120.” [0067]; The rotary optical coupler 360 allows an input optical fiber to remain stationary (i.e., stator) and direct optical signals along delivery channel inside rotating drum and electrical slip ring system (i.e., rotator), through optical fiber bundle and into catheter [0037-0075], [fig. 4-11; see fig. 7 reproduced below]); and
The fiber rotary coupling 360 allows the input optical fiber 361 to remain stationary and facilitates optical signal transmission through rotating drum 325 (Strickler [fig. 7])
a motor part which is provided inside the body part and configured to rotate the optical fiber on the catheter side, and includes a male optical connector configured to connect the optical fiber on the catheter side (“The front carriage drum roller 314 supports a carriage coupler mount 310. The carriage coupler mount 310 holds a male optical duplex coupler 312 that connects to the female duplex optical coupler 120 of the catheter system 100.” [0056]; “The drum system 325 rotates relative to the carriage frame plates 333 f, 333 b under power of a carriage motor encoder 320.” [0059]; The drum system (i.e., motor part) front carriage drum roller supports rotating carriage coupler mount which holds male optical duplex coupler [0037-0075], [fig. 4-11; see fig. 4 reproduced below]),
Pullback and rotation system 200 comprising carriage drive system 300 to drive rotation and longitudinal movement of the catheter system (Strickler [fig. 4])
wherein the catheter includes:
a female optical connector connected to the male optical connector (“The carriage coupler mount 310 holds a male optical duplex coupler 312 that connects to the female duplex optical coupler 120 of the catheter system 100.” [0056]; [0037-0063], [fig. 1-4, 6-8]); and
a cap part clamped to the body part (“the proximal end of the catheter system 100. It comprises the handle housing 112, […] The handle housing 112 further comprises a housing apron 112 a” [0045]; “Within the housing 112 is a catheter carriage 118.” [0046]; “The catheter system 100 has a series of components that form a catheter carriage interlock system 180,” [0047]; The catheter system has a catheter housing 112 at the proximal end with a catheter carriage 118 and catheter carriage interlock system 180 comprised within, wherein the interlock system connects with the catheter interface of the pullback and rotation system [0037-0063], [fig. 4-11; see fig. 2 reproduced below]),
wherein the cap part includes:
an outer cap coupled to the second through part formed at the second end of the body part;
an inner cap inserted into the outer cap (“the proximal end of the catheter system 100 has a catheter handle housing 112.” [0042]; “The handle housing 112 further comprises a housing apron 112 a that flares moving proximally in order to protect the coupling components housed within the housing 112.” [0045]; “The catheter system 100 has a series of components that form a catheter carriage interlock system 180, which prevents the carriage 118 from moving within the housing body 112 both rotationally and longitudinally 50 when the catheter system 100 is not mechanically connected to the pullback and rotation system 200.” [0047]; The housing apron (i.e., outer cap) surrounds the housing body (i.e., inner cap), wherein the housing 112 is shaped to couple with the pullback and rotation system [0037-0063], [fig. 4-11; see fig. 2 reproduced below]); and
a fixed cap spaced apart from an inner surface of the inner cap, coupled to the female optical connector and rotated when the female optical connector is rotated (“Within the housing 112 is a catheter carriage 118.” [0046]; “The carriage coupler mount 310 holds a male optical duplex coupler 312 that connects to the female duplex optical coupler 120 of the catheter system 100.” [0056]; “specifically the catheter carriage 118 is rotationally aligned to the drum system 325 of the carriage system 300 thus ensuring alignment between the female duplex optical coupler 120 and the male optical duplex coupler 312.” [0057]; The catheter carriage 118 (i.e., fixed cap) is disposed within the housing and comprises female duplex optical coupler, and rotationally aligns with the pullback and rotation system [0037-0063], [fig. 4-11; see fig. 2 reproduced below]).
The proximal section of catheter (i.e., cap part) is a handle comprising housing apron 112a (i.e., outer cap) and housing body (i.e., inner cap), which house and protect catheter carriage 118/optical coupler 120 (Strickler [fig. 2])
Regarding claim 2, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 1,
Strickler further teaching wherein the rotary junction module further includes a clamp part, wherein at least a portion of the clamp part is inserted into the second through part (“the catheter system 100 coupled to the pullback and rotation system 200 and specifically its interaction with the interface release ring 210. The ring shoulders 210 s engage with the ring engagement noses 116 n of the catheter locking levers 116.” [0052]; “A front member 212 f of the frame 212 holds the interface release ring 210 that forms part of the catheter interface 205 to which the catheter system 100 connects.” [0053]; “The front carriage drum roller 314 supports a carriage coupler mount 310. The carriage coupler mount 310 holds a male optical duplex coupler 312 that connects to the female duplex optical coupler 120 of the catheter system 100.” [0056]; The interface release ring 210 and carriage coupler mount (i.e., clamp part) are disposed within the catheter interface 205 and couple with the carriage interlock system 180 of catheter system [0037-0063], [fig. 2-4, 7A-8; see fig. 3 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]),
one end of the clamp part is located to face the motor part, and the inner cap is coupled to the clamp part (“The catheter system 100 has a series of components that form a catheter carriage interlock system 180, which prevents the carriage 118 from moving within the housing body 112 both rotationally and longitudinally 50 when the catheter system 100 is not mechanically connected to the pullback and rotation system 200.” [0047]; “A front member 212 f of the frame 212 holds the interface release ring 210 that forms part of the catheter interface 205 to which the catheter system 100 connects.” [0053]; The carriage coupler mount 310 engages with the inner carriage 118 while interface release ring 210 engages with carriage interlock system 180 [0037-0063], [fig. 2-8; see fig. 3 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Catheter system 100 coupled to pullback and rotation system 200 (Strickler [fig. 3])
Regarding claim 3, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 2, Strickler further teaching wherein the rotary junction module further includes a drive part coupled to the body part and configured to move the motor part and the clamp part in one direction (“A longitudinal drive or timing belt drive motor 240, hung on the rear member 212 c, is also alternatively used to drive the carriage drive system 300 back and forth in the direction of arrow 50.” [0061]; Longitudinal drive motor 240 is attached to rear member of frame and drives the carriage drive system 300 (i.e., motor part and clamp part) in arrow direction [0037-0063], [fig. 4-6; see fig. 4 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Carriage frame plate slides along rails 212r and comprises drum system, carriage motor encoder, and carriage coupler mount (Strickler [fig. 4])
Regarding claim 4, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 3, Strickler further teaching wherein the clamp part includes:
an inner cap coupling which is inserted to be in tight contact with an inner circumferential surface of the second through part and of which one end is coupled to the inner cap (“The front carriage drum roller 314 supports a carriage coupler mount 310. The carriage coupler mount 310 holds a male optical duplex coupler 312 that connects to the female duplex optical coupler 120 of the catheter system 100. […] A catheter alignment bayonet 114 projects proximally from the female duplex optical coupler 120.” [0056]; “The carriage coupler mount 310 also has a bayonet scabbard 310 s that is a port for receiving the catheter alignment bayonet 114.” [0057]; “the carriage coupler mount 310 projects thought port 212 p in the front member 212 f of the frame 212 enabling the carriage 118 of the catheter system 100 to mechanically and optically mate with the carriage drive system 300.” [0074]; The carriage coupler mount projects into the central port 212p through catheter interface to optically mate with the catheter system [0037-0063], [fig. 2-8]); and
a drive part coupling coupled to the other end of the inner cap coupling and connected to the drive part (“the carriage drive system 300 travels longitudinally on the pullback and rotation frame 212 on frame rails 212 r […] carriage rollers 30 are journaled to roller plates 331 which are attached to a front carriage frame plate 333 f and a back carriage frame plate 333 b, respectively.” [0055]; “The carriage drum system 325 is mounted to rotate on the front carriage frame plate 333 f and the back carriage frame plate 333 b. […] The front carriage drum roller 314 supports a carriage coupler mount 310.” [0056]; The front carriage frame plate (i.e., drive part coupling) supports front carriage drum roller and carriage coupler mount, and couples to longitudinal drive motor along the rails 212r to drive carriage system 300 longitudinally [0037-0063], [fig. 2-8], [see claim 3 rejection]).
Regarding claim 5, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 3,
Strickler further teaching wherein the drive part includes:
a first drive unit connected to the motor part and configured to linearly move the motor part along an axial direction of the body part; and a second drive unit connected to the clamp part and configured to linearly move the clamp part along the axial direction (“The carriage rollers 30 are journaled to roller plates 331 which are attached to a front carriage frame plate 333 f and a back carriage frame plate 333 b, respectively.” [0055]; “The carriage drum system 325 is mounted to rotate on the front carriage frame plate 333 f and the back carriage frame plate 333 b. Specifically, the carriage drum system 325 comprises a front carriage drum roller 314 and a rear carriage drum base 330.” [0056]; The front carriage frame plate (i.e., second drive unit) and back carriage frame plate (i.e., first drive unit) translate the drum system longitudinally along arrow 50 [fig. 2-8; see fig. 4 reproduced below]).
Carriage drum system 325 is rotatable and supported by carriage frame plates 333f, 333b, wherein the frame plates translate the drum system longitudinally along arrow 50 (Strickler [fig. 4])
Regarding claim 6, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 5,
Strickler further teaching wherein the catheter is pulled back by the motor part being moved in a pullback direction along the axial direction of the body part by the first drive unit and the clamp part being moved in the pullback direction by the second drive unit at the same time (“the carriage drive system 300 travels longitudinally on the pullback and rotation frame 212 on frame rails 212 r formed on either side of the center member 212 b. Specifically, carriage rollers 330 roll on the rails 212 r thereby allowing the carriage drive system 300 to move laterally on the frame 212. The carriage rollers 30 are journaled to roller plates 331 which are attached to a front carriage frame plate 333 f and a back carriage frame plate 333 b, respectively.” [0055]; [0037-0063], [fig. 2-8], [see claim 5 rejection]).
Regarding claim 7, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 5, Strickler further teaching wherein while the second drive unit maintains the clamp part such that at least a portion of the clamp part remains inserted in the second through part, only the motor part is moved away from the cap part along the axial direction of the body part by the first drive unit, so that the female optical connector is decoupled from the male optical connector (“the carriage drive system 300 travels longitudinally on the pullback and rotation frame 212 on frame rails 212 r formed on either side of the center member 212 b. Specifically, carriage rollers 330 roll on the rails 212 r thereby allowing the carriage drive system 300 to move laterally on the frame 212” [0055]; “The carriage coupler mount 310 holds a male optical duplex coupler 312 that connects to the female duplex optical coupler 120 of the catheter system 100. Specifically, this provides the optical connection between a delivery channel provided by delivery fiber 74 and collection channel provided by the collection fiber 72 of the optical fiber bundle ofb.” [0056]; [0037-0063], [fig. 2-8; see fig. 4 reproduced below], [see claim 5 rejection]).
The carriage drive system travels in pullback axial direction (arrow) away from the catheter interface when decoupling male and female optical couplers (Strickler [fig. 4], annotated})
Regarding claim 8, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 1, Strickler further teaching wherein the motor part includes:
a motor which has a hollow shape in order for the optical fiber on the catheter side to be inserted into the motor and connected to the male optical connector (“A front member 212 f of the frame 212 holds the interface release ring 210 that forms part of the catheter interface 205 to which the catheter system 100 connects.” [0053]; “Specifically, the carriage drum system 325 comprises a front carriage drum roller 314 and a rear carriage drum base 330. […] The front carriage drum roller 314 supports a carriage coupler mount 310. The carriage coupler mount 310 holds a male optical duplex coupler 312 that connects to the female duplex optical coupler 120 of the catheter system 100.” [0056]; “The drum system 325 rotates relative to the carriage frame plates 333 f, 333 b under power of a carriage motor encoder 320.” [0059]; The front drum 314 is hollow to allow optical fiber to pass through the rotating drum system, and connects to the male optical duplex coupler through the carriage coupler mount [0037-0063], [fig. 2-11; see fig. 4 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]);
a fixed ring coupled to the outside of the motor and having a greater diameter than the motor (“the carriage motor encoder 320 drives a roller 323 that engages teeth on the outer periphery of the front drum 314. Thus, the motor encoder 320 drives the drum system 323 to rotate 52 under angular control of its encoder.” [0059]; The teeth (i.e., fixed ring) on the outer periphery of front drum engages with motor encoder 320 to drive rotation of the drum system [0037-0063], [fig. 2-11; see fig. 4 reproduced below]); and
a housing formed to enclose an outer circumferential surface of the fixed ring (“The carriage drum system 325 is mounted to rotate on the front carriage frame plate 333 f and the back carriage frame plate 333 b. Specifically, the carriage drum system 325 comprises a front carriage drum roller 314 and a rear carriage drum base 330.” [0056]; “Three carriage rollers 327, each having a female V-shape profile, provide support to the drum 325 by engaging a V-shaped outer periphery 314 p of the front drum 314 at three distributed points of contact allowing its rotation.” [0059]; The frame plates and carriage rollers house the outer periphery of the front drum [0037-0063], [fig. 2-11; see fig. 4 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Carriage motor encoder 320 drives rotation of the drum system 325 within frames by engaging with teeth on the outer periphery of front drum using carriage rollers 327 (Strickler [fig. 4])
Regarding claim 9, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 8,
Strickler further teaching wherein a plurality of grooves is recessed inwards on the outer circumferential surface of the fixed ring (“the carriage motor encoder 320 drives a roller 323 that engages teeth on the outer periphery of the front drum 314. Thus, the motor encoder 320 drives the drum system 323 to rotate 52 under angular control of its encoder. Three carriage rollers 327, each having a female V-shape profile, provide support to the drum 325 by engaging a V-shaped outer periphery 314 p of the front drum 314 at three distributed points of contact allowing its rotation.” [0059]; ).
Regarding claim 10, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 1, Strickler further teaching wherein the motor part further includes a universal coupler which is coupled to the rotator of the fiber optic rotary joint and configured to rotate the rotator (“the carriage motor encoder 320 drives a roller 323 that engages teeth on the outer periphery of the front drum 314. Thus, the motor encoder 320 drives the drum system 323 to rotate 52 under angular control of its encoder. Three carriage rollers 327, each having a female V-shape profile, provide support to the drum 325 by engaging a V-shaped outer periphery 314 p of the front drum 314 at three distributed points of contact allowing its rotation.” [0059]; The drum system 323 including carriage rollers 327 (i.e., universal coupler) rotates the rotating drum [0037-0063], [fig. 2-8], [see claim 3 rejection]).
Regarding claim 11, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 8,
Strickler further teaching wherein the motor part further includes an encoder coupled to one side of the motor and configured to control a rotation speed of the motor (“The drum system 325 rotates relative to the carriage frame plates 333 f, 333 b under power of a carriage motor encoder 320. Specifically, the carriage motor encoder 320 drives a roller 323 that engages teeth on the outer periphery of the front drum 314. Thus, the motor encoder 320 drives the drum system 323 to rotate 52 under angular control of its encoder.” [0059]; [0037-0063], [fig. 2-8], [see claim 1, 8 rejections]).
Regarding claim 12, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 1, Strickler further teaching wherein the catheter further includes:
a torque coil which is connected to the female optical connector and configured to receive the optical fiber on the catheter side therein (“The scanning body typically comprises an outer torque cable 85 for transferring rotation to the head 130. In the current embodiment, the torque cable 85 comprises contrahelically wound wire layers to enable low backlash torque transfer along the length of the intraluminal catheter 110.” [0041]; [0037-0063], [fig. 1-3, 7A]);
a first protective sheath located outside a proximal side of the torque coil; and a second protective sheath surrounding both the torque coil and the first protective sheath (“In order to enable scanning of the inner luminal walls 2, inner catheter scanning body sb including the head 130 is rotated within a protective jacket or sheath 82, see arrow 84, while typically being simultaneously translated longitudinally within the jacket 82, see arrow 86. […] The jacket 82 ensures that the lumen is not damaged by the rotation 84 and longitudinal movement 86 of the inner catheter scanning body sb.” [0041]; The scanning body sb (i.e., first protective sheath) runs the length of the torque cable 85 and is surrounded by a jacket sheath 82 (i.e., second protective sheath) that protects the lumen from damage [0037-0063], [fig. 1-3, 7A]).
Regarding claim 13, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 12,
Strickler further teaching wherein the first protective sheath and the second protective sheath are formed of flexible materials (“The pullback and rotation system 200 controls the movement of the inner catheter scanning body sb and catheter head 130 both in terms of rotation 84 and longitudinal movement 86 to typically helically raster scan the internal walls 2 of the coronary artery, for example, to assess and characterize any tissue, lesions, or other problems in and on those internal walls 2.” [0043]; The distal portion of the catheter is flexible to image the internal walls of blood vessels [0037-0063], [fig. 1-8], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 14, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 1, Strickler further teaching wherein the outer cap is rotationally coupled to the second through part (“The interlock system 180 comprises a series of catheter locking levers 116” [0048]; “the catheter system 100 coupled to the pullback and rotation system 200 and specifically its interaction with the interface release ring 210. […] This allows the catheter carriage 118 to now rotate within the housing 112 because the lever arms 116 a are no longer interfering with the carriage rotation shoulders 118 s. Further, the lever arms 116 a are now pulled away from the carriage extraction shoulders 118 e to thereby allow the carriage to move in the direction of arrow 10 and rotate in the direction of arrow 50′ relative to the housing body 112.” [0052]; When the catheter system is engaged with the pullback and rotation system the housing apron may rotate about the catheter interface [0037-0063], [fig. 1-8; see fig. 3 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]).
The catheter housing apron 112a may rotate relative to the pullback and rotation frame when engaged (Strickler [fig. 3])
Regarding claim 15, Strickler teaches the catheter rotary apparatus of Claim 1, wherein a plurality of catching projections is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the outer cap, a plurality of catching grooves is formed on an inner circumferential surface of the second through part, and the outer cap is coupled to the second through part by the plurality of catching projections and the plurality of catching grooves (“Each catheter locking lever comprises a lever pivot 116 p, a ring engagement nose 116 n, and a lever arm 116 a. When the catheter system 100 is not connected to the pullback and rotation system 200, the lever arms 116 a of the catheter locking levers 116 are in engagement with an outer periphery 118 p of the carriage 118.” [0049]; “The ring shoulders 210 s engage with the ring engagement noses 116 n of the catheter locking levers 116. This causes the locking levers 116 to pivot on the respective lever pivot 116 p against the axially inward directed bias force of the band 116 b with the lever arm portions 116 a of the locking levers 116 rotating outward thereby bringing the lever arms 116 a out of engagement with region 118 p of the catheter carriage 118” [0052]; “A front member 212 f of the frame 212 holds the interface release ring 210 that forms part of the catheter interface 205 to which the catheter system 100 connects.” [0053]; The interface release ring has shoulders (i.e., catching grooves) which engage with ring engagement noses of locking levers (i.e., catching projections) to couple the catheter system and the pullback and rotation system together [0037-0063], [fig. 2-11; see fig. 3 reproduced below]).
Ring shoulders 210s engage with ring engagement noses 116n to enable rotational coupling between the catheter system and rotation and pullback system (Strickler [fig. 3])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Murphy et al. (US20080097408A1, 2008-04-24) teaches a pullback carriage interlock system for a catheter pullback system. The pullback carriage interlock system comprises a latching system for holding the pullback carriage drive system when the catheter system is being attached to the pullback system [0012].
Jenner et al. (US20130223798A1, 2013-08-29) teaches rotatable optical couplings, and more particularly to a manually separable and re-connectable optical-electrical rotary joint. The invention provides a manually separable optical-electrical rotary joint in which an optical signal and electrical signal are transmitted while a downstream component rotates relative to an up-stream component, for example, as driven by a motor at the upstream component [abst].
Tanioka (US20070232893A1, 2007-10-04) teaches a system, probe and catheter wherein once an overload is applied to a distal end portion of a driveshaft, the drive is instantaneously and reliably cut off rotational drive force from the driveshaft [0017].
Swanson et al. (US6445939B1, 2002-09-03) teaches ultra-small optical probes comprising a single-mode optical fiber and a lens which has substantially the same diameter as the optical fiber. Connector elements are provided to facilitate the attachment of the probe to an optical system and the quick disconnection of the probe from the optical system [abst].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES FRANKLIN MCDONALD III
Examiner
Art Unit 3797
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797