DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Executing Processor Core Usage Monitor Tool During Software Installation”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tkaczyk-Walczak et al US 2019/0324878.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 17
Tkaczyk-Walczak et al teaches
executing, at least in part, a software installation on a processor, the processor having multiple cores of different performance type [see fig 1, 0003] according to some embodiments, a method for calculation of at least one software usage metric is disclosed, the software usage metric describing a plurality of software products installed in a computing infrastructure including a plurality of computing machines organized into a plurality of computing groups. The method includes installing a first set of software products in each computing machine in a first computing group of a plurality of computing groups, scanning one computing machine in the first computing group to discover that the first set of software products are installed thereon, and calculating an overall usage metric for the first computing group based on a number of computing machines belonging to the first computing group and the discovered first set of software products];
during the executing of the software installation on the processor, executing a usage monitor tool, wherein executing the usage monitor tool comprises monitoring, during the executing of the software installation, one or more processes of the software installation executing on the processor [see fig 3, 0034] FIG. 3 is a flowchart of method 300 for calculation of at least one software usage metric in a computing infrastructure such as computing environment 10 (shown in FIG. 1A). The software usage metric being measured by method 300 is an overall usage metric that describes the total number of instances of a particular set of used software products in the computing infrastructure. Thereby, the overall usage metric accounts for each computing machine upon which is installed a software product of interest (e.g., one the software product from a set of software products) across all the products of interest];
scanning, via a processor query, the processor at a defined frequency for core-related data of one or more particular cores of the multiple cores, the one or more particular cores executing the one or more processes of the software installation [0004] according to some embodiments, computer program product for calculating software usage is disclosed, the computer program product including a computer-readable storage medium having computer program instructions embodied therewith, the computer program instructions configured, when executed by at least one computing machine, to cause the at least one computing machine to perform a method. The method includes installing a first set of software products in each computing machine in a first computing group of a plurality of computing groups in a computing infrastructure, scanning one computing machine in the first computing group to discover that the first set of software products are installed thereon, and calculating an overall usage metric for the first computing group based on a number of computing machines belonging to the first computing group and the discovered first set of software products];
storing, based on the scanning, the core-related data of the one or more particular cores executing the one or more processes of the software installation [0017] In some embodiments, the prime machine 11 may be configured to manage each of the computing machines 12A-N. For example, the prime machine 11 may store and/or utilize multiple sets of software products and may be configured to deploy each set of software products to the respective group 13 of computing machines 12. Therefore, prime machine 11 may comprise a map which relates each set of software products with the respective groups 13 that the software products should be installed on. In some other embodiments, each group of computing machines 13 may be managed by a different prime machine 11. In such embodiments, environment 10 may comprise two prime machines 11 such that group 13A would be managed by a first prime machine 11, and group 13B would be managed by a second prime machine 11].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tkaczyk-Walczak et al US 2019/0324878 in vi of Moore et a USPN 10,554,516.
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 18
Tkaczyk-Walczak et al teaches
the multiple cores of different performance type comprise multiple cores with one or more different core characteristics, the one or more different core characteristics being selected from the group consisting of core processing [ 0016…. In another example, computing machines 12 may be grouped by types of processors they have or by other computing properties. For example, all of computing machines 12A-K have the same type of processor in group 13A, and all of computing machines 12L-N have the same type of processor in group 13B (albeit a different type of processor than in group 13A). Furthermore, computing machine 12A may comprise multiple processors 14A and 14B, each of which may comprise multiple cores 15A-D and 15E-H, respectively. Each core 15 may be associated with a corresponding number of PVUs. Therefore, the method as described herein with reference to computing machines 12 may be applied for processors 14 and/or cores 15 (e.g., groups of processors and a reference processor to control the groups may be determined] but doesn’t teach explicitly frequency, core type, quantity of core cache memory available, and configuration of core cache memory available, however, Moore et al teaches (column 3, line 1, the software usage metrics collected by the metrics collection system include a rate or frequency with which features of a software product are executed, a number of devices executing the software product at a deployment, a number of deployments executing versions of the software product, a number of unique users, a number of failed login attempts (e.g., by location, user, or day), a frequency of use of the software product, a frequency of crashes, bug reports, and performance metrics related to a speed or efficiency of actions of the software product. As a means of standardization, the metrics collection system may include a metrics application that executes at client devices, to quantify and format metrics submissions for the metrics collection system. The usage metrics of the metrics submissions may be based on a “Uniform Metrics Identifier” (UMI) that quantifies, based on what the software product is, what the actual metric collected is, and what the point or duration scale of the metric is, and a value of the metric). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate frequency and memory. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine teaching into improve the performance and standardize and collect software usage metrics and to generate report for performance.
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 19
Tkaczyk-Walczak et al teaches
executing the usage monitor tool further comprises generating a usage metric value for a defined period of time, the generating including combining each core-related data, and wherein the usage metric value is indicative for the period of time of usage of the one or more particular cores of the multiple cores of different performance type in executing the one or more processes of the software installation [0054] in order to further improve method 300, a schedule may be defined which sets a predetermined time period between performances of method 300. The schedule indicates that reference machine 12′ of the reference group 13′ is to be scanned and further indicates another selected machine or computing machine 12 (such as a newly-added computing machine 12″) from group 13′ to be scanned as well. This allows for the skipping of scans every time a new computing machine is added, which can save repetitive scanning when a significant number of computing machines 12 are added to group 13′ in a short period of time. For example, a full scan may be performed on new computing machine 12″. The results of the full scan of new computing machine 12″ and the reference machine 12′ can be compared and may result in a machine delta (e.g., machine delta means only files that are not included in the reference machine 12′, the rest may be excluded from scanning) The differences may be put on a pending queue for reference machine 12′ so that the machine delta software products can be added to list of files to exclude from scanning and/or add to reference machine 12]. The feature of providing usage metric for time... would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 14
Moore et al teaches
executing the usage monitor tool further comprises transmitting the usage metric value for the defined period of time to a computing machine of the computing environment, wherein multiple usage metric values for the defined period of time are aggregated by the computing machine across multiple processors of the computing environment (column 7, line 11, as an example of the forgoing operation, the metrics application 114 may cause display of a graphical user interface configured to receive and transmit metrics submissions at a client device 110. The user 106 of the client device 110 may submit a metrics submission (e.g., a UMI) to the metrics collection system 150 through the interface. The software usage metrics are then collected automatically by the metrics application 114, and delivered to the metrics collection system 150 through the network 104. For example, the metrics application 114 may monitor various metrics features of a software product (or multiple software products) executing on the client device 110 (or at the deployment 130). The metrics application 114 may then deliver the software usage metrics collected to the collection module 210 as a metrics submission (e.g., UMI). The feature of providing usage metric for transmitting... would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6
Moore et al teaches
generating the usage metric value for the defined period of time (p) includes determining an aggregated usage metric value (v) as follows
v (p, f, m, r) =∑i=1 p ∙ f m (i)∙t[mi] p ∙f where:
p – period for which metric value should be aggregated (seconds) f – frequency of performing the scans (1/seconds) (column 3, line 19, the UMI may comprise three types of information: a group (e.g., the software product the metric is related to); a metric (e.g., what is being measured); and a duration (e.g., a timeframe over which the measurement was made, or an indication if the measurement is just a point value). For example, based on the UMI, the usage metrics may be formatted as a concatenation of strings associated with the above components, separated by “:” in the following form: <Group>:<Metric>:<Duration>);
m – table containing measurement results, i.e. core types recognized in given scan (core type) (column 9, line 5, software usage metrics data in the form of metrics submissions flow from the deployments 610, through the network 104, and into the metrics collection system 150 based on the methods 300, 400, and 500 discussed in FIGS. 3-5. The metrics collection system 150 receives the metrics submissions, and stores the software usage metrics data within the database 126);
r – table containing rates that should be applied for given core type (metric units core type) (column 3, line 1, the software usage metrics collected by the metrics collection system include a rate or frequency with which features of a software product are executed, a number of devices executing the software product at a deployment, a number of deployments executing versions of the software product, a number of unique users, a number of failed login attempts (e.g., by location, user, or day), a frequency of use of the software product, a frequency of crashes, bug reports, and performance metrics related to a speed or efficiency of actions of the software product. As a means of standardization, the metrics collection system may include a metrics application that executes at client devices, to quantify and format metrics submissions for the metrics collection system. The usage metrics of the metrics submissions may be based on a “Uniform Metrics Identifier” (UMI) that quantifies, based on what the software product is, what the actual metric collected is, and what the point or duration scale of the metric is, and a value of the metric);
v – aggregated value for period p (metric units) (column 7, line 44, at operation 340, the scoring module 230 calculates a metrics score of the metrics category (or categories). The metrics score is based on the software usage metrics values collected by the collection module 210). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate metric values to calculate values and errors. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine teaching into improve the performance, standardize and optimize processes while providing consistency.
Regarding claims 7 and 15
Tkaczyk-Walczak et al teaches
executing the usage monitor tool further comprises determining that the one or more processes of the software installation are executing on the processor [see fig 3, 0034] FIG. 3 is a flowchart of method 300 for calculation of at least one software usage metric in a computing infrastructure such as computing environment 10 (shown in FIG. 1A). The software usage metric being measured by method 300 is an overall usage metric that describes the total number of instances of a particular set of used software products in the computing infrastructure. Thereby, the overall usage metric accounts for each computing machine upon which is installed a software product of interest (e.g., one the software product from a set of software products) across all the products of interest]. The feature of providing executing... would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 8 and 16
Tkaczyk-Walczak et al teaches
the scanning comprises scanning the processor to identify the one or more particular cores of the processor executing the one or more processes of the software installation [0004] according to some embodiments, computer program product for calculating software usage is disclosed, the computer program product including a computer-readable storage medium having computer program instructions embodied therewith, the computer program instructions configured, when executed by at least one computing machine, to cause the at least one computing machine to perform a method. The method includes installing a first set of software products in each computing machine in a first computing group of a plurality of computing groups in a computing infrastructure, scanning one computing machine in the first computing group to discover that the first set of software products are installed thereon, and calculating an overall usage metric for the first computing group based on a number of computing machines belonging to the first computing group and the discovered first set of software products]. The feature of providing scanning ... would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9
Tkaczyk-Walczak et al teaches
the core-related data includes core type data for each of the one or more particular cores executing the one or more processes of the software installation [0016… in another example, computing machines 12 may be grouped by types of processors they have or by other computing properties. For example, all of computing machines 12A-K have the same type of processor in group 13A, and all of computing machines 12L-N have the same type of processor in group 13B (albeit a different type of processor than in group 13A). Furthermore, computing machine 12A may comprise multiple processors 14A and 14B, each of which may comprise multiple cores 15A-D and 15E-H, respectively. Each core 15 may be associated with a corresponding number of PVUs. Therefore, the method as described herein with reference to computing machines 12 may be applied for processors 14 and/or cores 15 (e.g., groups of processors and a reference processor to control the groups may be determined]. The feature of providing core type ... would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art
US 11645071 B1 Liu et al teaches Intelligent Installation For Client Systems
US 7707573 B1 Marmaros et al teaches Systems And Methods For Providing And Installing Software
US 12333290 B2 Fortin et al teaches Automatic Upgrade Of On-premise Software
Conclusion
/ANIL KHATRI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191