DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yudi et al. (US 2021/0098770).
Regarding Claim 1, Yudi et al. teaches an electrode wherein the binder consists of polytetrafluoroethylene (Para. [0018]), which is a dry fertilizable binder (Para. [0109]) (i.e. an electrode binder comprising a polytetrafluoroethylene powder, wherein the amount of the polytetrafluoroethylene powder is 95.0% by mass or more, the amount of water is 0% and the fluorine-containing compound is 0 ppb).
Regarding Claim 2, Yudi et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yudi et al. further teaches the binder consists of polytetrafluoroethylene (Para. [0018]) (i.e. the amount of each of fluorine-containing compounds represented by the claimed formulas is 0 ppb).
Regarding Claim 3, Yudi et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yudi et al. further teaches the binder consists of polytetrafluoroethylene (Para. [0018]) (i.e. wherein the fluorine-containing compound amounts 0 ppb in the polytetrafluoroethylene powder).
Regarding Claim 6, Yudi et al. teaches all of the elements of the electrode binder in claim 1 as explained above.
Yudi et al. further teaches a dry cathode film including mixing active material and the dry binder (Para. [0005]) (i.e. an electrode mixture comprising the electrode binder according to claim 1 and an electrode active material).
Regarding Claim 7, Yudi et al. teaches all of the elements of the electrode binder in claim 1 as explained above.
Yudi et al. further teaches the electrodes comprising the electrode films comprising the electrode film mixture comprising binder and active material, and each comprise a current collector (Para. [0053]) (i.e. an electrode comprising the electrode binder according to claim 1, an electrode active material and a current collector).
Regarding Claim 8, Yudi et al. teaches all of the elements of the electrode in claim 7 as explained above.
Yudi et al. further teaches a lithium ion (i.e. secondary) battery comprising the electrode (claim 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yudi et al. (US 2021/0098770) in view of Yoshida et al. (WO2019/172382A). The U.S. version of Yoshida et al. (US 2021/0095054A) is used as the English translation and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 4, Yudi et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yudi et al. does not teach the polytetrafluoroethylene comprises a tetrafluoroethylene monomer unit based on a modifying monomer copolymerizable with tetrafluoroethylene.
However, Yoshida et al. teaches a binder for electrodes (Para. [1118]) producing a powder of fluoropolymer (Para. [0780]) wherein the production of the TFE polymer (PTFE or polytetrafluoroethylene), a copolymer of TFE (i.e. tetrafluoroethylene) and a modifying monomer are used (Para. [0857]) (i.e. wherein the polytetrafluoroethylene comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a modifying monomer unit based on a modifying monomer copolymerizable with tetrafluoroethylene).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polymer of Yudi et al. to incorporate the teaching of comprising a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a modifying monomer unit based on a modifying monomer copolymerizable with tetrafluoroethylene as taught by Yoshida et al., as the presence makes it possible to obtain modified PTFE particles having small particle size and thereby obtain a small aspect ratio and excellent stability (Para. [0876]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yudi et al. as modified by Yoshida et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Yoshida et al. further teaches the modifying monomer of the modified PTFE is HFP (Para. [0864]) (i.e. wherein the modifying monomer includes at least hexafluoropropylene). See the rejection to claim 1 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Yoshida et al. cited herein.
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729