DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2024, 10/17/2024, and 07/27/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 12, 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al (US20230069409A1; hereafter “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a polymer electrolyte composition (a polymer gel electrolyte composition, [0002]) comprising:
An electrolyte salt (a lithium salt, [0009])
A polymer (polymer gel electrolyte composition may further include a cross-linking agent having two or more acrylate functional groups, so that the polymer gel electrolyte can be prepared by thermal cross-linking subsequently performed, [0055]).
A solvent comprising a fluorinated ether [1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-lH,1H,5H octafluoropentyl ether (TFOFE), [0052]) and a non-fluorinated ether (1,2-dime thoxyethane, [0051]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further disclose the non-fluorinated ether is a compound of Formula(I): R1a-O-R2a (1,2-dimethoxyethane, [0051]), having the following molecular structure:
Where R1a is CH3 and R2n is –(CH2)2-O-CH3.
Regarding claim 4, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further disclose the fluorinated ether is a compound of Formula (II): bis(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) ether (BTFE) [0052], having the following molecular structure:
From the perspective of center C, R3a is H, R4a is -O-C fluoroalkyl, and R5a is C1 fluoroalkyl.
At least one of R3a, R4a, and R5a comprises C1-C10 fluoroalkyl (Both R4a and R5a comprises fluoroalkyl).
Regarding claim 7 and 9, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further discloses the solvent comprises the fluorinated ether in an amount in a range fromabout 10 wt% to about 90 wt% (constitutes more than about 50% to about 99% of the total volume of the solvent, [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further discloses that the non-fluorinated ether and the fluorinated ether are present in a weight ratio in a range from 1:20 to 20:1 (when ether-based organic solvent and the fluorine-based organic solvent are used together, the volume ratio of ether-based organic solvent to the fluorine-based organic solvent may be about 3 to 5:1, preferably 3.5 to 4.5:1, [0050]).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further disclose the electrolyte slat comprises at least Lithium nitrate [0054].
Regarding claim 14, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further disclose that the cross-linking agent may have two or more acrylate functional groups, preferably 2 to 6 functional groups. The cross-linking agent may suitably include one or more substances selected from the group consisting of trimethylolpropane triacrylate, di-trimethylol propane tetraacrylate, ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate, butane dial diacrylate, tripropylene glycol diacry late, and trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate [0057].
This anticipates the limitation of the polymer is crosslinked and has a polymer network obtained from crosslinking reactyion of a composition comprising one or more crosslinkers and comprising three or more polymerizable or crosslinkable terminals.
Regarding claim 18, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon further discloses an electrochemical device comprising the electrolyte composition (Example 3: Manufacture of Cell Including Polymer Gel Electrolyte, [0079]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al (US20230069409A1; hereafter “Kwon”) as evidenced by Chemical Book (Safety Data Sheet; hereafter “SDS”).
Regarding claim 11, Kwon discloses all the limitations as described above.
Kwon discloses the fluorinated ether in solvent comprises ,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-lH,1H,5H octafluoropentyl ether (TFOFE) which has a boiling point of at least 100oC (133oC, as evidenced by SDS, Section 9).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al (US20200263516 A1; hereafter “Yoshida”)
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses a polymer electrolyte composition comprising:
An electrolyte salt (inorganic lithium salts such as LiBF4, [0056])
A polymer (binders including resin polymers, such as polyethylene, [0350])
A solvent comprising a fluorinated ether (e.g. di(2-fluoroethyl) ether, [0090]) and a non-fluoridated ether (e.g. diethylene glycol dimethyl ether, aka diglyme, [0090]).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida discloses all the limitations as described above.
Yoshida further discloses the fluorinated ether is a compound with Formula (II): methoxy (1,1,2,2 - tetrafluoroethoxy) methane [0090], having the following molecular structure.
From the perspective of the Center C, R3a is H, R4a is -O-alkyl and R5a is -O-fluoroalkyl.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida discloses all the limitations as described above.
Yoshida further discloses that the electrolyte salt is present in the electrolyte composition in an amount in a range from about 5 wt% to about 75 wt%, based on the total weight of the electrolyte composition (Concentration of LiBF4 in the non-aqueous electrolyte solution is generally 30% by mass or less, [0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida discloses all the limitations as described above.
Yoshida further discloses that the polymer (resin polymers such as polyethylene, [0350]) are present in an range from about 0.1 wt% to about 10 wt% (preferably 2% by mass or less [0352]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al (US20200263516 A1; hereafter “Yoshida”) as evidenced by Millipore Sigma (“Diethylene glycol dimethyl ether” Product Page, NPL; hereafter “Sigma”).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as described above.
Yoshida discloses the non-fluorinated ether solvent comprises Diethylene glycol dimethyl ether [0090], which has a boiling point of at least 100oC (161oC, as evidenced by Sigma, Pg.2, Line 12).
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al (US 11302961B1; hereafter “Song”).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Song discloses a polymer electrolyte composition (semi-solid polymer electrolytes (SSPEs), Abstract) comprising:
An electrolyte salt (Lithium salt incorporated into the described SSPEs include LiPF6).
A polymer ( 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (TTE), [108]).
A solvent comprising a fluorinated ether (1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether, [0017]) and a non-fluorinated ether (dimethyl carbonate, [0015]).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al “US11705580 B2; hereafter “Cao”) as evidenced by SDS.
Regarding claim 16, Cao discloses an electrolyte composition comprising:
An electrolyte salt (lithium salt LiFSI, Col.2, Line40); and
A solvent comprising a fluorinated ether (Tris(2,2,3,3,3-pentafluoropropyl)orthoformate (TPFPO), Col.20, Line 10) and a non-fluorinated ether (diglyme, Col.17, Line 50)
The fluorinated ether, TPFPO, has the structure of Formula (II) and has a boiling point of 191 oC (Col.20, Line 10)
From the perspective of Central C, R3a is -O-(C1-C10 fluoroalkyl), R4a and R5a each independently are -O-(C1-C10 fluoroalkyl).
Regarding claim 17, Cao discloses all the limitations as described above.
Cao further discloses that the non-fluorinated ether solvent (diglyme) has a boiling point of at least 100oC (162oC) as evidenced SDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US20230069409A1; hereafter “Kwon”) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above.
Regarding claim 19, Kwon teaches all the limitations as described above.
The position is taken that the electrochemical device which comprises the polymer electrolyte composition discloses by Kwon would inherently feature the properties and characteristics listed in claim 19. This is because the polymer electrolyte composition disclosed by Kwon anticipates all the structural limitations set forth by claim 1. Therefore, an electrochemical device that comprises the same polymer electrolyte composition would inherently comprise at least one of the characteristics listed in the claim.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure orcomposition, a prima facie case exists that an unexpressed property is inherent. The burden thereforeshifts to the applicant to establish that the substantially identical prior art electrode does not possessthe claimed force relationship. See MPEP §2112, In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433n.4 (CCPA 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al “US11705580 B2; hereafter “Cao” as applied to claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 20, Cao teaches all the limitations as described above.
The position is taken that the electrochemical device which comprises the electrolyte composition disclosed by Cao would inherently feature the properties and characteristics listed in claim 20. This is because the electrolyte composition disclosed by Cao anticipates all the structural limitations set forth by claim 16. Therefore, an electrochemical device that comprises the same electrolyte composition would inherently comprise at least one of the characteristics listed in the claim.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure orcomposition, a prima facie case exists that an unexpressed property is inherent. The burden thereforeshifts to the applicant to establish that the substantially identical prior art electrode does not possessthe claimed force relationship. See MPEP §2112, In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433n.4 (CCPA 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725