DETAILED ACTION
The United States Patent & Trademark Office appreciates the response filed for the current application that is submitted on 06/22/2026. The United States Patent & Trademark Office reviewed the following documents submitted and has made the following comments below.
Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments on 06/22/2026. The Examiner acknowledges the amendment and has reviewed the claims accordingly.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application with application number KR10-2023-0145795 dated 10/27/2023. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Applicant Arguments:
In regards to Argument 1, Applicant/s state/s “the claims have been amended, thereby rendering the rejections moot. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections for at least the following reasons.” (See Remarks Pg 9 paragraph 3) therefore the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection should be withdrawn.
In regards to the argument on Argument 2, Applicant/s state/s “Further, the features recited in the claims require real-time processing of point cluster sensor data and data points, which cannot be practically performed by a human. Furthermore, the human mind is unable to understand the driving control logic of the claimed vehicle, as presently claimed.” (See Remarks Pg 10 paragraph 4) therefore the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection should be withdrawn.
In regards to Argument 3, Applicant/s state/s “allowing it to improve the vehicle's driving control operations using specific processes that are not usual for generic computers. It is not mere use of a computer to perform an existing process faster, but it is a new process that allows a computer to do something it could not do before. A human may find some of the tasks easy, but it is hard for a computer for a vehicle. Applicant's inventions allow the vehicle to perform this task. And the vehicle accomplishes it in a different way than the human does.” (See Remarks Pg 11 paragraph 4) therefore the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection should be withdrawn.
In regards to Argument 4, Applicant/s state/s “For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the present claims recite patent eligible subject matter in compliance with 35 U.S.C. § 101 and that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 be withdrawn.” (See Remarks Pg 12, paragraph 3) therefore the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection should be withdrawn.
In regards to Argument 5, Applicant/s state/s “The rejection has been rendered moot in view of the present amendment. Applicant respectfully submits that the alleged combination fails to disclose or suggest at least the above features of present claim 1 as a whole.” (See Remarks Pg 13, paragraph 3) therefore the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection should be withdrawn.
In regards to Argument 6, Applicant/s state/s “Claim 11, while different from claim 1, recites features similar to those discussed above with respect to claim 1 and is also allowable for at least similar reasons. Each of the pending claims is allowable at least because it depends on an allowable base claim and it recites additional novel features. (See Remarks Pg 13, paragraph 5) therefore the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection should be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Responses:
In response to Argument 1, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the amended claims 1 and 12 pertaining to the U.S.C 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the integration of the invention into practical application, the U.S.C 101 rejection is withdrawn due to amendments.
In response to Argument 2, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the amended claims 1 and 12 pertaining to the U.S.C 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the integration of the invention into practical application, the U.S.C 101 rejection is withdrawn due to amendments.
In response to Argument 3, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the amended claims 1 and 12 pertaining to the U.S.C 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the integration of the invention into practical application, the U.S.C 101 rejection is withdrawn due to amendments.
In response to Argument 4, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the amended claims 1 and 12 pertaining to the U.S.C 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the integration of the invention into practical application, the U.S.C 101 rejection is withdrawn due to amendments.
In response to Argument 5, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn due to the amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Ambrus et al (US Patent Publication US 2023/0177850 A1 hereafter referred to as Ambrus) in view of Kim et al (US Patent Publication 2022/0036573 A1 hereafter referred to as Kim) in further view of Gu et al (US Patent Publication 2020/0160546 A1 hereafter referred to as Gu).
10. The Examiner finds that Ambrus and Kim teach on the amended claim language. Ambrus teaches obtaining a depth map based on a cluster of points at target time points using an MDE model based on an input image in ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0074, ¶0083, ¶0088 and the depth estimation map in Fig 9, ¶0073, and ¶0069. Kim teaches a depth distribution map based on a pixel by pixel basis in Fig 7, ¶0016, and ¶0021. Applicant argues that the alleged combination fails to disclose or suggest at least the above features of present claim 1 as a whole; however, the Examiner interprets that Ambrus in view of Kim teaches the main concept of monocular depth model to estimate the depth of objects and vehicles in an input image by updating the weights of the model based on a first and second loss function at different time points, the additional details of the functions of the main concepts as stated above by the applicant in the amendments is taught by Gu in the details of the rejection below. The Examiner will maintain prior art Ambrus and Kim and details of the rejection are below.
In response to Argument 6, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/2026, the examiner is assuming that the applicant meant to assert that claim 12 recites similar features of claim 1, not claim 11 as that claim has been canceled, please correct the examiner if assumption is incorrect. With respect to the rejection(s) of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn due to the amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Ambrus et al (US Patent Publication US 2023/0177850 A1 hereafter referred to as Ambrus) in view of Kim et al (US Patent Publication 2022/0036573 A1 hereafter referred to as Kim) in further view of Gu et al (US Patent Publication 2020/0160546 A1 hereafter referred to as Gu). Since Claim 1 and Claim 12 contain the same limitations the response above applies.
Claim Interpretation
plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification.
Under MPEP 2143.03, "All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art." In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). As a general matter, the grammar and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim 7 recite “or” then listing “a difference between the first estimation depth and the second estimation depth as the first loss function; or skip updating, based on the first estimation depth not satisfying the third condition, the plurality of weights included in the MDE model for obtaining the second estimation depth.” Since “or” is disjunctive, any one of the elements found in the prior art is sufficient to reject the claim. While citations have been provided for completeness and rapid prosecution, only one element is required. Because, on balance, it appears the disjunctive interpretation enjoys the most specification support and for that reason the disjunctive interpretation (one of A, B OR C) is being adopted for the purposes of this Office Action. Applicant’s comments and/or amendments relating to this issue are invited to clarify the claim language and the prosecution history.
Claim 17 recite “or” then listing “a difference between the first estimation depth and the second estimation depth as the first loss function; or skip updating, based on the first estimation depth not satisfying the third condition, the plurality of weights included in the MDE model for obtaining the second estimation depth.” Since “or” is disjunctive, any one of the elements found in the prior art is sufficient to reject the claim. While citations have been provided for completeness and rapid prosecution, only one element is required. Because, on balance, it appears the disjunctive interpretation enjoys the most specification support and for that reason the disjunctive interpretation (one of A, B OR C) is being adopted for the purposes of this Office Action. Applicant’s comments and/or amendments relating to this issue are invited to clarify the claim language and the prosecution history.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1-10 and 12-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The Examiner strongly suggested that appropriate corrections be made to clarify the claim scope.
With respect to Claim 1 and Claim 12, the claim recites the following, each of which renders the claim indefinite:
Claim 1’s and Claim 12’s term “extending” renders claim 1 and claim 12 indefinite. The specification uses “extending” to refer only to extending the channel of the depth map by a first condition in ¶0009, ¶0020, ¶00151, and ¶00162. There is no definition in the specification to what the first condition is and therefore it is unclear on how much the depth tensor is extended by, or what the extension entails. The only contextual guidance offered in the predetermined first condition discussion, is that is uses pieces of depth information of each of a plurality of pixels ¶00162. Because the specification does not resolve which quantities constitutes the operative “extending” for the purposes of the size of the depth tensor, the metes and bounds of claim 1 and claim 12 cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898, 910 (2014).
Claim(s) 2-10 and 13-20 depend either directly or indirectly from the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12, therefore they are also rejected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Ambrus et al (US Patent Publication US 2023/0177850 A1 hereafter referred to as Ambrus) in view of Kim et al (US Patent Publication 2022/0036573 A1 hereafter referred to as Kim) in further view of Gu et al (US Patent Publication 2020/0160546 A1 hereafter referred to as Gu).
Regarding Claim 1, Ambrus teaches an apparatus (Ambrus ¶0022, ¶0109, discloses an apparatus implementing a method) comprising:
at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0007, ¶0028, ¶0030, ¶0035 discloses program executed by a processor or multiple processors);
and a memory storing instructions (Ambrus Fig 1 118 discloses a memory, ¶0028 discloses a memory storing task information), when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions), cause the apparatus to:
obtain, based on a depth map obtained from a cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) at a target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time),
based on depth information extracted from the cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map);
obtain, based on an input image (Ambrus ¶0074, ¶0083, ¶0088 discloses an input image input into a that is input into monocular depth prediction network) associated with the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time) and that is applied to a monocular depth estimation (MDE) model (Ambrus ¶0074, ¶0083, ¶0088 discloses an input image input into a that is input into monocular depth prediction network), a depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth);
update, based on a loss function group (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss) applied to the MDE model (Ambrus ¶0074, ¶0083, ¶0088 discloses an input image input into a that is input into monocular depth prediction network), a plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model), wherein the loss function group (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss) comprises a first loss function (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss)
output a signal (Ambrus ¶0024, ¶0053 discloses outputting an uncertainty output for each pixel after the network update) indicating the updated plurality of weights (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss, ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model);
based on a depth estimation (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth) associated with the updated plurality of weights (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss, ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model).
Ambrus does not explicitly disclose obtain a depth distribution map, that is obtained based on the depth distribution map and wherein the depth distribution map.
Kim is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Kim teaches obtain a depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels) that is obtained based on the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels) and wherein the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus by incorporating the depth distribution map and estimation of multiple pixels as taught by Kim to make an invention that can automatically estimate the depth of multiple pixels to create a more accurate depth distribution map for scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need improve the confidence of the estimated depth map by of estimating a depth of an image based on a neural network trained to output two or more statistical values associated with depths for each pixel in the image, to provide a technological improvement. (Kim ¶0118).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Ambrus and Kim in combination do not explicitly disclose a depth tensor by extending a channel of the depth map, by determining, for each pixel of the depth tensor, a target distribution, that is a probability distribution of an estimation depth of the pixel, Control a driving operation of a vehicle, wherein the target distribution is determined based on a representative discretization value of each channel included in the pixel and a probability value matched to the representative discretization value and is configured to comprise the target distribution of each of a plurality of pixels of the depth tensor.
Gu is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for multiple uses including automated driving. Further, Gu teaches a depth tensor by extending a channel of the depth map (Gu ¶0045 a plurality of channels, each channel comprising a 2D array of probability values corresponding to a particular depth candidate value) by determining, for each pixel of the depth tensor (Gu ¶0041 discloses identify intensity values for a particular pixel associated with one or more channels of the image and ¶0042 discloses complete statistical distribution of depth for a given scene captured by each image frame), a target distribution (Gu ¶0138 discloses the processing the pixels value to meet a target) that is a probability distribution of an estimation depth of the pixel (Gu ¶0045 a plurality of channels, each channel comprising a 2D array of probability values corresponding to a particular depth candidate value);
and control (Gu ¶0071, ¶0110, ¶0124, ¶0157 discloses the use of the method in an autonomous vehicle) a driving operation of a vehicle (Gu ¶0071, ¶0110, ¶0124, ¶0157 discloses the use of the method in an autonomous vehicle), wherein the target distribution (Gu ¶0138 discloses the processing the pixels value to meet a target) is determined based on a representative discretization value of each channel included in the pixel and a probability value matched to the representative discretization value (Gu ¶0044 discloses match a representation of the features for the reference frame, and then the features for the reference frame are combined with the warped features for the at least one source frame to generate a measured DPV for the reference frame so that the depth probability distribution volume matches the reference frame), and is configured to comprise the target distribution (Gu ¶0138 discloses the processing the pixels value to meet a target) of each of a plurality of pixels of the depth tensor (Gu ¶0041 discloses identify intensity values for a particular pixel associated with one or more channels of the image and ¶0042 discloses complete statistical distribution of depth for a given scene captured by each image frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim by incorporating the extension of the channel of the depth tensor in the depth map to determine a target distribution that is based on a representative discretization value as taught by Gu to make an invention that can automatically estimate the depth of multiple pixels to create a more accurate depth distribution map for scene reconstruction while also reducing the tensor size for computational advantages; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need improve the accuracy and temporal stability of depth estimation from image frames captured using a monocular image sensor. (Gu ¶0038).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 12, Ambrus teaches a method (Ambrus ¶0005, ¶0006, ¶0009 discloses a method) performed by a processor (Ambrus ¶0007, ¶0028, ¶0030, ¶0035 discloses program executed by a processor or multiple processors), the method comprising:
obtaining, based on a depth map obtained from a cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) at a target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time), based on depth information extracted from the cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map);
obtaining a depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth) by applying an input image that is (Ambrus ¶0074, ¶0083, ¶0088 discloses an input image input into a that is input into monocular depth prediction network) associated with the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time) to a monocular depth estimation (MDE) model (Ambrus ¶0074, ¶0083, ¶0088 discloses an input image input into a that is input into monocular depth prediction network);
updating, based on a loss function group (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss) applied to the MDE model (Ambrus ¶0074, ¶0083, ¶0088 discloses an input image input into a that is input into monocular depth prediction network), a plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model), wherein the loss function group (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss) comprises a first loss function (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss) and based on the depth estimation map (Ambrus Fig 9 922 discloses the depth regression loss being obtained from the estimated depth, Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth);
based on a depth estimation (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth) associated with the updated plurality of weights (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss, ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model).
Ambrus does not explicitly disclose obtaining a depth distribution map, that is obtained based on the depth distribution map and wherein the depth distribution map.
Kim is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Kim teaches obtaining a depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels)
that is obtained based on the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels)
and wherein the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus by incorporating the depth distribution map and estimation of multiple pixels as taught by Kim to make an invention that can automatically estimate the depth of multiple pixels to create a more accurate depth distribution map for scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need improve the confidence of the estimated depth map by of estimating a depth of an image based on a neural network trained to output two or more statistical values associated with depths for each pixel in the image, to provide a technological improvement. (Kim ¶0118).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Ambrus and Kim in combination do not explicitly disclose a depth tensor by extending a channel of the depth map, by determining, for each pixel of the depth tensor, a target distribution, that is a probability distribution of an estimation depth of the pixel, Controlling a driving operation of a vehicle, wherein the target distribution is determined based on a representative discretization value of each channel included in the pixel and a probability value matched to the representative discretization value and is configured to comprise the target distribution of each of a plurality of pixels of the depth tensor.
Gu is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for multiple uses including automated driving. Further, Gu teaches a depth tensor by extending a channel of the depth map (Gu ¶0045 a plurality of channels, each channel comprising a 2D array of probability values corresponding to a particular depth candidate value) by determining, for each pixel of the depth tensor (Gu ¶0041 discloses identify intensity values for a particular pixel associated with one or more channels of the image and ¶0042 discloses complete statistical distribution of depth for a given scene captured by each image frame), a target distribution (Gu ¶0138 discloses the processing the pixels value to meet a target) that is a probability distribution of an estimation depth of the pixel (Gu ¶0045 a plurality of channels, each channel comprising a 2D array of probability values corresponding to a particular depth candidate value);
and controlling (Gu ¶0071, ¶0110, ¶0124, ¶0157 discloses the use of the method in an autonomous vehicle) a driving operation of a vehicle (Gu ¶0071, ¶0110, ¶0124, ¶0157 discloses the use of the method in an autonomous vehicle), wherein the target distribution (Gu ¶0138 discloses the processing the pixels value to meet a target) is determined based on a representative discretization value of each channel included in the pixel and a probability value matched to the representative discretization value (Gu ¶0044 discloses match a representation of the features for the reference frame, and then the features for the reference frame are combined with the warped features for the at least one source frame to generate a measured DPV for the reference frame so that the depth probability distribution volume matches the reference frame), and is configured to comprise the target distribution (Gu ¶0138 discloses the processing the pixels value to meet a target)of each of a plurality of pixels of the depth tensor (Gu ¶0041 discloses identify intensity values for a particular pixel associated with one or more channels of the image and ¶0042 discloses complete statistical distribution of depth for a given scene captured by each image frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim by incorporating the extension of the channel of the depth tensor in the depth map to determine a target distribution that is based on a representative discretization value as taught by Gu to make an invention that can automatically estimate the depth of multiple pixels to create a more accurate depth distribution map for scene reconstruction while also reducing the tensor size for computational advantages; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need improve the accuracy and temporal stability of depth estimation from image frames captured using a monocular image sensor. (Gu ¶0038).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in further view of Guizilini et al (US Patent Publication US 2023/0230264 A1 hereafter referred to as Guizilini).
Regarding Claim 2, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions), further cause the apparatus to:
obtain the depth map (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map),
from the cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map),
the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels).
Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu does not explicitly disclose by extracting pieces of depth information wherein the pieces of depth information are associated with a plurality of pixels included in the depth map;
obtain a depth tensor by extending a channel of the depth map, wherein the channel of the depth map is extended by a first condition based on the pieces of depth information; and
obtain, based on the depth tensor.
Guizilini is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Guizilini teaches by extracting pieces of depth information (Guizilini ¶0058 discloses extracting depth information)
wherein the pieces of depth information (Guizilini ¶0058 discloses extracting depth information) are associated with a plurality of pixels included in the depth map (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) ;
obtain a depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model) by extending a channel of the depth map (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses adapting the dimensions of the tensor to extract the features), wherein the channel of the depth map is extended (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses adapting the dimensions of the tensor to extract the features) by a first condition (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses earned correlations associated with the encoded features being the basis for the size adaptation) based on the pieces of depth information (Guizilini ¶0058 discloses extracting depth information) ; and
obtain, based on the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu by incorporating the depth information and depth tensor elements into the depth distribution map as taught by Guizilini to make an invention that can more accurately determine the depth information used in the depth distribution map to produce a more accurate scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to perceive distances through estimation of depth using sensor data provides the robotic device with the ability to plan movements through the environment and generally improve situational awareness about the environment.. (Guizilini ¶0002).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 3, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions), further cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on sensing information obtained by a sensor (Ambrus ¶0039 discloses obtaining 3D object information from a sensor), a minimum discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value) and a maximum discretization value that are associated with channels (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value) included in an individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model); and
determine a discretization value of each of the channels (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels), wherein the discretization value of each of the channels is determined based on an index of each of the channels (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis) included in the individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) , the minimum discretization value, the maximum discretization value, and a number of the channels (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value and each channel being a separate feature). See Claim 2 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 4, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions), further cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on a discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of an N-th channel of an individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model) and a discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of an (N+1)-th channel of the individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) following the N-th channel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel), a ratio of the discretization value (Guizilini ¶0010 discloses a comparison of images which include the features in the separate channels) of the N-th channel and the discretization value of the (N+1)-th channel (Guzilini ¶0099-¶0100 disclose that pixels in the channels are gone through iteratively represented by the k-th pixel) as a representative discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of the N-th channel (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels), and
wherein N is a natural number and smaller than or equal to (Guzilini ¶0099-¶0100 disclose that the k-th pixel is a value between 0 and 1 and is less that the total number of channels due to the k+j th calculation) a total number of channels of the depth tensor (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value and each channel being a separate feature). See Claim 2 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 5, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the depth distribution map comprises pixels (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels), and wherein a representative discretization value of a pixel (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of the pixels is associated with channels included in the pixel of pixels of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis), and
wherein a sum of probabilities (Kim ¶0030, ¶0084, discloses summing the values of pixels in the probability distribution) comprises probabilities that satisfy a second condition (Kim ¶0090 discloses a threshold), wherein the sum of probabilities (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis) is associated with channels included in each of the pixels of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis) See Claim 2 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 6, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions), further cause the apparatus to:
obtain a first estimation depth of a first pixel (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) included in the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels);
obtain a second estimation depth of a second pixel (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) included in the depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth) , wherein the second pixel is related to a location corresponding to the first pixel (Kim ¶0018, discloses the 3d location information corresponding to the estimated depth information of the pixels);
determine, based on the first estimation depth and the second estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first and second statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image), the first loss function (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values); and
update, based on the determined first loss function (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values), the plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model) for obtaining the second estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image).
Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu does not explicitly disclose among a plurality of pixels, among a plurality of pixels.
Guizilini is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Guizilini teaches among a plurality of pixels (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel), among a plurality of pixels (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu by incorporating the depth information and depth tensor elements into the depth distribution map as taught by Guizilini to make an invention that can more accurately determine the depth information used in the depth distribution map to produce a more accurate scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to perceive distances through estimation of depth using sensor data provides the robotic device with the ability to plan movements through the environment and generally improve situational awareness about the environment. (Guizilini ¶0002).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 7, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions), further cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on the first estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) satisfying a third condition (Kim ¶0014 discloses determining a confidence level of the pixel, which can be interpreted as a third condition), a difference between the first estimation depth and the second estimation depth as the first loss function (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image); or
skip updating, based on the first estimation depth not satisfying the third condition (Kim ¶0014 discloses determining to use the value or not based on the confidence value), the plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model) for obtaining the second estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image). See Claim 6 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 8, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions),
by applying an input image at a time point different from the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time) and an input image at the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time)
obtain a first cluster of points at the (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) at the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time) to the depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth);
obtain a second cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) at a time point different from the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time)
to the first cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map); and
determine, based on the second cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map), a second loss function (Ambrus Fig 9 972, discloses a vote regression loss) different from the first loss function (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss), and wherein the loss function group (Ambrus Fig 9 discloses how both loss functions are used in the training) further comprises the second loss function (Ambrus Fig 9 972, discloses a vote regression loss).
Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu does not explicitly disclose obtain pose change information, to a pose estimation model, by applying an inverse of an intrinsic parameter related to a sensor, by applying the pose change information.
Guizilini is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Guizilini teaches obtain pose change information (Guzilini ¶0081-¶0082 discloses a pose model that take images as inputs and determines the transformation of the images) to a pose estimation model (Guizilni Fig 3, 306 and Fig 5 discloses a pose model),
by applying an inverse of an intrinsic parameter related to a sensor (Guzilini ¶0079 discloses taking the inverse of the layers of the depth for different scales of the map),
by applying the pose change information (Guzilini ¶0081-¶0082 discloses a pose model that take images as inputs and determines the transformation of the images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu by incorporating the depth information and depth tensor elements into the depth distribution map as taught by Guizilini to make an invention that can more accurately determine the depth information used in the depth distribution map to produce a more accurate scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to perceive distances through estimation of depth using sensor data provides the robotic device with the ability to plan movements through the environment and generally improve situational awareness about the environment.. (Guizilini ¶0002).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions), further cause the apparatus to:
obtain a reconstruction image (Ambrus ¶0025, ¶0069 discloses a 3D reconstruction image) by applying the intrinsic parameter (Guzilini ¶0079 discloses taking the inverse of the layers of the depth for different scales of the map) to the second cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map); and
determine, based on the input image and the reconstruction image (Ambrus Fig 9 disclose the input image and the reconstructed estimated depth image being used to determine the loss function), the second loss function (Ambrus Fig 9 972, discloses a vote regression loss). See Claim 8 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 10, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Ambrus ¶0028, ¶0038, ¶0105 discloses the processor executing instructions) , further cause the apparatus to:
obtain a first factor (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) indicating a mean value (Kim ¶0013 Fig 7 discloses a mean value of depth) associated with channels of a target pixel among pixels (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) included in the depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth) and a second factor indicating a standard deviation value (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) associated with the channels of the target pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) ; and
obtain, based on the first factor and the second factor, a relative standard deviation value (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) indicating uncertainty of the target pixel (Kim ¶0014 discloses determining to use the value or not based on the confidence value). See Claim 8 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 13, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the obtaining the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels) comprises:
obtaining the depth map (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) from the cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels).
Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu does not explicitly disclose by extracting pieces of depth information, wherein the pieces of depth information are associated with a plurality of pixels included in the depth map;
obtaining a depth tensor extending a channel of the depth map, wherein the channel of the depth map is extended by a first condition based on the pieces of depth information; and
obtaining, based on the depth tensor.
Guizilini is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Guizilini teaches by extracting pieces of depth information (Guizilini ¶0058 discloses extracting depth information)
wherein the pieces of depth information (Guizilini ¶0058 discloses extracting depth information) are associated with a plurality of pixels included in the depth map (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel);
obtaining a depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model) by extending a channel of the depth map (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses adapting the dimensions of the tensor to extract the features), wherein the channel of the depth map is extended (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses adapting the dimensions of the tensor to extract the features) by a first condition (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses earned correlations associated with the encoded features being the basis for the size adaptation) based on the pieces of depth information (Guizilini ¶0058 discloses extracting depth information); and
obtaining, based on the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu by incorporating the depth information and depth tensor elements into the depth distribution map as taught by Guizilini to make an invention that can more accurately determine the depth information used in the depth distribution map to produce a more accurate scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to perceive distances through estimation of depth using sensor data provides the robotic device with the ability to plan movements through the environment and generally improve situational awareness about the environment.. (Guizilini ¶0002).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 14, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the obtaining the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels) comprises:
determining, based on sensing information obtained by a sensor (Ambrus ¶0039 discloses obtaining 3D object information from a sensor), a minimum discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value) and a maximum discretization value that are associated with channels (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value) included in an individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model); and
determining a discretization value of each of the channels (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels , wherein the discretization value of each of the channels is determined based on an index of each of the channels (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis) included in the individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) , the minimum discretization value, the maximum discretization value, and a number of the channels (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value and each channel being a separate feature). See Claim 13 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 15, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the obtaining the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels) comprises:
determining, based on a discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of an N-th channel of an individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0078 discloses a tensor used in the depth model) and a discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of an (N+1)-th channel of the individual pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) following the N-th channel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel), a ratio of the discretization value (Guizilini ¶0010 discloses a comparison of images which include the features in the separate channels) of the N-th channel and the discretization value of the (N+1)-th channel (Guzilini ¶0099-¶0100 disclose that pixels in the channels are gone through iteratively represented by the k-th pixel) as a representative discretization value (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of the N-th channel (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels), and
wherein N is a natural number and smaller than or equal to (Guzilini ¶0099-¶0100 disclose that the k-th pixel is a value between 0 and 1 and is less that the total number of channels due to the k+j th calculation) a total number of channels of the depth tensor (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features including adapting dimensions including a size which can be equated to a minimum or maximum value and each channel being a separate feature)
wherein the depth distribution map comprises pixels (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels), and wherein a representative discretization value of a pixel (Guizilni ¶0077-¶0078 discloses the common discretization method of encoding the channels to process features into separate channels) of the pixels is associated with channels included in the pixel of pixels of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis), and
wherein a sum of probabilities (Kim ¶0030, ¶0084, discloses summing the values of pixels in the probability distribution) comprises probabilities that satisfy a second condition (Kim ¶0090 discloses a threshold), wherein the sum of probabilities (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis) is associated with channels included in each of the pixels of the depth tensor (Guizilini ¶0079 discloses a tensor with separate data values indicating depths for corresponding locations in the image on a per-pixel basis). See Claim 13 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 16, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the updating the plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model) comprises:
obtaining a first estimation depth of a first pixel (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) included in the depth distribution map (Kim Fig 7, ¶0016, ¶0021, discloses a depth probability distribution of each of the pixels);
obtaining a second estimation depth of a second pixel (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image)
included in the depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth) , wherein the second pixel is related to a location corresponding to the first pixel (Kim ¶0018, discloses the 3d location information corresponding to the estimated depth information of the pixels);
determining, based on the first estimation depth and the second estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first and second statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image), the first loss function (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values); and
updating, based on the determined first loss function (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values), the plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model) for obtaining the second estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image).
Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu does not explicitly disclose among a plurality of pixels, among a plurality of pixels.
Guizilini is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Guizilini teaches among a plurality of pixels (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel), among a plurality of pixels (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu by incorporating the depth information and depth tensor elements into the depth distribution map as taught by Guizilini to make an invention that can more accurately determine the depth information used in the depth distribution map to produce a more accurate scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to perceive distances through estimation of depth using sensor data provides the robotic device with the ability to plan movements through the environment and generally improve situational awareness about the environment. (Guizilini ¶0002).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 17, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the updating the plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model) comprises:
determining, based on the first estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) satisfying a third condition (Kim ¶0014 discloses determining a confidence level of the pixel, which can be interpreted as a third condition), a difference between the first estimation depth and the second estimation depth as the first loss function (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image); or
skipping, based on the first estimation depth not satisfying the third condition (Kim ¶0014 discloses determining to use the value or not based on the confidence value) , updating the plurality of weights included in the MDE model (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss ¶0028 discloses the weights within the model) for obtaining the second estimation depth (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image). See Claim 16 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 18, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising:
by applying an input image at a time point different from the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time) and an input image at the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time)
obtaining a first cluster of points at the (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) at the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time) to the depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth);
obtaining a second cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map) at a time point different from the target time point (Ambrus ¶0067 discloses the use of the network across time to understand a space and ¶0055 discloses multiple frames of input image coming over a video stream which happens over a period of time),
to the first cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map); and
determining, based on the second cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map), a second loss function (Ambrus Fig 9 972, discloses a vote regression loss) different from the first loss function (Ambrus Fig 10, 1004 discloses updating the network with a regression loss), and wherein the loss function group (Ambrus Fig 9 discloses how both loss functions are used in the training) further comprises the second loss function (Ambrus Fig 9 972, discloses a vote regression loss).
Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu does not explicitly disclose obtaining pose change information, to a pose estimation model, by applying an inverse of an intrinsic parameter related to a sensor, by applying the pose change information.
Guizilini is in the same field of image analysis for use scene reconstruction for automated driving. Further, Guizilini teaches obtaining pose change information (Guzilini ¶0081-¶0082 discloses a pose model that take images as inputs and determines the transformation of the images) to a pose estimation model (Guizilni Fig 3, 306 and Fig 5 discloses a pose model)
by applying an inverse of an intrinsic parameter related to a sensor (Guzilini ¶0079 discloses taking the inverse of the layers of the depth for different scales of the map)
by applying the pose change information (Guzilini ¶0081-¶0082 discloses a pose model that take images as inputs and determines the transformation of the images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu by incorporating the depth information and depth tensor elements into the depth distribution map as taught by Guizilini to make an invention that can more accurately determine the depth information used in the depth distribution map to produce a more accurate scene reconstruction; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to perceive distances through estimation of depth using sensor data provides the robotic device with the ability to plan movements through the environment and generally improve situational awareness about the environment. (Guizilini ¶0002).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 19, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the determining the second loss function(Ambrus Fig 9 972, discloses a vote regression loss) comprises:
obtaining a reconstruction image (Ambrus ¶0025, ¶0069 discloses a 3D reconstruction image) by applying the intrinsic parameter (Guzilini ¶0079 discloses taking the inverse of the layers of the depth for different scales of the map) to the second cluster of points (Ambrus ¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0079 discloses the use of a point cloud for the input depth map); and
determining, based on the input image and the reconstruction image (Ambrus Fig 9 disclose the input image and the reconstructed estimated depth image being used to determine the loss function), the second loss function (Ambrus Fig 9 972, discloses a vote regression loss). See Claim 18 for rationale (its parent claim).
Regarding Claim 20, Ambrus in view of Kim in view of Gu in view of Guizilini teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
obtaining a first factor (Kim ¶0013 discloses a first statistical value may be a mean of depth values of a corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) indicating a mean value (Kim ¶0013 Fig 7 discloses a mean value of depth) associated with channels of a target pixel among pixels (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) included in the depth estimation map (Ambrus ¶0073, ¶0069 discloses a depth estimation model included in the monocular depth) and a second factor indicating a standard deviation value (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) associated with the channels of the target pixel (Guizilini ¶0058, ¶0067 discloses the depth information derived pixel by pixel) ; and
obtaining, based on the first factor and the second factor, a relative standard deviation value (Kim ¶0013 discloses a second statistical value may be a variance or a standard deviation of the depth values of the corresponding each of the plural pixels in the input image) indicating uncertainty of the target pixel (Kim ¶0014 discloses determining to use the value or not based on the confidence value). See Claim 18 for rationale (its parent claim).
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US-20210398302-A1 to Guizilini discloses a method for scene reconstruction using a depth estimation and pose model.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL L ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674