DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the limitation of “a cover positioned adjacent to the battery cell” renders the claim indefinite as the claim additionally requires a first insulation bar and a second insulation bar arranged between the battery cell and the cover. It is unclear how the cover is adjacent to the cell if there are insulation bars between the cover and the cell (see applicant’s figure 3, insulation bars (42) are positioned between the cover (38) and the cell (24) and thus the cover is not adjacent to the cell). For examination purposes, the limitation is treated as the cover positioned next to the battery cell.
Regarding independent claim 13, the use of the term “adjacent” similarly renders the claim indefinite due to the positioning of the insulation bars within the flared section of the cover, which is further described in claim 14 as between an inner surface of the cover and top surface of the cells (see applicant’s figure 5, cover (38) is not adjacent to the cell (24) as the insulation bars (42) as well as insulating shield (50) are between the cover and the cell). For examination purposes, the limitation is treated as the cover positioned next to the grouping of battery cells.
Regarding claim 12, the term “high temperature capable material” in claim 12 lines 2-3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the term “relatively low thermal conductivity” in claim 12 line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relatively low thermal conductivity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osumi et al (JP 2010-277736 A) in view of Lee et al (US 2025/0174813).
Regarding claim 1, Osumi et al teaches a battery array (figs 1-3) for a traction battery pack (fig 27-28, machine translation p.7 lines 20-43, in-vehicle battery system), comprising:
a battery cell (battery cell 1);
a cover (gas duct 40) positioned adjacent to the battery cell (figs 1-4);
a first bar (fig 2, note frame 50, fig 20, left sidewall of frame 50) and a second bar (fig 2, note frame 50, fig 20, right sidewall of frame 50) arranged between the battery cell and the cover (fig 20-21, can be arranged in the fashion of fig 21 where 50B (and an elastic material, p.6 lines 3-11) is inserted in a bifurcated portion of 40B thus being between the cell and cover); and
a vent gas flow path extending between the first bar and the second bar (figs 1-4, fig 20, note that the claimed cover is met by gas duct 40, which has the function of a gas duct).
Osumi et al is quiet to the bars being insulation bars.
Lee et al teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery cells including vent units on top surfaces, including a horizontal frame interposed between the cell stacks and a cover frame, the horizontal frame elongated in the first direction (abstract, fig 3, 4a, 6a). The horizontal frame (400) may provide rigidity to the battery pack (paragraph [0099]). A first venting path extending in one direction is formed in a space surrounded by the horizontal frame (400) and the cover frame (300) (paragraph [0099], fig 5b). The horizontal frame (400) may be made of a rigid material sufficient to withstand high temperatures and high pressures such as a steel material or an aluminum material, however, the material may be appropriately modified depending on design requirements, such as being coated with an insulating material for insulation (paragraph [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the frame of Osumi et al so as to be coated with an insulating material, to provide for insulation, as is known from Lee et al. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Osumi et al teaches wherein the vent gas flow path is fluidly isolated from a section of an interior volume of the battery array (figs 1-4, figs 20-21, note that the elastic material is used as a sealing member to provide airtightness, p.6 lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 3, Osumi et al teaches wherein the vent gas flow path extends horizontally between the first insulation bar and the second insulation bar and extends vertically between a top surface of the battery cell and an inner surface of the cover (fig 20, note space within gas duct 40).
Regarding claim 4, Osumi et al teaches a second battery cell (fig 3, plurality of battery cells 1), and a thermal barrier (machine translation p.2 lines 28-31, insulating separators 6) positioned between the battery cell and the second battery cell (fig 3, machine translation p.2 lines 28-31, plurality of battery cells 1 stacked with insulating separators 6).
Regarding claim 5, Osumi et al teaches an insulation shield (p.3 lines 3-7, seal member 20) positioned between a top surface of the battery cell and the first insulation bar and the second insulation bar (fig 19-20, 23-24, note frame 50 is positioned between seal 20 and duct 40, seal is positioned above cell 1).
Regarding claim 6, Osumi et al teaches wherein the insulation shield includes a membrane and a plurality of perforated sections formed in the membrane (fig 2, 4, p.3 lines 3-7, seal member 20 is a sheet-like member having seal openings 21).
Regarding claim 7, Osumi et al teaches wherein the cover includes a first flared section sized to receive the first insulation bar and a second flared section sized to receive the second insulation bar (figs 20-21, note that the coupling may be in the arrangement of figure 21 including a bifurcated portion 40B that receives the sidewall 50B, p.6 lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 8, Osumi et al is quiet to wherein the first flared section and the second flared section are each semi-circular shaped.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sections to be semi-circular shaped, as a matter of choice, as the courts have held that changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 9, Osumi et al teaches wherein the battery cell includes a first terminal (terminals 5), a second terminal (terminals 5), and a vent port (safety valve 3) arranged between the first terminal and the second terminal (figs 1-3 and 5-7, p.2 lines 28-37).
Regarding claim 10, Osumi et al teaches wherein the first insulation bar is located between the first terminal and the vent port, and the second insulation bar is located between the second terminal and the vent port (figs 1-3 and 5-7, note that the gas duct 40 and frame 50 are between the pair of terminals 5).
Regarding claim 11, Osumi et al teaches wherein the vent port is arranged to vent directly into the vent gas flow path (note arrangement of gas duct 40 over the batteries, see fig 20, safety valve 3, gas GS).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches wherein the first insulation bar and the second insulation bar are each made of a high temperature capable material having a relatively low thermal conductivity (note combination, where Lee et al teaches the frames may be formed of a steel material to withstand high temperatures and high pressures, and can also be coated with insulating material for insulation, paragraph [0111]).
The combination is quiet to the insulation bars are each configured as a circular rod.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bars to be shaped as circular rods, as a matter of choice, as the courts have held that changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 13, Osumi et al teaches a battery array (figs 1-4) for a traction battery pack (fig 27-28, machine translation p.7 lines 20-43, in-vehicle battery system), comprising:
a grouping of battery cells (figs 1-4, note grouping of battery cells 1);
a cover (gas duct 40) positioned adjacent to the grouping of battery cells (figs 1-4) and including a first flared section and a second flared section (figs 20-21, note the bifurcated flange portion of duct 40B shown in figure 21, can be provided for the left sidewall and the right sidewall);
a first bar positioned within the first flared section; and a second bar positioned within the second flared section (fig 2, note frame 50, the left sidewall of frame construed as first bar, right sidewall of frame is construed as a second bar, fig 20-21, note the arrangement where the sidewalls of the frame 50B are inserted into the bifurcated portion of the cover 40B).
Osumi et al is quiet to the bars being insulation bars.
Lee et al teaches a battery pack including a plurality of battery cells including vent units on top surfaces, including a horizontal frame interposed between the cell stacks and a cover frame, the horizontal frame elongated in the first direction (abstract, fig 3, 4a, 6a). The horizontal frame (400) may provide rigidity to the battery pack (paragraph [0099]). A first venting path extending in one direction is formed in a space surrounded by the horizontal frame (400) and the cover frame (300) (paragraph [0099], fig 5b). The horizontal frame (400) may be made of a rigid material sufficient to withstand high temperatures and high pressures such as a steel material or an aluminum material, however, the material may be appropriately modified depending on design requirements, such as being coated with an insulating material for insulation (paragraph [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the frame of Osumi et al so as to be coated with an insulating material, to provide for insulation, as is known from Lee et al. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 14, Osumi et al teaches a vent gas flow path extending between the first insulation bar and the second insulation bar and between an inner surface of the cover and top surfaces of the grouping of battery cells (fig 20, note gas duct 40 and gas GS).
Regarding claim 15, Osumi et al teaches wherein the vent gas flow path is fluidly isolated from a section of an interior volume of the battery array (figs 1-4, figs 20-21, note that the elastic material is used as a sealing member to provide airtightness, p.6 lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 16, Osumi et al teaches an insulation shield (p.3 lines 3-7, seal member 20) positioned between top surfaces of the grouping of battery cells and the first insulation bar and the second insulation bar (fig 19-20, 23-24, note frame 50 is positioned between seal 20 and duct 40, seal is positioned above cells 1).
Regarding claim 17, Osumi et al teaches wherein each battery cell of the grouping of battery cells includes a first terminal (terminals 5), a second terminal (terminals 5), and a vent port (safety valve 3) located axially between the first terminal and the second terminal (figs 1-3 and 5-7, p.2 lines 28-41, safety valve 4 provided between electrode terminals 5).
Regarding claim 18, Osumi et al teaches wherein the first insulation bar is located between the first terminal and the vent port, and the second insulation bar is located between the second terminal and the vent port (figs 1-3 and 5-7, note that the gas duct 40 and frame 50 are between the pair of terminals 5).
Regarding claim 19, Osumi et al teaches wherein the vent port is arranged to vent directly into a vent gas flow path that extends between the first insulation bar and the second insulation bar and between an inner surface of the cover and top surfaces of the grouping of battery cells (note arrangement of gas duct 40 over the batteries, see fig 20, safety valve 3, gas GS).
Regarding claim 20, Osumi et al is quiet to wherein the first flared section and the second flared section are each semi-circular shaped.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sections to be semi-circular shaped, as a matter of choice, as the courts have held that changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liao et al (US 2026/0011863) teaches a partition member (200) comprising a surrounding barrier (230) (figs 6-8) which can be fixedly assembled on a partition portion or can be integrally formed (paragraph [0128]), and that the barrier structure is not limited to a surrounding block or a surrounding rod (paragraph [0133]).
Nagamine et al (US 2015/0295215) teaches an exhaust passage configured to discharge gas from each of the gas discharging valves of a power storage device, the passage extending in a first direction and having an opening at a first end (abstract). A sealing plate is provided at a second end of the exhaust passage, including plurality recesses, and is made of a resin (abstract). The exhaust passage (S1) is defined between joining sections (42), the pack case (50), and the unit cells (10) (paragraph [0034], figs 1-2).
/JACKY YUEN/
Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735