DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the set of comb parameters” in “indicate, to the target terminal device, an SL PRS configuration that corresponds to the set of comb parameters used to transmit the SL PRS before transmitting the SL PRS to the target terminal device.“ There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear which set of comb parameters is being referred to. Further, if the power measurement satisfies a first threshold there would not be any comb parameters associated with the SL PRS configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al. (US 20230336296 A1), hereinafter Manolakos, in view of Farag et al. (US 20240323898 A1), hereinafter Farag, further in view of Ko (US 20230284174 A1), further in view of Hoang et al. (US 20250142292 A1), hereinafter Hoang, further in view of Yu (US 20260032599 A1).
Note: All aspects not taught in claim 1 by Manolakos are represented in brackets.
Regarding claim 1, Manolakos teaches,
A terminal device configured as an anchor terminal device comprising:
one or more transceivers; and (figure 2, label 215, paragraph 0062)
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the terminal device to: (figure 2, label 210, paragraph 0062)
obtain a first power measurement associated with one or more resource blocks (RBs) being utilized by the terminal device; (figure 16, label 1604, paragraph 0110 – The UE receives a set of measurements that includes a RSRP (reference signal received power encompassing a PRS). Paragraph 0084 – The PRS is a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
determine whether the first power measurement satisfies a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is associated with the one or more RBs; (figure 16, label 1606, paragraph 0111 – The UE compares the performance metric received by the UE to the PRS determined and the RSRP measured in label 1602. There is a cutoff threshold associated with the accuracy requirements as received in label 1602. Figure 12, Paragraph 0095 – The first threshold is indicated by the horizontal dotted line at 8 on the vertical axis. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS is a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE)
in response to determining that the first power measurement satisfies the first threshold:
transmit, to a target terminal device, a sidelink positioning reference signal(SL PRS), via at least a portion of the one or more RBs; (paragraph 0111 – The UE uses the PRS that satisfy the threshold and reports the PRS. Figure 15, Paragraph 0107 – “The UE 200 may be configured to provide the measurement and accuracy requirements via a sidelink to another UE (e.g., D2D, PSSCH), an RSU (e.g., PC5), or another network entity.” Paragraph 0084 – The PRS is a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE)
in response to determining that the first power measurement fails to satisfy the first threshold:
[determine a first set of comb parameters;]
obtain, [based on the first set of comb parameters], a second power measurement,] wherein the second power measurement is associated with one or more resource elements (REs) related to the one or more RBs; (figure 16, label 1608, paragraph 0112 – A second set of PRS are measured and obtained. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
determine whether the second power measurement satisfies a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is associated with the one or more REs; and (paragraph 0112 – The second power measurements are compared to a cutoff threshold. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
in response to determining that the second power measurement satisfies the second threshold, transmit, [based on the first set of comb parameters], the SL PRS to the target terminal device via at least a portion of the one or more REs; (figure 16, label 1610, paragraph 0113 – The PRS data is reported based on the measurement results of the second PRs. Paragraph 0092 – The UE provides PRs measurement).
in response to determining that the second power measurement fails to satisfy the second threshold:
[determine a second set of comb parameters;]
[obtain, based on the second set of comb parameters, a third power measurement], wherein the third power measurement is associated with the one or more REs related to the one or more RBs; (figure 12, paragraph 0095 – An additional requirement is indicated by the threshold being at 8 compared to other thresholds being at 6 and 4.)
determine whether the third power measurement satisfies the second threshold associated with the one or more REs; and (Figure 16, label 1610, paragraph 0113 – Additional power measurements can be made as indicated in figure 10 and expanded on in figure 11 and 12 to include additional thresholds. Paragraph 0108 – Figure 16 can be modified to add additional stages. The additional stages are assumed to include a third set of positioning reference signals as exemplified in figure 10-12).
in response to determining that the third power measurement satisfies the second threshold, transmit, [based on the second set of comb parameters], the SL PRS to the target terminal device via at least a portion of the one or more REs; (Paragraph 0112 – The subsequent PRS are measured until the measurement goes below a threshold. paragraph 0113 – The third PRS may be transmitted based on the measuring.)
[determine the first set of comb parameters and the second set of comb parameters according to a predetermined sequence comprising evaluating the first set of comb parameters before evaluating the second set of comb parameters, wherein,]
[the first set of comb parameters comprises a comb size value of four and a comb offset value of three, and the second set of comb parameters comprises a comb size value of four and a comb offset value of one;]
receive, from a next generation Node B (gNB), the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs and the second threshold associated with the one or more REs, wherein, (paragraph 0091 – The thresholds are provided as the PRS accuracy requirements. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
the first threshold and the second threshold are configured using radio resource control (RRC) signaling; (paragraph 0091 – RRC (radio resource control signaling) is used to provide the PRS measurements which encompass the thresholds).
[determine a success rate associated with one or more transmissions of the SL PRS to the target terminal device, wherein the success rate is based on a ratio of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgments (ACKs) to negative acknowledgments (NACKs) received from the target terminal device, and wherein a successful transmission comprises the target terminal device successfully receiving and decoding the SL PRS;]
[in response to the success rate failing to satisfy a transmission success rate threshold, lower a respective value associated with the first threshold] associated with the one or more RBs (Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
[map the lowered respective value associated with the first threshold] associated with the one or more RBs [to the success rate associated with the one or more transmissions of the SL PRS to the target terminal device], (Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
wherein the first power measurement is an RB-level reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, and each of the second power measurement and the third power measurement is an RE-level RSRP measurement, (Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE. The power measurements therefore incorporate the PRS being resource elements or resource blocks as the physical resource blocks are used in the transmission of the PRS).
wherein, to determine whether the first power measurement satisfies the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the terminal device to determine whether the first power measurement is equal to or below a respective value associated with the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs, (Figure 10, paragraph 0093 – The 1st threshold and whether the PRSs are below or equal to it is shown in an exemplary graph. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
wherein, to determine whether the second power measurement or the third power measurement satisfies the second threshold associated with the one or more REs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the terminal device to determine whether the second power measurement or the third power measurement is equal to or below a respective value associated with the second threshold associated with the one or more REs; and (Paragraph 0095 - The second threshold is shown along with multiple additional power measurements such as labels 1202, 1204 etc. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS and resource elements are a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
[indicate, to the target terminal device, an SL PRS configuration that corresponds to the set of comb parameters used to transmit the SL PRS before transmitting the SL PRS to the target terminal device.]
Manolakos fails to teach,
determine a first set of comb parameters;
obtain, based on the first set of comb parameters, a second power measurement,
transmit, based on the first set of comb parameters, the SL PRS to the target terminal device
determine a second set of comb parameters;
obtain, based on the second set of comb parameters, a third power measurement,
transmit, based on the second set of comb parameters, the SL PRS to the target terminal device
determine the first set of comb parameters and the second set of comb parameters according to a predetermined sequence comprising evaluating the first set of comb parameters before evaluating the second set of comb parameters,
However, Farag teaches,
determine a first set of comb parameters; (Paragraph 0562 – The first comb offset index is used in a second PRS occasion).
obtain, based on the first set of comb parameters, a second power measurement, (Figures 18A through H, Paragraph 0516-0522 – The power measurements of additional PRS can be different depending on the value of the comb offset.)
transmit, based on the first set of comb parameters, the SL PRS to the target terminal device (paragraph 0656 – The first UE can transmit to a second UE the PRS for the second UE to measure. Paragraph 0616 – The comb offset can be signaled by a transmitting UE).
determine a second set of comb parameters; (Figure 20A-20H, paragraph 0562 – A second set of comb parameters is associated with a third SL PRS).
obtain, based on the second set of comb parameters, a third power measurement, (Figures 20A-H, paragraph 0550, 0590 – An additional set of comb parameters will have a different power measurement similar to figures 18A-H and paragraphs 0516-0522).
transmit, based on the second set of comb parameters, the SL PRS to the target terminal device (paragraph 0656 – The first UE can transmit to a second UE the PRS for the second UE to measure. Paragraph 0616 – The comb offset can be signaled by a transmitting UE).
determine the first set of comb parameters and the second set of comb parameters according to a predetermined sequence comprising evaluating the first set of comb parameters before evaluating the second set of comb parameters, (paragraph 0620 – Each comb offset is indicated for each SL PRS transmission. Paragraph 0560 – Different comb offsets are used for different PRS and each antenna panel where the PRS is transmitted will have a different comb offset. Figures 21A-D show how the PRS are split into different panels indicating a second PRS with a first comb offset is evaluated before a third PRS with a second comb offset).
indicate, to the target terminal device, an SL PRS configuration that corresponds to the set of comb parameters used to transmit the SL PRS before transmitting the SL PRS to the target terminal device. (paragraph 0622 – The comb parameters used with the SL PRS transmission can be transmitted in a different slot from the SL PRS transmission and therefore prior to the SL PRS transmission.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos to incorporate the comb parameters and transmission based on comb parameters teachings of Farag. The purpose of doing so is to account for different antenna configurations that would have different comb sizes and would result in different power measurements. (paragraphs 0516-0522, 0560, 0562, Farag).
Manolakos in view of Farag fails to teach,
determine a success rate associated with one or more transmissions of the SL PRS to the target terminal device, wherein the success rate is based on a ratio of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgments (ACKs) to negative acknowledgments (NACKs) received from the target terminal device, and wherein a successful transmission comprises the target terminal device successfully receiving and decoding the SL PRS;
However, Ko teaches,
determine a success rate associated with one or more transmissions of the SL PRS to the target terminal device, wherein the success rate is based on a ratio of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgments (ACKs) to negative acknowledgments (NACKs) received from the target terminal device, paragraph 0161-0165 – The target UE sends back an ACK message if the SL PRS was successfully received or a NACK when the SL PRS is not successfully received. The UE keeps a counter of the number of successful to unsuccessful transmissions. The counter functions as a comparison between the number of unsuccessful to successful transmissions). and wherein a successful transmission comprises the target terminal device successfully receiving and decoding the SL PRS; (Paragraph 0165-0168 The confirmation of the reception of the SL PRS and the subsequent gathering of the information associated with the PRS is based on “The specific value may be determined based on SL PRS priority, SL positioning delay, CBR, SL positioning accuracy requirements, SL positioning method (TDOA, RTT, angle-based), SL positioning type (absolute positioning (measuring absolute position coordinates), relative positioning (measuring only relative position/direction)), etc.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos to incorporate the success rate teachings of Ko. The purpose of doing so is to determine to transmit additional PRS following the successful reception of a first PRS (paragraph 0010, Ko).
Manolakos in view of Farag further in view of Ko fails to teach,
in response to the success rate failing to satisfy a transmission success rate threshold, lower a respective value associated with the first threshold [associated with the one or more RBs];
map the lowered respective value associated with the first threshold [associated with the one or more RBs] to the success rate associated with the one or more transmissions of the SL PRS to the target terminal device,
However, Hoang teaches,
in response to the success rate failing to satisfy a transmission success rate threshold, lower a respective value associated with the first threshold [associated with the one or more RBs]; (paragraph 0259 – The UE may lower a first threshold associated with an RSRP value by decreasing the minimum required SL-RSRP. The T-TWRU acts as the anchor UE while the A-WTRU acts as the terminal UE.
map the lowered respective value associated with the first threshold [associated with the one or more RBs] to the success rate associated with the one or more transmissions of the SL PRS to the target terminal device, (paragraph 0259 – “The T-WTRU may decrease the minimum SL-RSRP and/or increase the maximum SL-RSRP to indicate to the A-WTRU. The A-WTRUs having SL-RSRP between itself and the requesting WTRU (e.g., T-WTRU) being within the indicated range may respond to the associated request.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos-Farag-Ko to incorporate the lowering of threshold teachings of Hoang. The purpose of doing so is to provide feedback for a SL PRS before sending future transmissions and be able to modify thresholds to satisfy the requirements of the T-WTRU (paragraphs 0119, 0120, Hoang).
Manolakos in view of Farag further in view of Ko further in view of Hoang fails to teach,
the first set of comb parameters comprises a comb size value of four and a comb offset value of three, and the second set of comb parameters comprises a comb size value of four and a comb offset value of one;
However, Yu teaches,
the first set of comb parameters comprises a comb size value of four and a comb offset value of three, and the second set of comb parameters comprises a comb size value of four and a comb offset value of one; (Figure 3b, paragraph 0146 – When the comb size is 4 the comb offset can be any value of 0, 1, 2, 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos-Farag-Ko-Hoang to incorporate the specific comb parameters teachings of Yu. The purpose of doing so is to use the comb value to determine the RSRP of the PRS (paragraph 0008, Yu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Yao et al. (US 20250301360 A1) - The remote devices determines whether to path switch based on the measurement results and multiple threshold values. (paragraph 0019)
Jiang et al. (US 20250240662 A1) - Use of multiple thresholds for power sending (paragraphs 0443-0455)
Duan et al. (US 20240205827 A1) - Use of a comb offset (paragraph 0120), generation of measurements report based on power (paragraph 0212)
Li et al. (US 20250142518 A1) – Using multiple threshold values for an RSRP measurement (Paragraphs 0128-0138)
Elshafie et al. (US 20260172169 A1) – Multiple comb offsets and corresponding transmission powers for a PRS sequence (Figures 13, 14, paragraph 0192).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472