DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1, the claim recites in the preamble “method to synthesize a substituted dibenzocyclooctane”. However, the last two steps of the claimed method each result in a substituted dibenzocyclooctane, a diiodo-substituted and a divinyl-substituted compound, and thus the recitation in the preamble of only a “substituted” compound could cause confusion regarding the desired product. For clarity, the Examiner suggests amending the preamble to recite “method to synthesize a divinyl-substituted dibenzocyclooctane”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, the claim recites in lines 9-10 “using a triethylsilane/trifluoroacetic acid mixture”. This phrasing is unclear, because typically the use of a slash “/” indicates “and/or”, but the claim then further recites that it is a mixture. Thus, the claim is indefinite.
For purposes of examination, the Examiner will consider that it is a step using both triethylsilane and trifluoroacetic acid, based on the synthesis step in paragraph [0019] of the instant specification.
With regard to claims 2-5, the claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiker (A Regioselective Route to Negative Coefficient of Thermal Expansion Materials for Tuning Epoxy Thermomechanics, December 2021).
With regard to claims 1-3, Kiker teaches the following scheme (page 4, Scheme 2).
This scheme is identical to the process steps of instant claims 1 and 2 in the claimed order. Compound 5 has the divinyl substituents in positions 2 and 9, as claimed in instant claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiker (A Regioselective Route to Negative Coefficient of Thermal Expansion Materials for Tuning Epoxy Thermomechanics, December 2021) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Redline et al. (US 2021/0387987) and Soga et al. (US 2020/0321634).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, Kiker teaches the process for making the divinyl-substituted dibenzocyclooctane 5 above. Kiker further teaches that compounds comprising the dibenzocyclooctane (DBCO) moiety are useful as a compound which harnesses conformational structure change to reduce CTE (coefficients of thermal expansion) mismatch in thermoset polymers (page 2, first full paragraph).
Kiker does not explicitly teach crosslinking a thermosetting resin with the compound 5 to form a thermoset.
Redline teaches forming thermoset polymers by crosslinking (paragraph [0003]) where the thermoset polymer is produced by reacting a curative with a resin comprising epoxy, acrylates, methacrylates, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, and urethanes (instant claim 5) (paragraph [0032]). Redline further teaches that the curative can be di-substituted with a variety of reactive groups, comprises a dibenzocyclooctane (DBCO) moiety (paragraphs [0032] and [0009]), and that the curative fine tunes CTE (paragraph [0009]). Redline does specifically teach that the variety of reactive groups of the curative include vinyl groups, as in compound 5. However, divinyl aromatic compounds are known as reactive crosslinking agents in similar thermoset polymers, as taught by Soga (paragraphs [0054] and [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to crosslink the compound 5 comprising the divinyl groups with a resin to form a thermoset polymer, as claimed, because Kiker and Redline each teach that DBCO derivatives can be used as curatives in thermosetting polymers to reduce CTE, Redline teaches that DBCO moieties with a variety of reactive groups can be used in the crosslinking, and Soga teaches that it is known that divinyl groups are reactive to crosslink with resins for thermosetting resin production.
Conclusion
/Alyssa L Cepluch/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772