DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment of 5/21/2026. All changes made to the claims have been entered. Accordingly, Claims 1-11, 17-19 are currently pending in the application and Claims 12-16, 20 withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-11 and 17-19) in the reply filed on 5/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are not independent and distinct. This is not found persuasive because subcombination I has separate utility such as an assistance information reporting method, comprising: sending, by a terminal, assistance information for target data (shown in figure 2) and subcombination II has separate utility such as a service configuration method, comprising: determining, by the network side device, configuration information of the target data based on the assistance information (shown in figure 3). A terminal shown in Figure 2 and a network side device shown in Figure 3 are clearly shown as independent and distinct as well as shown in Figures 4 and 5.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 17, 18, objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the subject matter “protocol data unit PDU”, “quality of service QoS”, “group of pictures GOP”, “configured grant CG” , “physical downlink control channel PDCCH”. Examiner believes parentheses should be used for better clarification such as (PDU), (QoS), (GOP), (CG), and (PDCCH). Similar rationale is applied to claim 17 reciting similar subject matter.
Claim 2 recites the subject matter “semi-persistent scheduling SPS”, “configured grant CG”, “discontinuous reception DRX”. Examiner believes parentheses should be used for better clarification. Similar rationale is applied to claim 18 reciting similar subject matter.
Claim 4 recites the subject matter “frames per second FPS”, “application data unit ADU”, “Internet protocol IP”, “service data adaptation protocol SADP”, “packet data convergence protocol PDCP”, “radio link control RLC”, “medium access control MAC”, “central processing unit CPU”. Examiner believes parentheses should be used for better clarification.
Claim 11 recites the subject matter “cell groups CG”, “bandwidth parts BWP”. Examiner believes parentheses should be used for better clarification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 5, 10, 17 (dependent claims also being rejected since they are dependent upon rejected claims set forth) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the subject matter of “an SPS”, “a DRX” as seen in the claim. It is however unclear on what exactly is meant by such terms. Examiner suggests defining such terms.
Claim 1 recites the subject matter “wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of the following: first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of: a protocol data unit PDU session identifier, a quality of service QoS flow identifier, and/or a logical channel identifier that correspond/corresponds to a target service type, a target data frame type, a target data packet, and/or a target data burst, and whether transmitted data is of the target service type, and a data type of the target data; indication information indicating that traffic arrives at the terminal;” It is however unclear on what is meant by such subject matter. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter.
Claim 5 recites the subject matter “in a case that the quality evaluation index of the video service comprises at least two threshold ranges, a target threshold range in which the quality evaluation index of the video service is located changes, wherein the at least two threshold ranges comprise the target threshold range; or in a case that the quality evaluation index of the video service comprises at least two thresholds, the quality evaluation index of the video service increases to be greater than a target threshold or decreases to be less than a target threshold, wherein the at least two thresholds comprise the target threshold; and the sending, by a terminal, assistance information for target data to a network side device comprises: sending, by the terminal to the network side device, assistance information that corresponds to the target threshold and that is for the target data, wherein different thresholds correspond to respective assistance information”. It is however unclear on what is meant by such subject matter. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the preset reporting configuration" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the subject matter of “an SPS”, “a DRX” as seen in the claim. It is however unclear on what exactly is meant by such terms. Examiner suggests defining such terms.
Claim 17 recites the subject matter “wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of the following: first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of: a protocol data unit PDU session identifier, a quality of service QoS flow identifier, and/or a logical channel identifier that correspond/corresponds to a target service type, a target data frame type, a target data packet, and/or a target data burst, and whether transmitted data is of the target service type, and a data type of the target data; indication information indicating that traffic arrives at the terminal;” It is however unclear on what is meant by such subject matter. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11,17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Babaei et al. (US 20180139734).
Regarding claim 1, 17, Babaei discloses an assistance information reporting method (a UE may provide UE assistance information to an eNB. Reporting of UE assistance information may be configured by eNB transmitting one or more RRC messages. The UE assistance information may include parameters related to the SPS configuration, [0152] and [0168] and [0176]-[0178] and [0240]-[0242] and figure 17 and [0254]), comprising:
sending, by a terminal, assistance information for target data to a network side device (A UE may transmit UE SPS assistance information to a base station indicating that the UE intends to transmit data associated to an SPS configuration and the UE may report UE SPS assistance information about one or more SPS traffic types to the base station. UE SPS assistance information may indicate at least one of the following SPS assistance parameters for an SPS traffic type, [0176]-[0177] and [0240] and figure 17); and
receiving, by the terminal, configuration information of the target data from the network side device (The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity. The base station may transmit an SPS transmission grant (e.g. DCI activating an SPS) based on the UE assistance report. The base station may provide an SPS DCI grant for an SPS configuration and SPS radio resources based on the assistance information transmitted by the UE, [0176]-[0178] and [0240] and figure 17),
wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of the following:
first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of: a protocol data unit PDU session identifier, a quality of service QoS flow identifier, and/or a logical channel identifier that correspond/corresponds to a target service type, a target data frame type, a target data packet, and/or a target data burst, and whether transmitted data is of the target service type, and a data type of the target data (the UE may report UE SPS assistance information about one or more SPS traffic types to the base station. UE SPS assistance information may indicate at least one of the following SPS assistance parameters for an SPS traffic type. The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity, [0177]-[0178] and figure 17 and [0240] and [0253] and [0263]);
indication information indicating that traffic arrives at the terminal;
an association relationship between different data flows or different data bursts of the target data;
a serial number of a group of pictures GOP of the target data;
a to-be-transmitted data amount of the target data (The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity, [0177]-[0178] and figure 17 and [0240] and [0253] and [0263]);
duration of a data packet of the target data from generation on an application side to transmission through an air interface;
user experience related information corresponding to the target data, wherein the user experience related information comprises a receiving performance of a physical layer data packet and/or a receiving performance of an application layer;
transmission configuration information expected by a user corresponding to the target data;
indication information for activating or deactivating a semi-static resource for the target data (The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity. The base station may transmit an SPS transmission grant (e.g. DCI activating an SPS) based on the UE assistance report. The base station may provide an SPS DCI grant for an SPS configuration and SPS radio resources based on the assistance information transmitted by the UE, [0177]-[0178] and figure 17 and [0240] and [0253] and [0263]);
an index of a QoS flow corresponding to the target data for which the semi-static resource is activated or deactivated;
indication information for reducing a transmission priority of the target data;
an index of a QoS flow corresponding to the target data whose transmission priority is reduced;
indication information for skipping uplink transmission after the target data;
an SPS or configured grant CG transmission cycle recommended by the terminal for the target data (The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity. The base station may transmit an SPS transmission grant (e.g. DCI activating an SPS) based on the UE assistance report. The base station may provide an SPS DCI grant for an SPS configuration and SPS radio resources based on the assistance information transmitted by the UE and In an example, the preferred SPS interval in the UE assistance information, [0177]-[0178] and [0240] and figure 17 and [0253] and [0263]);
indication information for reducing a code rate or a resolution of the target data;
configuration information of a DRX configuration for the target data;
power saving indication configuration information of the terminal that performs transmission of the target data;
configuration information of a channel that wakes up transmission of the target data or a signal that wakes up transmission of the target data; and
physical downlink control channel PDCCH monitoring indication configuration information corresponding to the target data.
Regarding claim 2, 18, Babaei discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
first information for allocating and managing an uplink and/or downlink resource;
second information for performing beam management;
third information for performing resource coordination on resources of different terminals served by the network side device;
fourth information for configuring, activating, or deactivating a semi-static resource (The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity. The base station may transmit an SPS transmission grant (e.g. DCI activating an SPS) based on the UE assistance report. The base station may provide an SPS DCI grant for an SPS configuration and SPS radio resources based on the assistance information transmitted by the UE…The base station may configure/activate the corresponding SPS for the UE and In an example, the preferred SPS interval in the UE assistance information, [0177]-[0178] and [0240] and figure 17 and [0253] and [0263]);
fifth information for updating or reconfiguring a configuration parameter of semi-persistent scheduling SPS or a configured grant CG (The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity. The base station may transmit an SPS transmission grant (e.g. DCI activating an SPS) based on the UE assistance report. The base station may provide an SPS DCI grant for an SPS configuration and SPS radio resources based on the assistance information transmitted by the UE…The base station may configure/activate the corresponding SPS for the UE and In an example, the preferred SPS interval in the UE assistance information, [0177]-[0178] and [0240] and figure 17 and [0253] and [0263]);
sixth information for discarding, delaying, and/or combining a transmission or scheduling of a data packet;
seventh information for assisting the terminal in power saving control; and
eighth information for updating or reconfiguring a discontinuous reception DRX parameter.
Regarding claim 3, 19, Babaei discloses wherein the sending, by a terminal, assistance information for target data to a network side device comprises:
in a case that a preset reporting configuration is satisfied, sending, by the terminal, the assistance information for target data to the network side device (a UE may trigger a UE assistance (e.g., MAC CE) based on some implementation rules, [0240]-[0241] and [0176] and [0243]-[0249]);
wherein the preset reporting configuration comprises at least one of the following: a trigger condition corresponding to reporting of the assistance information (a UE may trigger a UE assistance (e.g., MAC CE) based on some implementation rules. In an example, the UE may be configured with one or more SPS configurations. In an example, the UE may trigger the assistance due to change in expected packet periodicity (e.g., to indicate a preferred SPS interval) and/or offset (e.g., with respect to subframe0 of SFN0) in packet generation and/or packet size of one or more active and/or configured SPS configurations [0240]-[0241] and [0176] and [0253]);
a timer corresponding to reporting of the assistance information (the UE may not trigger and/or transmit the UE assistance while a corresponding SPS prohibit timer is running and the UE may check if a UE assistance may be triggered after the expiration of the timer, [0243]-[0249] and [0253]); or,
an indication about whether reporting of the assistance information is allowed (the UE may be allowed to report the UE assistance information when change in an estimated periodicity and/or a timing offset of packet arrival occurs, [0176] and [0152])
Regarding claim 4, Babaei discloses wherein in a case that the preset reporting configuration comprises the trigger condition corresponding to reporting of the assistance information (a UE may trigger a UE assistance (e.g., MAC CE) based on some implementation rules, [0240]-[0241] and [0176] and [0253]); , that the preset reporting configuration is satisfied comprises at least one of the following:
a related parameter of a service corresponding to the target data changes, wherein the related parameter of the service comprises at least one of a data rate of the service, a cycle of the service, frames per second FPS of the service, and a delay of the service;
a target transmission unit arrives at a target protocol layer, wherein the target transmission unit comprises at least one of the following: a data frame, a data slice, an application data unit ADU, and an Internet protocol IP packet, and the target protocol layer comprises at least one of the following: an application layer, an IP layer, a service data adaptation protocol SADP layer, a packet data convergence protocol PDCP layer, a radio link control RLC layer, a medium access control MAC layer, and a physical layer;
the terminal recognizes a target object, or generates an action or control traffic corresponding to a target object, wherein the target object comprises: at least one of a target gesture, a target action, a target pose, and a target object at a preset angle (In an example, the UE may trigger the assistance due to change in expected packet periodicity (e.g., to indicate a preferred SPS interval) and/or offset (e.g., with respect to subframe0 of SFN0) in packet generation (correlating to target object and target action) and/or packet size of one or more active and/or configured SPS configurations, [0240]-[0241] and [0176] and [0253]);
a quantity of service flows or a quantity of types of service flows generated by a data source of the target data is greater than a first preset threshold;
in a case that the target data is video service data, a quality evaluation index of a video service corresponding to the video service data changes;
a data amount of a first data packet is greater than that of a second data packet, and a difference between the data amounts of the first data packet and the second data packet is greater than or equal to a first preset data amount, wherein the first data packet and the second data packet are data packets related to the service corresponding to the target data, and the first data packet is received before the second data packet; or
a data amount of a first data packet is less than that of a second data packet, and a difference between the data amounts of the first data and the second data packet is greater than or equal to a second preset data amount, wherein the first data packet and the second data packet are data packets related to the service corresponding to the target data, and the first data packet is received before the second data packet;
the service corresponding to the target data is a high-priority or high-importance service;
the terminal obtains periodic action or control information (a UE may trigger a UE assistance (e.g., MAC CE) based on some implementation rules. In an example, the UE may be configured with one or more SPS configurations. In an example, the UE may trigger the assistance due to change in expected packet periodicity (e.g., to indicate a preferred SPS interval) and/or offset (e.g., with respect to subframe0 of SFN0) in packet generation and/or packet size of one or more active and/or configured SPS configurations, [0240]-[0241] and [0176] and [0253]);
a variation in channel quality of the terminal is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold, or a variation in interference around the terminal is greater than or equal to a fourth preset threshold;
a variation in a moving speed of the terminal is greater than or equal to a fifth preset threshold;
the terminal does not detect a data flow of a preset service within first preset duration; and
a load of a central processing unit CPU of the terminal is greater than or equal to a preset load, a device temperature is greater than or equal to a preset temperature, a power consumption is greater than or equal to a preset power consumption, remaining power is less than or equal to preset power, or endurance duration is less than or equal to preset threshold duration.
Regarding claim 6, Babaei discloses wherein the timer enters a non-running state in a case that running time reaches second preset duration (UE may check if a UE assistance may be triggered after the expiration (correlating to non-running state ) of the timer, [0248]), the second preset duration is transmission duration corresponding to N symbols, N slots, N subframes, or N system frames, or the second preset duration is preset absolute duration, and N is a positive integer ( timer value may be one of a set of predefined values, (e.g. value 1, value 2, value 3, . . . value 8), and an index (e.g. 3 bits) may determine which timer value is selected, [0242]-[0244]); wherein respective timers are configured for reporting of different types of assistance information (an eNB may configure a UE (e.g., using RRC) with parameters and/or timers to control the UE assistance operation. In an example, the eNB may release (stop) the UE assistance reporting using a release command in the RRC information element, e.g. the RRC message that configures the UE assistance parameters/timers and an eNB may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising one or more IE indicating one or more prohibit timer values…In an example, an SPS configuration may have its own timer value. For example, SPS configuration IE may comprise a timer value, and multiple SPS configuration IEs may be configured. In an example, the RRC message may comprise a sequence of parameters comprising (timer value, SPS parameter), SPS parameter may be e.g. SPS index and/or SPS-RNTI and start a first timer (e.g., a prohibit timer) upon the transmission of the first UE assistance information…In an example, the UE may (re)start a second timer when the second UE assistance is transmitted, [0242]-[0244] and [0247]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 7, Babaei discloses wherein the sending, by a terminal, assistance information for target data to a network side device comprises:
in a case that reporting of the assistance information for the target data is allowed (UE may be allowed to report the UE assistance information when change in estimated periodicity and/or timing offset of packet arrival occurs, [0152] and [0176]) and the terminal has not reported the assistance information for the target data, reporting, by the terminal, the assistance information for the target data for a first time, and starting a first timer (the MAC entity may start a first timer (e.g., a prohibit timer) upon the transmission of the first UE assistance information, [0247]-[0248]); and
in a case that the first timer is in a non-running state (the UE may check if a UE assistance may be triggered after the expiration (correlating to non-running state) of the timer, [0248]) and a trigger condition corresponding to reporting of the assistance information for the target data is triggered (a UE may trigger a UE assistance…based on some implementation rules, [0240]), reporting, by the terminal, the assistance information for the target data for a second time, and restarting the first timer (In an example, the UE may (re)start the first timer when the second UE assistance is transmitted, [0247]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 8, Babaei discloses wherein the reporting, by the terminal, the assistance information for the target data for a second time comprises:
reporting the assistance information for the target data at least once during the running state of the first timer (the MAC entity may start a first timer (correlating to running state)(e.g., a prohibit timer) upon the transmission of the first UE assistance information, [0247]-[0248]); or
measuring and/or collecting the assistance information for the target data within a first time period during the running state of the first timer; and reporting the measured and/or collected assistance information for the target data at an end of the first time period, wherein the first time period is a continuous period of time or a discontinuous period of time that is determined based on a predetermined rule.
Regarding claim 9, Babaei discloses wherein the terminal pre-stores the preset reporting configuration; or before the sending, by a terminal, assistance information for target data to a network side device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, pre-configuration information from the network side device, wherein the pre-configuration information is used to configure the preset reporting configuration; or receiving, by the terminal, second indication information from the network side device, wherein the second indication information indicates the preset reporting configuration (Reporting of UE assistance information may be configured by eNB transmitting one or more RRC messages and a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to configure reporting of UE assistance information, [0168] and [0176]-[0178] and [0240] and [0242]-[0243] and [0247]-[0249]).
Regarding claim 11, Babaei discloses wherein different service flows correspond to respective assistance information (When a UE needs to transmit a type of message employing SPS, the UE may report UE SPS assistance information about one or more SPS traffic types to the base station. UE SPS assistance information may indicate at least one of the following SPS assistance parameters for an SPS traffic type. The SPS assistance parameters may indicate at least one of the following: message type, logical channel, traffic/message size, SPS configuration index, traffic type, and/or traffic periodicity and The index for the traffic type may be a logical channel identifier, bearer identifier, V2X traffic type identifier, a service type, a radio resource type and/or the like, [0177] and [0191] and [0173] and [0182]); different frequency ranges correspond to respective assistance information; different cell groups CG correspond to respective assistance information; different bandwidth parts BWP correspond to respective assistance information; different cells correspond to respective assistance information; and/or different carriers correspond to respective assistance information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei et al., in further view of Santhanam et al. (US 2022/0217042).
Regarding claim 10, Babaei fails to disclose wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal, capability information to the network side device; and receiving, by the terminal, configuration information of the preset reporting configuration from the network side device, wherein the preset reporting configuration corresponds to the capability information, and terminals with different capability information correspond to respective preset reporting configurations; wherein the capability information comprises at least one of the following: a service type supported by the terminal; a terminal type of the terminal; and a tethering mode supported by the terminal.
However in a similar field of endeavor, Santhanam discloses sending, by the terminal, capability information to the network side device (At 705, the UE 115-f may transmit, to the base station 105-b, signaling indicating a capability of the UE 115-f (e.g., UE capability information) for the reporting of assistance information, [0149] and [0046] and [0097]-[0099] and [0149]-[0151] and [0159]-[0160] and figure 7); and
receiving, by the terminal, configuration information of the preset reporting configuration from the network side device, wherein the preset reporting configuration corresponds to the capability information, and terminals with different capability information correspond to respective preset reporting configurations (At 710, the UE 115-f may receive, from the base station 105-b, a configuration for reporting assistance information based on the capability of the UE 115-f and base station 105-a may generate or otherwise determine the configuration 215 based on a capability of the UE 115-a, [0151] and [0097]-[0099] and [0149]-[0151] and [0159]-[0160] and figure 7);
wherein the capability information comprises at least one of the following: a service type supported by the terminal; a terminal type of the terminal (UE 115-a transmits capability information for a maximum or upper limit of the quantity of uplink or downlink MIMO layers that may be configured at the UE 115-a, the UE 115-a may transmit the capability information via a UECapabilnyInformation(maxMIMO-LayerPreference) information element (correlating to a terminal type)…the UE 115-a transmits capability information for a maximum or upper limit of the quantity of component carriers or a maximum or upper limit for the aggregated bandwidth that may be configured at the UE 115-a, the UE 115-a may transmit the capability information via a UECapabilnyInformation(maxBW-Preference, maxCC-Preference) information element, [0097]-[0098] and [0150]-[0151] and [0046] and [0025]); and a tethering mode supported by the terminal. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the concept of sending capability information and receiving configuration information for reporting assistance information based on the capability type of the UE as disclosed by Santhananem into the method of reporting UE assistance information as disclosed by Babaei in order to improve the system and flexibly configure assistance information reporting, such as being based on capabilities of a UE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Islam et al. (US 2022/0190886) disclosing methods for a signaling mechanism for user equipment (UE) assistance feedback in a wireless communication system. At least a radio frequency integrated circuit can be configured to receive a first configuration signal, and transmit a first message comprising a UE assistance feedback, generated based on the first configuration signal, in an uplink (UL) channel. The first message can contain an index of a profile with information on a service requirement, a traffic characteristic, or a combination thereof of a network (abstract).
Shi et al. (US 2022/0086662) disclosing transmitting, by a terminal device, an assistance information to a network device, the assistance information including at least one parameter information capable of assisting the network device to schedule or configure the terminal device ([0005]).
/NGUYEN H NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 2473