DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2019/0075158 A1 (hereinafter “Sun”), in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,549,512 A1 (hereinafter “Bezen”), and alternatively in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2013/0117766 A1 (hereinafter “Bax”).
Regarding claim 1: Sun teaches a multi-node server network system, comprising: a chassis manager, managing a plurality of server nodes (see, e.g., figure 1; the server system 200 includes chassis management module(s) and servers), wherein the chassis manager is configured to:
assign a plurality of network addresses to the plurality of server nodes respectively; set up a plurality of port numbers respectively for the plurality of server nodes; and forward the first data packet to a first server node corresponding to the first network address among the plurality of server nodes (see, e.g., [0016]-[0019]; the servers are addressed and implement ports for receiving packets).
Sun does not explicitly state the features of: utilizing virtual network addresses, setting up the ports based on a specific network address, and mapping (via a mapping table) of the virtual network addresses to the ports. Therefore, Sun doesn’t explicitly state “establish a mapping table between the plurality of virtual network addresses and the plurality of port numbers; in response to receiving a first data packet corresponding to a first port number among the plurality of port numbers, find a first virtual network address corresponding to the first port number from the plurality of virtual network addresses based on the mapping table.” However, in a similar field of endeavor, Bezen teaches these features (see, e.g., 4:18-24, 4: 58-61, 6:42-43, 9:40-41, 10:51-55, 21:3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Bezen, such as the address and mapping functionality, within the system of Sun, in order to conserve physical resources.
Sun modified by Bezen teaches chassis management modules (e.g., Sun figure 1), but does explicitly state a single chassis manager implementing the said functions. To the extent this feature is not inherent to Sun modified by Bezen, it is nevertheless taught in Bax (see, e.g., [0297], [0324], [0364], [0493], [0516]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to virtual address implementation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Bezen, such as the address and mapping functionality, within the system of Sun, in order to enhance server efficiency and/or availability.
Regarding claim 2: Sun modified by Bezen and alternatively Bax further teaches wherein the chassis manager comprises a baseboard management controller and a network switch, and the network switch is coupled to the baseboard management controller and the plurality of server nodes (see, e.g., Sun figure 1; also Bax [0100]-[0102]; note switch and baseboard management controller functionality),
the baseboard management controller is configured to: assign the plurality of virtual network addresses to the plurality of server nodes respectively; set up the plurality of port numbers respectively for the plurality of server nodes based on the specific network address (see, e.g., Sun [0016]-[0019]; the servers are addressed and implement ports for receiving packets; also Bezen 4:18-24; and/or Bax [0324]; note virtual address implementation);
establish the mapping table between the plurality of virtual network addresses and the plurality of port numbers and provide the mapping table to the network switch; and in response to receiving the first data packet corresponding to the first port number among the plurality of port numbers, forward the first data packet to the network switch; wherein the network switch is configured to: find the first virtual network address corresponding to the first port number from the plurality of virtual network addresses based on the mapping table; and forward the first data packet to the first server node corresponding to the first virtual network address among the plurality of server nodes (see, e.g., Sun [0016]-[0019]; the servers are addressed and implement ports for receiving packets; also Bezen 4:18-24, 4: 58-61, 6:42-43, 9:40-41, 10:51-55, 21:3); and/or Bax [0324]; with respect to mapping for forwarding).
The motivation for modification set forth regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3: Sun modified by Bezen and alternatively Bax further teaches wherein a target address of the first data packet comprises the specific network address and the first port number (see, e.g., Bezen 8:36-39, 10:3-5, 10:44-55; and/or Bax [0143], [0217]; note the physical address and port functionality).
The motivation for modification set forth regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4: Sun modified by Bezen and alternatively Bax further teaches wherein the chassis manager is further configured to: in response to receiving a second data packet corresponding to a second port number among the plurality of port numbers, find a second virtual network address corresponding to the second port number from the plurality of virtual network addresses based on the mapping table; and forward the second data packet to a second server node corresponding to the second virtual network address among the plurality of server nodes (see, e.g., Sun [0016]-[0019]; the servers are addressed and implement ports for receiving packets; also Bezen 4:18-24, 4: 58-61, 6:42-43, 9:40-41, 10:51-55, 21:3); and/or Bax [0324]; with respect to mapping for forwarding).
The motivation for modification set forth regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5: Sun modified by Bezen and alternatively Bax further teaches wherein each of the plurality of server nodes has a corresponding node baseboard management controller (see, Sun figure 1; and/or Bax [0246]).
The motivation for modification set forth regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 5.
Relevant Art
6. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476