DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s Specification are to the published application US 2025/0105331 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-5, 9, 11, and 13, each recite “the guide roll”, which renders each claim indefinite. Earlier in claim 1, of which claims 2-5, 9, and 11-12 directly or ultimately depend upon, recites “at least one guide roll”, thereby suggesting that there may be more than one guide roll. Therefore, it is unclear which guide roll is intended to be limited by “the guide roll.” For the purposes of examination, claims 1-5, 9, and 11-12 are each interpreted as instead reciting “the at least one guide roll.”
Claims 6-12 are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they are directly or ultimately dependent upon claim 1 and therefore include, and do not remedy the aforementioned deficiencies.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishida et al. (US 2022/0140308 A1; “Nishida”).
Regarding claim 1, Nishida discloses a positive electrode plate compression device (a device) [element 10, 0019, 0036, Figure 5] for manufacturing a positive electrode plate [0035] of a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery [0008, 0010-0013, 0023] comprising an unwinding section (an unwinder) [element 12, 0036-0037, 0058, Figure 5], at least one roll (at least one guide roll) that support the positive electrode plate, including a dancer roll, a pass roll, a pair of press rolls, a tension sensor roll, and a straightening roll [0036- 0059, Figure 5], and a winding section (a rewinder) [element 20, 0036, 0052, 0061, Figure 5], whereby the device prevents wrinkles and cracks from forming [0008-0010, 0013, 0034, 0061, 0064], thereby, in totality, reading on for preventing meandering of a rechargeable battery electrode, as claimed, wherein the positive electrode plate reads on the claimed electrode plate.
The unwinding section is a device that continuously unwinds the positive electrode plate from the roll on which the positive electrode plate before compressed is wound [0037]. The positive electrode plate includes coated and non-coated regions [0008-0012, 0025, 0028, 0030-0034, 0055-0066], on a metal base material [element 2, 0057-0058, 0060, 0066], e.g. an aluminum foil [0066], thereby, reading on an unwinder configured to supply an electrode plate including a coated region and an uncoated region to an electrode substrate, as claimed.
In particular, the at least one roll comprises the tension sensor roll, that supports the positive electrode plate [0043, 0046], wherein a lower outer peripheral surface is pressed against the positive electrode plate while rotating [0043], and the pair of press rolls [elements 16a and 16b, 0044, Figure 5] that closely face each other, whereby, when the positive electrode plate passes between the pair of press rolls, the positive electrode plate is supported and compressed [0044]. The at least one roll may be on a carry-in section [element 21, 0038-0041, Figure 5], that receives the positive electrode plate from the unwinding section [0038, Figure 5], thereby, in totality, reading on at least one guide roll configured to provide a tension to the electrode plate supplied from the unwinder and configured to support the electrode plate, as claimed.
The winding section allows for the positive electrode plate to be wound in a roll shape after it exists a carrying-out section [0052], wherein the carrying-out section includes another set of the at least one roll, similar to that of the carrying-in section [0045-0052, Figure 5], thereby, reading on a rewinder for rewinding the electrode plate passed through the guide roll, as claimed.
The positive electrode plate has a step h in a boundary of the uncoated region(s) and the coated region(s) [Figures 6(a) and 6(b)], see below for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida.
The at least one roll includes a small diameter portion (a first support portion) [element 54, 0055-0060, Figures 6(a) and 6(b)] having a first radius and corresponding to the coated region(s) [0025, 0028, 0030-0031, 0055-0059, Figures 6(a) and 6(b)] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida), and a large diameter portion (a second support portion) [element 52, 0055-0060, Figures 6(a) and 6(b)] having a second radius that is greater than the first radius and corresponding to the non-coated region(s) [0025, 0028, 0030-0033, 0055-0063, FIGs. 6(a) and 6(b)] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Nishida discloses the large diameter portion is installed on an external side of the at least one roll [0055-0060, Figures 6(a) and 6(b)] and is formed of a metal material and a resin material [0056], having a first thickness t1 to support the non-coated region(s) for forming the step [Figures 6(a) and 6(b)] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida), thereby reading on the device defined by each and every limitation of claim 2, wherein the metal material and resin material together read on the claimed step compensating material.
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Nishida discloses the pair of press rolls (a pair of press rolls) [elements 16a and 16b, 0044, Figure 5] closely face each other and are installed on one side of at least one roll, whereby, when the positive electrode plate passes between the pair of press rolls, the positive electrode plate is supported and compressed [0044, Figure 5], thereby reading on the device defined by each and every limitation of claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Nishida discloses a first thickness t1 of the large diameter portion is greater than the step h [Figures 6(a) and 6(b)] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida).
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 6 above, Nishida discloses a first thickness t1 of the large diameter portion is two to three times larger than the thickness of the step h [Figures 6(a) and 6(b)], see above for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida, wherein the dots in the background are used as a reference for thickness. The aforementioned thickness comparison range is within the claimed range, 2h≤t1≤5h, thereby anticipating the range (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding claim 8, in view of the rejection of claim 2 above, Nishida discloses the positive electrode plate includes coated regions and non-coated regions installed outside the coated regions [0030, 0055, 0057, Figures 1A(a), 1B, 6(a), 6(b)]. The metal material and resin material are provided on each of the large diameter portions that correspond to the non-coated regions, including on outermost sides from among the non-coated regions and support the non-coated regions [0030, 0055, 0057, Figures 6(a) and 6(b)], thereby, reading on the step compensating material includes a first compensating material and a second compensating material installed corresponding to the uncoated region on respective outermost sides from among the uncoated regions and supporting the uncoated region, as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 8 above, Nishida discloses the large diameter portion is disposed in a center portion (a third support portion) [0063, Figure 6(b)] supporting the non-coated region disposed between the coated regions from among the non-coated regions [0030, 0063] and having a second radius [Figure 6(b)] (see above for Figure 1. Annotated Figure 6(b) of Nishida).
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 9 above, Nishida discloses the metal material and resin material are provided on each of the large diameter portions that correspond to the non-coated regions, including between the coated regions and supporting the non-coated region [0030, 0055, 0057, FIG. 6(b)], thereby, reading on the step compensating material further includes a third compensating material installed corresponding to the uncoated region disposed between the coated regions and supporting the uncoated region, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida as applied to claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) above, in view of Ito et al. (US 2011/0131799 A1; “Ito”).
Regarding claim 4, Nishida discloses the device set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Nishida further discloses that the positive electrode plate is cut into an appropriate length when an electrode assembly is produced [0023-0024, 0032].
However, Nishida remains silent regarding the positive electrode plate compression device comprising a slitting unit configured to slit the electrode plate is installed on one side of the guide roll.
Ito is directed towards an electrode sheet manufacturing apparatus [0020] for a secondary battery [0001, 0136, 0174] including a conveying mechanism, a first cutting device, a rolling device, and a second cutting device [0020-0023, 0026, 0120, 0123, 0147-00149, 0185]. The rolling device presses the electrode sheet [0135-0136]. The apparatus additionally comprises a position adjusting mechanism [0022], a distortion correcting device [0027, 0119-0120, 0139, 0185], thereby, in totality, prevents meandering of a rechargeable battery electrode. The first cutting device cuts the original sheet conveyed by the conveying mechanism [0020, 0123]. The first cutting device has a slitter arranged so as to be capable of cutting the original sheet at a location between coated portions coated with the electrode material [0020, 0123]. The second cutting device configured to cut the original sheet strips having been cut by the first cutting device in coated portions coated with the electrode material may be provided downstream of the rolling device in the conveying path [0026, 0147-00149].
Nishida and Ito each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a device for preventing meandering of a rechargeable battery electrode. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positive electrode plate compression device of Nishida to additionally include the first and/or second cutting device(s) of Ito, in their respective locations like that of Ito, in order to cut the positive electrode plate [Ito, 0020, 0026, 0120, 0123, 0147-0149], and because Nishida already discloses that the positive electrode plate is cut.
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the positive electrode plate compression device of modified Nishida would include the first and/or second cutting device(s), wherein the first cutting device is before the pair of press rolls, and the second cutting device is after the pair of press rolls, in order to still cut the positive electrode plate, thereby, in totality, reading on a slitting unit configured to slit the electrode plate is installed on one side of the at least one guide roll, as claimed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) above. Yuk et al. (US 2021/0242451 A1; “Yuk”) is relied upon as an evidentiary reference in support of the rejection.
Regarding claim 5, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Nishida discloses the large diameter portion includes a metal material and a resin material, such as a monomer cast nylon or a polytetrafluorethylene [Nishida, 0056]. Yuk evidences that both nylon and polytetrafluorethylene help to facilitate adhesion [Yuk, 0073], therefore, the large diameter portion including a resin material reads on the claimed includes an adhesive film.
Nishida remains silent regarding the adhesive film is attached to an external surface of the at least one guide roll.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the resin material attached to an external surface of the large diameter portion as there are a finite number of possibilities, on an internal surface or an external surface (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida as applied to claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) above.
Regarding claim 11, in view of the rejection of claim 8 above, Nishida further discloses that the positive electrode plate includes a protection layer [element 4, 0028, 0066, Figures 1A(a) and 1B] of which is made of inorganic material particles and a resin binder [0028], thereby, reading on the claimed insulation coating layer. The protection layer is near a boundary of the coated region(s) and the non-coated region(s) (near a boundary of the coated region and the uncoated region) [0028, 0066, Figures 1A(a) and 1B].
Nishida remains silent regarding the at least one guide roll further includes a fourth support portion supporting the insulation coating layer and having a third radius that is greater than the first radius and less than the second radius.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one roll of Nishida to include a fourth diameter portion, like that of the large and small diameter portions already disclosed by Nishida, but that corresponds to and supports the protection layer, in order to apply the protection layer onto the positive electrode plate (MPEP 2143(I)(F)), wherein a radius of the fourth diameter portion would be greater than the radius of the small diameter portion and less than the radius of the large diameter portion, as there are a finite number of radii comparisons (MPEP 2143(I)(E)). Additionally, a thickness from one outer edge to the other outer edge of the coating region is less than a thickness from one outer edge to the other outer edge of the protection layer, of which is less than a thickness from one outer edge to the other outer edge of the non-coated region [Figures 1A(a) and 1A(B)] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated Figure 1A(a) of Nishida), and the small diameter portion corresponds to the coating region(s), while the large diameter portion corresponds to the non-coating region(s) [0055-0060, Figures 6(a) and 6(b)], therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to have the fourth diameter portion have the same thickness comparison from one outer edge to the other outer edge like that of the protection layer and thus would lead to similar radii comparisons among the diameter portions.
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 1A(a) of Nishida
Regarding claim 12, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, Nishida discloses that the protection layer has a step h2 that is less than the step h of the coated region [Figure 1A(b)], see below for Figure 3. Annotated Figure 1A(b) of Nishida.
Figure 3. Annotated Figure 1A(b) of Nishida
Regarding claim 13, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, modified Nishida remains silent regarding the step compensating material further includes a fourth compensating material installed on an external side of the guide roll and having a second thickness t2 that is less than the first thickness t1 to support the insulation coating layer.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the at least one roll of Nishida so that metal material and resin material is provided on the fourth diameter portion, like that of the large diameter portions that correspond to the non-coated regions because the protection layer that corresponds with the fourth diameter portion is also not made of positive electrode mixture layer [0028], and so that it is on an external side of the at least one roll, as there are a finite number of possibilities, on an internal surface or an external surface (MPEP 2143(I)(E)). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to have a second thickness t2 of the metal material and resin material provided on the fourth diameter portion be less than the first thickness, as the fourth diameter portion needs to be able to add the protection layer on top of the non-coated region, thereby resulting in the metal material and resin material provided on the fourth diameter portion needing to be set further from the non-coated region than the metal material and resin material provided on the large diameter portion, to support the protection layer (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Kim et al., US 2012/0288749 A1 – is directed towards a manufacturing assembly and process of an electrode plate [0027, 0056-0058, FIG. 1].
Chung et al., US 2023/0170533 A1 – teaches an insulating coating layer located at a boundary between the active material layer and the uncoated portion [0045-0046, 0089-0092, 0109, FIG. 5].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782