DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 10/02/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/23/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 04/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the configuration of each driving mechanism of the two inventions are separate and require different fields of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 recites “the movable part” where there is no prior mention. For the purpose of continuing examination, it is assumed that “the movable part” is meant to recite “the optical element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (USPG Pub No. 2021/0149143), hereinafter “Hu”.
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a driving mechanism (10) (see Fig. 2, Paragraph 136), comprising: a fixed part (F) (see Fig. 2, Paragraph 136); an optical element (L, S), movably connected to the fixed part (F) (see Fig. 2, Paragraphs 135, 136); and a driving assembly (E1, E2), disposed in the fixed part for moving the movable part 1(L,S) relative to the fixed part (F) along a first axis (see Fig. 2, Paragraphs 135, 136).
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses further comprising a first conductive element (6-DU) (Paragraph 364 – each element of the driving unit is considered to be conductive), wherein the fixed part (F) includes a housing (110) and a base (210) connected to each other (see Fig. 2), the first conductive element (6-DU) is disposed on the base (6-112) and has a first stopper (6-EE1) that is angled relative to the first axis (see Figs. 68, 69), and when the optical element (6-MA) is in a first position, the first stopper (6-EE1) contacts the optical element (6-MA) (see Figs. 67-69, Paragraphs 359, 362, 364).
Regarding claim 3, Hu discloses wherein the optical element (6-MA) comprises conductive material (see Figs. 67-69), and when the optical element is in the first position, the first conductive element and the optical element are electrically connected to each other so that a first electrical signal is transferred to an external circuit (Paragraphs 394-397). This embodiment provides a driving unit (6-DU) that has multiple conductive components that, in conjunction with position sensors, are electrically connected to one another and transfer electrical signals. When engaged to the optical element 6-MA, the driving unit 6-DU is an extension of the optical element.
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses wherein the first conductive element (6-DU, 6-DA) further has a first guiding structure parallel to the first axis, and the optical element (6-MA) is guided by the first guiding structure (6-1121) to move relative to the base (6-112) along the first axis (see Figs. 60, 65-72, Paragraphs 358-359).
Regarding claim 6, Hu discloses further comprising a second conductive element (6-DU) disposed on the base (6-112) and having a second stopper (6-BE1, 6-BE2) that is angled relative to the first axis (Paragraph 364 – each element of the driving unit is considered to be conductive), wherein when the optical element (6-MA) is in a second position, the second stopper contacts the optical element (see Figs. 60, 65-72).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses wherein the optical element (6-MA) comprises conductive material (see Figs. 67-69), and when the optical element is in the second position, the second conductive element and the optical element are electrically connected to each other so that a second electrical signal is transferred to an external circuit (Paragraphs 394-397). This embodiment provides a driving unit (6-DU) that has multiple conductive components that, in conjunction with position sensors, are electrically connected to one another and transfer electrical signals. When engaged to the optical element 6-MA, the driving unit 6-DU is an extension of the optical element.
Regarding claim 9, Hu discloses wherein the second conductive element (6-DU, 6-DA) further has a second guiding structure parallel to the first axis, and the optical element (6-MA) is guided by the second guiding structure (6-1121) to move relative to the base (6-112) along the first axis (see Figs. 60, 65-72, 358-359).
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses wherein the optical element (6-MA) has a connecting portion (6-108) connected to the driving assembly (6-DA, 6-DU) (Paragraphs 358-360, 390), and the first stopper (6-EE1) contacts a first end surface of the connecting portion when the optical element is in the first position (see Figs. 61, 65-72).
Regarding claim 11, Hu discloses wherein the second stopper (6-BE1, 6-BE2) contacts a second end surface of the connecting portion (6-108) when the optical element (6-MA) is in the second position, and the first and second end surfaces are on opposite sides of the connecting portion (6-108) (see Figs. 60, 61, 66-72).
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses further comprising a support (120), a circuit board, and a plurality of optical lenses (L), wherein the optical lenses are disposed on the circuit board (inherent via image capturing element for performing image capturing function), and the support is disposed on the optical lenses and contacts the optical element (see Fig. 2, Paragraph 359 – “the holder 6-108 can also be further connected to other optical elements, such as shutters, apertures, camera lenses, filters, photosensitive elements and other optical elements”).
Regarding claim 14, Hu discloses wherein a gap is formed between the optical element (R) and the optical lenses (L) (see Fig. 52).
Regarding claim 15, Hu discloses wherein the base is disposed on the circuit board (130) (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (USPG Pub No. 2021/0149143) in view of Hung et al. (USPG Pub No. 2022/0308421), hereinafter “Hung”.
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify further comprising a plurality of first conductive elements disposed on opposite sides of the optical element. In the same field of endeavor, Hung discloses further comprising a plurality of first conductive elements (109) disposed on opposite sides of the optical element (OE) (see Fig. 2, Paragraph 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the driving mechanism of Hu with further comprising a plurality of first conductive elements disposed on opposite sides of the optical element of Hung for the purpose of providing an improved driving mechanism that is convenient, thin and lightweight (Paragraph 3). Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Hu discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify further comprising a plurality of second conductive elements disposed on opposite sides of the optical element. In the same field of endeavor, Hung discloses further comprising a plurality of second conductive elements (109) disposed on opposite sides of the optical element (OE) (see Fig. 2, Paragraph 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the driving mechanism of Hu with further comprising a plurality of second conductive elements disposed on opposite sides of the optical element of Hung for the purpose of providing an improved driving mechanism that is convenient, thin and lightweight (Paragraph 3). Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 12, Hu discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the housing has an opening blocked by the optical element when the optical element is in the first position. In the same field of endeavor, Hung discloses wherein the housing has an opening (1021) blocked by the optical element (OE) when the optical element is in the first position (see Fig. 2, Paragraphs 48, 53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the driving mechanism of Hu with wherein the housing has an opening blocked by the optical element when the optical element is in the first position of Hung for the purpose of selectively shielding the photosensitive module (Paragraphs 48, 51).
Prior Art Citations
Wang et al. (USPG Pub No. 2020/0249415) is being cited herein to show a driving mechanism relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 6/26/2026
1 See claim objection above