DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 9, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term Nomex, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 contains the trademark/trade name Nomex. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the composition of the permeable component (60) and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. In the interim for purposes of compact prosecution, the phrase/term “Nomex® paper” has been interpreted as meaning a “fibrous material.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, 13, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wade (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0002085), hereinafter, “Wade”.
With respect to Claim 1, Wade, Figures 1-8, teaches
an end effector assembly comprising (1):
a housing (60) including a first component (59) having a first edge (Top border of band 59) and a second edge (Lower border of band 59) spaced from each other relative to a central axis (The central axis is perpendicular to air outlets 25) to define a pocket (49) therebetween, a second component (21) attached to the first edge of the first component, and a third component (42) attached to the second edge of the first component, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component cooperate with each other to close the pocket;
a permeable component (50) contained inside of the pocket;
and wherein the third component defines a plurality of perforations (24) to allow fluid communication through the third component.
With respect to Claim 2, which depends from Claim 1, Wade further teaches
wherein the permeable component defines a plurality of pores (25, 53) that allow fluid communication therethrough.
With respect to Claim 3, which depends from Claim 2, Wade further teaches
wherein the pores include a first set of pores (25) having a first configuration (vertical air outlets of honeycomb reinforcing structure 50) and a second set of pores (53) having a second configuration (Apertures 53 of honeycomb reinforcing structure 50) different from the first configuration of the first set of pores.
With respect to Claim 4, which depends from Claim 3, Wade further teaches
wherein each of the first set of pores extend through the permeable component substantially parallel to the central axis (Vertical air outlets 25 of honeycomb reinforcing structure 50 travel parallel to the central axis), and each of the second set of pores extend through the permeable component transverse to the central axis (Apertures 53 of honeycomb reinforcing structure 50 travel transverse to the central axis).
With respect to Claim 5, which depends from Claim 4, Wade further teaches
wherein the first configuration of the first set of pores defines a first size (The first size is the size of the vertical air outlets 25) and the second configuration of the second set of pores defines a second size (The first size is the size of the apertures 53), wherein the first size is larger than the second size (Figure 3 clearly shows size that air outlets 25 are larger than apertures 53) .
With respect to Claim 6, which depends from Claim 2, Wade further teaches
wherein the pores of the permeable component are a different size from the perforations of the third component (Figure 2 shows a clear size difference of the air outlets 25 and apertures 53 within honeycomb reinforcing structure 50 from the bores 24 if of the third component).
With respect to Claim 7, which depends from Claim 6, Wade further teaches
wherein the pores of the permeable component are a larger size than the perforations of the third component (Figure 2 clearly shows that the air outlets 25 and apertures 53 within honeycomb reinforcing structure 50 are larger than from the bores 24 if of the third component).
With respect to Claim 8, which depends from Claim 3, Wade further teaches
wherein: the permeable component is formed as a honeycomb core; and the permeable component is formed of Nomex® paper (For examining purposes, Nomex paper is understood as a fibrous material. [0102] discusses that the reinforcing hexagonal cell structure is made from parallel metallic strips).
With respect to Claim 10, which depends from Claim 1, Wade further teaches
wherein the perforations include a first set of perforations (See Figure 4 on Page 6 of this Office Action, 901) of a first pattern (The first set shows bores in a 4:2 matrix) and a second set of perforations (See Figure 4 on Page 6 of this Office Action, 902) of a second pattern (The second set shows bores in a 6:2 matrix) different from the first pattern of the first set of perforations.
With respect to Claim 11, which depends from Claim 10, Wade further teaches
wherein the first set of the perforations and the second set of perforations alternate (Figures 3 shows an extended view of the design in Figure 4, such that the second set of perforations is indexed one bore higher than the first set of perforations, seen in Figure 4 on Page 6 of this Office Action).
With respect to Claim 13, which depends from Claim 1, Wade further teaches
wherein the second component defines an aperture (25) in fluid communication with the pocket.
With respect to Claim 22, Wade teaches
A method of distributing fluid flow through an end effector assembly (1), wherein the end effector assembly includes a housing (60) having a first component (59), a second component (21), and a third component (42), wherein the first component includes a first edge (Top border of band 59) and a second edge (Lower border of band 59) spaced from each other relative to a central axis (The central axis is perpendicular to air outlets 25) to define a pocket (49) therebetween, the second component is attached to the first edge of the first component, and the third component is attached to the second edge of the first component, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component cooperate with each other to contain a permeable component (50) inside of the pocket, and wherein the third component defines a plurality of perforations (24) to allow fluid communication through the third component, the method comprising:
activating a vacuum assembly (16) to create a vacuum ([0002] discusses applying a vacuum pressure through a set of holes in the surface); and
moving the fluid flow through perforations of the third component and through pores of
the permeable component, in which some of the pores are disposed in different directions relative to other ones of the pores, to evenly distribute the fluid flow through the end effector assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Jackson (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0270906), hereinafter, “Jackson”.
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from Claim 1, Wade is advanced above.
Wade teaches all elements of the apparatus except for a seal attached to the third component and/or the first component, and the seal flares outwardly beyond the third component.
However, Jackson, Figures 4 and 5, teaches a seal (128) attached to the third component and/or the first component, and the seal flares outwardly beyond the third component (Figure 4 shows the seal 128 flaring outwardly beyond the apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to provide Wade with a seal attached to the third component and/or the first component, and the seal flares outwardly beyond the third component, as taught by Jackson, for the for the purpose of maximizing the vacuum’s strength.
Claim(s) 14, 16-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade and further in view of Yoshikuma (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number (2022/0274248), hereinafter, “Yoshikuma”.
With respect to Claim 14, Wade teaches wherein the end effector assembly (1) comprises:
a housing (60) including a first component (59) having a first edge (Top border of band 59) and a second edge (Lower border of band 59) spaced from each other relative to a central axis (The central axis is perpendicular to the air outlets 25) to define a pocket (49) therebetween, a second component (21) attached to the first edge of the first component, and a third component (42) attached to the second edge of the first component, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component cooperate with each other to close the pocket;
a permeable component (50) contained inside of the pocket; and
wherein the third component defines a plurality of perforations (24) to allow fluid
communication through the third component.
Wade does not teach an assembly configured to move and/or compact a part, the assembly comprising:
a part support structure configured to support the part; and
an end effector assembly attached to the part support structure,
However, Yoshikuma, Figures 1-2, teaches an assembly (1) configured to move and/or compact a part, the assembly comprising:
a part support structure (11, 21, 40, 45) configured to support the part; and
an end effector assembly (1) attached to the part support structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Wade with an assembly configured to move and/or compact a part, the assembly comprising: a part support structure configured to support the part; and an end effector assembly attached to the part support structure, as taught by Yoshikuma, for the purpose of not damaging the part during manipulation.
With respect to Claim 16, which depends from Claim 14, Wade further teaches
further comprising a vacuum assembly (16) coupled to the end effector assembly and is configured to create a vacuum ([0002] discusses applying a vacuum pressure through a set of holes in the surface) to cause the part to engage the third component for moving the part and/or for compacting the part.
With respect to Claim 17, which depends from Claim 16, Wade is advanced above.
Wade teaches all elements of the apparatus except for wherein the part is completely contained between the part support structure and the base platform during compaction.
However, Yoshikuma, Figures 1-2, teaches wherein the part is completely contained between the part support structure and the base platform during compaction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Wade with wherein the part is completely contained between the part support structure and the base platform during compaction, as taught by Yoshikuma, for purpose of securing a part to the end effector.
With respect to Claim 18, which depends from Claim 16, Wade further teaches
wherein the permeable component defines a plurality of pores (25, 53) that allow fluid communication therethrough such that fluid flow occurs through the perforations and the pores out of the housing when the vacuum is applied via the vacuum assembly.
With respect to Claim 19, which depends from Claim 18, Wade teaches
wherein: the pores include a first set of pores (25) extending in a first direction (Vertical air outlets 25 of honeycomb reinforcing structure 50 travel parallel to the central axis), and a second set of pores (53) extending in a second direction transverse to the first direction (Apertures 53 of honeycomb reinforcing structure 50 travel transverse to the central axis).
and the perforations include a first set of perforations (See Figure 4 on Page 6 of this Office Action, 901) of a first pattern (The first set shows bores in a 4:2 matrix) and a second set of perforations (See Figure 4 on Page 6 of this Office Action, 902) of a second pattern (The second set shows bores in a 6:2 matrix) different from the first pattern of the first set of perforations.
With respect to Claim 21, Wade teaches
wherein the end effector assembly includes a housing having a first component, a second component, and a third component, wherein the first component includes a first edge and a second edge spaced from each other relative to a central axis to define a pocket therebetween, the second component is attached to the first edge of the first component, and the third component is attached to the second edge of the first component, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component cooperate with each other to contain a permeable component inside of the pocket, and wherein the third component defines a plurality of perforations to allow fluid communication through the third component; and
activating a vacuum assembly to create a vacuum via causing fluid flow through the permeable component, the pocket, and the perforations to cause the third component to attach to the part to allow the end effector assembly to move the part and/or compart the part.
Wade does not teach a method of moving and/or compacting a part, the method comprising:
positioning a part support structure relative to the part, wherein the part support structure is attached to an end effector assembly,
However, Yoshikuma, Figures 1-2, teaches a method of moving and/or compacting
a part, the method comprising:
positioning a part support structure (11, 21, 40, 45) relative to the part, wherein the part support structure is attached to an end effector assembly (1),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to provide Wade with a method of moving and/or compacting a part, the method comprising: positioning a part support structure relative to the part, wherein the part support structure is attached to an end effector assembly, as taught by Yoshikuma, for the purpose of securing a part to the end effector.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade in view of Yoshikuma and in further view of Jackson.
With respect to Claim 15, which depends from Claim 14, Wade and Yoshikuma are advanced above.
Wade and Yoshikuma teach all elements of the apparatus except for further comprising a seal attached to the third component and/or the first component, and the seal flares outwardly beyond the third component and is configured to engage the part.
However, Jackson, Figures 4-5, teaches further comprising a seal (128) attached to the third component and/or the first component, and the seal flares outwardly beyond the third component and is configured to engage the part component (Figure 4 shows the seal 128 flaring outwardly beyond the apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to provide Wade with a seal attached to the third component and/or the first component, and the seal flares outwardly beyond the third component, as taught by Jackson, for the purpose of maximizing the vacuum’s strength.
Conclusion
/Ian Americo Hauser/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654