DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second water outlet hole" and “the third water hole.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is previously recited that there are “a plurality of second water outlet holes” and “a plurality of third water holes.” It is unclear if "the second water outlet hole" and “the third water hole” are the same or different than “the plurality of second water outlet holes” and “the plurality of third water holes.” For purposes of examination, the elements are taken to be the same.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1 in view of Hiramoto (JP5144778B2) in view of Radow (US20140334249A1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1 teaches A slow cooker (100), wherein the slow cooker comprises:
a shell (Claim 1, a first accommodating cavity), wherein a placing cavity (Claim 1 a housing, wherein the housing is provided with a first inner wall) is enclosed by the shell (Claim 1, the first accommodating cavity is formed around the first inner wall);
an inner container (Claim 1, an inner container), wherein the inner container is arranged in the placing cavity (Claim 1, wherein the inner container is arranged into the first accommodating cavity),
a magnetic stirring assembly (Claim 1, an actuating device), wherein the magnetic stirring assembly comprises a driving member (Claim 1, the actuating device comprises an actuating motor), a first magnet (Claim 1, a first magnetic element) and a second magnet (Claim 1, a second magnetic element)
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1 does not teach and an accommodating cavity is enclosed by the inner container; a heating assembly, wherein the heating assembly is arranged between the inner container and the shell; two ends of the driving member are respectively connected with the shell and the first magnet, the second magnet is arranged in the accommodating cavity, and the second magnet and the first magnet are arranged on two opposite sides of the inner container at interval; a limiting cover, wherein the limiting cover is connected with the inner container, and the limiting cover is provided with a water outlet hole; wherein, a limiting space is enclosed by the limiting cover and the inner container, the second magnet is arranged in the limiting space, and the limiting space is used for limiting a movement range of the second magnet.
Hiramoto teaches an accommodating cavity ([0040] interior of inner pot 31) is enclosed by the inner container (31);
a heating assembly (12), wherein the heating assembly (12) is arranged between the inner container (31) and the shell (1, Fig. 1);
two ends of the driving member (131) are respectively connected with the shell (1) and the first magnet (133), the second magnet (135) is arranged in the accommodating cavity (31, [0066] Fig. 5-6), and the second magnet (135) and the first magnet (133) are arranged on two opposite sides of the inner container (31) at interval.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1 and Hiramato are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooking and brewing devices. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1 to incorporate the teachings of Hiramoto to have an accommodating cavity enclosed by the inner container, a heating assembly between the inner container and the shell and two ends of the driving member be connected with the shell and the first, and the second magnet be arranged in the accommodating cavity opposite the first magnet so that a cooked product may be produced through a heating and stirring action to achieve an optimal cooked product (Hiramoto [0022]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1 and Hiramato are silent on a limiting cover, wherein the limiting cover is connected with the inner container, and the limiting cover is provided with a water outlet hole; wherein, a limiting space is enclosed by the limiting cover and the inner container, the second magnet is arranged in the limiting space, and the limiting space is used for limiting a movement range of the second magnet.
Radow teaches a limiting cover (194), wherein the limiting cover (194) is connected with the inner container (110), and the limiting cover (194) is provided with a water outlet hole (200);
wherein, a limiting space (170) is enclosed by the limiting cover (194) and the inner container (110), the second magnet ([0045] magnetic stir bar 190) is arranged in the limiting space (170, Fig. 1), and the limiting space (170) is used for limiting a movement range of the second magnet (190, [0045]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1, Hiramoto, and Radow are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooking and brewing devices. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US11974690B1 and Hiramoto to incorporate the teachings of Radow to have a limiting cover with a water outlet delimiting a limiting space to allow the liquid/fluid in the container to freely communicate with the stirring components for mixing action and to keep the magnet and stirring device in the recessed area (Radow [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramoto (JP5144778B2) in view of Radow (US20140334249A1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Fig. 1 of Hiramoto
Figs. 5-6 of Hiramoto
Regarding claim 1, Hiramoto teaches a slow cooker, wherein the slow cooker comprises:
a shell (1), wherein a placing cavity ([0040] main body 1 having an opening) is enclosed by the shell (1);
an inner container (31), wherein the inner container (31) is arranged in the placing cavity ([0040] a main body 1 having an opening, an inner pot 31 housed in the main body 1), and an accommodating cavity ([0040] interior of inner pot 31) is enclosed by the inner container (31);
a heating assembly (12), wherein the heating assembly (12) is arranged between the inner container (31) and the shell (1, Fig. 1);
a magnetic stirring assembly (13), wherein the magnetic stirring assembly (13) comprises a driving member (131), a first magnet (133) and a second magnet (135), two ends of the driving member (131) are respectively connected with the shell (1) and the first magnet (133), the second magnet (135) is arranged in the accommodating cavity (31, [0066] Fig. 5-6), and the second magnet (135) and the first magnet (133) are arranged on two opposite sides of the inner container (31) at interval; and
wherein, a limiting space (190) in the inner container (31), the second magnet (133) is arranged in the limiting space (190), and the limiting space (190) is used for limiting a movement range of the second magnet (133).
Hiramoto is silent on a limiting cover, wherein the limiting cover is connected with the inner container, and the limiting cover is provided with a water outlet hole; wherein, a limiting space is enclosed by the limiting cover and the inner container, the second magnet is arranged in the limiting space, and the limiting space is used for limiting a movement range of the second magnet.
Radow teaches a limiting cover (194), wherein the limiting cover (194) is connected with the inner container (110), and the limiting cover (194) is provided with a water outlet hole (200);
wherein, a limiting space (170) is enclosed by the limiting cover (194) and the inner container (110), the second magnet ([0045] magnetic stir bar 190) is arranged in the limiting space (170, Fig. 1), and the limiting space (170) is used for limiting a movement range of the second magnet (190, [0045]).
Hiramoto and Radow are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooking and brewing devices. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto to incorporate the teachings of Radow to have a limiting cover with a water outlet delimiting a limiting space to allow the liquid/fluid in the container to freely communicate with the stirring components for mixing action and to keep the magnet and stirring device in the recessed area (Radow [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Hiramoto and Radow teach the slow cooker according to claim 1, and Hiramoto teaches wherein the inner container (31) comprises a body portion (body of inner pot 31) and a limiting portion (190), the body portion (body of inner pot 31) surrounds the limiting portion (190) and the accommodating cavity (interior of 31) is enclosed by the body portion (body of inner pot 31) and the limiting portion (190) jointly, the limiting portion (190) and the first magnet (133) are arranged at interval (Fig. 6), and the first magnet (133) and the second magnet (135) are arranged on two opposite sides of the limiting portion (190).
Regarding claim 3, Hiramoto and Radow teach the slow cooker according to claim 2, and Hiramoto teaches wherein the limiting portion (190) protrudes towards the first magnet (133) to form a first limiting groove ([0063] recessed portion 190), but is silent on the limiting cover is inserted into the first limiting groove.
Radow teaches the limiting cover (194) is inserted into the first limiting groove (170, [0072] the surrounding area can include a perimeter recess for receiving and positioning the retainer).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto to incorporate the teachings of Radow to have a limiting cover in a limiting grooves in order to keep the magnet and stirring device in the recessed area (Radow [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Hiramoto and Radow teach the slow cooker according to claim 3, but Hiramoto is silent on wherein one of the limiting portion and the limiting cover is provided with a clamping groove, the other of the limiting portion and the limiting cover is provided with a buckle, and the buckle is inserted into the clamping groove.
Radow teaches wherein one of the limiting portion (170) and the limiting cover (194) is provided with a clamping groove (170, [0072] the surrounding area can include a perimeter recess for receiving and positioning the retainer), the other of the limiting portion (170) and the limiting cover (190) is provided with a buckle ([0072] peg-and-groove), and the buckle is inserted into the clamping groove ([0072] a peg-and-groove arrangement where one of the retainer and the base has a peg and the other has an arcuate groove and the user twists the retainer such that the peg fixes in the groove, understood to be the equivalent of a buckle).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto to incorporate the teachings of Radow to have a limiting cover with a clamping groove and a buckle to keep the magnet and stirring device in the recessed area (Radow [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Hiramoto and Radow teach the slow cooker according to claim 2, but Hiramoto is silent on wherein the limiting cover comprises a top shell and a side shell, the side shell surrounds the top shell, the side shell is connected with the inner container, the limiting space is enclosed by the top shell, the side shell and the limiting portion jointly, and at least one of the top shell and the side shell is provided with the water outlet hole.
Annotated Fig. A of Radow
Radow teaches wherein the limiting cover (194) comprises a top shell (570) and a side shell (Annotated Fig. A, edges of 194), the side shell (Annotated Fig. A, edges of 194) surrounds the top shell (570), the side shell (Annotated Fig. A, edges of 194) is connected with the inner container (120), the limiting space (170) is enclosed by the top shell (570), the side shell (Annotated Fig. A, edges of 194) and the limiting portion ([0045] recessed portion of base 120) jointly, and at least one of the top shell (570) and the side shell is provided with the water outlet hole (200).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto to incorporate the teachings of Radow to have a limiting cover with a top and side shell, connected with the inner container and have a hole of the top shell to allow the liquid/fluid in the container to freely communicate with the stirring components for mixing action and to keep the magnet and stirring device in the recessed area (Radow [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Hiramoto and Radow teach the slow cooker according to claim 5, but Hiramoto is silent on wherein the water outlet hole comprises a first water outlet hole, a plurality of second water outlet holes and a plurality of third water outlet holes, the first water outlet hole is arranged in a center position of the top shell, the plurality of second water outlet holes and the plurality of third water outlet holes respectively surround the first water outlet hole, and the second water outlet holes are arranged between the first water outlet hole and the third water outlet holes at interval.
Annotated Fig. L of Radow
Radow teaches wherein the water outlet hole (200 Fig. L) comprises a first water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L), a plurality of second water outlet holes (Annotated Fig. L) and a plurality of third water outlet holes (Annotated Fig. L), the first water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L) is arranged in a center position of the top shell (570), the plurality of second water outlet holes (Annotated Fig. L)and the plurality of third water outlet holes (Annotated Fig. L) respectively surround the first water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L), and the second water outlet holes (Annotated Fig. L) are arranged between the first water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L) and the third water outlet holes (Annotated Fig. L) at interval.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto to incorporate the teachings of Radow to have a limiting cover with a water outlet with a first outlet and a second and third plurality of outlets to allow the liquid/fluid in the container to freely communicate with the stirring components for mixing action (Radow [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, Hiramoto and Radow teach the slow cooker according to claim 6, but Hiramoto is silent on wherein the second water outlet hole is arc- shaped, the third water outlet hole is arc- shaped, and an arc length of the third water outlet hole is larger than that of the second water outlet hole.
Radow teaches wherein the second water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L) is circle shaped, the third water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L) is circle shaped, and an arc length of the third water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L) is larger than that of the second water outlet hole (Annotated Fig. L, where the arc of the circular holes of the plurality of third outlet holes is larger than that of the plurality of second outlet holes).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto to incorporate the teachings of Radow to have a limiting cover with a water outlet with a second and third plurality of outlets, the third water outlets being longer than the second water outlets to allow the liquid/fluid in the container to freely communicate with the stirring components for mixing action (Radow [0045]).
Hiramoto and Radow are silent on wherein the second water outlet hole is arc-shaped, the third water outlet hole is arc-shaped. However, applicant has not stated the shape of the second and third water outlets provide any unexpected or synergetic results. As such it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the second and third water outlets to be arc-shaped as taught by the combination of Hiramoto and Radow to have the shape claimed as when the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is shape which does not provide a new or unexpected result, a finding of prima facie obviousness is appropriate (see MPEP §2144.04).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramoto (JP5144778B2) in view of Radow (US20140334249A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eades (US9220362B2).
Regarding claim 8, Hiramoto and Radow the slow cooker according to claim 1, but are silent on wherein the slow cooker comprises a placing rack arranged in the accommodating cavity; and the placing rack comprises a first rack body and a plurality of second rack bodies, the first rack body forms an annular frame structure, and the plurality of second rack bodies are arranged at interval along a width direction of the annular frame structure.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Eades
Eades teaches wherein the slow cooker (160) comprises a placing rack (115) arranged in the accommodating cavity (111); and
the placing rack (115) comprises a first rack body (Annotated Fig. 3) and a plurality of second rack bodies (Annotated Fig. 3), the first rack body (Annotated Fig. 3) forms an annular frame structure, and the plurality of second rack bodies (Annotated Fig. 3) are arranged at interval along a width direction of the annular frame structure.
Hiramoto, Radow, and Eades are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooking and brewing devices. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto and Radow to incorporate the teachings of Eades to have a placing rack with a plurality of first and second rack bodies in order to be able to hold food items during the cooking process (Eades Col. 1 lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 9, Hiramoto, Radow, and Eades teach the slow cooker according to claim 8, and Hiramoto teaches a projection of the limiting cover (190) on the bottom surface of the inner container (31), but is silent on wherein the placing rack further comprises third rack bodies connected with the plurality of second rack bodies respectively, the third rack body is connected to a part of the second rack body close to the inner container, and a projection of a region in which the plurality of second rack bodies are connected with the third rack bodies on a bottom surface of the inner container.
Eades teaches wherein the placing rack (54, 56) further comprises third rack bodies (Annotated Fig. 3) connected with the plurality of second rack bodies (Annotated Fig. 3) respectively, the third rack body (Annotated Fig. 3) is connected to a part of the second rack body (Annotated Fig. 3) close to the inner container (111), and a projection of a region in which the plurality of second rack bodies (Annotated Fig. 3) are connected with the third rack bodies (Annotated Fig. 3) on a bottom surface of the inner container (111).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the projection as taught Hiramoto and Radow to incorporate the teachings of Eades to be covered by a placing rack that has a plurality of first, second, and third rack bodies in order to be able to hold food items during the cooking process (Eades Col. 1 lines 40-50).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramoto (JP5144778B2) in view of Radow (US20140334249A1)and Eades (US9220362B2) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of York (US20090095169).
Regrading claim 10, Hiramoto, Radow, and Eades teach the slow cooker according to claim 9, but Hiramoto and Radow are silent on wherein the first rack body comprises a plurality of first portions and a plurality of second portions, the plurality of first portions and the plurality of second portions are alternately arranged to form the annular frame structure, the first portions are away from the inner container relative to the second portions, the first portions are parallel to the second rack bodies, the second portions are connected with the plurality of second rack bodies respectively, and the third rack bodies are further connected with the first portions.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto and Radow to incorporate the teachings of Eades to have a placing rack with a plurality of first and second portions of the first rack bodies connected to the second rack bodies in order to be able to hold food items during the cooking process (Eades Col. 1 lines 40-50).
Hiramoto, Radow, and Eades are silent on the third rack bodies are further connected with the first portion.
Annotated Fig. 9 of York
York teaches the third rack bodies (Annotated Fig. 9) are further connected with the first portions (Annotated Fig. 9).
Hiramoto, Radow, Eades, and York are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooking and brewing devices. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Hiramoto, Radow, and Eades to incorporate the teachings of York to have a third rack body connect with a first portion of a first rack body in order to be able to have a horizontal support system, which is reinforced by the third rack body, such that the rack is able to support further inserts (York [0048]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/18/2026