Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 13 – 22, & 26 - 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QU (WO 2020/151505 A1) in view of Murakami (US 2013/0114752 A1).
With regards to claim 1, QU teaches:
A transmitter for wireless communication, comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 1 and corresponding specification: The transceiver 202 may be used to support the sending and receiving of information between the access network device 102 and the terminal device, and to support radio communication between the terminal devices. The processor 201 may also be used to perform functions of various terminal devices communicating with other network devices), the processing system configured to cause the transmitter to: map a pair of bits associated with a channel code to a modulation symbol that corresponds to a point in a constellation that includes a plurality of points, there being non-uniform distances between adjacent points of the plurality of points; and transmit a signal that conveys the modulation symbol to a receiver (Fig. 3 and corresponding specification: the modulator can perform symbol mapping and/or modulation on the output signal (data and/or signaling) of the encoder, and provide output samples. In the embodiment of the present application, at least one of the first encoding method and the second encoding method is a nonlinear encoding method. the channel coding provided by the embodiments of the present application satisfies the Plotkin structure, and at the same time, non-linear coding is used in the branch codes and is used in the branch codes).
QU fails to teach:
wherein the constellation is asymmetric with respect to at least one of a first axis or a second axis, the first axis representing an in-phase or real component of the modulation symbol and the second axis representing a quadrature or imaginary component of the modulation symbol;
However, Murakami teaches:
wherein the constellation is asymmetric with respect to at least one of a first axis or a second axis, the first axis representing an in-phase or real component of the modulation symbol and the second axis representing a quadrature or imaginary component of the modulation symbol (0179, FIGS. 24A and 24B are an example of a mapping method over an IQ plane, having an in-phase component I and a quadrature-phase component Q, to form a baseband signal in QPSK modulation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Murakami which teaches the real and imaginary components of the modulation symbol in order to map the constellation asymmetrically.
With regards to claim 2, QU in view of Murakami in teaches the transmitter of claim 1. QU teaches:
wherein to map the pair of bits, the processing system is configured to cause the transmitter to: comprises apply a transform function to the pair of bits (Fig. 1 and corresponding specification: The modem processor 201 may include a baseband processor (BBP) (not shown), which processes the digitized received signal to extract the information or data bits conveyed in the signal), and wherein each point of the plurality of points is associated with a respective label corresponding to a possible value for the pair of bits prior to the application of the transform function to the pair of bits (Fig. 5 and corresponding specification: The first device performs an inverse fast Fourier transformation (IFFT) on a frequency domain signal containing L elements to obtain a corresponding time domain signal, and adds a cyclic prefix to the time domain signal to generate a first signal).
With regards to claim 3, QU in view of Murakami in teaches the transmitter of claim 1. QU teaches:
wherein, to map the processing system is configured to cause the transmitter to: comprises apply a transform function to the pair of bits (Fig. 1 and corresponding specification: The modem processor 201 may include a baseband processor (BBP), which processes the digitized received signal to extract the information or data bits conveyed in the signal), and wherein each point of the plurality of points is associated with a respective label corresponding to a possible value for the pair of bits after application of the transform function to the pair of bits (Fig. 6 and corresponding specification: the second device may remove the cyclic prefix of the received first signal, and then perform fast Fourier transformation (FFT) to obtain a frequency domain signal. That is, the modulation symbols carried by each subcarrier).
With regards to claim 4, QU in teaches the transmitter of claim 1.
QU fails to teach:
wherein the constellation consists of one point in each quadrant of a coordinate space that includes the first axis and second axis.
However, Murakami teaches:
wherein the constellation consists of one point in each quadrant of a coordinate space that includes the first axis and second axis. (0174, FIG. 24B and FIG. 24A is that the signal points in FIG. 24A have been rotated around the origin to yield the signal points of FIG. 24B. Non-Patent Literature 9 and Non-Patent Literature 10 describe such a rotated constellation method and 1009, When using the complex plane, complex numbers may be shown in polar form by polar coordinates. If a complex number z=a+jb (where a and b are real numbers and j is an imaginary unit) corresponds to a point (a, b) on the complex plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Murakami which teaches the real and imaginary components of the modulation symbol in order to map the constellation using each quadrant.
With regards to claim 5, QU in view of Murakami in teaches the transmitter of claim 1. QU teaches:
wherein the constellation is asymmetric with respect to a first axis (Fig. 1 and corresponding specification: at least one of the first encoding method and the second encoding method is a nonlinear encoding method.)
QU fails to teach:
with respect to a second axis
However, Murakami teaches:
with respect to a second axis (1009, When using the complex plane, complex numbers may be shown in polar form by polar coordinates. If a complex number z=a+jb (where a and b are real numbers and j is an imaginary unit) corresponds to a point (a, b) on the complex plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Murakami which teaches the real and imaginary components of the modulation symbol in order to map the constellation asymmetrically.
With regards to claim 6, QU in view of Murakami in teaches the transmitter of claim 1.
QU fails to teach:
wherein the constellation is symmetric with respect to the first
However, Murakami teaches:
wherein the constellation is symmetric with respect to the first (Fig. 21 & Fig. 24 & 1009, When using the complex plane, complex numbers may be shown in polar form by polar coordinates. If a complex number z=a+jb (where a and b are real numbers and j is an imaginary unit) corresponds to a point (a, b) on the complex plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Murakami which teaches the real and imaginary components of the modulation symbol in order to map the constellation asymmetrically.
With regards to claim 7, QU in view of Murakami in teaches the transmitter of claim 1.
QU fails to teach:
wherein the constellation has a trapezoidal shape.
However, Murakami teaches:
wherein the constellation has a trapezoidal shape (Fig. 25A & 0845, Five or more precoding matrices are necessary. As shown in FIGS. 61A and 61B, at least the precoding matrices that are multiplied with the five symbols arranged in the shape of a cross are necessary. In other words, the number N of different precoding matrices that satisfy Condition #53 must be five or greater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Murakami which precoding matrices to arrange the symbols in the desired shape in order to map and shape the constellation.
With regards to claim 8, QU in view of Murakami in teaches the transmitter of claim 1.
QU fails to teach:
wherein the constellation consists of four points in a coordinate space, the four points being defined according to a first parameter with a first value that represents a first distance from the first axis, a second parameter with a second value that represents a second distance from the second axis, and a third parameter with a third value that represents a third distance from the first axis of the coordinate space in accordance with the first value and the second value.
However, Murakami teaches:
wherein the constellation consists of four points in a coordinate space, the four points being defined according to a first parameter with a first value that represents a first distance from a first axis of the coordinate space (0174, FIGS. 24A and 24B are an example of a mapping method over an IQ plane, having an in-phase component I and a quadrature-phase component Q, to form a baseband signal in QPSK modulation), a second parameter with a second value that represents a second distance from a second axis of the coordinate space, and a third parameter with a third value that represents a third distance from the first axis of the coordinate space in accordance with the first value and the second value (0219, The squared Euclidian distance is sought between a received signal point 1101 (corresponding to the baseband signal 801X) and each candidate signal point. Each squared Euclidian distance is divided by the noise variance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Murakami which teaches the real and imaginary components of the modulation symbol in order to map the constellation using each quadrant.
With regards to claim 9, QU in view of Murakami teaches the transmitter of claim 8. QU teaches:
wherein one or both of the first value of the first parameter or the second value of the second parameter are related to one or both of a coding rate or a decoder associated with the receiver (Fig. 1 and corresponding specification: The decoder 3043 is used to decode the demodulated input signal. For example, the decoder 3043 deinterleaves and/or decodes the demodulated input signal, and outputs the decoded signal (data and/or signaling). The encoder 3041, the modulator 3042, the demodulator 3044, and the decoder 3043 can be implemented by a synthesized modem processor 304).
With regards to claim 13, QU in view of Murakami teaches the transmitter of claim 1. QU teaches:
wherein the channel code is one or more of a Reed-Muller code, a polar code, or another code associated with a Plotkin construction (Summary of the invention, the first encoding method is Delsarte-Goethals code, and the second encoding method is first-order Reed-Muller code).
With regards to claim 14, QU teaches and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 15, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 16, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 17, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 4 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 18, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 19, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 20, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 7 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 21, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 8 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 22, QU teaches the method of claim 21 and corresponds to claim 9 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 26, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 13 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 27, QU teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 28, QU teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 27 and corresponds to claim 13 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 29, QU teaches an apparatus and corresponds to claim 1 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 30, QU teaches the apparatus of claim 29 and corresponds to claim 13 as analyzed accordingly.
Claim(s) 10 – 12 & 23 - 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QU (WO 2020/151505 A1) in view of Murakami (US 2013/0114752 A1) in view of Robert (US 2023/0020591 A1).
With regards to claim 10, QU in view of Murakami teaches the transmitter of claim 8.
QU fails to teach:
wherein the first parameter has a zero value and the second parameter has a non-zero value.
However, Robert teaches:
wherein the first parameter has a zero value and the second parameter has a non-zero value (0117 & 0119, The initial state of automaton may be set to zero. the activation function 126 is a linear activation that permits in practice to have parity symbols with larger values without saturation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Robert which teaches the zero and non-zero parameters in order to map the constellation along the second axis.
With regards to claim 11, QU in view of Murakami teaches the transmitter of claim 8.
QU fails to teach:
wherein the first parameter has a zero value and the second parameter has the zero value.
However, Robert teaches:
wherein the first parameter has a zero value and the second parameter has the zero value (0157, For encoding and transmission, parity and systematic symbols are in examples further normalized to obtain zero mean and unit variance sequence to transmit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Robert which teaches the zero and non-zero parameters in order to map the constellation starting at the origin.
With regards to claim 12, QU in view of Murakami in teaches the transmitter of claim 1.
QU fails to teach:
wherein the signal is uniformly distributed over the plurality of points in the constellation such that the modulated symbol has a zero mean and a unit variance.
However, Robert teaches:
wherein the signal is uniformly distributed over the plurality of points in the constellation such that the modulated symbol has a zero mean and a unit variance (0157, For encoding and transmission, parity and systematic symbols are in examples further normalized to obtain zero mean and unit variance sequence to transmit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the transmitter of QU which teaches a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points with the teaching of Robert which teaches symmetrical distribution of modulation symbols in order to map the constellation symmetrically.
With regards to claim 23, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 10 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 24, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 11 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 25, QU teaches the method of claim 14 and corresponds to claim 12 as analyzed accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 - 30 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The Remarks argue that:
Claims 1-3, 9, 13-16, 22, and 26-30 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as allegedly being anticipated by PARAMANANDAM. Applicant respectfully submits that PARAMANANDAM does not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, PARAMANANDAM does not disclose:
wherein the constellation is asymmetric with respect to at least one of a
first axis or a second axis, the first axis representing an in-phase or real
component of the modulation symbol and the second axis representing a
quadrature or imaginary component of the modulation symbol
as recited in amended claim 1. The Office Action relies on figure 3 and paragraphs 52-67 of PARAMANANDAM for allegedly disclosing "a constellation that includes a plurality of points," as recited in previously presented claim 1. See Office Action, page 2. Paragraph 52 of PARAMANANDAM, for example, recites "FIG. 3 is an exemplary state diagram 300 depicting four power states of the drug delivery device 102." However, the cited portions of PARAMANANDAM do not disclose:
wherein the constellation is asymmetric with respect to at least one of a
first axis or a second axis, the first axis representing an in-phase or real
component of the modulation symbol and the second axis representing a
quadrature or imaginary component of the modulation symbol
as recited in amended claim 1.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is patentable over PARAMANANDAM.
Independent claims 14, 27, and 29, as amended, recite similar features. Therefore,
independent claims 1, 14, 27, and 29, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over PARAMANANDAM.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claims 1-3, 9, 13-16, 22, 26-30.
Claim 5 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious based on QU in view of MURAKAMI.
Applicant respectfully submits that QU and MURAKAMI do not disclose or suggest the features of claim 5. In the rejection of claim 5, the Office Action relies on Figure 1 and the corresponding description of QU for allegedly teaching "wherein the constellation is asymmetric with respect to a first axis," as recited in dependent claim 5. See Office Action, page 6. Paragraph 39 of QU, for example, recites "[s]ystems and methods that employ ASK and QAM modulation schemes with uneven constellations, that is, the distances between two neighboring signal points (referred to as neighboring distance hereafter) in the constellations are not equal, may be provided." However, the cited portions of QU do not disclose or suggest any constellations that are asymmetric about an axis.
The Office Action does not suggest that the cited portions of MURAKAMI cure the deficiencies of QU described above, and the cited portions of MURAKAMI do not cure the deficiencies of QU described above.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that claim 5 is patentable over QU and MURAKAMI.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 5.
Claims 4-8 and 10-12 depend from independent claim 1, and claims 17-21 and 23-25 depend from independent claim 14. Therefore, claims 4-8, 10-12, 17-21, and 23-25 are patentable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to claims 1 and 14, and for their additional distinguishing features recited therein.
The Examiner agrees that PARAMANANDAM does not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1 and is patentable over PARAMANANDAM.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees that QU and MURAKAMI do disclose or suggest the features of claim 5. With the amended claim 1, QU in view of MURAKAMI teaches the claim as shown above where QU teaches the device with a processing system to map bits to modulation symbols to form a constellation of points. MURAKAMI teaches the real and imaginary components of the modulation symbol in order to map the constellation asymmetrically according to Figs. 24A &24B. Using these two sources in combination, one skilled in the art could conclude the claimed functionality.
For at least the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 1, 14, & 27 are considered but also rejected.
Claims 2 – 13 which depend from claim 1, have been considered and rejected.
Claims 15 - 26 which depend from claim 14, have been considered and rejected.
Claims 28 – 30 which depend from claim 27, have been considered and rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/MARK D FEATHERSTONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2111