DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Applicants submitted claim amendments on 9/4/2026 in response to the office action mailed on 7/14/2026. The status of the claims are as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. The 112 rejection of claim 4 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (WO 2021/069514 A1) to Mondol et al. (hereinafter Mondol).
The above noted rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2021/069514 A1) to Mondol et al. (hereinafter Mondol).
The above noted rejection is hereby withdrawn.
NEW Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2021/069514 A1) to Mondol et al. (hereinafter Mondol) in view of the teachings of (US 2020/0048439 A1) to Ganesan et al. (hereinafter Ganesan).
Mondol is directed to a cross-linkable rubber composition for tires. Mondol discloses at page 2 the cross linkable rubber formulation. Mondol discloses at page 5 the addition of terepene phenolic resins. Mondol discloses at page 6 the rebound is 50% to 70%, which reads on Applicants range of 65% to 75%. Mondol discloses at page 6 the tan delta at 70 °C of > 0.05 to < 0.15, which reads on 0.06 to 0.09.
Mondol discloses above that SSBR is greater than 50 phr, which reads on Applicants range of 80 to 90 phr. Mondol discloses at page 5 that a filler of carbon black or silica may be added at 60 to 130 phr, which reads on Applicants 55 to 75 phr.
Mondol discloses at page 4 that
This reads on Applicants ratio first and second coupling agents with a total range of 1 to 15 phr, which reads on 5 to 10 phr.
Ganesan is directed to a cross-linkable rubber composition for tires. Mondol and Ganesan are both directed to a cross-linkable rubber composition for tires and therefore are analogous art. Ganesan teaches at paragraph [0006] that the tires are optimized for both winter and wet performance. Ganesan teaches at paragraph [0008] that this is optimized by having 1 to 99 phr of crosslinkable rubber. Ganesan teaches at paragraph [0016] that the composition is 1 phr to 99 phr of an SSBR made by the solution process. One skilled in the art would be motivated to increase the amount of SSBR content to include the range of 80 phr to 90 phr to optimize winter and wet performance.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Mondol in view of Ganesen to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-13.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The obviousness rejection presented may use either reference as the primary and the range of 50 phr would not prevent one skilled in the art to increase to Applicants range of 80 to 90 phr as the Gansen reference teaches that this provides a desirable mix of properties.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766