DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/27/2024 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The term preferably regarding ranges makes the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (WO 2021/069514 A1) to Mondol et al. (hereinafter Mondol).
Mondol is directed to a cross-linkable rubber composition. Mondol discloses at page 2 the cross linkable rubber formulation. Mondol discloses at page 5 the addition of terepene phenolic resins. Mondol discloses at page 6 the rebound is 50% to 70%, which reads on Applicants range of 65% to 75%. Mondol discloses at page 6 the tan delta at 70 °C of > 0.05 to < 0.15, which reads on 0.06 to 0.09.
Mondol discloses above that SSBR is greater than 50 phr, which reads on Applicants range of 80 to 90 phr. Mondol discloses at page 5 that a filler of carbon black or silica may be added at 60 to 130 phr, which reads on Applicants 55 to 75 phr.
Mondol discloses at page 4 that
This reads on Applicants ratio first and second coupling agents with a total range of 1 to 15 phr, which reads on 5 to 10 phr. Mondol discloses each and every element of claims 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2021/069514 A1) to Mondol et al. (hereinafter Mondol).
Mondol is directed to a cross-linkable rubber composition. Mondol discloses at page 2 the cross linkable rubber formulation. Mondol discloses at page 5 the addition of terepene phenolic resins. Mondol discloses at page 6 the rebound is 50% to 70%, which reads on Applicants range of 65% to 75%. Mondol discloses at page 6 the tan delta at 70 °C of > 0.05 to < 0.15, which reads on 0.06 to 0.09.
Mondol discloses above that SSBR is greater than 50 phr, which reads on Applicants range of 80 to 90 phr. Mondol discloses at page 5 that a filler of carbon black or silica may be added at 60 to 130 phr, which reads on Applicants 55 to 75 phr.
Mondol discloses at page 4 that
This reads on Applicants ratio first and second coupling agents with a total range of 1 to 15 phr, which reads on 5 to 10 phr.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Mondol to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-13.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766