DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code paragraph (see [0003] of the specification). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it has phrase “… in the present disclosure performs”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogan et al (arXiv:2107.04658v1 9 July 2021), hereinafter Dogan in view of Yang et al (2022 CVPR).
-Regarding claim 1, Dogan discloses a moving object control system comprising (Page 1, Sec. 1., 1st paragraph, “a robot … helping a user to pick up a described object”; FIG. 1; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “system … deployed to a robot”): a memory; and one or more processors, wherein when instructions stored in the memory is executed by the one or more processors (one or more processors and memories has to be used in order to implement the method shown in Dogan’s FIG. 2 and Algorithm 1), the instructions cause the one or more processors to (Abstract; FIGS. 1-6; Algorithm 1
): acquire an image (FIG. 2, RGB-D scene); acquire a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship (FIG. 2, referring expression, “Can you bring the bowl next to the glass”); and predict a region in the image corresponding to a position in a scene indicated by the user instruction (FIG. 2, most probable target object regions; FIGS. 5-6) based on a fused feature obtained by fusing an image feature indicating a feature of the scene captured in the image, a depth of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2, RGB, Depth, combined activations) by using one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1; Page 1, 2nd Col., 2nd paragraph).
Dogan does not disclose fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction. However, Dogan does disclose a referring expression generation model taking the depth dimension as an input in addition to RGB features (Page 2, 1st Col., 1st paragraph; FIG. 2).
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a method for referring image segmentation (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5; Tables 1-4). Yang further teaches fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIGS. 1-3; p. 18134, 2nd Col, last paragraph; p. 18135, 1st Col., 3rd paragraph, last paragraph; p. 18136, 1st Col., last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dogan with the teaching of Yang by further fusing a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction in order to leverage the referring expression for highlighting relevant positions in the image and provide accurate segmentation with a light-weight mask predictor (Yang: Abstract).
-Regarding claim 2, Dogan in view of Yang teaches the moving object control system of claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein predicting a region in the image corresponding to a position in the scene indicated by the user instruction based on a fused feature obtained by fusing the image feature, the depth, and the language feature for each of predetermined unit regions of the image by using the one or more machine learning models (Dogan: FIG. 2; Page 3, 1st Col., 4th paragraph, “each pixels”; Algorithm 1, number of unconnected areas, each pixel; See also Yang: p. 18136, Sec. 3.1, pixel-wise).
-Regarding claim 3, Dogan in view of Yang teaches the moving object control system of claim 1.
Dogan discloses using the one or more machine learning models, extract, from the image, an image feature indicating a feature of a scene captured in the image; predict, from the image, a depth of the scene captured in the image; and predict a region in the image corresponding to a position in the scene indicated by the user instruction based on a fused feature obtained by fusing the image feature and the depth feature (Dogan: FIG. 2).
Dogan does not disclose fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction and extracting a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction. However, Dogan does disclose a referring expression generation model taking the depth dimension as an input in addition to RGB features (Page 2, 1st Col., 1st paragraph; FIG. 2).
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a method for referring image segmentation (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5; Tables 1-4). Yang further teaches fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIGS. 1-3; p. 18134, 2nd Col, last paragraph; p. 18135, 1st Col., 3rd paragraph, last paragraph; p. 18136, 1st Col., last paragraph) and extracting a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIG. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dogan with the teaching of Yang by further fusing a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction in order to leverage the referring expression for highlighting relevant positions in the image and provide accurate segmentation with a light-weight mask predictor (Yang: Abstract).
-Regarding claim 6, Dogan discloses a moving object control system comprising one or more processors (one or more processors and memories has to be used in order to implement the method shown in Dogan’s FIG. 2 and Algorithm 1) configured to execute processing of one or more machine learning models (Page 1, Sec. 1., 1st paragraph, “a robot … helping a user to pick up a described object”; FIG. 1; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “system … deployed to a robot”; Abstract; FIGS. 1-6; Algorithm 1), wherein the one or more machine learning models include a first machine learning model that extracts, from an acquired image, an image feature indicating a feature of a scene captured in the image (FIG. 2; Grad-CAM; FIG. 3; Page 3, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “NeuralTalk2 … RGB activations”), a second machine learning model that predicts, from the image, a depth of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2; Grad-CAM; FIG. 3; Page 3, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “depth dimension of the scenes”), and a fourth machine learning model that predicts a region in the image corresponding to a position in the scene indicated by the user instruction (FIG. 2, K-means clustering, Most probable target object regions; Algorithm 1) based on a fused feature obtained by fusing the image feature and the depth, (FIG. 2, RGB, Depth, combined activations).
Dogan does not disclose fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction. Dogan does not disclose a third machine learning model that extracts a language feature indicating a linguistic feature for a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship, However, Dogan does disclose a referring expression generation model taking the depth dimension as an input in addition to RGB features (Page 2, 1st Col., 1st paragraph; FIG. 2).
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a method for referring image segmentation (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5; Tables 1-4). Yang further teaches fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIGS. 1-3; p. 18134, 2nd Col, last paragraph; p. 18135, 1st Col., 3rd paragraph, last paragraph; p. 18136, 1st Col., last paragraph). Yang further teaches a third machine learning model that extracts a language feature indicating a linguistic feature for a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship (Yang: FIG. 2, BERT; FIGS. 1, 3). Yang also teaches a first machine learning model that extracts, from an acquired image, an image feature indicating a feature of a scene captured in the image (Yang: FIGS. 1-3), a fourth machine learning model that predicts a region in the image corresponding to a position in the scene indicated by the user instruction based on a fused feature obtained by fusing the image feature, and the language feature (FIGS. 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dogan with the teaching of Yang by further fusing a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction in order to leverage the referring expression for highlighting relevant positions in the image and provide accurate segmentation with a light-weight mask predictor (Yang: Abstract).
-Regarding claim 11, Dogan discloses a method executed in a moving object control system, the method comprising (Page 1, Sec. 1., 1st paragraph, “a robot … helping a user to pick up a described object”; FIG. 1; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “system … deployed to a robot”; Abstract; FIGS. 1-6; Algorithm 1): acquiring an image (FIG. 2, RGB-D scene); acquiring a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship (FIG. 2, referring expression, “Can you bring the bowl next to the glass”); and predicting a region in the image corresponding to a position in a scene indicated by the user instruction (FIG. 2, most probable target object regions; FIGS. 5-6) based on a fused feature obtained by fusing an image feature indicating a feature of the scene captured in the image, a depth of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2, RGB, Depth, combined activations) by using one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1; Page 1, 2nd Col., 2nd paragraph).
Dogan does not disclose fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction. However, Dogan does disclose a referring expression generation model taking the depth dimension as an input in addition to RGB features (Page 2, 1st Col., 1st paragraph; FIG. 2).
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a method for referring image segmentation (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5; Tables 1-4). Yang further teaches fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIGS. 1-3; p. 18134, 2nd Col, last paragraph; p. 18135, 1st Col., 3rd paragraph, last paragraph; p. 18136, 1st Col., last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dogan with the teaching of Yang by further fusing a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction in order to leverage the referring expression for highlighting relevant positions in the image and provide accurate segmentation with a light-weight mask predictor (Yang: Abstract).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogan et al (arXiv:2107.04658v1 9 July 2021), hereinafter Dogan in view of Yang et al (2022 CVPR), and further in view of Nicoleta et al (WO 2025056893 A1), hereinafter Nicoleta.
-Regarding claim 4, Dogan in view of Yang teaches the moving object control system of claim 2.
Dogan in view of Yang teaches combining image feature and depth feature for each of the predetermined unit regions (Dogan: FIG. 2; Page 1, 2nd Col., 2nd paragraph; Page 3, 1st Col., 4th paragraph, “each pixels”; Algorithm 1, number of unconnected areas, each pixel).
Dogan in view of Yang does not teach that the features are combined through concatenating the two features.
However, Nicoleta is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for scene segmentation. Nicoleta further teaches concatenating the image feature and depth feature (Nicoleta: FIG. 3; [0082])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Dogan in view of Yang with the teaching of Nicoleta by concatenating the image feature and depth feature in order to generate fused features for image segmentation.
-Regarding claim 5, Dogan in view of Yang, and further in view of Nicoleta teaches the moving object control system of claim 4. The modification further teaches wherein the one or more machine learning models further include a pixel-wise attention mechanism (PWAM) that fuses the language feature with the concatenated feature for each of the predetermined unit regions (Yang; FIG. 2; p. 18136, Sec. 3.1, pixel-wise).
Claim(s) 7-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dogan et al (arXiv:2107.04658v1 9 July 2021), hereinafter Dogan in view of Yang et al (2022 CVPR), and further in view of Piergiovanni et al (US 20240029413 A1), hereinafter Piergiovanni.
-Regarding claim 7, Dogan discloses an information processing apparatus configured to cause one or more machine learning models to be trained (Page 3, 1st Col., 1st paragraph, “during training”, 2nd paragraph, “was trained”; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “pre-trained”), the information processing apparatus comprising (Page 1, Sec. 1., 1st paragraph, “a robot … helping a user to pick up a described object”; FIG. 1; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “system … deployed to a robot”): a memory; and one or more processors, wherein when instructions stored in the memory is executed by the one or more processors (one or more processors and memories has to be used in order to implement the method shown in Dogan’s FIG. 2 and Algorithm 1), the instructions cause the one or more processors to (Abstract; FIGS. 1-6; Algorithm 1): acquire an image (FIG. 2, RGB-D scene); acquire a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship (FIG. 2, referring expression, “Can you bring the bowl next to the glass”); predicting a region, indicated by the user instruction, in the image corresponding to a position in a scene captured in the image based on the image and the user instruction by using the one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2); and the one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1) predict the region in the image corresponding to the position in the scene indicated by the user instruction (FIG. 2, most probable target object regions; FIGS. 5-6) based on a fused feature obtained by fusing an image feature indicating a feature of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2, RGB, Depth, combined activations), and a depth of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1; Page 1, 2nd Col., 2nd paragraph).
Dogan does not disclose fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a method for referring image segmentation (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5; Tables 1-4). Yang further teaches fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIGS. 1-3; p. 18134, 2nd Col, last paragraph; p. 18135, 1st Col., 3rd paragraph, last paragraph; p. 18136, 1st Col., last paragraph). Yang also teaches supervised training for the machine leaning models (Yang: p. 18138, 1st Col., last paragraph, “pre-trained on ImageNet-22K”; 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “We train our model for 40 epochs with batch size 32”, 2nd Col., Sec. 4., 1st paragraph, “we train our model on the training set of that dataset”) and correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction (Yang: FIG. 6, ground truth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dogan with the teaching of Yang by further fusing a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction in order to leverage the referring expression for highlighting relevant positions in the image and provide accurate segmentation with a light-weight mask predictor (Yang: Abstract).
Dogan in view of Yang does not teach causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data. However, a person of ordinary skills in the arts would understand that ground truth data (i.e., correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction) and a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data has to be provided if supervised trainings are conducted for these machine learning models. Yang teaches supervised training for the machine leaning models (Yang: p. 18138, 1st Col., last paragraph, “pre-trained on ImageNet-22K”; 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “We train our model for 40 epochs with batch size 32”, 2nd Col., Sec. 4., 1st paragraph, “we train our model on the training set of that dataset”).
Piergiovanni is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches A method involves the training of a model by dynamically adjusting the number of examples within each training batch for cross-modal vision-language tasks (Piergiovanni: Abstract; FIGS. 1-10). Piergiovanni further teaches correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 510-520; [0002]; [0025], “trained … using supervised”) and causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted results and the ground truth data (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 530-540; [0002], “generate a loss … respect to the training … determining a difference between the untrained model output and a known ‘ground truth’ model output …”; [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Dogan in view of Yang with the teaching of Piergiovanni by providing ground truth data (i.e., correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction) and loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and ground truth region in the image in order to perform supervised training for the machine learning models.
-Regarding claim 8, Dogan in view of Yang, and further in view of Piergiovanni teaches the information processing apparatus of claim 7. The modification further teaches wherein the loss function includes a function that calculates a binary cross-entropy loss (Piergiovanni: [0080]; FIG. 6)
-Regarding claim 9, Dogan in view of Yang, and further in view of Piergiovanni teaches the information processing apparatus of claim 7. The modification further teaches wherein the causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained with the correct answer data in a lower half region of the region of the image (Dogan: FIGS. 1-2. Yang: FIG. 6). Please note that Yang has no restriction on ground truth regions.
Dogan in view of Yang does not teach causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data. However, a person of ordinary skills in the arts would understand that ground truth data (i.e., correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction) and a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data has to be provided if supervised trainings are conducted for these machine learning models. Yang teaches supervised training for the machine leaning models (Yang: p. 18138, 1st Col., last paragraph, “pre-trained on ImageNet-22K”; 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “We train our model for 40 epochs with batch size 32”, 2nd Col., Sec. 4., 1st paragraph, “we train our model on the training set of that dataset”).
Piergiovanni is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches A method involves the training of a model by dynamically adjusting the number of examples within each training batch for cross-modal vision-language tasks (Piergiovanni: Abstract; FIGS. 1-10). Piergiovanni further teaches correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 510-520; [0002]; [0025], “trained … using supervised”) and causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted results and the ground truth data (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 530-540; [0002], “generate a loss … respect to the training … determining a difference between the untrained model output and a known ‘ground truth’ model output …”; [0057]).
-Regarding claim 10, Dogan discloses an information processing apparatus configured to cause one or more machine learning models to be trained (Page 3, 1st Col., 1st paragraph, “during training”, 2nd paragraph, “was trained”; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “pre-trained”), the information processing apparatus comprising (Page 1, Sec. 1., 1st paragraph, “a robot … helping a user to pick up a described object”; FIG. 1; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “system … deployed to a robot”): a memory; and one or more processors, wherein when instructions stored in the memory is executed by the one or more processors (one or more processors and memories has to be used in order to implement the method shown in Dogan’s FIG. 2 and Algorithm 1), the instructions cause the one or more processors to (Abstract; FIGS. 1-6; Algorithm 1): acquire an image (FIG. 2, RGB-D scene); acquire a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship (FIG. 2, referring expression, “Can you bring the bowl next to the glass”); predicting a region, indicated by the user instruction, in the image corresponding to a position in a scene captured in the image based on the image and the user instruction by using the one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2); and the one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1) predict the region in the image corresponding to the position in the scene indicated by the user instruction (FIG. 2, most probable target object regions; FIGS. 5-6) based on a fused feature obtained by fusing an image feature indicating a feature of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2, RGB, Depth, combined activations), and a depth of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1; Page 1, 2nd Col., 2nd paragraph); wherein the one or more machine learning models include a first machine learning model that extracts, from an acquired image, an image feature indicating a feature of a scene captured in the image (FIG. 2; Grad-CAM; FIG. 3; Page 3, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “NeuralTalk2 … RGB activations”), a second machine learning model that predicts, from the image, a depth of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2; Grad-CAM; FIG. 3; Page 3, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “depth dimension of the scenes”), and a fourth machine learning model that predicts a region in the image corresponding to a position in the scene indicated by the user instruction (FIG. 2, K-means clustering, Most probable target object regions; Algorithm 1) based on a fused feature obtained by fusing the image feature and the depth, (FIG. 2, RGB, Depth, combined activations).
Dogan does not disclose fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction. Dogan does not disclose a third machine learning model that extracts a language feature indicating a linguistic feature for a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship, However, Dogan does disclose a referring expression generation model taking the depth dimension as an input in addition to RGB features (Page 2, 1st Col., 1st paragraph; FIG. 2).
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a method for referring image segmentation (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5; Tables 1-4). Yang further teaches fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIGS. 1-3; p. 18134, 2nd Col, last paragraph; p. 18135, 1st Col., 3rd paragraph, last paragraph; p. 18136, 1st Col., last paragraph). Yang further teaches a third machine learning model that extracts a language feature indicating a linguistic feature for a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship (Yang: FIG. 2, BERT; FIGS. 1, 3). Yang also teaches a first machine learning model that extracts, from an acquired image, an image feature indicating a feature of a scene captured in the image (Yang: FIGS. 1-3), a fourth machine learning model that predicts a region in the image corresponding to a position in the scene indicated by the user instruction based on a fused feature obtained by fusing the image feature, and the language feature (FIGS. 1-3). Yang also teaches supervised training for the machine leaning models (Yang: p. 18138, 1st Col., last paragraph, “pre-trained on ImageNet-22K”; 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “We train our model for 40 epochs with batch size 32”, 2nd Col., Sec. 4., 1st paragraph, “we train our model on the training set of that dataset”) and correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction (Yang: FIG. 6, ground truth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dogan with the teaching of Yang by further fusing a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction in order to leverage the referring expression for highlighting relevant positions in the image and provide accurate segmentation with a light-weight mask predictor (Yang: Abstract).
Dogan in view of Yang does not teach causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data. However, a person of ordinary skills in the arts would understand that ground truth data (i.e., correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction) and a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data has to be provided if supervised trainings are conducted for these machine learning models. Yang teaches supervised training for the machine leaning models (Yang: p. 18138, 1st Col., last paragraph, “pre-trained on ImageNet-22K”; 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “We train our model for 40 epochs with batch size 32”, 2nd Col., Sec. 4., 1st paragraph, “we train our model on the training set of that dataset”).
Piergiovanni is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches A method involves the training of a model by dynamically adjusting the number of examples within each training batch for cross-modal vision-language tasks (Piergiovanni: Abstract; FIGS. 1-10). Piergiovanni further teaches correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 510-520; [0002]; [0025], “trained … using supervised”) and causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted results and the ground truth data (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 530-540; [0002], “generate a loss … respect to the training … determining a difference between the untrained model output and a known ‘ground truth’ model output …”; [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Dogan in view of Yang with the teaching of Piergiovanni by providing ground truth data (i.e., correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction) and loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and ground truth region in the image in order to perform supervised training for the machine learning models.
-Regarding claim 12, Dogan discloses a method for generating one or more machine learning models, the method being executed in an information processing apparatus, the method comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-6; Algorithm 1; Page 1, Sec. 1., 1st paragraph, “a robot … helping a user to pick up a described object”; FIG. 1; Page 7, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “system … deployed to a robot”): acquiring an image (FIG. 2, RGB-D scene), a user instruction in a natural language including a relative positional relationship (FIG. 2, referring expression, “Can you bring the bowl next to the glass”); predicting a region, indicated by the user instruction, in the image corresponding to a position in a scene captured in the image based on the image and the user instruction by using the one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2); and the one or more machine learning models (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1) predict the region in the image corresponding to the position in the scene indicated by the user instruction (FIG. 2, most probable target object regions; FIGS. 5-6) based on a fused feature obtained by fusing an image feature indicating a feature of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2, RGB, Depth, combined activations), and a depth of the scene captured in the image (FIG. 2. Grad-CAM; Algorithm 1; Page 1, 2nd Col., 2nd paragraph).
Dogan does not disclose fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches a method for referring image segmentation (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5; Tables 1-4). Yang further teaches fusion of the image feature and a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction (Yang: FIGS. 1-3; p. 18134, 2nd Col, last paragraph; p. 18135, 1st Col., 3rd paragraph, last paragraph; p. 18136, 1st Col., last paragraph). Yang also teaches supervised training for the machine leaning models (Yang: p. 18138, 1st Col., last paragraph, “pre-trained on ImageNet-22K”; 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “We train our model for 40 epochs with batch size 32”, 2nd Col., Sec. 4., 1st paragraph, “we train our model on the training set of that dataset”) and correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction (Yang: FIG. 6, ground truth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dogan with the teaching of Yang by further fusing a language feature indicating a linguistic feature related to the user instruction in order to leverage the referring expression for highlighting relevant positions in the image and provide accurate segmentation with a light-weight mask predictor (Yang: Abstract).
Dogan in view of Yang does not teach causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data. However, a person of ordinary skills in the arts would understand that ground truth data (i.e., correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction) and a loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and the region in the image indicated by the correct answer data has to be provided if supervised trainings are conducted for these machine learning models. Yang teaches supervised training for the machine leaning models (Yang: p. 18138, 1st Col., last paragraph, “pre-trained on ImageNet-22K”; 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “We train our model for 40 epochs with batch size 32”, 2nd Col., Sec. 4., 1st paragraph, “we train our model on the training set of that dataset”).
Piergiovanni is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches A method involves the training of a model by dynamically adjusting the number of examples within each training batch for cross-modal vision-language tasks (Piergiovanni: Abstract; FIGS. 1-10). Piergiovanni further teaches correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 510-520; [0002]; [0025], “trained … using supervised”) and causing the one or more machine learning models to be trained by using a loss function based on a difference between the predicted results and the ground truth data (Piergiovanni: FIG. 5, steps 530-540; [0002], “generate a loss … respect to the training … determining a difference between the untrained model output and a known ‘ground truth’ model output …”; [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Dogan in view of Yang with the teaching of Piergiovanni by providing ground truth data (i.e., correct answer data indicating a region in the image indicated by the user instruction) and loss function based on a difference between the predicted region in the image and ground truth region in the image in order to perform supervised training for the machine learning models.
Conclusion
/XIAO LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664