DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US20110115327, “Pan”) in view of Aoyama et al. (US20220252627, “Aoyama”).
Re claim 1, Pan discloses an apparatus including:
a base plate (figs 1, 5 & below, [0035] & [0049, note: both figs 1 & 5 employed for rejection; fig 5 same as fig 1 except 2nd set of cores/coils on other side of rotor);
a plurality of ferrite cores 114 arranged on the base plate in a geometric pattern (figs 1-5, [0039], [0041-0042] & [0044], says 114 can be same number as magnets 103 so 114 are in circular pattern), each ferrite core 114 in the plurality of ferrite cores having a longitudinal axis 150 that is normal to the base plate (figs 1 & 3-5, [0046]);
at least one coil 112 wound around each ferrite core 114 in the plurality of ferrite cores (figs 1 & 3-5, [0039]); and
an array of magnets 103 arranged to pass over exposed end faces of each ferrite core 114 in the plurality of ferrite cores (figs 1-5 & below, [0031] & [0039]).
Pan discloses claim 1 except for heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective ferrite cores in the plurality of ferrite cores increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance.
Aoyama discloses heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective cores 22 in the plurality of cores 22 increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance (figs 1-2, 4 & below, [0060-0061]); and
substituting flat core surfaces 25 facing magnets with curved core surfaces 25a facing magnets (fig 4, [0060-0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (flat ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Pan) for another known equivalent element (curved ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Aoyama; equivalence taught by Aoyama) resulting in the predictable result of forming the ferrite core surface to interact with the magnets.
Re claim 2, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Pan further discloses the base plate is comprised of a ferrous material ([0037]).
Re claim 4, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Pan further discloses each ferrite core 114 comprises multiple overlapping coils (figs 1, 3 & 5, 112 made of plural layers of coil turns).
Re claim 5, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Pan further discloses each ferrite core 114 includes a protrusion 117a at one end that couples to a corresponding opening in the base plate (figs 1, 3-5 & above for claim 1, [0043]).
Re claim 7, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Pan and further discloses the base plate is circular ([0035], shape of disk).
Re claim 8, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Pan further discloses magnets 103 in the array of magnets are spaced to correspond to a spacing of the plurality of ferrite cores 114 (fig 2, [0039]).
Re claim 9, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Pan further discloses an electric power regulation and isolation circuit electrically connected to the at least one coil wound around each ferrite core in the plurality of ferrite cores (fig 8, [0060-0063], says can output three phase AC where each phase is inherently isolated from other phases).
Re claim 10, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Pan further discloses the array of magnets is caused to move over the exposed end faces using at least one of a moving vehicle, wave energy, or liquid flow ([0002], automobiles).
Re claim 11, Pan discloses an apparatus comprising:
a ferrous base plate (figs 1, 5 & above for claim 1, [0035], [0037] & [0049], note: both figs 1 & 5 employed for rejection; fig 5 same as fig 1 except 2nd set of cores/coils on other side of rotor);
ferrite cores 114 arranged on the ferrous base plate (figs 1-5, [0039], [0041-0042] & [0044]), the ferrite cores 114 having a longitudinal axis 150 that is normal to the ferrous base plate (figs 1 & 3-5, [0046]);
the ferrite cores having respective exposed end faces (figs 1, 3-5 & above for claim 1);
at least one coil 112 respectively wound around the ferrite cores 114 (figs 1 & 3-5, [0039]); and
an array of magnets 103 arranged to pass over the respective exposed end faces (figs 1-5, [0031] & [0039]).
Pan discloses claim 11 except for heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective ferrite cores among the ferrite cores increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance.
Aoyama discloses heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective cores among cores 22 increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance (figs 1-2, 4 & above for claim 1, [0060-0061]); and
substituting flat core surfaces 25 facing magnets with curved core surfaces 25a facing magnets (fig 4, [0060-0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (flat ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Pan) for another known equivalent element (curved ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Aoyama; equivalence taught by Aoyama) resulting in the predictable result of forming the ferrite core surface to interact with the magnets.
Re claim 14, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 11 as discussed above. Pan further discloses the ferrite cores 114 include a protrusion 117a at one end that couples to a corresponding opening in the ferrous base plate (figs 1, 3-5 & above for claim 1, [0043]).
Re claim 16, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 11 as discussed above. Pan further discloses the ferrous base plate is circular ([0035], shape of disk).
Re claim 17, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 11 as discussed above. Pan further discloses magnets in the array of magnets 103 are spaced to correspond to a spacing of the ferrite cores114 (fig 2, [0039]).
Re claim 18, Pan discloses method, comprising:
moving a magnet 103 across exposed end surfaces of ferrite cores 114 arranged in an array (figs 1-5 & above for claim 1, [0031], [0039], [0041-0042] & [0044]), wherein each ferrite core 114 among the ferrite cores has a coil 112 wrapped therearound (figs 1 & 3-5, [0039]);
generating a changing magnetic flux gradient in the ferrite cores 114 responsive to magnet 103 moving across the exposed end surfaces of the ferrite cores ([0046]);
capturing electrical power induced in each coil 112 by the changing magnetic flux gradient ([0047]); and
distributing the electrical power to a load (fig 8, [0062] & [0065]).
Pan discloses claim 18 except for heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective ferrite cores among the ferrite cores increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance.
Aoyama discloses heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective cores 22 among the cores 22 increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance (figs 1-2, 4 & above for claim 1, [0060-0061]); and
substituting flat core surfaces 25 facing magnets with curved core surfaces 25a facing magnets (fig 4, [0060-0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (flat ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Pan) for another known equivalent element (curved ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Aoyama; equivalence taught by Aoyama) resulting in the predictable result of forming the ferrite core surface to interact with the magnets.
Re claim 19, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 18 as discussed above. Pan further discloses the magnet 103 is part of an array of magnets (fig 2, circular array of magnets).
Re claim 20, Pan in view of Aoyama discloses claim 18 as discussed above. Pan further discloses moving the magnet 103 using at least one of a moving vehicle, wave energy, or liquid flow ([0002], automobiles).
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US20210359559, “Hayashi”) in view of Aoyama.
Re claim 1, Hayashi discloses an apparatus including:
a base plate 113 (figs 1-2, [0062]);
a plurality of ferrite cores 112 arranged on the base plate 113 in a geometric pattern (figs 1-2 & 6, [0062-0063]), each ferrite core 112 in the plurality of ferrite cores having a longitudinal axis that is normal to the base plate 113 (figs 1-2 & 6);
at least one coil 111 wound around each ferrite core 112 in the plurality of ferrite cores (figs 2 & 6, [0062-0063]); and
an array of magnets 123 arranged to pass over exposed end faces of each ferrite core 112 in the plurality of ferrite cores (figs 1 & 3-6, [0061], [0065] & [0072]).
Hayashi discloses claim 1 except for heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective ferrite cores in the plurality of ferrite cores increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance.
Aoyama discloses heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective cores 22 in the plurality of cores 22 increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance (figs 1-2, 4 & above for claim 1, [0060-0061]); and
substituting flat core surfaces 25 facing magnets with curved core surfaces 25a facing magnets (fig 4, [0060-0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (flat ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Hayashi) for another known equivalent element (curved ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Aoyama; equivalence taught by Aoyama) resulting in the predictable result of forming the ferrite core surface to interact with the magnets.
Re claim 3, Hayashi in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Hayashi further discloses the geometric pattern comprises rows and columns (fig 2).
Re claim 6, Hayashi in view of Aoyama discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Hayashi further discloses the base plate 120 is square (fig 2).
Re claim 11, Hayashi discloses an apparatus comprising:
a ferrous base plate 113 (figs 1-2, [0062]);
ferrite cores 112 arranged on the ferrous base plate 113 (figs 1-2 & 6, [0062-0063]), the ferrite cores 112 having a longitudinal axis that is normal to the ferrous base plate 113 (figs 1-2 & 6);
the ferrite cores 112 having respective exposed end faces (fig 2);
at least one coil 111 respectively wound around the ferrite cores 112 (figs 2 & 6, [0062-0063]); and
an array of magnets 123 arranged to pass over the respective exposed end faces (figs 1 & 3-6, [0061], [0065] & [0072]).
Hayashi discloses claim 11 except for heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective ferrite cores among the ferrite cores increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance.
Aoyama discloses heights, along the longitudinal axis, of respective cores among cores 22 increase to a predetermined full height over a predetermined distance (figs 1-2, 4 & above for claim 1, [0060-0061]); and
substituting flat core surfaces 25 facing magnets with curved core surfaces 25a facing magnets (fig 4, [0060-0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (flat ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Hayashi) for another known equivalent element (curved ferrite core surface facing magnets as disclosed by Aoyama; equivalence taught by Aoyama) resulting in the predictable result of forming the ferrite core surface to interact with the magnets.
Re claim 12, Hayashi discloses claim 11 as discussed above and further discloses the ferrite cores 112 are arranged in rows and columns (fig 2).
Re claim 13, Hayashi in view of Aoyama discloses claim 12 as discussed above. Hayashi further discloses the ferrite cores 112 comprises multiple overlapping coils (figs 2 & 6, 111 made of plural layers of coil turns).
Re claim 15, Hayashi in view of Aoyama discloses claim 11 as discussed above. Hayashi further discloses the ferrous base plate 113 is square (fig 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834