DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the soldering board of claim 8, the threaded hole of claim 10, and the first and second soft cables of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6 and 12 are objected to because “the other” on lines 2, 3 and 3, respectively, lack antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In regard to claim 6, it is unclear how a ring can have an end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. [Tanaka hereinafter, US 7,141,748].
In regard to claim 1, Tanaka discloses [in Figs. 1-3] an adjustment assembly, comprising: an encoder [9] comprising a fixed seat [9a] and a rotation sleeve [9b] sleeved on the fixed seat [9a]; a fixed connection board [7] connected to the fixed seat [9a] and provided with a cable threading hole [hole through 7]; a display screen [6] connected to a side of the fixed connection board [7] away from the fixed seat [9a]; a display circuit board [6a] connected to a side of the display screen [6] facing the fixed connection board [7]; and a knob assembly [2, 3, 8], wherein an installation chamber is formed in the knob assembly, and the display screen [6], the fixed connection board [7] and the encoder [9] are provided in the installation chamber.
In regard to claims 3 and 4, Tanaka discloses [in Figs. 1-3] the adjustment assembly according to claim 1, wherein the knob assembly comprises a knob ring [3]; the knob ring [3] is formed with the installation cavity, and the knob ring [3] is sleeved on a periphery surface of the display screen [6] and drivingly connected to the rotation sleeve [9b], wherein the knob assembly further comprises a transmission member [8]; the transmission member [8] is provided on the rotation sleeve [9b], and the knob ring [3] is provided on the transmission member [8]; the knob ring [3] is drivingly connected to the rotation sleeve [9b] via the transmission member [8], and the transmission member [8] and the knob ring [3] are enclosed to form the installation cavity.
In regard to claim 12, Tanaka discloses [in Figs. 1-3] the adjustment assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a connection support [7c], wherein one of the connection support [7c] and the fixed seat [9a] is provided with a second restriction protrusion [7c], and an other of the connection support [7c] and the fixed seat [9a] is provided with a second restriction groove [9d]; the connection support [7c] is restricted and installed to the fixed seat [9a] by a cooperation of the second restriction protrusion [7c] and the second restriction groove [9d].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. [Tanaka hereinafter, US 7,141,748] in view of Hettinger et al. [Hettinger hereinafter, US 2007/0095637]. Tanaka discloses [in Figs. 1-3] the adjustment assembly of claim 1. Tanaka does not disclose that a diameter of the cable threading hole ranges form 15 mm to 25 mm. Hettinger teaches [in Fig. 2] that a diameter of the cable threading hole [112] ranges from 15 mm to 25 mm [par. 0013]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a cable threading hole with a diameter that ranges from 15 mm to 25 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. [Tanaka hereinafter, US 7,141,748] in view of Baker [US 8,198,555]. Tanaka discloses [in Figs. 1-3] the adjustment assembly according to claim 4. Tanaka does not disclose that one of the transmission member and the rotation sleeve is provided with a first clamping catch, and the other of the transmission member and the rotation sleeve is provided with a first clamping groove; the transmission member is connected to the rotation sleeve via the first clamping catch and the first clamping groove. Baker teaches [in Figs. 2 and 3] that one of the transmission member [170] and the rotation sleeve [196] is provided with a first clamping catch [214], and an other of the transmission member [170] and the rotation sleeve [196] is provided with a first clamping groove [210]; the transmission member [170] is connected to the rotation sleeve [196] via the first clamping catch [214] and the first clamping groove [210]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the first clamping catch and first clamping groove of Baker with the adjustment assembly of Tanaka in order to effectively secure the components together to ensure proper actuation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 8, in combination with other limitations, the fixed connection board provided with soldering holes, a side of the fixed seat facing the fixed connection board provided with a soldering board, and the soldering board being soldered to the soldering holes is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 9, in combination with other limitations, a side of the display screen facing the fixed connection board provided with restriction columns, and a periphery surface of the display circuit board provided with restriction holes, the restriction columns being restricted to the restriction holes, and the display circuit board adhering to the display screen is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 11, in combination with other limitations, a first soft cable and a second soft cable, wherein one end of the first soft cable is electrically connected to the display circuit board, and one end of the second soft cable is electrically connected to the fixed seat is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833