DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite a “use of” and do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Please see MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 8, 10-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 2, 5, 8, 10-14, and 19-20 recite the broad recitations, followed by the word “preferably” or “in particular”, and the claim also recites more narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoessow (US 2020/0399547) in view of McGehee (US 2010/0326887).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 10, Schoessow teaches slurry hydrocracking of a feedstock and activated carbon additive [0004-0006] followed by separation into a light fraction sent to gas phase hydrocracking [0008] and a heavier slurry phase sent to further separation by contact with heavy vacuum gas oil solvent [0017-0019]. Slurry mixture of spent additive solids and residual hydrocarbons is sent to a separation stage [0020] to separate off solvent from residual feed [0020]. Schoessow teaches the separation is performed in a vacuum separator [0018]. Recovered gas oil range solvent is recirculated to separation stage [0020].
Examiner considers Schoessow vacuum distillation to include the claimed “evaporation step”.
Further, McGehee teaches a similar process for slurry hydrocracking, followed by vacuum distillation. After vacuum distillation, McGehee performs an additional round of distillation using a thin film or wiped film evaporator, in order to more effectively recover pitch materials [0029-0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used McGehee thin film evaporator equipment, in order to effectively separate the pitch material from the SHC HVGO.
Regarding claim 5, Schoessow teaches various petroleum resid, bitumen, and coal feedstocks [0005]. Further, McGehee teaches that suitable hydrocracking feedstocks include resid boiling above 510˚C [0013], which Examiner considers to read on the claimed feeds.
Regarding claims 11-17, McGehee teaches various thin film evaporation reactors are well known in the art to perform the separation, and can include various blades, distributors, film thicknesses, condensers, temperatures, pressures, etc [0029-0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected thin film evaporation apparatus conditions and processing conditions, for the benefit of effectively separating the HVGO from the pitch material. It is expected that the same or similar pitch materials having the same or similar product properties would result, since the prior art teaches the same process steps applied to the same feeds as claimed. It is not seen where such modifications would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 18-20, the prior art teaches the same process steps applied to the same feeds at the same conditions as claimed.
Therefore, it is expected that the same product having the same properties would result.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoessow (US 2020/0399547) in view of McGehee (US 2010/0326887) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schleiffer (US 2016/0032198).
Regarding claims 6-8, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose the combination of coarse and fine fraction as claimed.
However, Schleiffer teaches a similar process for slurry hydroconversion, in which the process is optimized by use of a coarse fraction and a fine fraction of additive having surface area of 100-800 m2/g [0008]-[0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected a combination of coarse and fine coal additive, as disclosed by Schleiffer, for the benefit of achieving the desired slurry hydroconversion improvements. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Claims 2-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoessow (US 2020/0399547) in view of McGehee (US 2010/0326887) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 4,944,862).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 9, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Schoessow teaches that the solvent can be vacuum gas oil, or FCC light or heavy cycle oil [0019]. It is expected that the FCC light gas oil would have the same or similar properties as claimed, since it is obtained from the same FCC steps as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have sent the gas oil recovered by Schoessow to catalytic cracking, for the benefit of obtaining FCC heavy vgo to be used as solvent.
Further, Chen teaches that mixtures of VGO and fuel oil may be used as feedstocks to FCC operations (column 10, lines 65-69 and column 11, lines 1-35). Chen teaches selecting appropriate amounts of conventional gas oil feedstock and heavy fuel oil component (see examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Chen catalytic cracking in order to obtain the solvent desired by Schoessow. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate ratios of conventional to fuel oil range feedstock, as disclosed by Chen, for the benefit of obtaining the desired products.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18618605 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to overlapping material regarding slurry hydroconversion, vacuum distillation, and separation to recover a sintering aid (see in particular method of claim 9).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18618257 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to overlapping material regarding slurry hydroconversion, vacuum distillation, and separation to recover a sintering aid (see in particular method of claim 9).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Borremans (US 2013/0150637) - teaches that vacuum fractionation can be performed using any well known equipment, including vacuum distillation columns or thin film evaporator technologies.
/MICHELLE STEIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771