DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 07 April 2026 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-18 and 19-21 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoessow (US 2020/0399547) in view of McGehee (US 2010/0326887).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 10, Schoessow teaches slurry hydrocracking of a feedstock and activated carbon additive [0004-0006] followed by separation into a light fraction sent to gas phase hydrocracking [0008] and a heavier slurry phase sent to further separation by contact with heavy vacuum gas oil solvent [0017-0019]. Slurry mixture of spent additive solids and residual hydrocarbons is sent to a separation stage [0020] to separate off solvent from residual feed [0020]. Schoessow teaches the separation is performed in a vacuum separator [0018]. Recovered gas oil range solvent is recirculated to separation stage [0020].
Schoessow teaches using toluene as the solvent [0019], which reads on the claimed “aromatic solvent”.
Examiner considers Schoessow vacuum distillation to include the claimed “evaporation step”.
Further, McGehee teaches a similar process for slurry hydrocracking, followed by vacuum distillation. After vacuum distillation, McGehee performs an additional round of distillation using a thin film or wiped film evaporator, in order to more effectively recover pitch materials [0029-0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used McGehee thin film evaporator equipment, in order to effectively separate the pitch material from the SHC HVGO.
Regarding claim 5, Schoessow teaches various petroleum resid, bitumen, and coal feedstocks [0005]. Further, McGehee teaches that suitable hydrocracking feedstocks include resid boiling above 510˚C [0013], which Examiner considers to read on the claimed feeds.
Regarding claims 11-17, McGehee teaches various thin film evaporation reactors are well known in the art to perform the separation, and can include various blades, distributors, film thicknesses, condensers, temperatures, pressures, etc [0029-0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected thin film evaporation apparatus conditions and processing conditions, for the benefit of effectively separating the HVGO from the pitch material. It is expected that the same or similar pitch materials having the same or similar product properties would result, since the prior art teaches the same process steps applied to the same feeds as claimed. It is not seen where such modifications would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art teaches the same process steps applied to the same feeds at the same conditions as claimed.
Therefore, it is expected that the same product having the same properties would result.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoessow (US 2020/0399547) in view of McGehee (US 2010/0326887) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schleiffer (US 2016/0032198).
Regarding claims 6-8, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose the combination of coarse and fine fraction as claimed.
However, Schleiffer teaches a similar process for slurry hydroconversion, in which the process is optimized by use of a coarse fraction and a fine fraction of additive having surface area of 100-800 m2/g [0008]-[0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected a combination of coarse and fine coal additive, as disclosed by Schleiffer, for the benefit of achieving the desired slurry hydroconversion improvements. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Claims 2-3, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoessow (US 2020/0399547) in view of McGehee (US 2010/0326887) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 4,944,862).
Regarding claims 2-3, 9, and 21, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Schoessow teaches that the solvent can be vacuum gas oil, or FCC light or heavy cycle oil [0019]. It is expected that the FCC light gas oil would have the same or similar properties as claimed, since it is obtained from the same FCC steps as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have sent the gas oil recovered by Schoessow to catalytic cracking, for the benefit of obtaining FCC heavy vgo to be used as solvent.
Further, Chen teaches that mixtures of VGO and fuel oil may be used as feedstocks to FCC operations (column 10, lines 65-69 and column 11, lines 1-35). Chen teaches selecting appropriate amounts of conventional gas oil feedstock and heavy fuel oil component (see examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Chen catalytic cracking in order to obtain the solvent desired by Schoessow. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate ratios of conventional to fuel oil range feedstock, as disclosed by Chen, for the benefit of obtaining the desired products.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoessow (US 2020/0399547) in view of McGehee (US 2010/0326887) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Porter (US 5,622,616).
Regarding claim 22, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 5, as discussed above. Schoessow teaches slurry hydrocracking of various petroleum residue and coal feeds [0005].
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose treatment of tar feeds.
However, Porter teaches a similar process for slurry hydrocracking residual hydrocarbon feeds (column 3, lines 25-column 4, line 65). Porter teaches that in addition to petroleum resid feeds, tars are also suitable for treatment by slurry hydrocracking (column 3, lines 20-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have treated tar by the process of the previous combination, since it is also known for the same purpose of feeding to slurry hydrocracking. It is not seen where such a modification would result in any new or unexpected results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18618605 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to overlapping material regarding slurry hydroconversion, vacuum distillation, and separation to recover a sintering aid (see in particular method of claim 9).
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18618257 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to overlapping material regarding slurry hydroconversion, vacuum distillation, and separation to recover a sintering aid (see in particular method of claim 9).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered and are addressed by the updated rejections as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Borremans (US 2013/0150637) - teaches that vacuum fractionation can be performed using any well known equipment, including vacuum distillation columns or thin film evaporator technologies.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771