Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 13-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parillo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2013/0192932 A1) in view of De Greef et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0104673 A1) in further view of Bennett et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0019897 A1).
1, Parillo teaches an elevator communication system [abstract, Also disclosed is a method of communicating elevator safety information in an elevator system. The method includes collecting information from a safety device at a hoistway node arranged at an elevator pit, processing the information at the hoistway node into a communication signal],
a master node connected to the communication bus; at least one slave node connected to the communication bus [fig 1,par 0014, In further accordance with the exemplary embodiment, elevator control system 2 includes a second bus 55 that directly links elevator car 14 with controller 4. More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch, safety operated switch, emergency escape switches, in-car emergency stop switches, door zone sensors, emergency terminal speed limiting device sensors, normal terminal stopping device sensors and the like. Communications may also include any pre-flight check commands to car node 60 enabling a check of all safety signals prior to the start of the next run of the elevator. The paragraph and figure shows a car safety node (master node) connected to via bus to slave device (car safety devices ];
wherein the master node and the at least one slave node are configured to apply, for data communication in the communication bus [fig 1, par 0014, In further accordance with the exemplary embodiment, elevator control system 2 includes a second bus 55 that directly links elevator car 14 with controller 4. More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch. The paragraph and figure shows a car safety node (master node) connected to via bus to slave device (car safety devices)],
Parillo fail to show comprising: a communication bus applying a master - slave protocol; a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot; and wherein the master node is configured to extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus
In an analogous art De Greef show comprising: a communication bus applying a master - slave protocol [abstract, In some embodiments, an apparatus is provided that includes a bi-directional communication bus, a set of battery sections connected to the bi-directional communication bus, and a battery manager circuit bi-directional communication bus. Each of the battery sections of the set has a clock circuit. The battery manager circuit is configured to communicate with the set of battery sections via the bi-directional communication bus using a synchronous master-slave communication protocol]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Parillo and De Greef because information can be used by the battery manager to improve the performance of the battery, which is critical for any electric vehicle due to the relatively short driving range and limitations on the ability to recharge the battery.
Parillo and De Greef fail to show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot; and wherein the master node is configured to extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus
In an analogous art Bennett show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node [par 0004, 0023, a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame. Each frame is divided into a plurality of consecutive blocks and each block is divided into a plurality of consecutive time slots. A first predefined time slot in each block is used for announcement transmissions. The system includes a master transmitter capable of transmitting a master time mark during a second predefined time slot in each block. The master time mark includes a time slot reservation area for indicating dynamic allocation of time slots. In one embodiment, each time mark 302, 304, is allocated two time slots 200; specifically, time slots 0 and 1 are dedicated for use by master time mark 302],
and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot [par 0023, time slots 2 and 3 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(1), and time slots 4 and 5 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(2). The number of time slots allocated for use by time marks 302, 304 is based upon the amount of data to be included within each time mark. Time slot 127 is dedicated for announcement 308 transmission by tags 102],
and wherein the master node is configured to extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus [par 0031, 0056, 0057 In one embodiment, time slot reservations area 504 includes four time slot allocations 601, where a first master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a first four different wireless tags 102, a subsequent master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a next different set of four wireless tags, and so on, repeating in a cyclic manner. Use of interval value 606, phase value 608, and time mark phase value 610 is described in detail below. Such configuration allows tag 102 to refresh/confirm its time slot reservation information and receive timing that allows tag 102 to adjust for local clock drift and thereby retain accuracy for transmission within its allocated time slot 200. Typically, time slot reservation information updates occur at a rate of less than once per transmission frame 400 (e.g., once per sixty-four blocks), and thus each master time mark 302 (and slave time marks 304) may include time slot reservation information for up to four different tags. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received, then expand its receiving period to search again (i.e., once syncing with slave time mark 304, tag 102 may utilize only slave time mark 304 until it can no longer be received)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Benett par 0004]
2, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett describes the elevator communication system of claim 1, Parillo and De Greef fail to show wherein the first time slot is preceded by a frame synchronization comprising idle bytes and a master node identifier byte, wherein the master node is configured to: increase the number of idle bytes in the frame synchronization in order to enable the power saving mode.
In an analogous art Bennett show wherein the first time slot is preceded by a frame synchronization comprising idle bytes and a master node identifier byte [par 0005, 0045, 0047, A master transmitter periodically transmits a time mark during a first predefined time slot of a plurality of consecutive time slots that form a transmission block. An allocator allocates, at least partly based upon the received announcement transmission, a third time slot of the plurality of time slots to the wireless transmitting device. A time slot reservation area of at least one subsequently transmitted time mark includes indication of the allocation of the third time slot to the wireless transmitting device. where tag announce 308 packet contains a long serial number or MAC address that uniquely identifies tag 102. Optionally, announcement 308 also includes other parameters from tag 102 (e.g., battery level, and so on). Announcement 308 is limited in length to duration dt of a single time slot 200. With some probability due to collision with another announce packet from another tag 102, announce 308 may not be received by any receiver 104. When this occurs, tag 102 does not receive any time slot reservation information in the appropriate master time mark 302 or slave time marks 304 and therefore tag 102 configures itself to sleep for a variable period of between one and five seconds and then listens for a next master time mark 302 or slave time mark 304 and tries to announce again],
wherein the master node is configured to: increase the number of idle bytes in the frame synchronization in order to enable the power saving mode[par 0034, 0057, Optionally, one or both of slave transmitters 108(1) and 108(2) may be included to extend operation of system 100 beyond the transmission range of master transmitter 106. Slave transmitters 108(1) and 108. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Benett par 0004]
3, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett creates the elevator communication system of claim 1, wherein the master node is configured to receive from an elevator controller a command to enter the power saving mode [Parillo, par 0010, Propulsion system 10 includes a motor 12 that shifts an elevator car 14 along a hoistway (not shown) and a brake 13 for stopping elevator car 14. Controller 4 is also operatively connected to a safety control node 24. Safety node 24 includes a power disconnect 26 that is configured and disposed to sever power to propulsion system 20 in the event of a safety issue].
4, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett demonstrate the elevator communication system of claim 1, Parillo and De Greef fail to show wherein the at least one slave node is configured to: enter the power saving mode when a duration between consecutive frames exceeds a predetermined threshold.
In an analogous art Bennett show wherein the at least one slave node is configured to: enter the power saving mode when a duration between consecutive frames exceeds a predetermined threshold [par 0042, Since tag 102 is listening for a period greater than the duration of one transmission block 300, it is assured of receiving master time mark 302 and/or slave time mark 304 when in range of an operational system 100. When tag 102 does not receive a master time make (or slave time mark) it assumes that it is not within range of operational system 100 and returns to its low-power mode].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Benett par 0004]
5, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett demonstrate the elevator communication system of 1, wherein the master node is configured to: read at least one of its safety inputs; determine a change in at least one read safety input [Parillo, par 0014, More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch, safety operated switch, emergency escape switches, in-car emergency stop switches, door zone sensors, emergency terminal speed limiting device sensors, normal terminal stopping device sensors and the like. Communications may also include any pre-flight check commands to car node 60 enabling a check of all safety signals prior to the start of the next run of the elevator];
and re-initiate data communication via the communication bus in response to determining the change [par 0016, first bus 40 may be configured to directly link hoistway safety node 30 to power disconnect 26. In this manner, signals indicating a potential safety issue are sent directly to Propulsion system 10 to affect operation of elevator car 14 without requiring input or delay from controller 4. That is, in the event of a safety issue emanating from hoistway safety node 30, first bus 40 can bypass controller 4 and directly signal propulsion system 10 to stop operation of elevator car 14].
6, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett reveal the elevator communication system of claim 1, wherein: a slave node is configured to: read at least one its safety input; determine a change in at least one read safety input[Parillo, par 0014, More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch, safety operated switch, emergency escape switches, in-car emergency stop switches, door zone sensors, emergency terminal speed limiting device sensors, normal terminal stopping device sensors and the like. Communications may also include any pre-flight check commands to car node 60 enabling a check of all safety signals prior to the start of the next run of the elevator];
and transmit an indication associated with the change to the master node in order to re-initiate data communication via the communication bus; and the master node is configured to: re-initiate data communication via the communication bus in response to the indication [par 0017, The direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. In addition, the direct link minimizes the number and length of conductors passing though the hoistway and along the traveling cable. Similarly, the direct link between the elevator car, the controller, the propulsion system, and the operational control reduces signal processing time for potential car safety signals. In addition, the direct link reduces the number of conducted passing along the traveling cable].
7, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett provides the elevator communication system of claim 1, Parillo and De Greef fail to show wherein the communication bus comprises an ethernet communication bus.
In an analogous art Bennett show wherein the communication bus comprises an ethernet communication bus [par 0017, Network 120 is for example based upon one or more of Ethernet, Wi-Fi, UWB, cellular and USB].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Benett par 0004]
10, De Greef, Bennett, and Parillo provides an elevator system comprising the elevator communication system of claim 1 [Parillo, abstract, An elevator safety system including a controller, and a hoistway safety node arranged at a pit portion of an elevator hoistway. The hoistway node is operatively connected to one of a pit safety device and a lower hoistway device arranged at the elevator pit].
13, De Greef and Bennett display the method of claim 11, De Greef and Bennett fail to show further comprising: receiving, by the master node, from an elevator controller a command to enter the power saving mode.
In an analogous art Parillo show further comprising: receiving, by the master node, from an elevator controller a command to enter the power saving mode[Parillo, par 0010, Propulsion system 10 includes a motor 12 that shifts an elevator car 14 along a hoistway (not shown) and a brake 13 for stopping elevator car 14. Controller 4 is also operatively connected to a safety control node 24. Safety node 24 includes a power disconnect 26 that is configured and disposed to sever power to propulsion system 20 in the event of a safety issue].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, Bennett, and Parillo because this would cause the direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. [Parillo, par 0017]
14, De Greef and Bennett provides the method of claim 11, De Greef and Bennett fail to show further comprising: reading, by the master node at least one its safety input; determining, by the master node, a change in at least one read safety input; and re-initiating, by the master node, data communication via the communication bus in response to determining the change.
In an analogous art Parillo show further comprising: reading, by the master node at least one its safety input; determining, by the master node[Parillo, par 0014, More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch, safety operated switch, emergency escape switches, in-car emergency stop switches, door zone sensors, emergency terminal speed limiting device sensors, normal terminal stopping device sensors and the like. Communications may also include any pre-flight check commands to car node 60 enabling a check of all safety signals prior to the start of the next run of the elevator];
a change in at least one read safety input; and re-initiating, by the master node, data communication via the communication bus in response to determining the change[par 0016, first bus 40 may be configured to directly link hoistway safety node 30 to power disconnect 26. In this manner, signals indicating a potential safety issue are sent directly to Propulsion system 10 to affect operation of elevator car 14 without requiring input or delay from controller 4. That is, in the event of a safety issue emanating from hoistway safety node 30, first bus 40 can bypass controller 4 and directly signal propulsion system 10 to stop operation of elevator car 14].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, Bennett, and Parillo because this would cause the direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. [Parillo, par 0017]
15. De Greef and Bennett disclose the method of claim 11, Dr Greef and Bennett fail to show further comprising: reading, by a slave node, at least one its safety input; determining, by the slave node, a change in at least one read safety input; transmitting, by the slave node, an indication associated with the change to the master node in order to re-initiate data communication via the communication bus; and re-initiating, by the master node, data communication via the communication bus in response to the indication.
In an analogous art Parillo show further comprising: reading, by a slave node, at least one its safety input; determining, by the slave node, a change in at least one read safety input Parillo, par 0014, More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch, safety operated switch, emergency escape switches, in-car emergency stop switches, door zone sensors, emergency terminal speed limiting device sensors, normal terminal stopping device sensors and the like. Communications may also include any pre-flight check commands to car node 60 enabling a check of all safety signals prior to the start of the next run of the elevator];
a change in at least one read safety input; transmitting, by the slave node, an indication associated with the change to the master node in order to re-initiate data communication via the communication bus; and re-initiating, by the master node, data communication via the communication bus in response to the indication [par 0017, The direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. In addition, the direct link minimizes the number and length of conductors passing though the hoistway and along the traveling cable. Similarly, the direct link between the elevator car, the controller, the propulsion system, and the operational control reduces signal processing time for potential car safety signals. In addition, the direct link reduces the number of conducted passing along the traveling cable].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, Bennett, and Parillo because this would cause the direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. [Parillo, par 0017]
18, De Greef and Bennett display the master node of claim 16, De Greef and Bennett fail to show wherein, the processing circuitry is further configured: to receive from an elevator controller a command to enter the power saving mode.
In an analogous art Parillo show wherein, the processing circuitry is further configured: receive from an elevator controller a command to enter the power saving mode[Parillo, par 0010, Propulsion system 10 includes a motor 12 that shifts an elevator car 14 along a hoistway (not shown) and a brake 13 for stopping elevator car 14. Controller 4 is also operatively connected to a safety control node 24. Safety node 24 includes a power disconnect 26 that is configured and disposed to sever power to propulsion system 20 in the event of a safety issue].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, Bennett, and Parillo because this would cause the direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. [Parillo, par 0017]
19. De Greef and Bennett describe the master node of claim 16 wherein, De Greef and Bennett fail to show the processing circuitry is further configured to read at least one its safety input; determine a change in at least one read safety input; and re-initiate data communication via the communication bus in response to determining the change.
In an analogous art Parillo show the processing circuitry is further configured to read at least one its safety input; determine a change in at least one read safety input
[Parillo, par 0014, More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch, safety operated switch, emergency escape switches, in-car emergency stop switches, door zone sensors, emergency terminal speed limiting device sensors, normal terminal stopping device sensors and the like. Communications may also include any pre-flight check commands to car node 60 enabling a check of all safety signals prior to the start of the next run of the elevator];
and re-initiate data communication via the communication bus in response to determining the change [par 0016, first bus 40 may be configured to directly link hoistway safety node 30 to power disconnect 26. In this manner, signals indicating a potential safety issue are sent directly to Propulsion system 10 to affect operation of elevator car 14 without requiring input or delay from controller 4. That is, in the event of a safety issue emanating from hoistway safety node 30, first bus 40 can bypass controller 4 and directly signal propulsion system 10 to stop operation of elevator car 14].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, Bennett, and Parillo because this would cause the direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. [Parillo, par 0017]
20. De Greef and Bennett reveal the master node of claim 16, De Greef and Bennett fail to show wherein, processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from a slave node, an indication associated with a change of at least safety input of the slave node; and re-initiate data communication via the communication bus in response to the indication.
In an analogous art Parillo show wherein, processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from a slave node, an indication associated with a change of at least safety input of the slave node [Parillo, par 0014, More specifically, second bus 55 carries communication signals from a car safety node 60 that is linked to a car safety devices 64 which may include switches required by local code authority such as a car gate switch, safety operated switch, emergency escape switches, in-car emergency stop switches, door zone sensors, emergency terminal speed limiting device sensors, normal terminal stopping device sensors and the like. Communications may also include any pre-flight check commands to car node 60 enabling a check of all safety signals prior to the start of the next run of the elevator];
and re-initiate data communication via the communication bus in response to the indication [par 0017, The direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. In addition, the direct link minimizes the number and length of conductors passing though the hoistway and along the traveling cable. Similarly, the direct link between the elevator car, the controller, the propulsion system, and the operational control reduces signal processing time for potential car safety signals. In addition, the direct link reduces the number of conducted passing along the traveling cable].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, Bennett, and Parillo because this would cause the direct link between the hoistway safety node, controller, and propulsion system reduces signal processing time for potential pit and/or lower hoistway safety related signals. [Parillo, par 0017]
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parillo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2013/0192932 A1) in view of De Greef et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0104673 A1) in further view of Bennett et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0019897 A1) in further view of Oberski (U.S. Pub No. 2013/0149912 A1).
8, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett display the elevator communication system of claim 7, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett fail to show wherein the ethernet communication bus comprises at least one of: one or more point-to-point ethernet bus segments; or one or more multi-drop ethernet bus segments.
In an analogous art Oberski show wherein the ethernet communication bus comprises at least one of: one or more point-to-point ethernet bus segments; or one or more multi-drop ethernet bus segments [par 0067, The communications interface 420 differs from the communications interface 320 in that the communications interface 420 includes a first set of three manual switches 412 that are used to configure the input RJ-45 jack 430 into one of either a standard Ethernet configuration or an Ethernet/multi-drop configuration]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Parillo, De Greef, Bennett, and Oberski because adjacent controllers may be interconnected by a single patch cord that carries both the Ethernet and multi-drop communications. [Oberski par 0030]
9, Parillo, De Greef, Bennett, and Oberski provide the elevator communication system of claim 8, Parillo, De Greef, and Bennett fail to show wherein the point-to-point ethernet bus segment comprises 100BASE-TX or 10BASET1L point-to-point ethernet bus segment, and the multi-drop ethernet bus segment comprises a 10BASE-T1S multi-drop ethernet bus segment.
In an analogous art Oberski show wherein the point-to-point ethernet bus segment comprises 100BASE-TX or 10BASET1L point-to-point ethernet bus segment, and the multi-drop ethernet bus segment comprises a 10BASE-T1S multi-drop ethernet bus segment [par 0057, Embodiments of the present invention may take advantage of the fact that lower throughput Ethernet communications such as 10BASE-T and 100BASE-TX communications only use two of the four differential pairs (pairs 2 and 3) of conductors that are provided in Ethernet connectors and cables].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Parillo, De Greef, Bennett, and Oberski because adjacent controllers may be interconnected by a single patch cord that carries both the Ethernet and multi-drop communications. [Oberski par 0030]
Claim(s) 11, 12, 16, 17, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Greef et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0104673 A1) in view of Bennett et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2017/0019897 A1)
11, De Greef create describe a method comprising: applying, by a master node and at least one slave node, a master – slave protocol in a communication bus between the master node and the at least one slave node [abstract, par 0066, Each of the battery sections of the set has a clock circuit. The battery manager circuit is configured to communicate with the set of battery sections via the bi-directional communication bus using a synchronous master-slave communication protocol, Regarding communication via the first end 250 of the daisy-chain bus, each daisy-chain bus segment 209a is located between two successive LIICS devices 201, with each bus segment 209a being connected to the master terminal 225a of one LIICS device 201, and to the slave terminal 225b of another LIICS device 201. The respective master and slave terminals 225a, 225b are part of the LIICS device's COM section 223],
wherein the master node and the at least one slave node are configured to apply, for data communication in the communication bus [par 0065, 0066, For data communication via the second ends (260, 360, and 460) of the daisy-chain buses, the direction in which data and messages are transmitted in the following description is reversed and master/slave terminal designations in the following description are reversed. As shown in FIG. 2A, the master and slave terminal designations are defined by the positions of those terminals relative to the host--for each daisy-chain bus segment 209a, the master terminal is the terminal 225a located nearer to the first end 250 of the daisy chain bus and the slave terminal 225b is the terminal located farther from first end 250 of the daisy chain bus. Note that for communication via the second end of the daisy chain bus, these master and slave designations are reversed]
De Greef fail to show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot; and
extending, by the master node, the time between consecutive frames in order to
enable a power saving mode for the communication bus.
In an analogous art Bennett show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node[par 0004, 0023, a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame. Each frame is divided into a plurality of consecutive blocks and each block is divided into a plurality of consecutive time slots. A first predefined time slot in each block is used for announcement transmissions. The system includes a master transmitter capable of transmitting a master time mark during a second predefined time slot in each block. The master time mark includes a time slot reservation area for indicating dynamic allocation of time slots. In one embodiment, each time mark 302, 304, is allocated two time slots 200; specifically, time slots 0 and 1 are dedicated for use by master time mark 302],
and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot[par 0023, time slots 2 and 3 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(1), and time slots 4 and 5 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(2). The number of time slots allocated for use by time marks 302, 304 is based upon the amount of data to be included within each time mark. Time slot 127 is dedicated for announcement 308 transmission by tags 102],
and extending, by the master node, the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus[par 0034, 0057, Optionally, one or both of slave transmitters 108(1) and 108(2) may be included to extend operation of system 100 beyond the transmission range of master transmitter 106. Slave transmitters 108(1) and 108. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Benett par 0004]
12. DeGreef and Bennett provide the method of claim 11, De Greef fail to show wherein the first time slot is preceded by a frame synchronization comprising idle bytes and a master node identifier byte, and the method further comprises: increasing, by the master node, the number of idle bytes in the frame synchronization in order to enable the power saving mode.
In an analogous art Bennett wherein the first time slot is preceded by a frame synchronization comprising idle bytes and a master node identifier byte [par 0005, 0045, 0047, A master transmitter periodically transmits a time mark during a first predefined time slot of a plurality of consecutive time slots that form a transmission block. An allocator allocates, at least partly based upon the received announcement transmission, a third time slot of the plurality of time slots to the wireless transmitting device. A time slot reservation area of at least one subsequently transmitted time mark includes indication of the allocation of the third time slot to the wireless transmitting device. where tag announce 308 packet contains a long serial number or MAC address that uniquely identifies tag 102. Optionally, announcement 308 also includes other parameters from tag 102 (e.g., battery level, and so on). Announcement 308 is limited in length to duration dt of a single time slot 200. With some probability due to collision with another announce packet from another tag 102, announce 308 may not be received by any receiver 104. When this occurs, tag 102 does not receive any time slot reservation information in the appropriate master time mark 302 or slave time marks 304 and therefore tag 102 configures itself to sleep for a variable period of between one and five seconds and then listens for a next master time mark 302 or slave time mark 304 and tries to announce again],
wherein the master node is configured to: increase the number of idle bytes in the frame synchronization in order to enable the power saving mode[par 0034, 0057, Optionally, one or both of slave transmitters 108(1) and 108(2) may be included to extend operation of system 100 beyond the transmission range of master transmitter 106. Slave transmitters 108(1) and 108. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Benett par 0004]
16, De Greef teaches a master node comprising: processing circuitry configured to: apply a master - slave protocol in a communication bus between the master node and at least one slave node [abstract, par 0066, Each of the battery sections of the set has a clock circuit. The battery manager circuit is configured to communicate with the set of battery sections via the bi-directional communication bus using a synchronous master-slave communication protocol, Regarding communication via the first end 250 of the daisy-chain bus, each daisy-chain bus segment 209a is located between two successive LIICS devices 201, with each bus segment 209a being connected to the master terminal 225a of one LIICS device 201, and to the slave terminal 225b of another LIICS device 201. The respective master and slave terminals 225a, 225b are part of the LIICS device's COM section 223],
wherein the master node and the at least one slave node are configured to apply, for data communication in the communication bus[par 0065, 0066, For data communication via the second ends (260, 360, and 460) of the daisy-chain buses, the direction in which data and messages are transmitted in the following description is reversed and master/slave terminal designations in the following description are reversed. As shown in FIG. 2A, the master and slave terminal designations are defined by the positions of those terminals relative to the host--for each daisy-chain bus segment 209a, the master terminal is the terminal 225a located nearer to the first end 250 of the daisy chain bus and the slave terminal 225b is the terminal located farther from first end 250 of the daisy chain bus. Note that for communication via the second end of the daisy chain bus, these master and slave designations are reversed]
De Greef fail to show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot; and extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus.
In an analogous art Bennett show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node[par 0004, 0023, a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame. Each frame is divided into a plurality of consecutive blocks and each block is divided into a plurality of consecutive time slots. A first predefined time slot in each block is used for announcement transmissions. The system includes a master transmitter capable of transmitting a master time mark during a second predefined time slot in each block. The master time mark includes a time slot reservation area for indicating dynamic allocation of time slots. In one embodiment, each time mark 302, 304, is allocated two time slots 200; specifically, time slots 0 and 1 are dedicated for use by master time mark 302],
and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot[par 0023, time slots 2 and 3 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(1), and time slots 4 and 5 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(2). The number of time slots allocated for use by time marks 302, 304 is based upon the amount of data to be included within each time mark. Time slot 127 is dedicated for announcement 308 transmission by tags 102],
and extending, by the master node, the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus[par 0031, 0056, 0057 In one embodiment, time slot reservations area 504 includes four time slot allocations 601, where a first master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a first four different wireless tags 102, a subsequent master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a next different set of four wireless tags, and so on, repeating in a cyclic manner. Use of interval value 606, phase value 608, and time mark phase value 610 is described in detail below. Such configuration allows tag 102 to refresh/confirm its time slot reservation information and receive timing that allows tag 102 to adjust for local clock drift and thereby retain accuracy for transmission within its allocated time slot 200. Typically, time slot reservation information updates occur at a rate of less than once per transmission frame 400 (e.g., once per sixty-four blocks), and thus each master time mark 302 (and slave time marks 304) may include time slot reservation information for up to four different tags. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received, then expand its receiving period to search again (i.e., once syncing with slave time mark 304, tag 102 may utilize only slave time mark 304 until it can no longer be received)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Benett par 0004]
17. De Greef and Bennett reveal the master node of claim 16, De Greef fail to show wherein the first time slot is preceded by a frame synchronization comprising idle bytes and a master node identifier byte, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: increase the number of idle bytes in the frame synchronization in order to enable the power saving mode.
In an analogous art Bennett show wherein the first time slot is preceded by a frame synchronization comprising idle bytes and a master node identifier byte[par 0005, 0045, 0047, A master transmitter periodically transmits a time mark during a first predefined time slot of a plurality of consecutive time slots that form a transmission block. An allocator allocates, at least partly based upon the received announcement transmission, a third time slot of the plurality of time slots to the wireless transmitting device. A time slot reservation area of at least one subsequently transmitted time mark includes indication of the allocation of the third time slot to the wireless transmitting device. where tag announce 308 packet contains a long serial number or MAC address that uniquely identifies tag 102. Optionally, announcement 308 also includes other parameters from tag 102 (e.g., battery level, and so on). Announcement 308 is limited in length to duration dt of a single time slot 200. With some probability due to collision with another announce packet from another tag 102, announce 308 may not be received by any receiver 104. When this occurs, tag 102 does not receive any time slot reservation information in the appropriate master time mark 302 or slave time marks 304 and therefore tag 102 configures itself to sleep for a variable period of between one and five seconds and then listens for a next master time mark 302 or slave time mark 304 and tries to announce again],
and the processing circuitry is further configured to: increase the number of idle bytes in the frame synchronization in order to enable the power saving mode[par 0031, 0056, 0057 In one embodiment, time slot reservations area 504 includes four time slot allocations 601, where a first master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a first four different wireless tags 102, a subsequent master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a next different set of four wireless tags, and so on, repeating in a cyclic manner. Use of interval value 606, phase value 608, and time mark phase value 610 is described in detail below. Such configuration allows tag 102 to refresh/confirm its time slot reservation information and receive timing that allows tag 102 to adjust for local clock drift and thereby retain accuracy for transmission within its allocated time slot 200. Typically, time slot reservation information updates occur at a rate of less than once per transmission frame 400 (e.g., once per sixty-four blocks), and thus each master time mark 302 (and slave time marks 304) may include time slot reservation information for up to four different tags. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received, then expand its receiving period to search again (i.e., once syncing with slave time mark 304, tag 102 may utilize only slave time mark 304 until it can no longer be received)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Bennett par 0004]
21. De Greef and Bennett disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer readable instructions[De Greef, para 0110, For example, in certain of the above-discussed embodiments, one or more modules are discrete logic circuits or programmable logic circuits configured and arranged for implementing various elements shown in the figures and processes discussed above. In certain embodiments, such a programmable circuit is one or more computer circuits programmed to execute a set (or sets) of instructions (and/or configuration data). The instructions (and/or configuration data) can be in the form of firmware or software stored in and accessible from a memory (circuit)],
which when executed by a master node cause the master node to: apply a master - slave protocol in a communication bus between the master node and at least one slave node[abstract, In some embodiments, an apparatus is provided that includes a bi-directional communication bus, a set of battery sections connected to the bi-directional communication bus, and a battery manager circuit bi-directional communication bus. Each of the battery sections of the set has a clock circuit. The battery manager circuit is configured to communicate with the set of battery sections via the bi-directional communication bus using a synchronous master-slave communication protocol],
wherein the master node and the at least one slave node are configured to apply, for data communication in the communication bus[par 0065, 0066, For data communication via the second ends (260, 360, and 460) of the daisy-chain buses, the direction in which data and messages are transmitted in the following description is reversed and master/slave terminal designations in the following description are reversed. As shown in FIG. 2A, the master and slave terminal designations are defined by the positions of those terminals relative to the host--for each daisy-chain bus segment 209a, the master terminal is the terminal 225a located nearer to the first end 250 of the daisy chain bus and the slave terminal 225b is the terminal located farther from first end 250 of the daisy chain bus. Note that for communication via the second end of the daisy chain bus, these master and slave designations are reversed],
De Greef fail to show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot; and extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus, causes the master node to perform the method of claim 11.
In an analogous Bennett show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node[par 0004, 0023, a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame. Each frame is divided into a plurality of consecutive blocks and each block is divided into a plurality of consecutive time slots. A first predefined time slot in each block is used for announcement transmissions. The system includes a master transmitter capable of transmitting a master time mark during a second predefined time slot in each block. The master time mark includes a time slot reservation area for indicating dynamic allocation of time slots. In one embodiment, each time mark 302, 304, is allocated two time slots 200; specifically, time slots 0 and 1 are dedicated for use by master time mark 302],
and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot[par 0023, time slots 2 and 3 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(1), and time slots 4 and 5 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(2). The number of time slots allocated for use by time marks 302, 304 is based upon the amount of data to be included within each time mark. Time slot 127 is dedicated for announcement 308 transmission by tags 102];
and extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus, causes the master node to perform the method of claim 11[par 0031, 0056, 0057 In one embodiment, time slot reservations area 504 includes four time slot allocations 601, where a first master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a first four different wireless tags 102, a subsequent master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a next different set of four wireless tags, and so on, repeating in a cyclic manner. Use of interval value 606, phase value 608, and time mark phase value 610 is described in detail below. Such configuration allows tag 102 to refresh/confirm its time slot reservation information and receive timing that allows tag 102 to adjust for local clock drift and thereby retain accuracy for transmission within its allocated time slot 200. Typically, time slot reservation information updates occur at a rate of less than once per transmission frame 400 (e.g., once per sixty-four blocks), and thus each master time mark 302 (and slave time marks 304) may include time slot reservation information for up to four different tags. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received, then expand its receiving period to search again (i.e., once syncing with slave time mark 304, tag 102 may utilize only slave time mark 304 until it can no longer be received)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Bennett par 0004]
22. De Greef and Bennett teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising readable instructions [De Greef, para 0110, For example, in certain of the above-discussed embodiments, one or more modules are discrete logic circuits or programmable logic circuits configured and arranged for implementing various elements shown in the figures and processes discussed above. In certain embodiments, such a programmable circuit is one or more computer circuits programmed to execute a set (or sets) of instructions (and/or configuration data). The instructions (and/or configuration data) can be in the form of firmware or software stored in and accessible from a memory (circuit)],
which when executed by a master node cause the master node to: apply a master - slave protocol in a communication bus between the master node and at least one slave node[abstract, In some embodiments, an apparatus is provided that includes a bi-directional communication bus, a set of battery sections connected to the bi-directional communication bus, and a battery manager circuit bi-directional communication bus. Each of the battery sections of the set has a clock circuit. The battery manager circuit is configured to communicate with the set of battery sections via the bi-directional communication bus using a synchronous master-slave communication protocol],
wherein the master node and the at least one slave node are configured to apply, for data communication in the communication bus[par 0065, 0066, For data communication via the second ends (260, 360, and 460) of the daisy-chain buses, the direction in which data and messages are transmitted in the following description is reversed and master/slave terminal designations in the following description are reversed. As shown in FIG. 2A, the master and slave terminal designations are defined by the positions of those terminals relative to the host--for each daisy-chain bus segment 209a, the master terminal is the terminal 225a located nearer to the first end 250 of the daisy chain bus and the slave terminal 225b is the terminal located farther from first end 250 of the daisy chain bus. Note that for communication via the second end of the daisy chain bus, these master and slave designations are reversed],
DeGreef fail to show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot; and extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus, causes the master node to perform the method of claim 12.
In an analogous art Bennett show a repeating frame structure in which a first time slot of a frame is reserved for the master node [par 0004, 0023, a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame. Each frame is divided into a plurality of consecutive blocks and each block is divided into a plurality of consecutive time slots. A first predefined time slot in each block is used for announcement transmissions. The system includes a master transmitter capable of transmitting a master time mark during a second predefined time slot in each block. The master time mark includes a time slot reservation area for indicating dynamic allocation of time slots. In one embodiment, each time mark 302, 304, is allocated two time slots 200; specifically, time slots 0 and 1 are dedicated for use by master time mark 302];
and in the remaining time slots of the frame each slave node of the at least one slave node has a dedicated time slot[par 0023, time slots 2 and 3 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(1), and time slots 4 and 5 are dedicated for use by slave time mark 304(2). The number of time slots allocated for use by time marks 302, 304 is based upon the amount of data to be included within each time mark. Time slot 127 is dedicated for announcement 308 transmission by tags 102];
and extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus, causes the master node to perform the method of claim 12 [par 0031, 0056, 0057 In one embodiment, time slot reservations area 504 includes four time slot allocations 601, where a first master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a first four different wireless tags 102, a subsequent master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a next different set of four wireless tags, and so on, repeating in a cyclic manner. Use of interval value 606, phase value 608, and time mark phase value 610 is described in detail below. Such configuration allows tag 102 to refresh/confirm its time slot reservation information and receive timing that allows tag 102 to adjust for local clock drift and thereby retain accuracy for transmission within its allocated time slot 200. Typically, time slot reservation information updates occur at a rate of less than once per transmission frame 400 (e.g., once per sixty-four blocks), and thus each master time mark 302 (and slave time marks 304) may include time slot reservation information for up to four different tags. If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received, then expand its receiving period to search again (i.e., once syncing with slave time mark 304, tag 102 may utilize only slave time mark 304 until it can no longer be received)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of De Greef, and Bennett provides a system dynamically schedules wireless transmissions without collision within a repeating frame.[Bennett par 0004]
Response to Arguments
Initially, it is respectfully submitted that the Applicant did not intend to invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Therefore, the claims have been amended to delete the term "means for". In view of these amendments, confirmation is respectfully requested in the next Office Action that the claims are no longer invoke § 112(f) interpretation.
The examiner agrees claims doesn’t invoke the interpretation.
The Office Action argues that Bennett at paragraphs [0034] and [0057] discloses "the master node is configured to extend the time between consecutive frames in order to enable a power saving mode for the communication bus," as recited in claim 1. Bennett discloses in these paragraphs that the slave can extend a window for listening for master time mark and slave time mark. Bennett does not disclose the configuration of the master related to this extension. Bennett does not disclose a master enabling a power saving mode for the communication bus.
The other cited art similarly do not disclose or suggest the above-mentioned features of claim 1. Claims 11 and 16 include similar limitations which similarly not disclosed by the cited art. The cited art does not disclose or suggest all the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 16 and their dependent claims. Reconsideration and withdrawal of this rejection are respectfully requested.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant claim state the action performed by the master node of extending the time between consecutive frames, the results enables a power saving mode for the communication bus, which is different from a master enabling a power mode for the communication bus. Therefore the examiner’s interpretation of the prior art disclosing the function of extending the time between consecutive frames would hence enabling a power saving mode for the communication bus. Also the applicant’s argument that the slave transmitter is extending the time period, but the examiner is arguing the master transmitter that configures a time mark with time slot tag allocations to allow expansion of a receive period to also include slave time marks.
In paragraph 0005 of Bennett it discloses, A master transmitter periodically transmits a time mark during a first predefined time slot of a plurality of consecutive time slots that form a transmission block. Multiple consecutive transmission blocks form a frame. The paragraph discloses the master transmitter transmits a time mark during a time slot of consecutive slots of a transmission block or frame
Bennett Paragraph 0031, In one embodiment, time slot reservations area 504 includes four time slot allocations 601, where a first master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a first four different wireless tags 102, a subsequent master time mark 302 includes time slot allocations 601 for a next different set of four wireless tags, and so on, repeating in a cyclic manner. Use of interval value 606, phase value 608, and time mark phase value 610 is described in detail below.
The paragraph discloses the master transmitter transmits a mark that includes time slot allocations for a first four different wireless tags, a subsequent master time mark includes time slot allocations for a next different set of four wireless tags, these tags are shown in paragraphs 0056, 0057, to adjust for local clock drift and thereby retain accuracy for transmission within its allocated time slot, expand its receive period to also include slave time marks, and then expand its receiving period to search again. Therefore the examiner interpretation is the master transmitter is configured to extend the time between consecutive frames, because the transmitter transmits time marks configured with time slot allocation for tags that would allow time or period expansion that are configured.
Paragraphs 0056, 0057, Preferably, tag 102 is configured to receive its time slot reservation information within a master time mark 302 of the same transmission block 300 within which it is configures to transmit. Such configuration allows tag 102 to refresh/confirm its time slot reservation information and receive timing that allows tag 102 to adjust for local clock drift and thereby retain accuracy for transmission within its allocated time slot 200. Typically, time slot reservation information updates occur at a rate of less than once per transmission frame 400 (e.g., once per sixty-four blocks), and thus each master time mark 302 (and slave time marks 304) may include time slot reservation information for up to four different tags
If, during operation, tag 102 is unable to receive master time mark 302, it may expand its receive period to also include slave time marks 304, if available. Then, upon receiving slave time mark 304, tag 102 may then configure itself to listen only to the strongest (master or slave) time mark 302, 304 until that is no longer received, then expand its receiving period to search again (i.e., once syncing with slave time mark 304, tag 102 may utilize only slave time mark 304 until it can no longer be received).
It is further shown wherein paragraphs 0040, 0041 Tags 102 utilize power from at least one battery and therefore system 100 operates to configure each tag 102 with a desired ping rate such that each tag 102 transmits only as often as necessary, thereby reducing power consumption and the size of the battery needed to power the tag 102.
To conserve battery power, tag 102 configures itself in a low-power mode (also known as sleep mode) when not required to transmit, receive, or perform other operations. When initially powered on, tag 102 configures itself to periodically wake, at a low duty cycle, to receive master time mark 302 or slave time mark 304. In one embodiment, tag 102 awakens and activates its receiver to “listen” for a period greater than duration tb of one transmission block 300 once every minute, and thereby has a very low duty cycle (e.g., about 0.03%), the tags are transmitted only when necessary, to reducing power consumption and is configured at a low duty cycle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468