DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurikuma et al. (US 2013/0325235 A1) in view of Handa et al. (US 2020/0282862 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kurikuma discloses, in figure 3, an electric work machine (Fig. 1; #1-8) comprising: an electric motor (27) configured to receive power from a battery (7) as a drive power source (Par 0051); an external power supply (48) configured to supply the power to the battery (7) (Par 0058); a hydraulic actuator (Par 0011, 0030-0031) having, as a hydraulic pressure source (Fig. 2; 31; Par 0039), a hydraulic pump (Fig. 2; 29; Par 0036-0037) configured to be driven by the electric motor (27) (Par 0011); a switch (Par 0058; charging switch (not shown)) configured to be transitioned between a first position (charging switch ON during a charge start; Par 0058) to charge the battery (7) and a second position (charging switch OFF); and a power supply port (Par 0025, 0058; power supply port) configured to connect/disconnect with a power supply cable (Par 0025, 0058; cable extending from commercial power source 48), wherein in the case where rotation of the electric motor is stopped (Par 0058; during the stop of the motor-generator 27), and the switch is in the first position (charging switch ON).
Kurikuma does not disclose the external power supply is configured to detect that the power supply cable is connected to the power supply port and to send a connection signal to a system controller, and wherein the system controller is configured to turn on a power supply relay in response to the connection signal so that the battery is charged from the external power supply.
However, Handa discloses, in figure 1, the external power supply (301) is configured to detect that the power supply cable (power supply cable connected to power supply port 106) is connected to the power supply port (106) and to send a connection signal to a system controller (110) (Par 0025), and wherein the system controller (110) is configured to turn on a power supply relay (103) in response to the connection signal so that the battery (101) is charged from the external power supply (301) (Par 0025; “The AC charging inlet 106 is provided with a sensor (not shown). When the external AC power supply 301 is connected to the AC charging inlet 106, a connection signal is fed from the sensor to the power supply controller 110. When detecting that the AC power supply 301 has been connected, the power supply controller 110 closes the charging relay 103 and connects the AC charger 105 to the main battery 101”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurikuma’s construction machine by including the external power supply is configured to detect that the power supply cable is connected to the power supply port and to send a connection signal to a system controller, and wherein the system controller is configured to turn on a power supply relay in response to the connection signal so that the battery is charged from the external power supply as taught by Handa in order to reduce the influence of noise on the external power supply by switching the switching speed, without relying on a low pass filter (Handa; Par 0005).
In regards to claim 2, Kurikuma and Handa disclose the electric work machine according to claim 1. Kurikuma further discloses, in figure 3, wherein the external power supply (48) includes a commercial power supply (Par 0058), and wherein the power supply port is configured to receive power from the external power supply (48) via the power supply cable (Par 0025, 0058).
In regards to claim 3, Kurikuma and Handa disclose the electric work machine according to claim 2. Kurikuma further discloses, in figure 3, wherein, in the case where the power supply cable is connected to the power supply port (Par 0025, 0058), the power supply port (Par 0058; power supply port) is configured to receive alternating-current (AC) power (output of 48) from the external power supply (48) via the power supply cable (Par 0025, 0058).
In regards to claim 4, Kurikuma and Handa disclose the electric work machine according to claim 3. Kurikuma further discloses, in figure 3, wherein in the case where the power supply cable for supplying the electric power from the external power supply (48) is connected to the power supply port (Par 0025, 0058; power supply port), where the rotation of the electric motor (27) is stopped (Par 0058), and where a cut-off lever (Fig. 2; 41) for restricting an operation of the hydraulic actuator is rotated upward by blocking a pilot pressure used to operate the hydraulic actuator (Par 0038), so as to restrict the operation of the hydraulic actuator (Par 0038) , the battery (7) cannot be charged from the external power supply (48) (Par 0044, 0038; “The pressure switch 41 introduces fluid pressure on the upstream side of the directional control valve 32 and closes a contact point where the fluid pressure reaches a threshold vale set in advance. Thus, it detects whether any of all the directional control valves is operated, and outputs an ON signal where any of them is operated”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurikuma et al. (US 2013/0325235 A1) in view of Handa et al. (US 2020/0282862 A1) in further view of Kamachi et al. (US 2016/0137149 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Kurikuma and Handa disclose the electric work machine according to claim 2, but does not disclose further comprising a battery relay configured such that the battery can be charged from the external power supply when contacts of the battery relay are contacted, wherein direct-current (DC) power converted from alternating- current (AC) power from the external power supply is supplied to the battery via the battery relay.
However, Kamachi discloses, in figure 2, further comprising a battery relay (122, 106A) configured such that the battery (Fig. 1; 104) can be charged from the external power supply (Fig. 1; output of 206) when contacts of the battery relay (122, 106A) are contacted (Par 0040, 0042-0043), wherein direct-current (DC) power converted from alternating- current (AC) power (Fig. 1; output of 110) from the external power supply (Fig. 1; output of 206) is supplied to the battery (104) via the battery relay (122, 106A; Par 0040, 0042-0043).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurikuma’s construction machine by including a battery relay configured such that the battery can be charged from the external power supply when contacts of the battery relay are contacted, wherein direct-current (DC) power converted from alternating- current (AC) power from the external power supply is supplied to the battery via the battery relay as taught by Kamachi in order to enhance operability (Kamachi; Par 0045).
Conclusion
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836