DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, the claim states: “wherein a first field among the at least one first field is included in the MAC CE in a case that a CSI report configuration corresponding to the first field is activated by the second information” is unclear. The language of the limitation is unclear and it is not understood what is being stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Babaei (US 2023/0180225, hereinafter Babaei, claiming priority date of provisional application 63/287,324).
Regarding claim 1, Babaei discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, via higher layer signaling, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration list including at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device receives one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters such as first CSI report configuration parameters and one or more CSI report configurations in list of CSI report configurations, Para [0224], CSI-MeasConfig IE comprises csi-ReportConfigToAddModList IE indicating a list of one or more CSI report configurations, Para [0222]); receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including first information for activation/deactivation respectively of a plurality of configurations included in a CSI report configuration corresponding to the first information among the at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device may receive activation command, such as a MAC CE, indicating activation of the first CSI report configuration, Para [0228], one or more CSI reporting configurations can be activated from one or more MAC CEs, Para [0231]); and transmitting, on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CSI report including a CSI parameter based on a configuration activated by the first information (transmitting first CSI report based on first CSI report configuration parameters, Para [0320], transmit CSI report using PUCCH resources, Para [0319]. Also see Para [0222, 225, 227, 329, 330] of the provisional application).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Babaei discloses the method/UE/BS of claim 1/6/11/16, wherein the MAC CE further includes second information for activation/deactivation respectively of the at least one CSI report configuration, wherein the first information is at least one first field, and wherein a first field among the at least one first field is included in the MAC CE in case that a CSI report configuration corresponding to the first field is activated by the second information (there are different fields in the MAC CE, indicating different information, Para [0212]/Fig. 16, meaning there is first information is first field and second information in another field).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, Babaei discloses the method/UE/BS of claim 2/7/12/17, wherein the MAC CE further includes: a 5-bit serving cell field indicating a serving cell for which the MAC CE is applied, and a 2-bit bandwidth part (BWP) field indicating an uplink BWP for which the MAC CE is applied (5-bit serving cell field and 2-bit BWP field, Para [0212]/Fig. 16), wherein the second information is at least one second field indicating activation/deactivation of the at least one CSI report configuration, and wherein an i-th second field of the at least one second field corresponds to a CSI report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for semi-persistent CSI reporting in the uplink BWP and has an i-th lowest CSI report configuration identifier within the CSI report configuration list with type set to semiPersistentOnPUCCH (Si field indicating activation of CSI report configuration, with type set to semipersistentonPUCCH, Para [0212]/Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 6, Babaei discloses a user equipment (UE, Fig. 15) in a communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver, memory storing one or more computer programs and one or more processors (memory, processor, RF front end, Fig. 15) operably coupled with the transceiver and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to: receive, via higher layer signaling, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration list including at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device receives one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters such as first CSI report configuration parameters and one or more CSI report configurations in list of CSI report configurations, Para [0224], CSI-MeasConfig IE comprises csi-ReportConfigToAddModList IE indicating a list of one or more CSI report configurations, Para [0222]); receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including first information for activation/deactivation respectively of a plurality of configurations included in a CSI report configuration corresponding to the first information among the at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device may receive activation command, such as a MAC CE, indicating activation of the first CSI report configuration, Para [0228], one or more CSI reporting configurations can be activated from one or more MAC CEs, Para [0231]); and transmit, on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CSI report including a CSI parameter based on a configuration activated by the first information (transmitting first CSI report based on first CSI report configuration parameters, Para [0320], transmit CSI report using PUCCH resources, Para [0319]. Also see Para [0222, 225, 227, 329, 330] of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 11, Babaei discloses a method performed by a base station in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, via higher layer signaling, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration list including at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device receives one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters such as first CSI report configuration parameters and one or more CSI report configurations in list of CSI report configurations, Para [0224], CSI-MeasConfig IE comprises csi-ReportConfigToAddModList IE indicating a list of one or more CSI report configurations, Para [0222]); transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including first information for activation/deactivation respectively of a plurality of configurations included in a CSI report configuration corresponding to the first information among the at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device may receive activation command, such as a MAC CE, indicating activation of the first CSI report configuration, Para [0228], one or more CSI reporting configurations can be activated from one or more MAC CEs, Para [0231]); and receiving, on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CSI report including a CSI parameter associated with a configuration activated by the first information (transmitting first CSI report based on first CSI report configuration parameters, Para [0320], transmit CSI report using PUCCH resources, Para [0319]. Also see Para [0222, 225, 227, 329, 330] of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 16, Babaei discloses a base station (BS, Fig. 15) in a communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver, memory storing one or more computer programs and one or more processors (memory, processor, RF front end, Fig. 15) communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to: transmit, via higher layer signaling, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration list including at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device receives one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters such as first CSI report configuration parameters and one or more CSI report configurations in list of CSI report configurations, Para [0224], CSI-MeasConfig IE comprises csi-ReportConfigToAddModList IE indicating a list of one or more CSI report configurations, Para [0222]); transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including first information for activation/deactivation respectively of a plurality of configurations included in a CSI report configuration corresponding to the first information among the at least one CSI report configuration (wireless device may receive activation command, such as a MAC CE, indicating activation of the first CSI report configuration, Para [0228], one or more CSI reporting configurations can be activated from one or more MAC CEs, Para [0231]); and receive, on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a CSI report including a CSI parameter associated with a configuration activated by the first information (transmitting first CSI report based on first CSI report configuration parameters, Para [0320], transmit CSI report using PUCCH resources, Para [0319]. Also see Para [0222, 225, 227, 329, 330] of the provisional application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei and in view of Park et al (US 2025/0038906, hereinafter Park, claiming priority of provisional application 63/275,114).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Babaei discloses the method/UE/BS of claim 1/6/11/16, wherein in case that the configuration includes a power offset adjustment parameter, the CSI parameter is determined based on the power offset adjustment parameter in addition to a power control offset parameter for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) resource element (RE) and a non-zero power CSI reference signal (CSI-RS RE). Park discloses powercontrol offset and delta powercontroloffset is configured in a CSI reporting configuration and the UE can apply it, Para [0216] and power offset of PDSCH RE to CSI-RS RE, Para [0215] or see Para [0147-148] of the provisional application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Park in the system of Babaei in order to provide benefits in terms of UE complexity reduction and increased robustness for deriving CSI.
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei and in view of He et al (US 2025/0266879, hereinafter He, claiming the priority date of provisional application 63/363,821).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, Babaei discloses the method/UE/BS of claim 1/6/11/16, wherein in case that the configuration includes a port parameter bitmap including a certain number of bits mapped to the certain number of CSI-RS ports according to increasing order of values of the CSI-RS ports, the CSI parameter is determined based on at least one CSI-RS ports indicated by the port parameter bitmap. He discloses CSI-RS port bitmap provided in a configuration to the UE, bits arranged in increasing order of CSI-RS port index, Para [0191] or Para [0191] from the provisional application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by He in the system of Babaei in order to facilitate power savings in the network and allow for finer granularity adaptation of transmission/receptions.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461