DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to application filed on 03/27/2024. Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 2-3, 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, cited “a first session management network element, an edge application server” in lines 1-2, should be --[[a]] the first session management network element, [[an]] the edge application server-- to mark reference to “a first session management network element in a visited network, an edge application server” in claim 1, lines 3-4;
Claim 3, cited “a second session management” in line 3, should be –[[a]] the second session management-- to mark reference to “a second session management” of claim 1, line 6;
Claim 3, cited “address information” in line 2 should be –the address information-- to mark reference to “address information” recited in claim 1, lines 3-4;.
Claim 7, cited “address information of an edge application” in line 5-6, should be –the address information of [[an]] the edge application—to mark reference to “address information of an edge application” in claim 6, line 5;
Claim 7, cited “a second session management” in line 5, should be –[[a]] the second session management—to mark reference to “a second session management” of claim 6, line 6;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5.1. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
5.2. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al., (“Li”, WO 2020/001440 A1, for examining purpose using English version of US 2024/0244031 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches, a method for information transmission, comprising:
selecting, by a first session management network element in a visited network, an edge application server discovery network element in the visited network (Li, [0230-231, 109]: selecting, by a V-SMF (“1st session management function”), a V-EASDF (“edge application server discovery network element”) in a visited public land mobile network VPLMN); and
sending, by the first session management network element, address information of the edge application server discovery network element to a second session management network element in a home network (Li, [0233-234]: the V-SMF sends IP address information of the V-EASDF in the visited network to a user plane network element based on the information; [0335]: the V-SMF sends the information to a H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) in a home public land mobile network (HPLMN)).
Regarding Claim 2, Li teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the selecting, by a first session management network element, an edge application server discovery network element comprises:
selecting, by the first session management network element, the edge application server discovery network element in response to indication information, wherein the indication information indicates that local traffic routing is allowed in the visited network (Li, [0230]: a V-SMF (“1st SMF”) obtains information #B, where the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in a visited network).
Regarding Claim 3, Li teaches, the method according to claim 2, wherein the sending, by the first session management network element, address information of the edge application server discovery network element to a second session management network element comprises:
sending, by the first session management network element in response to the indication information, the address information of the edge application server discovery network element to the second session management network element (Li, [0038, 109]: the V-SMF (“1st SMF”) sends the IP address information to the H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) in the home network in response to the request).
Regarding Claim 4, Li teaches, the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first session management network element, the indication information from a network element deployed in the home network (Li, [0239-240]: V-SMF (“1st SMF”) receives the information #B from an H-SMF (“2nd SMF”)).
Regarding Claim 5, Li teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is applied to a home routed roaming scenario (Li, [0243]: V-SMF locally configured roaming protocol includes information #B corresponding to an HPLMN, and the V-SMF directly obtains, according to the locally configured roaming protocol, the information #B corresponding to the HPLMN).
Regarding Claim 6, Li teaches, a method for information transmission, comprising:
receiving, from a first session management network element in a visited network by a second session management network element in a home network, address information of an edge application server discovery network element in the visited network (Li, [0230-234]: A V-SMF (“1st SMF”) obtains information #B, where the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in a visited network; V-SMF sends IP address information of the visited network to a user plane network element (V-EASDF) based on the information #B); and
sending, by the second session management network element, the address information of the edge application server discovery network element to a terminal device (Li, [0188]: H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) first determine the VPLMN, and then obtain the corresponding information #B based on the VPLMN. It should be noted that the H-SMF may determine the information #B based on a message received from the V-SMF and a local configuration).
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches, the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the second session management network element, indication information, wherein the indication information indicates that local traffic routing is authorized in the visited network (Li, [0134-137]: a H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) obtains IP address information of a visited network VPLMN;[0148]: the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in the visited network VPLMN; and
the obtaining, by a second session management network element, address information of an edge application server discovery network element comprises: obtaining, by the second session management network element, the address information of the edge application server discovery network element in response to the indication information (Li, [0148-149]: a H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) the H-SMF learns that traffic routing is allowed in the VPLMN, the H-SMF sends the information #A to the H-EASDF).
Regarding Claim 8, Li teaches, the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the second session management network element, indication information, wherein the indication information indicates that local traffic routing is authorized in the visited network (Li, [0134-137]: a H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) obtains IP address information of a visited network VPLMN; [0148]: the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in the visited network VPLMN); and
the sending, by the second session management network element, the address information of the edge application server discovery network element to a terminal device comprises: sending, by the second session management network element, the address information of the edge application server discovery network element to the terminal device in response to the indication information (Li, S320, [0148-149]: a H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) the H-SMF learns that traffic routing is allowed in the VPLMN, the H-SMF sends the information #A to the H-EASDF).
Regarding Claim 9, Li teaches, the method according to claim 8, wherein the obtaining indication information comprises:
receiving, by the second session management network element, the indication information from a network element deployed in the home network; or locally configuring, by the second session management network element, the indication information (Li, [0186-187]: H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) locally configures roaming protocol includes the information #B corresponding to the VPLMN, and the H-SMF directly obtains, according to the locally configured roaming protocol, the information #B corresponding to the VPLMN).
Regarding Claim 10, Li teaches, the method according to claim 6, wherein the method is applied to a home routed roaming scenario (Li, [0005]: to access a service in a VPLMN by using IP address information of the VPLMN, so that a local edge application server (EAS) in an home routed (HR) roaming scenario is discovered).
Regarding Claim 11, Li teaches, an apparatus in a visited network, comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (Li, FIG.13, processor 1310, memory 1320, [0587]: the processor 1310 is configured to execute the computer program or the instructions stored in the memory 1320, to implement a related operation of the first session management network element (1st SMF)):
select an edge application server discovery network element in the visited network (Li, [0230-231, 109]: selecting, by V-SMF (“1st SMF”), a V-EASDF (“edge application server discovery network element”) in the visited public land mobile network (VPLMN)); and
send address information of the edge application server discovery network element to a second session management network element in a home network (Li, [0233-234]: the V-SMF sends IP address information of the V-EASDF to an user plane network element based on the information #B; [0335]: the V-SMF sends the information to the H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) in a home public land mobile network (HPLMN)).
Regarding Claim 12, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the edge application server discovery network element is selected in response to indication information, wherein the indication information indicates that local traffic routing is allowed in the visited network (Li, [0230]: the V-SMF (“1st SMF”) obtains information #B, where the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in a visited network).
Regarding Claim 13, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the address information of the edge application server discovery network element is sent in response to the indication information (Li, [0038, 109]: the V-SMF sends the IP address information to the H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) in the home network HPLMN in response to the request).
Regarding Claim 14, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive the indication information from a network element deployed in the home network (Li, [0239-240]: the V-SMF (“1st SMF”) receives the information #B from an H-SMF (“2nd SMF”)).
Regarding Claim 15, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the apparatus is applied to a home routed roaming scenario (Li, [0243]: V-SMF locally configured roaming protocol includes information #B corresponding to an home network HPLMN, and the V-SMF directly obtains, according to the locally configured roaming protocol, the information #B corresponding to the HPLMN).
Regarding Claim 16, Li teaches, an apparatus in a home network, comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (Li, FIG.13, processor 1310, memory 1320, [0586]: the processor 1310 is configured to execute the computer program or the instructions stored in the memory 1320, to implement a related operation of the second session management network element (H-SMF) in a home network (HPLMN)):
receive, from a first session management network element in a visited network, address information of an edge application server discovery network element in the visited network (Li, , [0230-234]: A V-SMF (“1st SMF”) obtains information #B, where the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in a visited network (VPLMN); the V-SMF sends IP address information of the visited network to a user plane network element (V-EASDF) based on the information #B); and
send the address information of the edge application server discovery network element to a terminal device (Li, [0188]: H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) first determine the VPLMN, and then obtain the corresponding information #B based on the VPLMN. It should be noted that the H-SMF may determine the information #B based on a message received from the V-SMF and a local configuration).
Regarding Claim 17, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
obtain indication information, wherein the indication information indicates that local traffic routing is authorized in the visited network (Li, [0134-137]: the H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) obtains IP address information of a visited network VPLMN; [0148]: the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in the visited network VPLMN); and
the address information of the edge application server discovery network element is received in response to the indication information (Li, [0148-149]: the H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) learns that traffic routing is allowed in the VPLMN, the H-SMF sends the information #A to the H-EASDF).
Regarding Claim 18, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
obtain indication information, wherein the indication information indicates that local traffic routing is authorized in the visited network (Li, [0134-137]: the H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) obtains IP address information of a visited network VPLMN; [0148]: the information #B indicates that traffic routing is allowed in the visited network VPLMN); and
the address information of the edge application server discovery network element is sent to the terminal device in response to the indication information (Li, S320, [0148-149]: a H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) the H-SMF learns that traffic routing is allowed in the VPLMN, the H-SMF sends the information #A to the H-EASDF).
Regarding Claim 19, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the indication information is obtained by:
receiving the indication information from a network element deployed in the home network; or locally configuring the indication information (Li, [0186-187]: the H-SMF (“2nd SMF”) locally configures roaming protocol includes the information #B corresponding to the VPLMN, and the H-SMF directly obtains, according to the locally configured roaming protocol, the information #B corresponding to the VPLMN).
Regarding Claim 20, Li teaches, the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is applied to a home routed roaming scenario (Li, [0005]: to access a service in a VPLMN by using IP address information of the VPLMN, so that a local edge application server (EAS) in an home routed (HR) roaming scenario is discovered).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lee et al. , US 2022/0263788 A1, Method For Discovering Edge Application Server By EAS Discover Function Entity For Informing Address Of EAS While Providing Edge Computing In E.g. Fifth Generation System To User Equipment, Involves Receiving Domain Name System Response Message Comprising Internet Protocol Address From Server.
Lu et al., US 2023/0199595 A1, Method For Providing Enhanced-solution-for-establishment-of-data-unit-session-to-terminal-device-supports-insertion/change-of Second-second-SMF, Involves Determining Whether First-in-first-out-of First-aspect Is Satisfied.
be directed to CHHIAN (AMY) LING whose telephone number is (571)270-1074. The examiner can
normally be reached M-F 9-6 ET.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
BRIAN J GILLIS can be reached on (571) 272-7952. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions,
contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance
from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/C.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446