DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending, of which Claims 1 & 10 are independent. All claims are examined on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 & 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 15-16, 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,969,326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because said patented claim 1 recites all of the limitations in the current claim 1, including an absorbent article having three layers, wherein each layer has a periphery, a backsheet, an absorbent core, and a topsheet, the third layer periphery being entirely within the second layer periphery, and the second layer periphery being entirely within the first layer periphery. The patented claim 1 recites additional limitations found in the current claims 2-3. The patented claims 2-3, 15-16, & 18 read on the current claims 4-5 & 10-12, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claim 19, it is recited “the second layer tab does not extend beyond the periphery of the second layer” but a tab would necessarily protrude out and would extend beyond its own periphery/perimeter. Examiner believes that Applicant intends to recite “the second layer tab does not extend beyond the periphery of the first layer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleuskens et al. (US 2017/0216111).
Re Claim 1, Kleuskens discloses an absorbent article comprising:
a first layer (chassis absorbent unit 58) comprising:
a first periphery (formed by the edges of chassis topsheet 96 and chassis backsheet 98, see e.g., Figs. 17-19);
a first liquid impervious backsheet (chassis backsheet 98);
a first absorbent core (chassis absorbent core 59); and
a first moisture pervious topsheet (chassis topsheet 96);
a second layer (absorbent insert 100) comprising:
a second periphery (when line of weakness 150 is ruptured, the second periphery is exposed, see Figs. 17-19);
a second liquid impervious backsheet (insert backsheet 104);
a second absorbent (insert absorbent core 112); and
a second moisture pervious topsheet (insert topsheet 108); and
a third layer (second absorbent insert 102) comprising:
a third periphery ([0062] “a second absorbent insert 102 of relatively smaller dimensions can be bonded to the insert topsheet of the first-applied absorbent insert 100”);
a third liquid impervious backsheet (it is implied that all absorbent inserts have the same structure, [0062]);
a third absorbent core (it is implied that all absorbent inserts have the same structure, [0062]); and
a third moisture pervious topsheet (it is implied that all absorbent inserts have the same structure, [0062]);
wherein the second layer is removably attached to the first layer (via line of weakness 150, which can be ruptured to let the second layer be removed from the first layer, Figs. 18-19);
wherein the third layer is removably attached to the second layer (implied that all absorbent inserts are attached to the chassis in the same way, via bonded area 116, Fig. 17, [0067]); and
wherein the second periphery is positioned within and spaced apart from the first periphery for the entirety of the first periphery (see Fig. 17 where line of weakness 150 is entirely spaced apart from the solid contour line that defines chassis 58).
While Kleuskens does not make it explicitly clear that the third periphery is positioned within and spaced apart from the second periphery for the entirety of the second periphery, it can be gleaned from Kleuskens’s teachings that all absorbent inserts (100 and 102) are likely attached to the chassis via the bonded area (116, Fig. 17) such that each absorbent insert would be removed by tearing at a line of weakness (150) for that absorbent insert (as shown in Fig. 19), and leaving behind a resident portion (140, Fig. 19) that would remain bonded to the chassis (58). Given that Kleuskens also disclose the third layer (second absorbent insert 102) may be smaller than the first absorbent insert (100, [0062]), it can be reasoned that the third periphery (defined by the line of weakness in the third layer) would be positioned within and spaced apart from the second periphery (which is defined by the line of weakness 150 for the second layer/absorbent insert 100) for the entirety of the second periphery.
Re Claim 2, Kleuskens discloses claim 1 and further disclosing wherein the second backsheet contacts the first topsheet (see e.g., Fig. 18, when the article is worn in the crotch region, the pressure from the user’s body and the underwear that keeps the article against the user’s skin would eliminate any potential gaps between the second backsheet and the first topsheet).
Re Claim 3, Kleuskens discloses claim 1 and further discloses wherein the third backsheet contacts the second topsheet (since it is implied that the second absorbent insert 102 would be attached to the first absorbent insert 100 in the same way the first absorbent insert is attached to the chassis 58).
Re Claim 4, Kleuskens discloses claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second layer is removably attached to the first layer by an adhesive positioned between the second layer and the first layer ([0057] discloses the perimeter bonding can be adhesive).
Re Claim 9, Kleuskens discloses claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second layer has a generally hour-glass shape (after rupturing the line of weakness 150, see Fig. 17).
Re Claim 10, Kleuskens discloses an absorbent article comprising:
a first layer (chassis 58), a second layer (absorbent insert 100), and a third layer (second absorbent insert 102, [0062]); wherein an outside surface of the third layer is coupled to an inside surface of the second layer and an outside surface of the second layer is coupled to an inside surface of the first layer (implied from Figs. 18-19 and [0062]);
wherein the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer each comprise an absorbent core (chassis absorbent core 59 and insert absorbent cores 112) positioned between a liquid impervious backsheet (chassis backsheet 98 and insert backsheets 104) and a moisture pervious inner layer (chassis topsheet 96 and insert topsheets 108); and
wherein the third layer is nested into the second layer such that a periphery of the third layer is spaced inwardly from a periphery of the second layer around the entire second layer periphery, and the second layer is nested into the first layer such that the periphery of the second layer is spaced inwardly from a periphery of the first layer around the entire first layer periphery (implied from Figs. 17-19, where the insert 100 has a periphery smaller than that of the chassis 58 because the insert is removed by rupturing the line of weakness 150, best shown in Fig. 19).
Re Claim 12, Kleuskens discloses claim 10 and also discloses an adhesive positioned around a perimeter of each layer ([0057] discloses the perimeter bonding can be adhesive; note “around” in this claim is broadly interpreted to mean “surrounding”).
Re Claim 13, Kleuskens discloses claim 10 and further discloses wherein the absorbent article is a disposable incontinence pad ([0041] “an adult incontinence article”).
Re Claim 15, Kleuskens discloses claim 10 and further discloses wherein the absorbent core of the first layer comprises a core periphery that diverges from the periphery of the first layer such that a distance between the core periphery and the first layer periphery varies (Fig. 3 shows the contours of chassis absorbent core 59 being different from the topsheet 96 or backsheet 98).
Re Claim 16, Kleuskens discloses claim 10 and further disclosing a third layer tab (tab 160, given that third layer/second absorbent insert 102 would have the same construction as second layer/first absorbent insert 100 as implied in [0062]) extending from the periphery of the third layer.
Claims 5-8, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleuskens in view of Grenier (US 5,429,631).
Re Claims 5-6, Kleuskens discloses claim 4 but does not disclose wherein the adhesive is positioned on the second backsheet adjacent to a periphery of the second backsheet or wherein the adhesive extends across a peripheral area of the second backsheet and does not extend across a central area of the second backsheet. Kleuskens does contemplate using adhesive when joining the layers of the article together ([0058]) but does not provide details as to the location of the adhesive. Grenier discloses two sanitary napkins stacked together and wherein the top sanitary napkin is adhered to the bottom sanitary napkin via adhesive strips (162, 164, Fig. 3) disposed at the edges of the backsheet of the top sanitary napkin (col. 5 lines 29-33). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Kleuskens by adding the backsheet adhesive strips to further secure stacked pads together (MPEP 2143).
Re Claims 7-8, Kleuskens discloses claim 1 but does not teach a release liner coupled to an outside surface of the first backsheet and wherein the release liner is coupled to the outside surface of the first backsheet via an adhesive in a plurality of spaced apart sites. Kleuskens discloses that the article is not limited to disposable diapers but also other articles such as disposable menstrual products. Grenier discloses a stacked article formed of multiple sanitary napkins, the bottom-most sanitary napkin having a plurality of spaced apart adhesive sites on its backsheet each covered by a release liner (178, Figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Kleuskens with Grenier such that the article, when configured as a disposable menstrual product, can be selectively attached to the crotch region of an underwear.
Re Claim 11, Kleuskens discloses claim 10 but does not teach a release liner coupled to the first layer. Kleuskens discloses that the article is not limited to disposable diapers but also other articles such as disposable menstrual products. Grenier discloses a stacked article formed of multiple sanitary napkins, the bottom-most sanitary napkin having a plurality of spaced apart adhesive sites on its backsheet each covered by a release liner (178, Figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Kleuskens with Grenier such that the article, when configured as a disposable menstrual product, can be selectively attached to the crotch region of an underwear.
Re Claim 14, Kleuskens discloses claim 10 but does not show wherein the absorbent core of the first layer comprises a core periphery that corresponds to the periphery of the first layer such that the core periphery is spaced from the first layer periphery by a consistent distance. Kleuskens instead shows a rectangular topsheet/backsheet with an hourglass-shaped absorbent core, thus the core periphery does not space from the first layer periphery by a constant distance. However, Kleuskens also discloses that the first layer absorbent core (59) can be any suitable shape or size ([0045]) and therefore simple shape changes, e.g., to a rectangular shape that matches the first layer periphery, would be obvious to one skilled in the art through routine experimentation.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleuskens in view of Nukina et al. (US 6,730,067).
Re Claim 17, Kleuskens discloses claim 16 but does not teach wherein the third layer tab does not extend beyond the periphery of the second layer. Nukina discloses a stacked absorbent article wherein each pad has a tab, and the tab of the smallest pad in the stack does not extend past the periphery of the next size pad (see Fig. 10(a)). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify with Nukina’s teaching since such a tab configuration is known and sufficient to serve the function of letting the user grasp the corresponding pad.
Re Claim 18, Kleuskens discloses claim 17 and further disclosing a second layer tab extending from the periphery of the second layer (e.g., Fig. 3).
Re Claim 19, Kleuskens discloses claim 18 and further disclosing wherein the second layer tab does not extend beyond the periphery of the first layer (e.g., Fig. 3).
Re Claim 20, Kleuskens discloses claim 18 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the third layer tab does not overlap with the second layer tab. However, since Claim 17 already requires that the third layer tab does not extend beyond the second layer periphery and Kleuskens and Nukina disclose tabs that extend outward, the third layer tab, which is within the second layer periphery, is not able to overlap with the second layer tab, which is outside of the second layer periphery.
Conclusion
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 13 February 2026