DETAILED ACTION
The amendment regarding 35 USC 112 rejection is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duquerroy et al. (US 6224407 B1).
In regard to claim 11, Duquerroy et al. discloses a coaxial connector assembly 2 comprising:
a coaxial connector comprising:
a floating terminal module 10 comprising a first insulating housing 44, a first inner conductor 40 received in the first insulating housing 44, and a first outer conductor 46 surrounding outside of the first insulating housing 44, the first inner conductor 40 having a mating portion 38 extending upwardly and a first connecting portion 57 extending downwardly; and
a fixed terminal module 4 comprising a second insulating housing 84, a second inner conductor 58 fixed on the second insulating housing 84, and a second outer conductor 66 surrounding outside of the second insulating housing 84; and
a mating connector 16 comprising a case 34, a center terminal 22, and a shielding shell 34 surrounding the center terminal 22;
wherein the first connecting portion 57 elastically (via 68) abuts the second inner conductor 58 downward, the second outer conductor 66 is assembled on the coaxial outside of the first outer conductor 46, a lower end of the first outer conductor 46 is floatingly connected to an upper end of the second outer conductor 66, the mating portion 38 is electrically connected to the central terminal 22, the first outer conductor 46 is electrically connected to the shielding shell 34, and when the coaxial connector and the mating connector 16 are offset in an up and lower direction the floating terminal module 10 uses the first connecting portion 57 as a fulcrum (via 56) to deflect radially relative to the fixed terminal module 4.
In regard to claim 12, Duquerroy et al. discloses the first outer conductor 46 has a third connecting portion 64 extending downwardly, the second inner conductor 58 has a second connecting portion 85 and a soldering tail 93, the second outer conductor 66 has a fourth connecting portion (where 64 engages 66 as shown in fig. 2) and a soldering portion 104 opposite the fourth connecting portion, first connecting portion 57 elastically (via 68) abuts the
second connecting portion 85 downward, and the third connecting portion 64 is floatingly connected to the fourth connecting portion.
In regard to claim 17, Duquerroy et al. discloses a coaxial connector comprising:
a floating terminal module 10 comprising a first insulating housing 44, a first inner conductor 40 received in the first insulating housing 44, and a first outer conductor 46 surrounding outside of the first insulating housing 44; and a fixed terminal module 4 comprising a second insulating housing 84, a second inner conductor 58 fixed on the second insulating housing 84, and a second outer conductor 66 surrounding outside of the second insulating housing 84;
wherein the first inner conductor 40 elastically (via 68) abuts the second inner conductor 58 downward, the second outer conductor 66 is assembled on the coaxial outside of the first outer conductor 46, a lower end 62 of the first outer conductor 46 is floatingly connected to an upper end of the second outer conductor 66, and the floating terminal module 10 uses the first inner conductor 40 as a fulcrum (via 56) to deflect radially relative to the fixed terminal module 4.
In regard to claim 18, Duquerroy et al. discloses the first inner conductor 40 has a mating portion 38 extending upwardly and a first connecting portion 57 extending downwardly, the first outer conductor 46 has a third connecting portion 64 extending downwardly, the second inner conductor 58 has a second connecting portion 85 and a soldering tail 93, the second outer conductor 66 has a fourth connecting portion (where 64 engages 66 as shown in fig. 2) and a soldering portion 104 opposite the fourth connecting portion, the first connecting portion 57 elastically (via 68) abuts the second connecting portion 85 downward, and the third connecting portion 64 is floatingly connected to the fourth connecting portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duquerroy et al..
In regard to claim 13, Duquerroy et al. discloses a lower end of the shielding shell 34 has a mouth portion (adjacent 48) for receiving the first coaxial connector, and the mouth portion connecting to the first outer conductor 46.
However, Duquerroy et al. does not disclose the mouth portion is arranged in a trumpet shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Duquerroy et al. by having the mouth portion with a trumpet shape since applicants have presented no explanation that this particular configuration of the mouth portion is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing mating surfaces between two members. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-10 are allowed.
Claims 14-16, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Duquerroy et al., corresponding first connecting portion (57) of identified first inner conductor (40) does not function as "a fulcrum to deflect radially" relative to identified fixed terminal module (connector 4) when offsetting/misalignment occurs, as is required in claim 11.
Contrary to applicant’s argument, due to the shape of the contact surface of the recess 56 and the contact end 85, the first connecting portion 57 would act as a fulcrum when receiving the contact end contact 85 of the connector 4 and when offsetting/misalignment occurs.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tdt
9/5/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834