DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (USPG Pub No. 2023/0064006), hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a focusing lens assembly (see Fig. 8a), comprising: a housing (140), provided with an accommodating space, wherein the accommodating space forms a light incidence port in the housing (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 142, Line 2); a liquid lens (310), covering the light incidence port and comprising an operating member (311), wherein the liquid lens has a liquid lens optical axis (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 113); a solid lens assembly (400), located in the accommodating space and having a solid lens optical axis (see Fig. 8a), wherein the liquid lens optical axis substantially coincides with the solid lens optical axis (see Fig. 8a); an elastic member set (150, 160), configured to suspend the solid lens assembly in the accommodating space (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 142, Lines 2-3); and a driving assembly (100-1) (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 140), comprising: a coil set (120), fixed to the solid lens assembly (400) (see Fig. 8a); and a fixed magnet set (130), fixed to the housing (140) and corresponding to the coil set (120) (see Fig. 8a), wherein when the coil set is driven, the coil set interacts with the fixed magnet set, so that the solid lens assembly moves along the solid lens optical axis to selectively enable the solid lens assembly (400) to abut (via 111) against the operating member (311) (see Fig. 8a, Paragraphs 258, 259).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the coil set (120) comprises two first coils and two second coils (Paragraph 492, Lines 1-2), the fixed magnet (130) set comprises three first fixed magnets and three second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 202-205), the first coils are fixed to a first side of the solid lens assembly (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second coils are fixed to a second side of the solid lens assembly (Paragraph 165), the first fixed magnets are fixed to a first side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second fixed magnets are fixed to a second side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first coils correspond to the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 165, 173), and the second coils correspond to the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 165, 173).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the first fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), the first coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205), the second fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), and the second coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the elastic member set (150, 160) comprises a front elastic member (150) and a rear elastic member (160), a position of the solid lens assembly (400) close to the light incidence port of the housing is a front end (see Fig. 2b), an end of the solid lens assembly opposite the front end is a rear end (see Fig. 2b), the front elastic member (150) is connected between the front end and the housing (see Fig. 8a), and the rear elastic member (160) is connected between the rear end and the housing (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the front elastic member (150) comprises two front elastic pieces (Paragraph 228), the two front elastic pieces are connected between the front end and the housing (see Fig. 8a), the rear elastic member (160) comprises two rear elastic pieces (Paragraph 228), and the two rear elastic pieces are connected between the rear end and the housing (see Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the solid lens assembly (400) comprises: a carrier (410), provided with a channel (see Fig. 8a); a plurality of lenses (420), fixed to the channel (see Fig. 8a); and a cap (111), wherein the driving assembly drives the carrier (410) to move along the solid lens optical axis to selectively enable the cap (111) to abut against the operating member (311) (see Fig. 8b, Paragraph 141).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the liquid lens (310) further comprises: a lens mount (300 with 312), provided with a through hole (see Fig. 8a); a first film (311); a second film (311), wherein the first film and the second film are fixed to the lens mount and cover the through hole (see Fig. 8a); and a fluid (313), accommodated among the through hole, the first film, and the second film (Paragraph 115), wherein the operating member (contacting surface with 111 of film 311) is connected to an other side of the second film (311) facing away from the fluid (313) (see Figs. 8a, 8b).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a periscopic image capturing device (see Fig. 27a), comprising: an optical redirecting component (1200), comprising an incident surface, a reflective surface, and an emergent surface, wherein an imaging light ray is incident from the incident surface and reflected by the reflective surface and then emitted from the emergent surface (see Fig. 27a, Paragraphs 385, 386); a focusing lens assembly (2000) (see Figs. 27a, 27b, Paragraphs 384, 390), comprising: a housing (140), provided with an accommodating space, wherein the accommodating space forms a light incidence port and a light emergence port in the housing (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 142, Line 2); a liquid lens (310), covering the light incidence port and comprising an operating member (311), wherein the liquid lens corresponds to the emergent surface and has a liquid lens optical axis (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 113); a solid lens assembly (400), located in the accommodating space and having a solid lens optical axis (see Fig. 8a), wherein the liquid lens optical axis and the solid lens optical axis substantially coincide and are substantially perpendicular to the emergent surface (see Figs. 8a, 27a); an elastic member set (150, 160), configured to suspend the solid lens assembly in the accommodating space (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 142, Lines 2-3); and a driving assembly (100-1) (see Fig. 8a, Paragraph 140), comprising: a coil set (120), fixed to the solid lens assembly (400) (see Fig. 8a); and a fixed magnet set (130), fixed to the housing (140) and corresponding to the coil set (120) (see Fig. 8a), wherein when the coil set is driven, the coil set interacts with the fixed magnet set, so that the solid lens assembly moves along the solid lens optical axis to selectively enable the solid lens assembly to abut (via 111) against the operating member (311) (see Fig. 8a, Paragraphs 258, 259); and an image sensor (1600), located on an outer side of the light emergence port (see Fig. 27b, Paragraph 384), wherein the solid lens optical axis substantially extends through a central region of a sensing region of the image sensor (see Fig. 27b).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses wherein the coil set (120) comprises two first coils and two second coils (Paragraph 492, Lines 1-2), the fixed magnet set (130) comprises three first fixed magnets and three second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 202-205), the first coils are fixed to a first side of a carrier of the solid lens assembly (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second coils are fixed to a second side of the carrier (Paragraph 165), the first fixed magnets are fixed to a first side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second fixed magnets are fixed to a second side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), the first coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205), the second fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), and the second coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Kim discloses wherein the elastic member set (150, 160) normally has a force to enable the solid lens assembly to abut against the operating member (311) (Paragraphs 229-234).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses wherein the elastic member set (150, 160) comprises a front elastic member (150) and a rear elastic member (160), a position of the solid lens assembly (400) close to the light incidence port of the housing is a front end (see Fig. 2b), a position of the solid lens assembly close to the light emergence port is a rear end (see Fig. 2b), the front elastic member (150) is connected between the front end and the housing (see Fig. 8a), and the rear elastic member (160) is connected between the rear end and the housing (see Fig. 8a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (USPG Pub No. 2023/0064006) in view of Oh (USPG Pub No. 2022/0137486).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the first coils (120) are fixed to a first side of a carrier of the solid lens assembly (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second coils (120) are fixed to a second side of the carrier (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first fixed magnets (130) are fixed to a first side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second fixed magnets (130) are fixed to a second side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), the first coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205), the second fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), and the second coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205). Kim discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the coil set comprises three first coils and three second coils, the fixed magnet set comprises four first fixed magnets and four second fixed magnets. In the same field of endeavor, Oh discloses wherein the coil set comprises three first coils and three second coils (see Fig. 15), the fixed magnet set comprises four first fixed magnets and four second fixed magnets (see Fig. 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the focusing lens assembly of Kim with wherein the coil set comprises three first coils and three second coils, the fixed magnet set comprises four first fixed magnets and four second fixed magnets of Oh for the purpose of controlling the direction and movement of the lens (Paragraph 75).
Prior Art Citations
Wang et al. (USP No. 12,204,117) is being cited herein to show a focusing lens assembly relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 2/20/2026