DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (USPG Pub No. 2023/0064006), hereinafter “Kim”, in view of Aschwanden et al. (USPG Pub No. 2024/0077789), hereinafter “Aschwanden”.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a focusing lens assembly (see Figs. 12, 24), comprising: a housing (140), provided with an accommodating space, wherein the accommodating space forms a light incidence port in the housing (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 142, Line 2); a liquid lens (310), covering the light incidence port and comprising an operating member (325A), wherein the liquid lens has a liquid lens optical axis (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 113), the liquid lens further comprises: a first film (311-upper) and a second film (311-lower), the operating member (325A) is connected to a surface of the second film and enables a radius of curvature of the liquid lens to change (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraphs 310, 350); a solid lens assembly (400), located in the accommodating space and having a solid lens optical axis (see Figs. 12, 24), wherein the liquid lens optical axis substantially coincides with the solid lens optical axis (see Figs. 12, 24); an elastic member set (150, 160), configured to suspend the solid lens assembly in the accommodating space (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 142, Lines 2-3); and a driving assembly (100-1) (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 140), comprising: a coil set (120), fixed to the solid lens assembly (400) (see Figs. 12, 24); and a fixed magnet set (130), fixed to the housing (140) and corresponding to the coil set (120) (see Figs. 12, 24), wherein when the coil set is driven, the coil set interacts with the fixed magnet set, so that the solid lens assembly moves along the solid lens optical axis to selectively enable the solid lens assembly (400) to abut (via 111) against the operating member (311) (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraphs 258, 259). Kim discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the operating member is a transparent material. In the same field of endeavor, Aschwanden discloses wherein the operating member (13) is a transparent material (Paragraph 70). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the focusing lens assembly of Kim with wherein the operating member is a transparent material of Aschwanden for the purpose of changing the focal power of the tunable optical component (Paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the coil set (120) comprises two first coils and two second coils (Paragraph 492, Lines 1-2), the fixed magnet (130) set comprises three first fixed magnets and three second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 202-205), the first coils are fixed to a first side of the solid lens assembly (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second coils are fixed to a second side of the solid lens assembly (Paragraph 165), the first fixed magnets are fixed to a first side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second fixed magnets are fixed to a second side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first coils correspond to the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 165, 173), and the second coils correspond to the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 165, 173).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses wherein the first fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), the first coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205), the second fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), and the second coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein the elastic member set (150, 160) comprises a front elastic member (150) and a rear elastic member (160), a position of the solid lens assembly (400) close to the light incidence port of the housing is a front end (see Fig. 2b), an end of the solid lens assembly opposite the front end is a rear end (see Fig. 2b), the front elastic member (150) is connected between the front end and the housing (see Figs. 12, 24), and the rear elastic member (160) is connected between the rear end and the housing (see Figs. 12, 24).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further discloses wherein the front elastic member (150) comprises two front elastic pieces (Paragraph 228), the two front elastic pieces are connected between the front end and the housing (see Figs. 12, 24), the rear elastic member (160) comprises two rear elastic pieces (Paragraph 228), and the two rear elastic pieces are connected between the rear end and the housing (see Figs. 12, 24).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further discloses wherein the solid lens assembly (400) comprises: a carrier (410), provided with a channel (see Fig. 12); a plurality of lenses (420), fixed to the channel (see Figs. 12, 24); and a cap (110A or upper surface of 400), wherein the driving assembly drives the carrier (410) to move along the solid lens optical axis to selectively enable the cap (110A or upper surface of 400) to abut against the operating member (325) (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraphs 300, 345).
Regarding claim 9, Kim further discloses wherein the liquid lens (310) further comprises: a lens mount (320 with 312), provided with a through hole (see Figs. 12, 24); the first film (311); the second film (311), wherein the first film and the second film are fixed to the lens mount and cover the through hole (see Figs. 12, 24); and a fluid (313), accommodated among the through hole, the first film, and the second film (Paragraph 115), wherein the operating member (325) is connected to an other side of the second film (311) facing away from the fluid (313) (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraphs 310, 350).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a periscopic image capturing device (see Fig. 27a), comprising: an optical redirecting component (1200), comprising an incident surface, a reflective surface, and an emergent surface, wherein an imaging light ray is incident from the incident surface and reflected by the reflective surface and then emitted from the emergent surface (see Fig. 27a, Paragraphs 385, 386); a focusing lens assembly (see Figs. 12, 24), comprising: a housing (140), provided with an accommodating space, wherein the accommodating space forms a light incidence port and a light emergence port in the housing (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 142, Line 2); a liquid lens (310), covering the light incidence port and comprising an operating member (325A), wherein the liquid lens has a liquid lens corresponds to the emergent surface and has a liquid optical axis (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 113), the liquid lens further comprises: a first film (311-upper) and a second film (311-lower), the operating member (325A) is connected to a surface of the second film and enables a radius of curvature of the liquid lens to change (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraphs 310, 350); a solid lens assembly (400), located in the accommodating space and having a solid lens optical axis (see Figs. 12, 24), wherein the liquid lens optical axis and the solid lens optical axis substantially coincide and are substantially perpendicular to the emergent surface (see Figs. 12, 24); an elastic member set (150, 160), configured to suspend the solid lens assembly in the accommodating space (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 142, Lines 2-3); and a driving assembly (100-1) (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraph 140), comprising: a coil set (120), fixed to the solid lens assembly (400) (see Figs. 12, 24); and a fixed magnet set (130), fixed to the housing (140) and corresponding to the coil set (120) (see Figs. 12, 24), wherein when the coil set is driven, the coil set interacts with the fixed magnet set, so that the solid lens assembly moves along the solid lens optical axis to selectively enable the solid lens assembly (400) to abut (via 111) against the operating member (311) (see Figs. 12, 24, Paragraphs 258, 259); and an image sensor (1600), located on an outer side of the light emergence port (see Fig. 27b, Paragraph 384), wherein the solid lens optical axis substantially extends through a central region of a sensing region of the image sensor (see Fig. 27b). Kim discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the operating member is a transparent material. In the same field of endeavor, Aschwanden discloses wherein the operating member (13) is a transparent material (Paragraph 70). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the periscopic image capturing device of Kim with wherein the operating member is a transparent material of Aschwanden for the purpose of changing the focal power of the tunable optical component (Paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 11, Kim further discloses wherein the coil set (120) comprises two first coils and two second coils (Paragraph 492, Lines 1-2), the fixed magnet set (130) comprises three first fixed magnets and three second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 202-205), the first coils are fixed to a first side of a carrier of the solid lens assembly (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second coils are fixed to a second side of the carrier (Paragraph 165), the first fixed magnets are fixed to a first side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second fixed magnets are fixed to a second side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), the first coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205), the second fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), and the second coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Kim further discloses wherein the elastic member set (150, 160) normally has a force to enable the solid lens assembly to abut against the operating member (311) (Paragraphs 229-234).
Regarding claim 13, Kim further discloses wherein the elastic member set (150, 160) comprises a front elastic member (150) and a rear elastic member (160), a position of the solid lens assembly (400) close to the light incidence port of the housing is a front end (see Fig. 2b), a position of the solid lens assembly close to the light emergence port is a rear end (see Fig. 2b), the front elastic member (150) is connected between the front end and the housing (see Fig. 8a), and the rear elastic member (160) is connected between the rear end and the housing (see Figs. 12, 24).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (USPG Pub No. 2023/0064006) in view of Aschwanden (USPG Pub No. 2024/0077789) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh (USPG Pub No. 2022/0137486).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the first coils (120) are fixed to a first side of a carrier of the solid lens assembly (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second coils (120) are fixed to a second side of the carrier (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first fixed magnets (130) are fixed to a first side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the second fixed magnets (130) are fixed to a second side of the housing (Paragraphs 165, 173), the first fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), the first coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the first fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205), the second fixed magnets are adjacent in sequence (Paragraphs 202-206), and the second coils correspond respectively to adjacent positions of the second fixed magnets (Paragraphs 173, 205). Kim and Aschwanden disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the coil set comprises three first coils and three second coils, the fixed magnet set comprises four first fixed magnets and four second fixed magnets. In the same field of endeavor, Oh discloses wherein the coil set comprises three first coils and three second coils (see Fig. 15), the fixed magnet set comprises four first fixed magnets and four second fixed magnets (see Fig. 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the focusing lens assembly of Kim and Aschwanden with wherein the coil set comprises three first coils and three second coils, the fixed magnet set comprises four first fixed magnets and four second fixed magnets of Oh for the purpose of controlling the direction and movement of the lens (Paragraph 75).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Kim does not disclose or teach the claims as presented.
The embodiments of Figs. 12 and 24 of Kim teach a pressing frame 325, interpreted as the recited operating member, that is separate from the bobbin 110. Paragraphs 310 and 350 teach that the pressing frame 325 maybe coupled or attached to the membrane 311 as part of the liquid lens 310 and enables the radius of curvature of the liquid lens to change. Kim discloses the focusing lens assembly as recited, but does not specify that the operating member is of a transparent material. As presented above, Aschwanden cures the deficiencies of Kim. For these reasons, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 7/10/2026