DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/09/2026.
Claims 1-10 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwashita et al (WO 2024/128029).
Iwashita teaches a composition comprising A:B:C. Component A is taught as being present in an amount of 0.03 to 6% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 4, paragraph 5). Component A is taught as being trimethylsiloxysilicate / dimethiconol) crosspolymer (see entire document, for instance, page 12, Claims). Component B is taught as being present in an amount of 45 to 60% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 8, paragraph 3). Component B is taught as being a volatile oil (see entire document, for instance, page 8, paragraph 3). Component C is taught as being present in an amount of 1 to 15% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 9, paragraph 2). Component C is taught as being TSPL-30-D5 (tri(trimethylsiloxy)silylpropylcarbamic acid pullulan (see entire document, for instance, page 9, paragraph 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwashita et al (WO 2024/128029).
Iwashita teaches a composition comprising A:B:C. Component A is taught as being present in an amount of 0.03 to 6% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 4, paragraph 5). Component A is taught as being trimethylsiloxysilicate / dimethiconol) crosspolymer (see entire document, for instance, page 12, Claims). Component B is taught as being present in an amount of 45 to 60% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 8, paragraph 3). Component B is taught as being a volatile oil (see entire document, for instance, page 8, paragraph 3). Component C is taught as being present in an amount of 1 to 15% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 9, paragraph 2). Component C is taught as being TSPL-30-D5 (tri(trimethylsiloxy)silylpropylcarbamic acid pullulan (see entire document, for instance, page 9, paragraph 1). Iwashita further teaches the presence of pigments (see entire document for instance, page 9, paragraph 8).
Iwashita, while teaching the instantly claimed elements in amounts that overlap the instantly claimed amounts, does not expressly teach the instantly claimed ratios.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to optimize the amounts of components A, B, and C within the ranges taught by Iwashita. One would have been motivated to do so to optimize the composition within the ranges taught by Iwashita. There would be ar reasonable expectation of success since Iwashita teaches useful ranges for the components of A, B, and C.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 (all claims currently under consideration) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/637,039 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach all of the instantly claimed elements. Specifically, the copending claims require the presence of an additional element, however, they still require the presence of all of the instantly claimed component in their claimed amounts, therefore, the claims are properly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 (all claims currently under consideration) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/618,199 in view of Iwashita et al (WO 2024/128029). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach all of the instantly claimed elements, with the exception of the pullulan.
While ‘199 does not directly teach pullulan, Iwashita resolves this deficiency.
Iwashita teaches a composition comprising A:B:C. Component A is taught as being present in an amount of 0.03 to 6% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 4, paragraph 5). Component A is taught as being trimethylsiloxysilicate / dimethiconol) crosspolymer (see entire document, for instance, page 12, Claims). Component B is taught as being present in an amount of 45 to 60% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 8, paragraph 3). Component B is taught as being a volatile oil (see entire document, for instance, page 8, paragraph 3). Component C is taught as being present in an amount of 1 to 15% by mass (see entire document, for instance, page 9, paragraph 2). Component C is taught as being TSPL-30-D5 (tri(trimethylsiloxy)silylpropylcarbamic acid pullulan (see entire document, for instance, page 9, paragraph 1). Iwashita further teaches the presence of pigments (see entire document for instance, page 9, paragraph 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the (tri(trimethylsiloxy)silylpropylcarbamic acid pullulan of Iwashita in the composition of ‘199. One would have been motivated to do so since ‘199 teaches silicone components for component B, wherein both ‘199 and Iwashita are directed to long wear compositions, wherein Iwashita teaches that the (tri(trimethylsiloxy)silylpropylcarbamic acid pullulan is a useful component for long wear compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611