DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending for examination. Claims 1, 11, and 21 are independent claims. This Office Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 37 CFR 1.98, and MPEP § 609. The Information Disclosure Statement has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes multiple claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are recited in claims 10, 20, and 30 with functional language italicized and generic placeholder and linking phrase in bold for claims 10, 20, and 30:
10. The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising:
encoding a notification of the detected regression for communication to a developer workflow node, the developer workflow node associated with implementing a change in the database code associated with the detected regression;
decoding analysis information of the detected regression received from the developer workflow node responsive to the notification of the detected regression; and
detecting a rollout parameter of a plurality of rollout parameters as the root cause of the detected regression at least based on the analysis information.
20. The method of claim 11, further comprising:
encoding a notification of the detected regression for communication to a developer workflow node, the developer workflow node associated with implementing a change in the database code associated with the detected regression;
decoding analysis information of the detected regression received from the developer workflow node responsive to the notification of the detected regression; and
detecting a rollout parameter of a plurality of rollout parameters as the root cause of the detected regression at least based on the analysis information.
30. The computer-storage medium of claim 21, the operations further comprising:
encoding a notification of the detected regression for communication to a developer workflow node, the developer workflow node associated with implementing a change in the database code associated with the detected regression;
decoding analysis information of the detected regression received from the developer workflow node responsive to the notification of the detected regression; and
detecting a rollout parameter of a plurality of rollout parameters as the root cause of the detected regression at least based on the analysis information.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the originally filed specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The portions of the specification that describe the corresponding structure that performs the claimed functions for the claims above are Fig. 13, paragraphs 00365 and Fig. 5, paragraphs 0079-0082.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8, 12-18, and 22-28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2; claim 6, line 3; claim 12, line 2; claim 16, line 3; claim 22, line 3; and claim 26, line 4 “the first store procedure” should be “the first stored procedure” to match the independent claims and specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, line 3; claim 6, line 2; claim 12, line 3; claim 16, line 2; claim 22, line 4; and claim 26, line 3 “the second store procedure” should be “the second stored procedure” to match the independent claims and specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-5 depend on claim 2 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the requirements.
Claims 7-8 depend on claim 6 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 6. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the requirements.
Claims 13-15 depend on claim 12 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 12. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the requirements.
Claims 17-18 depend on claim 16 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 16. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the requirements.
Claims 23-25 depend on claim 22 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 22. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the requirements.
Claims 27-28 depend on claim 26 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 26. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 12-15, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2, lines 2-3; claim 12, lines 2-3; claim 22, lines 3-4 “the same frequency” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-5 depend on claim 2 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 13-15 depend on claim 12 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 12. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 23-25 depend on claim 22 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 22. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 11, and 21 recite:
updating a table with a detected regression associated with database code of a database;
performing a first stored procedure to determine a root cause of the detected regression;
performing a second stored procedure to determine an impact of the detected regression based at least on the root cause; and
determining whether to perform mitigation of the detected regression based on the impact.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, a machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes:
Claim 1 is a machine.
Claim 11 is a method.
Claim 21 is an article of manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong I: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes: an abstract idea.
Limitations 2-4, as claimed and under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), are mental processes that cover performance of the limitations in the human mind. For example, limitation #2 performing a first procedure encompasses a person analyzing the regression data stored in table and database code associated with that data to determine a root cause of the regression. Similarly, limitations 3-4 are also mental processes that cover performance of the limitations in the human mind.
Step 2A, Prong II: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No.
The “updating” limitation in # 1 above, as claimed and under BRI, is an additional elements that is insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, “updating a table” in the context of this claim encompasses mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Additionally, one or more of the claims recite the following additional elements:
at least one hardware processor (Claims 1, 11, 21),
at least one memory (Claim 1),
computer-storage medium (Claims 21-30),
one or more processors of a machine (Claim 21)
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computer components) such that they amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the aforementioned additional elements amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Additionally, with regards to # 1 above, per MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
Claims 2, 12, and 22 merely further describes the first store procedure and second store procedure of claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively, execute at the same frequency.
Claims 3, 13, and 23 merely further describes the time of performance as prior processing cycle of first stored procedure of claims 2, 12, and 22, respectively.
Claims 4, 14, 24 recites:
5. retrieving the root cause of the detected regression from a table entry in the table, the table entry corresponding to the detected regression in the prior processing cycle.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes:
Claim 4 is a machine.
Claim 14 is a method.
Claim 24 is an article of manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong I: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes: (an) abstract idea(s). There is no change to the abstract idea(s) of independent Claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively.
Step 2A, Prong II: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No.
The “retrieve” limitation in # 5 above, as claimed and under BRI, is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, “retrieving” in the context of this claim encompasses mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
With regards to # 5 above, per MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
Claims 5, 15, and 25 merely further describes the time of performance as current processing cycle of second stored procedure based on root cause determined in prior processing cycle of claims 4, 14, and 24, respectively.
Claims 6, 16, and 26 merely further describes the second store procedure executes at lower frequency than the first store procedure of claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively.
Claims 7, 17, and 27 merely further describes the time of performance as prior processing cycle of first stored procedure to determine first root cause; and time of performance as current processing cycle of the first stored procedure to determine second root cause of claims 6, 16, and 26, respectively.
Claims 8, 18, 28 recites:
6. retrieving the first root cause and the second root cause of the detected regression from a table entry in the table, the table entry corresponding to another table entry associated with the detected regression; and
7. performing the second stored procedure in the current processing cycle to determine the impact based at least on the second root cause determined in the current processing cycle.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes:
Claim 8 is a machine.
Claim 18 is a method.
Claim 28 is an article of manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong I: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes: (an) abstract idea(s). There is no change to the abstract idea(s) of independent Claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively.
Step 2A, Prong II: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No.
The “retrieve” limitation in # 6 above, as claimed and under BRI, is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, “retrieving” in the context of this claim encompasses mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
With regards to # 6 above, per MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
Furthermore, in claims 8, 18, and 28, limitation #7 merely further describes the time of performance as current processing cycle of second stored procedure based on second root cause determined in current processing cycle of claims 7, 17, and 27, respectively.
Claims 9, 19, and 29 recites:
8. performing blast radius analysis to determine a blast radius of the detected regression; and
9. determining whether to perform the mitigation for the detected regression based at least on the blast radius of the detected regression.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes:
Claim 9 is a machine.
Claim 19 is a method.
Claim 29 is an article of manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong I: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes: (an) abstract idea(s).
Limitations 8-9, as claimed and under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), are mental processes that cover performance of the limitations in the human mind. For example, limitation #8 performing blast radius analysis encompasses a person analyzing the regression data stored in table and database code associated with that data to determine the blast radius of the regression. Similarly, limitation 9 is also mental processes that cover performance of the limitations in the human mind.
Claims 10, 20, and 30 recite:
10. encoding a notification of the detected regression for communication to a developer workflow node, the developer workflow node associated with implementing a change in the database code associated with the detected regression;
11. decoding analysis information of the detected regression received from the developer workflow node responsive to the notification of the detected regression; and
12. detecting a rollout parameter of a plurality of rollout parameters as the root cause of the detected regression at least based on the analysis information.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, a machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes:
Claim 10 is a machine.
Claim 20 is a method.
Claim 30 is an article of manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong I: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes: an abstract idea.
Limitation #12, as claimed and under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), is mental processes that cover performance of the limitations in the human mind. For example, limitation #12 “detecting a rollout parameter” encompasses a person reviewing the analysis information of the detected regression to determine a parameter as the root cause of the regression.
Step 2A, Prong II: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No.
Limitations 10-11 above, as claimed and under BRI, are additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, “encoding” and “decoding” in the context of this claim encompasses mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
With regards to limitations 10-11 above, per MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
For at least the reasoning provided above, Claims 1-30 are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publn No. 2021/0397593 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches:
A system (Lee, Fig. 5, Execution Platform 312, see also Fig. 8) comprising:
at least one hardware processor (Lee, Fig. 5, each execution node includes a processor 516, 534, 552 …); and
at least one memory (Lee, Fig. 8 memory device 804, paragraph 0102) storing instructions (Lee, paragraph 0102, paragraph 0044 “process flow 100 may be implemented by a developer 112 of a feature or program that is intended to be implemented on the database system 102.”) that cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations (Lee, Abstract, and Fig. 1 and Fig. 7) comprising:
updating a table (Lee, paragraph 0043 “Results analysis includes consuming results of multiple runs and compares those results to generate a report on differences or regressions. Useful data determined as a result of the process flow 100 may be stored as database data in one or more tables.”) with a detected regression associated with database code of a database (Lee, paragraph 0058 “data changes to the underlying tables may make performance comparisons irrelevant to the client's use case, e.g., for a staging table that is loaded with data, processed, and then truncated” (i.e. tables are used to store regressions that might be truncated in future). Paragraph 0043 teaches “a tool for running production queries and detecting regressions. …The workloads may consist of actual historical client queries [i.e. database code] that were requested by a client and executed for the client on actual database data. [i.e. database]”);
performing a first stored procedure to determine a root cause of the detected regression (Lee, target run of workload is first stored procedure. Abstract teaches determine if performance regression between baseline run and target run of workload. Paragraph 0058 teaches “After the workload 118 generates multiple runs under different settings (e.g., the baseline run 124 and the target run 126), the feature testing system may perform verification at 120 and analysis on the results to generate a report 122. …When comparing the baseline run 124 and the target run 126, the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” The target run of workload is the first stored procedure and Abstract “target run implements a feature that is not implemented in the baseline run. In response to identifying the performance regression, the target run is [re]executed to identify whether the performance regression still exists.” The feature causing the actual performance issues and performance regression is the root cause of the detected regression.);
performing a second stored procedure (Lee, paragraph 0046, Fig. 1, Verification 120) to determine an impact of the detected regression based at least on the root cause (Lee, paragraph 0037, Fig. 1 Verification 120 (a second stored procedure), paragraph 0037 teaches embodiments are computer program product, paragraph 0040 teaches “each block in the flow diagrams or block diagrams may represent a module, segment, or portion of code, which comprises one or more executable instructions for implementing the specified logical function(s).” Paragraph 0044 teaches that process flow 100 is “a feature or program that is intended to be implemented on the database system 102.” The verification procedure 120 determines the impact of the detected regression on the baseline run 124. Paragraph 0008 teaches that new programs and features can cause regressions, “errors or bugs that could cause damage to the database data, cause issues with performance or runtime, perpetuate additional errors throughout other functionality in the database system …” that are impacts of the detected regression. Paragraph 0058 teaches “the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” Impact of the detected regression are the actual performance issues.); and
determining whether to perform mitigation of the detected regression based on the impact (Examiner under BRI interprets as system making a decision as to whether mitigation should be performed and not actually performing the mitigation. Lee, Abstract, “ The performance regression is flagged as a false positive in response to identifying that the performance regression no longer exists when the target run is [re]executed.” Paragraph 0059 teaches “Queries that fail with the same error code in both runs (i.e., the baseline run 124 and the target run 126) are not reported as regressions.” (i.e. failure not caused by the feature that has changed so system determines not to perform mitigation). Paragraph 0058 teaches “the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” Lee’s system then determines that mitigation should be performed on the detected regression based on impact (actual performance issues)).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches configuring the first store procedure to execute at substantially the same frequency as the second store procedure (Lee, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0058 teaches target run 126 and baseline run 124 are run together at different settings, for each run at a setting, the feature testing system performs verification procedure 120. Paragraph 0046 “When the baseline run 124 and/or the target run 126 are finished, a verification of the results is performed at 120 to eliminate false positives.” Thus, as shown in Fig. 1 baseline run 124 and target run 126 execute in parallel and at substantially the same time after which verification procedure 120 is run. Thus, all three are running the same number of times over a given period of time, i.e. at the same frequency. See Fig. 7, at 704 baseline run executed, 706 target run executed and then verification procedure 120 executed, in block 710 baseline run is executed, target run executes at slower speed and verification procedure 120 is executed so again all three are run again and at same frequency).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches performing the first stored procedure in a prior processing cycle to determine the root cause (Lee, Fig. 7 shows 706 target run (i.e. first stored procedure) executes while implementing the feature (i.e. root cause) and then verification procedure runs 708 after baseline run and target run have completed (see also Fig. 1), thus target run occurs in prior processing cycle followed by verification procedure 120 (i.e. second stored procedure)).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches retrieving the root cause of the detected regression from a table entry in the table (Lee, paragraph 0043 teaches “Results analysis includes consuming results of multiple runs and compares those results to generate a report on differences or regressions. Useful data determined as a result of the process flow 100 may be stored as database data in one or more tables.” Abstract teaches feature (i.e. root cause) in target run, paragraph 0058 teaches “Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues. Further, data changes to the underlying tables may make performance comparisons irrelevant to the client's use case, e.g., for a staging table that is loaded with data, processed, and then truncated.”), the table entry corresponding to the detected regression in the prior processing cycle (Lee, paragraph 0058 “Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.”).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches performing the second stored procedure in a current processing cycle to determine the impact based on the root cause determined in the prior processing cycle (Lee, Fig. 7 shows 706 target run (i.e. first stored procedure) executes while implementing the feature (i.e. root cause) and then verification procedure 120 (i.e. second stored procedure) runs 708 after baseline run and target run have completed (see also Fig. 1), thus target run occurs in prior processing cycle followed by verification procedure 120 (i.e. second stored procedure)) that determines the impact. Paragraph 0068 “The new feature … is tested to gain insights on the impacts of the change (i.e., the implementation of the new feature…) to database clients.”).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches configuring the second store procedure to execute at a lower frequency than the first store procedure (Lee, Fig. 2, in some embodiments verification procedure 120 (i.e. second stored procedure) may be executed less often than target run 126. Paragraph 0020 teaches “in response to identifying the performance regression, rerunning the target run under isolated resource constraints to identify whether the performance regression still exists.” Because isolated environment in this embodiment, target run is executed multiple times and then verification procedure may be executed once [i.e. so executes at a lower frequency]. Paragraph 0063, Fig. 2, see block 206 and 214 “The query runner 206 takes in each query and multiplexes it to run with different settings [i.e. in target runs] before performing verification and comparison to generate the report 214. The query runner 206 will run the baseline run 208 and the target run 210 according to different parameters that may be determined by the query runner 206 or input by the developer 212.” One verification procedure and report is done for multiple target runs so second stored procedure executes at lower frequency or less frequently than the first stored procedure).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches performing the first stored procedure in a prior processing cycle to determine a first root cause (Lee, Fig. 7, paragraphs 0098-0099 in one embodiment shows 706 target run (i.e. first stored procedure) executes while implementing the feature (i.e. first root cause) and then verification procedure runs 708 after baseline run and target run have completed (see also Fig. 1), thus target run occurs in prior processing cycle followed by verification procedure 120 (i.e. second stored procedure).); and
performing the first stored procedure in a current processing cycle to determine a second root cause (Lee, Abstract target run is the first stored procedure, Fig. 7, paragraphs 0098-0099 “The computing resource executes at 706 a target run of the workload while implementing the feature. … The computing resource, in response to identifying the performance regression, reruns at 710 the target run to identify whether the performance regression still exists. Rerunning at 710 may include running with more isolated resources… and/or running at a slower speed.” 710 occurs at current or next processing cycle as after 708 and with different resources or slower speed to determine if second root cause is producing performance regression).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches retrieving the first root cause and the second root cause of the detected regression from a table entry in the table, the table entry corresponding to another table entry associated with the detected regression (Lee, paragraph 0043 teaches “Results analysis includes consuming results of multiple runs and compares those results to generate a report on differences or regressions. Useful data determined as a result of the process flow 100 may be stored as database data in one or more tables.” Abstract teaches feature (i.e. root cause) in target run, paragraph 0058 teaches “Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues. Further, data changes to the underlying tables may make performance comparisons irrelevant to the client's use case, e.g., for a staging table that is loaded with data, processed, and then truncated.” The report includes multiple results for different regressions.); and
performing the second stored procedure in the current processing cycle to determine the impact based at least on the second root cause determined in the current processing cycle (Lee, Fig. 7 shows 706 target run (i.e. first stored procedure) executes while implementing the feature (i.e. root cause) and then verification procedure 120 (i.e. second stored procedure) runs 708 after baseline run and target run have completed (see also Fig. 1), thus target run occurs in prior processing cycle followed by verification procedure 120 (i.e. second stored procedure)) that determines the impact. Fig. 7, block 710 target run is rerun at a slower speed and verification procedure is executed to determine other root causes in a current or next processing cycle. The impact is based on various other second, third, fourth root causes see Fig. 7, paragraphs 0098-0099 “when implementing new features in a cloud-based database system.”).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches performing blast radius analysis to determine a blast radius of the detected regression (Lee, paragraph 0019 “improved testing of database features or programs to enable developers to fix errors or bugs before programs are released to production servers. Testing with client production queries may provide exact knowledge of the impact of a program on a client's queries…” Paragraph 0043 teaches “process flow 100 may organize queries into workloads that may be run under different settings and later compared to analyze differences between the runs [i.e. blast radius of detected regressions]. The workloads may consist of actual historical client queries that were requested by a client and executed for the client on actual database data.” Process flow 100 includes verification procedure 120 that determines blast radius analysis); and
determining whether to perform the mitigation for the detected regression based at least on the blast radius of the detected regression (Examiner under BRI interprets as system making a decision as to whether mitigation should be performed and not actually performing the mitigation. Lee, Abstract, “The performance regression is flagged as a false positive in response to identifying that the performance regression no longer exists when the target run is [re]executed.” Paragraph 0059 teaches “Queries that fail with the same error code in both runs (i.e., the baseline run 124 and the target run 126) are not reported as regressions.” (i.e. failure not caused by the feature that has changed so system determines not to perform mitigation). Paragraph 0098 teaches “computing resource executes at 704 a baseline run of the workload that does not implement the feature. The computing resource executes at 706 a target run of the workload while implementing the feature. The computing resource compares at 708 the baseline run, and the target run to identify whether there is a performance regression in the target run. The computing resource, in response to identifying the performance regression, reruns at 710 the target run to identify whether the performance regression still exists. Rerunning at 710 may include running with more isolated resources and/or running multiple times to protect against variance within a cloud-based database environment, and/or running at a slower speed.” Blast radius of queries in the baseline run and multiple target runs determines if mitigation should be performed.).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated as given above. Lee teaches encoding a notification of the detected regression for communication to a developer workflow node (Lee ,Fig. 1, paragraph 0046 “relevant data may be available to be queried using Structured Query Language (SQL). The developer 112 [i.e. in developer workflow node] may drill down to investigate specific queries from the report 122 or choose to perform deeper analysis using customized SQL queries depending on the goal of a test.” See also paragraph 0060, paragraph 0068 teaches developer using feature flags for new feature/failure/regression), the developer workflow node associated with implementing a change in the database code associated with the detected regression (Lee, Fig. 1 and Fig. 6, paragraph 0091 “The operating environment 600 may be applied to production queries executed by users or clients and may further by applied to feature testing where a user (see 602, 604, 606) may refer to a developer 112 that is generating and testing a new feature or program using actual database data.”);
decoding analysis information of the detected regression received from the developer workflow node responsive to the notification of the detected regression (Lee, paragraph 0043 “Results analysis includes consuming results of multiple runs and compares those results to generate a report on differences or regressions.” Paragraph 0046 “The developer 112 may drill down to investigate specific queries from the report 122 or choose to perform deeper analysis using customized SQL queries [i.e. decoding analysis information from developer workflow node] depending on the goal of a test.” Paragraphs 0058 and 0060 “beneficial to ensure the report 122 is concise and easy for a developer 112 to digest. Because all metadata of the workloads and runs are stored in the feature testing system, including detailed statistics for each query, sophisticated users may easily write their own analytical queries to perform more detailed analysis suited to their own testing requirements.”); and
detecting a rollout parameter of a plurality of rollout parameters as the root cause of the detected regression at least based on the analysis information (Lee, paragraph 0079 “feature testing manager 428 may be configured to determine … parameters for a baseline run or target run of historical client queries.” Paragraph 0098 teaches “computing resource executes at 704 a baseline run of the workload that does not implement the feature. The computing resource executes at 706 a target run of the workload while implementing the feature. The computing resource compares at 708 the baseline run, and the target run to identify whether there is a performance regression in the target run. The computing resource, in response to identifying the performance regression, reruns at 710 the target run to identify whether the performance regression still exists. Rerunning at 710 may include running with more isolated resources and/or running multiple times to protect against variance within a cloud-based database environment, and/or running at a slower speed.” (i.e. rollout parameters). Paragraph 0022 “a developer of a program or feature may rerun actual client queries to test the program in a real-world scenario using actual database data.” Developer performs analysis as described above prior to each rerun).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches:
A method (Lee, Fig. 1 and Fig. 7) comprising:
updating, by at least one hardware processor (Lee, Fig. 5, each execution node includes a processor 516, 534, 552 …), a table (Lee, paragraph 0043 “Results analysis includes consuming results of multiple runs and compares those results to generate a report on differences or regressions. Useful data determined as a result of the process flow 100 may be stored as database data in one or more tables.”) with a detected regression associated with database code of a database (Lee, paragraph 0058 “data changes to the underlying tables may make performance comparisons irrelevant to the client's use case, e.g., for a staging table that is loaded with data, processed, and then truncated” (i.e. tables are used to store regressions that might be truncated in future). Paragraph 0043 teaches “a tool for running production queries and detecting regressions. …The workloads may consist of actual historical client queries [i.e. database code] that were requested by a client and executed for the client on actual database data. [i.e. database]”);
performing a first stored procedure to determine a root cause of the detected regression (Lee, target run of workload is first stored procedure. Abstract teaches determine if performance regression between baseline run and target run of workload. Paragraph 0058 teaches “After the workload 118 generates multiple runs under different settings (e.g., the baseline run 124 and the target run 126), the feature testing system may perform verification at 120 and analysis on the results to generate a report 122. …When comparing the baseline run 124 and the target run 126, the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” The target run of workload is the first stored procedure and Abstract “target run implements a feature that is not implemented in the baseline run. In response to identifying the performance regression, the target run is [re]executed to identify whether the performance regression still exists.” The feature causing the actual performance issues and performance regression is the root cause of the detected regression.);
performing a second stored procedure (Lee, paragraph 0046, Fig. 1, Verification 120) to determine an impact of the detected regression based at least on the root cause (Lee, paragraph 0037, Fig. 1 Verification 120 (a second stored procedure), paragraph 0037 teaches embodiments are computer program product, paragraph 0040 teaches “each block in the flow diagrams or block diagrams may represent a module, segment, or portion of code, which comprises one or more executable instructions for implementing the specified logical function(s).” Paragraph 0044 teaches that process flow 100 is “a feature or program that is intended to be implemented on the database system 102.” The verification procedure 120 determines the impact of the detected regression on the baseline run 124. Paragraph 0008 teaches that new programs and features can cause regressions, “errors or bugs that could cause damage to the database data, cause issues with performance or runtime, perpetuate additional errors throughout other functionality in the database system …” that are impacts of the detected regression. Paragraph 0058 teaches “the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” Impact of the detected regression are the actual performance issues.); and
determining whether to perform mitigation of the detected regression based on the impact (Examiner under BRI interprets as system making a decision as to whether mitigation should be performed and not actually performing the mitigation. Lee, Abstract, “The performance regression is flagged as a false positive in response to identifying that the performance regression no longer exists when the target run is [re]executed.” Paragraph 0059 teaches “Queries that fail with the same error code in both runs (i.e., the baseline run 124 and the target run 126) are not reported as regressions.” (i.e. failure not caused by the feature that has changed so system determines not to perform mitigation). Paragraph 0058 teaches “the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” Lee’s system then determines that mitigation should be performed on the detected regression based on impact (actual performance issues)).
Claims 12-20, the method that implement the system of claims 2-10, respectively, are rejected on the same grounds as claims 2-10, respectively.
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches:
A computer-storage medium comprising instructions (Lee, paragraphs 0037-0038, 0040, paragraph 0102, paragraph 0044 “process flow 100 may be implemented by a developer 112 of a feature or program that is intended to be implemented on the database system 102.”)) that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine (Lee, paragraph 0040. Fig. 5, each execution node includes a processor 516, 534, 552 …), configure the machine to perform operations (Lee, Abstract, and Fig. 1 and Fig. 7) comprising:
updating, by at least one hardware processor (Lee, Fig. 5, each execution node includes a processor 516, 534, 552 …), a table (Lee, paragraph 0043 “Results analysis includes consuming results of multiple runs and compares those results to generate a report on differences or regressions. Useful data determined as a result of the process flow 100 may be stored as database data in one or more tables.”) with a detected regression associated with database code of a database (Lee, paragraph 0058 “data changes to the underlying tables may make performance comparisons irrelevant to the client's use case, e.g., for a staging table that is loaded with data, processed, and then truncated” (i.e. tables are used to store regressions that might be truncated in future). Paragraph 0043 teaches “a tool for running production queries and detecting regressions. …The workloads may consist of actual historical client queries [i.e. database code] that were requested by a client and executed for the client on actual database data. [i.e. database]”);
performing a first stored procedure to determine a root cause of the detected regression (Lee, target run of workload is first stored procedure. Abstract teaches determine if performance regression between baseline run and target run of workload. Paragraph 0058 teaches “After the workload 118 generates multiple runs under different settings (e.g., the baseline run 124 and the target run 126), the feature testing system may perform verification at 120 and analysis on the results to generate a report 122. …When comparing the baseline run 124 and the target run 126, the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” The target run of workload is the first stored procedure and Abstract “target run implements a feature that is not implemented in the baseline run. In response to identifying the performance regression, the target run is [re]executed to identify whether the performance regression still exists.” The feature causing the actual performance issues and performance regression is the root cause of the detected regression.);
performing a second stored procedure (Lee, paragraph 0046, Fig. 1, Verification 120) to determine an impact of the detected regression based at least on the root cause (Lee, paragraph 0037, Fig. 1 Verification 120 (a second stored procedure), paragraph 0037 teaches embodiments are computer program product, paragraph 0040 teaches “each block in the flow diagrams or block diagrams may represent a module, segment, or portion of code, which comprises one or more executable instructions for implementing the specified logical function(s).” Paragraph 0044 teaches that process flow 100 is “a feature or program that is intended to be implemented on the database system 102.” The verification procedure 120 determines the impact of the detected regression on the baseline run 124. Paragraph 0008 teaches that new programs and features can cause regressions, “errors or bugs that could cause damage to the database data, cause issues with performance or runtime, perpetuate additional errors throughout other functionality in the database system …” that are impacts of the detected regression. Paragraph 0058 teaches “the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” Impact of the detected regression are the actual performance issues.); and
determining whether to perform mitigation of the detected regression based on the impact (Examiner under BRI interprets as system making a decision as to whether mitigation should be performed and not actually performing the mitigation. Lee, Abstract, “ The performance regression is flagged as a false positive in response to identifying that the performance regression no longer exists when the target run is [re]executed.” Paragraph 0059 teaches “Queries that fail with the same error code in both runs (i.e., the baseline run 124 and the target run 126) are not reported as regressions.” (i.e. failure not caused by the feature that has changed so system determines not to perform mitigation). Paragraph 0058 teaches “the feature testing system verifies at 120 performance regressions in the target run 126 by rerunning the queries reported as slower than the same queries in the baseline run 124 multiple times using the target run 126 settings. … Only after a query consistently shows a significant percentage of performance regression after several verification runs does the feature testing system report feature or program as an actual performance issues.” Lee’s system then determines that mitigation should be performed on the detected regression based on impact (actual performance issues)).
Claims 22-30, the computer storage medium that implement the system of claims 2-10, respectively, are rejected on the same grounds as claims 2-10, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in Form PTO-892 and below that are not relied upon are considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure. Applicants are required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Dageville et al. (U.S. Publ. No. 2021/0200655 A1) teaches devices for automatically retrying a query. A method includes receiving a query directed to database data and assigning execution of the query to one or more execution nodes of a database platform. The method includes determining that execution of the query was unsuccessful. The method includes assigning a first retry execution of the query on the first version of the database platform and assigning a second retry execution of the query on a second version of the database platform.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
In the interests of compact prosecution, Applicants are invited to contact the examiner via electronic media pursuant to USPTO policy outlined MPEP § 502.03. All electronic communication must be authorized in writing. Applicants may wish to file an Internet Communications Authorization Form PTO/SB/439. Applicants may wish to request an interview using the Interview Practice website: http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
Applicants are reminded Internet e-mail may not be used for communication for matters under 35 U.S.C. § 132 or which otherwise require a signature. A reply to an Office action may NOT be communicated by Applicants to the USPTO via Internet e-mail. If such a reply is submitted by Applicants via Internet e-mail, a paper copy will be placed in the appropriate patent application file with an indication that the reply is NOT ENTERED. See MPEP § 502.03(II).
/INDRANIL CHOWDHURY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2114
/ASHISH THOMAS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2114