DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to applicant’s amendment submitted on May 27, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-15, 19 and 20 are now currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In addition, Hu does teach “track a data subcarrier allocation pattern … rate matching buffer configured to balance data throughput based on the data subcarrier allocation pattern”. More specifically, Hu discloses the unit determining the RU configuration, where a proportional round-robin parser that distributes input bits across multiple Resource Units (RUs) using a systematic approach based on proportional rations that reflect the relative capacities of each RU. The parser begins by defining a fundamental allocation unit called “s-bits,” calculated as s = max{1, Nbpscs/2}, where Nbpscs represents the number of coded bits per subcarrier per spatial stream. This value adapts to the modulation scheme, ensuring appropriate granularity for bit distribution across different QAM configurations (paragraphs 59, 65, 74). In addition, the combination of Hu and van Nee discloses the core distribution mechanism operates through proportional ratios expressed as m0:m1:m2:…, where each coefficient represents multiples of s-bits allocated to the corresponding RU. For instance, in a 484+996 tone RU combination, the ratio is 1:2, meaning the parser alternately allocates 1xs bits to the smaller RU and 2xs bits to the larger RU in a cyclical fashion. The parser continues this round-robin pattern, moving sequentially through each RU while respecting the proportional weights (Hu; paragraphs 59, 65, 74, van Nee; column 7 lines 1-11, teaching the bit buffer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, and 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0227510 A1, hereinafter Hu) in view of van Nee (US Patent 7,570,697 B2).
Consider claim 1 (and similarly applied to claim 15). Hu discloses a segment parser within a wireless transmitter of a wireless device (fig. 18, paragraphs 59, 96, 99) comprising:
a controller configured to track a data subcarrier allocation pattern between a plurality of resource units (RUs) of a multiple resource unit (MRU) (paragraphs 59, 65, 74, read as the unit determining the RU configuration. A proportional round-robin parser that distributes input bits across multiple Resource Units (RUs) using a systematic approach based on proportional rations that reflect the relative capacities of each RU. The parser begins by defining a fundamental allocation unit called “s-bits,” calculated as s = max{1, Nbpscs/2}, where Nbpscs represents the number of coded bits per subcarrier per spatial stream. This value adapts to the modulation scheme, ensuring appropriate granularity for bit distribution across different QAM configurations);
wherein at least two of the plurality of RUs have a different number of subcarriers (paragraph 72, read as a 996-tone RU and an aggregation of a 242-tone and a 484-tone RU).
a rate matching
wherein the controller is configured to distribute data between each of the plurality of RUs based on a ration of a number of data subcarriers in each RU within the plurality of RUs (paragraph 74, read as parsing of coded bits to multiple RUs may be performed in a proportional round-robin fashion, with the parser ratio depending on the size (or number of tones) of each RU).
Hu substantially discloses the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach a buffer (Hu implicitly teaches the unit performing the same function).
However, van Nee teaches a buffer (column 7 lines 1-11, read as bit buffer 304. The examiner also notes that van Nee discloses a counter as is claimed in claim 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of van Nee into the invention of Hu in order to reduce the amount of information lost.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses wherein the controller comprises a counter (van Nee; column 7 lines 1-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of van Nee into the invention of Hu in order to reduce the amount of information lost.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses wherein the MRU comprises a first RU having 996 data subcarriers and a second RU having 448 data subcarriers or 726 data subcarriers (Hu; paragraphs 65, 82).
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses wherein the controller is further configured to distribute data of the MRU to a plurality of low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mappers in a data rate that is determined by a ratio between the numbers of data subcarriers of the RUs in the MRU (Hu; paragraphs 65, 69, 82).
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 15. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses wherein the MRU comprises a first RU having 996 data subcarriers and a second RU having 448 data subcarriers or 726 data subcarriers (Hu; paragraphs 65, 82).
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 15. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses wherein using the counter or the FSM of the segment parser, tracking the data subcarrier allocation pattern of the MRU comprises distributing data of the MRU to a plurality of low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mappers in a data rate that is determined by a ratio between the numbers of data subcarriers of the RUs in the MRU (Hu; paragraphs 65, 69, 82).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0227510 A1, hereinafter Hu) in view of van Nee (US Patent 7,570,697 B2) in view of Xu et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0116002 A1, hereinafter Xu).
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses the claimed invention but fail to teach wherein the controller comprises a finite state machine (FSM).
However, Xu teaches wherein the controller comprises a finite state machine (FSM) (paragraph 311).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the invention of Hu and van Nee in order to reduce the complexity of hardware implementation.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0227510 A1, hereinafter Hu) in view of van Nee (US Patent 7,570,697 B2) in view of Shinohara et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0036394 A1, hereinafter Shinohara).
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to control an allocation of data of the MRU to be sent to a respective low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mapper and to determine a memory address for storing the data of the MRU.
However, Shinohara teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control an allocation of data of the MRU to be sent to a respective low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mapper and to determine a memory address for storing the data of the MRU (paragraph 409).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Shinohara into the invention of Hu and van Nee in order to provide a transmission method and a reception device that can ensure good communication quality.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the rate matching buffer comprises a 12-bit rate matching buffer to support up to 4096 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM).
However, Shinohara teaches wherein the rate matching buffer comprises a 12-bit rate matching buffer to support up to 4096 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) (paragraph 707).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Shinohara into the invention of Hu and van Nee in order to provide a transmission method and a reception device that can ensure good communication quality.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0227510 A1, hereinafter Hu) in view of van Nee (US Patent 7,570,697 B2) in view of Wang et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0351879 A1, hereinafter Wang).
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to control the rate matching buffer to store data from a stream parser and to send stored data to a respective low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mapper.
However, Wang teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the rate matching buffer to store data from a stream parser and to send stored data to a respective low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mapper (paragraphs 43, 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Hu and van Nee in order to provide a means to reduce system energy and increase bandwidth.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 1. The combination of Hu and van Nee discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the rate matching buffer is further configured to latch a plurality of residual bits at different output rates between a plurality of low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mappers (paragraph 43).
However, Wang teaches wherein the rate matching buffer is further configured to latch a plurality of residual bits at different output rates between a plurality of low-density parity-check (LDPC) tone mappers
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the invention of Hu and van Nee in order to provide a means to reduce system energy and increase bandwidth.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 ae allowed over the prior art. More specifically, Hu, van Nee, the other cited references, and a thorough search in the art fail to explicitly or implicitly disclose the specific combination of a wireless transmitter comprising: a plurality of scramblers configured to perform a plurality of scramble operations on input data to generate scrambled input data; at least one low-density parity-check (LDPC) encoder configured to perform an encoding operation on the scrambled input data to generated encoded data; a bit alignment unit configured to perform a bit alignment operation on the encoded data to generate aligned data; a stream parser configured to perform a stream parser operation on the aligned data to generate a plurality of data streams; a plurality of segment parsers, wherein at least one of the segment parsers comprises a controller configured to track a data subcarrier allocation pattern of a multiple resource unit (MRU) that correspond to the data streams and a rate matching buffer configured to balance data throughput based on the data subcarrier allocation pattern of the MRU; and a plurality of LDPC tone mappers configured to perform a tone mapping operation based on the data throughput from the segment parsers.
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Wu et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0281363 A1, hereinafter Wu) is relevant prior art not applied in the rejections above. Wu discloses an electronic device that transmits an orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) frame to a recipient electronic device (such as a client or a station). The OFDMA frame includes multiple predefined resource units (RUs) allocated to the recipient electronic device in a set of predefined RUs having associated frequency bandwidths. Moreover, the multiple predefined RUs include two or more first predefined RUs having a first number of tones less than a predefined amount, or two or more second predefined RUs having a second number of tones greater than or equal to the predefined amount. For example, the predefined amount may include 242 tones. Note that the multiple predefined RUs may have the same or different numbers of tones.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/CHRISTOPHER M BRANDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 September 14, 2026