DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidsz et al. (US 20220255244 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Davidsz et al. discloses an electrical connector housing 30, comprising:
a terminal receiving housing part 40 defining a receiving slot 186 receiving a plurality of connection terminals 52 and a circuit board 14; and
a cover part 48 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 40, the terminal receiving housing part 40 and the cover part 48 are capable of being assembled together.
In regard to claim 2, Davidsz et al. discloses the cover part 48 has a first engagement portion 168 and the terminal receiving housing part 40 has a second engagement portion 114, the first engagement portion 168 and the second engagement portion 114 engage with each other when the cover part 48 and the terminal receiving housing 40 are assembled together.
In regard to claim 2, Davidsz et al. discloses the cover part 48 has a first engagement portion (not shown, see para.[0088]) and the terminal receiving housing part 40 has a second engagement portion 178, the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion 178 engage with each other when the cover part 48 and the terminal receiving housing 40 are assembled together.
In regard to claim 3, Davidsz et al. discloses the first engagement portion 168 and the second engagement portion 114 engage in a snap-fit manner.
In regard to claim 4, Davidsz et al. discloses the second engagement portion 114 is an elastic sheet with a protruding block and the first engagement portion 168 is an opening capable of accommodating the protruding block (see fig. 3).
In regard to claim 5, Davidsz et al. discloses the second engagement portion 178 is an insert and the first engagement portion has a hole (see para.[0088]) capable of accommodating the insert.
In regard to claim 6, Davidsz et al. discloses the cover part 48 has the first engagement portion 168 on each of a pair of sides of the receiving slot 186.
In regard to claim 7, Davidsz et al. discloses the terminal receiving housing part 40 has the second engagement portion 114 on each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 186.
In regard to claim 8, Davidsz et al. discloses the first engagement portion 168 is one of a plurality of first engagement portions on each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 186.
In regard to claim 9, Davidsz et al. discloses the second engagement portion 114 is one of a plurality of second engagement portions of each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 186.
In regard to claim 10, Davidsz et al. discloses the first engagement portion 168 is integrally formed with the cover part 48 and the second engagement portion 114 is integrally formed with the terminal receiving housing part 40.
In regard to claim 11, Davidsz et al. discloses the cover part 48 has a locking block 154 extending into the receiving slot 186.
In regard to claim 12, Davidsz et al. discloses the locking block 154 abuts against one of the connection terminals 52 placed in the receiving slot 186 (see fig. 3 and 5).
In regard to claim 13, Davidsz et al. discloses the cover part 48 has a locking notch 156, the one of the connection terminals 52 extends into the locking notch 156.
In regard to claim 14, Davidsz et al. discloses the cover part 48 has a first cover part (top surface) and a second cover part (bottom surface).
Claim(s) 1-10, 14, 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebata et al. (US 11245220 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Ebata et al. discloses an electrical connector housing 10, comprising:
a terminal receiving housing part 16 defining a receiving slot 20 receiving a plurality of connection terminals 70 and a circuit board 94; and
a cover part 18 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 16, the terminal receiving housing part 16 and the cover part 18 are capable of being assembled together.
In regard to claim 2, Ebata et al. discloses the cover part 18 has a first engagement portion 61 and the terminal receiving housing part 16 has a second engagement portion 46, the first engagement portion 61 and the second engagement portion 46 engage with each other when the cover part 18 and the terminal receiving housing 16 are assembled together.
In regard to claim 2, Ebata et al. discloses the cover part 18 has a first engagement portion 68 and the terminal receiving housing part 16 has a second engagement portion 56, the first engagement portion 68 and the second engagement portion 56 engage with each other when the cover part 18 and the terminal receiving housing 16 are assembled together.
In regard to claim 3, Ebata et al. discloses the first engagement portion 61 and the second engagement portion 46 engage in a snap-fit manner.
In regard to claim 4, Ebata et al. discloses the second engagement portion 46 is an elastic sheet with a protruding block and the first engagement portion 61 is an opening capable of accommodating the protruding block.
In regard to claim 5, Ebata et al. discloses the second engagement portion 56 is an insert and the first engagement portion 68 has a hole capable of accommodating the insert.
In regard to claim 6, Ebata et al. discloses the cover part 18 has the first engagement portion 61 on each of a pair of sides of the receiving slot 20.
In regard to claim 7, Ebata et al. discloses the terminal receiving housing part 16 has the second engagement portion 46 on each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 20.
In regard to claim 8, Ebata et al. discloses the first engagement portion 61 is one of a plurality of first engagement portions on each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 20.
In regard to claim 9, Ebata et al. discloses the second engagement portion 46 is one of a plurality of second engagement portions of each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 20.
In regard to claim 10, Ebata et al. discloses the first engagement portion 61 is integrally formed with the cover part 18 and the second engagement portion 46 is integrally formed with the terminal receiving housing part 16.
In regard to claim 14, Ebata et al. discloses the cover part 18 has a first cover part (top surface) and a second cover part (bottom surface).
In regard to claim 16, Ebata et al. discloses an electrical connector 10, comprising:
an electrical connector housing 14 including a terminal receiving housing part 16 and a cover part 18 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 16, the terminal receiving housing part 16 defines a receiving slot 20, the terminal receiving housing part 16 and the cover part 18 are capable of being assembled together; a plurality of connection terminals 70; and a circuit board 94, the connection terminals 70 and the circuit board 94 are connected together and placed into the receiving slot 20 of the electrical connector housing 14.
In regard to claim 19, Ebata et al. discloses the connection terminals 70 are engaged with the circuit board 94 in a crimping manner.
In regard to claim 20, Ebata et al. discloses the circuit board 94 is a flexible printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toba et al. (US 5356308 A).
In regard to claim 1, Toba et al. discloses an electrical connector housing, comprising:
a terminal receiving housing part 10a defining a receiving slot 12 receiving a plurality of connection terminals 20 and a circuit board 50; and
a cover part 40 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 10a, the terminal receiving housing part 10a and the cover part 40 are capable of being assembled together.
In regard to claim 2, Toba et al. discloses the cover part 40 has a first engagement portion 43 and the terminal receiving housing part 10a has a second engagement portion 17, the first engagement portion 43 and the second engagement portion 17 engage with each other when the cover part 40 and the terminal receiving housing 10a are assembled together.
In regard to claim 3, Toba et al. discloses the first engagement portion 43 and the second engagement portion 17 engage in a snap-fit manner.
In regard to claim 5, Toba et al. discloses the second engagement portion 17 is an insert and the first engagement portion 43 has a hole capable of accommodating the insert.
In regard to claim 6, Toba et al. discloses the cover part 40 has the first engagement portion 43 on each of a pair of sides of the receiving slot 12.
In regard to claim 7, Toba et al. discloses the terminal receiving housing part 10a has the second engagement portion 17 on each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 12.
In regard to claim 8, Ebata et al. discloses the first engagement portion 61 is one of a plurality of first engagement portions on each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 20.
In regard to claim 9, Toba et al. discloses the second engagement portion 17 is one of a plurality of second engagement portions of each of the pair of sides of the receiving slot 12.
In regard to claim 10, Toba et al. discloses the first engagement portion 17 is integrally formed with the cover part 40 and the second engagement portion 17 is integrally formed with the terminal receiving housing part 10a.
In regard to claim 14, Toba et al. discloses the cover part 48 has a first cover part and a second cover part (fig. 4, col. 5, lines 8-15).
In regard to claim 15, Toba et al. discloses the receiving slot 12 is one of a first receiving slot and a second receiving slot of the terminal receiving housing part 10a receiving the connection terminals 20 and the circuit board 50, the first receiving slot and the second receiving slot are positioned on opposite sides of the terminal receiving housing part 10a (fig. 4, col. 5, lines 8-15).
Claim(s) 1, 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krol (US 3691509 A).
In regard to claim 1, Krol discloses an electrical connector housing, comprising:
a terminal receiving housing part 50 defining a receiving slot 60 receiving a plurality of connection terminals 32 and a circuit board 11; and
a cover part 52 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 50, the terminal receiving housing part 50 and the cover part 52 are capable of being assembled together.
In regard to claim 16, Krol discloses an electrical connector 10, comprising:
an electrical connector housing including a terminal receiving housing part 50 and a cover part 52 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 50, the terminal receiving housing part 50 defines a receiving slot 60, the terminal receiving housing part 50 and the cover part 52 are capable of being assembled together; a plurality of connection terminals 32; and a
a circuit board 11, the connection terminals 32 and the circuit board 11 are connected together and placed into the receiving slot 60 of the electrical connector housing.
In regard to claim 19, Krol discloses the connection terminals 32 are engaged with the circuit board 11 in a crimping manner.
In regard to claim 20, Krol discloses the circuit board 11 is a flexible printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 1, 16, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hio (US 6375492 B1).
In regard to claim 1, Hio discloses an electrical connector housing, comprising:
a terminal receiving housing part 40 defining a receiving slot 41 receiving a plurality of connection terminals 20 and a circuit board 10; and
a cover part 50 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 40, the terminal receiving housing part 40 and the cover part 50 are capable of being assembled together.
In regard to claim 16, Hio discloses an electrical connector, comprising:
an electrical connector housing including a terminal receiving housing part 40 and a cover part 50 independent of the terminal receiving housing part 40, the terminal receiving housing part 40 defines a receiving slot 41, the terminal receiving housing part 40 and the cover part 50 are capable of being assembled together; a plurality of connection terminals 20; and a circuit board 10, the connection terminals 20 and the circuit board 10 are connected together and placed into the receiving slot 41 of the electrical connector housing.
In regard to claim 17, Hio discloses the cover part 50 has a locking block 51 extending into the receiving slot 41, each of the connection terminals 20 has a crimping portion abutting against the locking block 51.
In regard to claim 19, Hio discloses the connection terminals 20 are engaged with the circuit board 10 in a crimping manner.
In regard to claim 20, Hio discloses the circuit board 10 is a flexible printed circuit board.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
7/18/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834