DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 16, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-13, and 15-22 are presently pending with claims 1, 12, and 21 being independent. Claims 4-8, 10-11, 15, 17, and 19 are original claims. Claims 1-2, 9, 12-13, 16, 18, and 20 are currently amended. Claims 3 and 14 have been canceled. Claims 21-22 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 19, filed July 16, 2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(b), claims 12-20, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The invocation of §112(b), claims 12-20, has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 19-23, filed July 16, 2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered
and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon
further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103.
Refer to updated rejection of claims 1-2, 4-13, and 15-22 below in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-12, 15, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2022/0322202 A1; hereinafter Li) in view of Lei et al. (US 2015/0094064 A1; hereinafter Lei).
Regarding claims 1,12, and 21, Li teaches a first terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor (Fig. 35F (ZZF), element 102 apparatus or device WTRU, element 118 Processor, elements 130 & 132 Memory; ¶ [0398] WTRU may be configured for wireless communications and operations that implement path switching. The WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, non-removable memory 130, and removable memory 132.; ¶ [0403] The processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory. ¶ [0409] Processor executes instructions. ¶ [0414] Computer executable instructions (e.g., program code) stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform methods and processes.),
cause the first terminal to perform:
performing, by a first terminal, switching between a first communication path (read as PC5) and a second communication path (read as 5GC) based on target path switching information (read as path selection policy) (Fig. 28A-Fig. 28B, element 301 UE and element 302 UE; ¶ [0267] Network functions may create path selection policy and send it to UEs. After configuration, the UE may make path selection decisions based on the provided policy.; ¶ [0282] It may check the path selection policy to determine how to route the data to the destination UE, e.g., via PC5 or 5GC path.; ¶ [0287] UE 301 may determine to switch to a PC5 path for communication with UE 302. UE 301 may send a NAS message requesting the path switch.);
wherein the first communication path is a communication path for direct communication between the first terminal and a second terminal (¶ [0331] The path selection policy may include one or more policies for direct communication with other devices. A path may be selected for user equipment to communicate with other user equipment based on the path selection policy.; ¶ [0338] Table 2 – PC5 path communications are communications between UEs whose traffic are not routed through the core network.);
the second communication path is a communication path for wireless communication between the first terminal and the second terminal via a network-side device (¶ [0338] Table 2 – 5GC path communications are communications between UEs whose traffic are routed through the core network.); and
the target path switching information comprises: a trigger condition for triggering the switching between the first communication path and the second communication path (Fig. 28A-Fig. 28B, element 301 UE and element 302 UE; ¶ [0273] Information that may be sent to UE as part of path selection policy may be a triggering event. Different triggering events may trigger the UE to apply different path selection policy.; ¶ [0276] Path selection may be triggered if a listed UE advertises availability of PC5 path.; ¶ [0287] Based on triggering event, UE 301 may determine to switch to a PC5 path for communication with UE 302.).
wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the first terminal, the target path switching information (read as path selection policy) (¶ [0420] Receiving a message from a policy control function (PCF), wherein the message may include a path selection policy for direct communication with one or more user equipment.);
wherein the obtaining, by the first terminal, the target path switching information comprises: sending, by the first terminal, first path switching information to the second terminal; wherein the first path switching information comprises a trigger condition (read as the predefined time) accepted by the first terminal for triggering switching between the first communication path and the second communication path (¶ [0281] Once a UE obtains path selection policy from PCF, it may choose to broadcast such policy over the PC5 interface.; ¶ [0286] The network may set up the policy in a way such that, for example, a UE or a group of UEs may stay in the 5GC for a predefined amount of time. The UE to UE communication may switch to PC5 path after the predefined time.; ¶ [0287] UE may make the path selection based on the path selection policy from PCF.); and
Li does not explicitly teach, receiving, by the first terminal, the target path switching information sent by the second terminal; wherein the target path switching information is information accepted by the second terminal from the first path switching information.
In analogous art, Lei teaches receiving, by the first terminal, the target path switching information (read as D2D Switch Response) sent by the second terminal ( (¶ [0055] UE2 can acknowledge the switch to a D2D communication path by sending a D2D Switch Response message to eNB, which can be then forwarded to the UE1. This means that both the UE 1 and UE2 have been synchronized for switch to a D2D communication path.);
wherein the target path switching information is information accepted by the second terminal from the first path switching information (¶ [0056] The D2D Switch Response message from UE2 can include the radio bearer or QoS acceptable by the UE2, and the Switch Response message forwarded to UE1 can include the negotiated radio bearer or QoS for the D2D communication. The D2D Switch Response message can indicate that the D2D related context information is accepted as requested by UE1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine communication of switching information as taught by Lei with path switching as taught by Li. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve coordination and reliability of communication path switching by exchanging switching information between the UEs so that the UEs can use mutually acceptable switching parameters when transitioning between communication paths (Lei: ¶¶ [0001-0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches wherein the target path switching information further comprises at least one of the following information: a second path switching indication, comprising a first service type and/or a first session type and used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for a service corresponding to the first service type and/or a session corresponding to the first session type on the current communication path, or for all services and/or all sessions on the current communication path in a case that the trigger condition is met (¶ [0148] The path switch request may include PDU session information (e.g., session ID, session type, quality of service (QoS) Flow Identifiers (QFIs); ¶ [0167] N1 SM NAS information that is sent to relay UE may include switching UE ID, PDU session ID, session type, associated NSSAI, QoS rules, or DNN (Data Network Name).; ¶ [0168] Relay UE may communicate with switching UE about the session modification over the PC5 link, including session ID, session type and QoS rules.);
a first path switching indication, used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for at least one of all services, all sessions, or all quality of service (QoS) flows on a current communication path between the first terminal and the second terminal in a case that the trigger condition is met;
a third path switching indication, comprising a first service identifier and/or a first session identifier and used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for a service corresponding to the first service identifier and/or a session corresponding to the first session identifier on the current communication path, or for all services and/or all sessions on the current communication path in a case that the trigger condition is met; a fourth path switching indication, comprising a first QoS flow identifier and used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for a QoS flow corresponding to the first QoS flow identifier on the current communication path, or for all services and/or all sessions on the current communication path in a case that the trigger condition is met; or a path switching direction, used for indicating a switching direction of a communication path (Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches wherein the trigger condition comprises at least one of the following information:
a first QoS threshold and/or first communication interruption information, wherein the first QoS threshold and the first communication interruption information are associated with the current communication path between the first terminal and the second terminal, and the first QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the current communication path (¶ [0285] The data rate performance or packet loss rate degrades for the 5GC path due to the network congestion, the UEs may decide to switch to PC5 path.; ¶ [0298] The switching may be triggered by UE with the following event. Two UEs are moving far away from each other, so PC5 communication interface cannot meet the QoS requirement, so that UEs decide to switch to 5GC path.);
a second QoS threshold and/or second communication interruption information, wherein the second QoS threshold and the second communication interruption information are associated with the first service type and/or the first session type, and the second QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the service corresponding to the first service type and/or the session corresponding to the first session type on the current communication path;
a third QoS threshold and/or third communication interruption information, wherein the third QoS threshold and the third communication interruption information are associated with the first service identifier and/or the first session identifier, and the third QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the service corresponding to the first service identifier and/or the session corresponding to the first session identifier on the current communication path;
a fourth QoS threshold and/or fourth communication interruption information, wherein the fourth QoS threshold and the fourth communication interruption information are associated with the first QoS flow identifier, and the fourth QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the QoS flow corresponding to the first QoS flow identifier on the current communication path;
or
a fifth QoS threshold and a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, wherein the current communication path is the first communication path, the fifth QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the first communication path, and the RSRP threshold is a threshold of an RSRP for the second communication path (Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Li teaches after the obtaining, by the first terminal, the target path switching information, further comprising: sending, by the first terminal, second trigger condition activation information to the second terminal (¶ [0281] Once a UE obtains a path selection policy from PCF, it may choose to broadcast such policy over the PC5 interface. A UE may unicast or multicast the policy over the PC5 interface.; ¶ [0299] UE may send switching notification to UE over PC5.);
wherein the second trigger condition activation information is used to indicate the second terminal to activate the trigger condition (¶ [0299] UE may send switching notification to UE over PC5 that indicates a preference to switch the NCIS communication to 5GC path.).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Li teaches wherein the performing, by a first terminal, switching between a first communication path and a second communication path based on target path switching information comprises: performing, by the first terminal, switching from the first communication path to the second communication path based on the target path switching information in a case that a current communication path between the first terminal and the second terminal is the first communication path; or performing, by the first terminal, switching from the second communication path to the first communication path based on the target path switching information in a case that the current communication path is the second communication path (Fig. 29, element 301 UE 1 and element 302 UE 2; ¶ [0299] UE 301 and UE 302 may already exchange data with each other over PC5 interface. UE 301 may send switching notification to UE 302 over PC5 that indicates a preference to switch the NCIS communication to 5GC path.; ¶ [0300] UE may send message to request the switch, which includes a request to establish/modify a PDU session for the upcoming 5GC path communication. Information may include a time instant about when the switch takes effect.; ¶ [0302] The response to UE 301 indicating the PDU session is ready. UE 302 may follow similar steps to establish to modify PDU session for the 5GC path.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Li teaches wherein the performing, by a first terminal, switching between a first communication path and a second communication path based on target path switching information comprises at least one of the following: in a case that the target path switching information comprises the second path switching indication, the second QoS threshold, and/or the second communication interruption information, performing, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for the service corresponding to the first service type and/or the session corresponding to the first session type on the current communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the current communication path for the service corresponding to the first service type and/or the session corresponding to the first session type does not meet the second QoS threshold (¶ [0276] A QoS Criteria may indicate the path selection criteria regarding QoS parameters. For example, if the latency or data rate requirement for the communication is very short or very high, then PC5 may be preferred.; ¶ [0280] A path selection policy may be different per different types of triggers, per NCIS application, per S-NSSAI or per QoS class (e.g., 5QI).; ¶ [0285] Application may trigger a new path selection operation, if the NCIS application detects that its buffer rate due to packet loss goes above a certain threshold or triggers path selection or switching.; ¶ [0296] A subset of UEs in the group request to switch to PC5 due to QoS degradation.); or
performing, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for all the services and/or all the sessions on the current communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the current communication path for the service corresponding to the first service type and/or the session corresponding to the first session type does not meet the second QoS threshold (Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).);
in a case that the target path switching information comprises the first path switching indication, the first QoS threshold, and/or the first communication interruption information, performing, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for at least one of all services, all sessions, or all QoS flows on the current communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the current communication path does not meet the first QoS threshold;
in a case that the target path switching information comprises the third path switching indication, the third QoS threshold, and/or the third communication interruption information, performing, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for the service corresponding to the first service identifier and/or the session corresponding to the first session identifier on the current communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the current communication path for the service corresponding to the first service identifier and/or the session corresponding to the first session identifier does not meet the third QoS threshold; or
performing, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for all the services and/or all the sessions on the current communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the current communication path for the service corresponding to the first service identifier and/or the session corresponding to the first session identifier does not meet the third QoS threshold;
in a case that the target path switching information comprises the fourth path switching indication, the fourth QoS threshold, and/or
the fourth communication interruption information, performing, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for the QoS flow corresponding to the first QoS flow identifier on the current communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the current communication path for the QoS flow corresponding to the first QoS flow identifier does not meet the fourth QoS threshold; or
performing, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for all the services and/or all the sessions on the current communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the current communication path for the QoS flow corresponding to the first QoS flow identifier does not meet the fourth QoS threshold; or
in a case that the target path switching information comprises the fifth QoS threshold and the RSRP threshold, performing, by the first terminal, switching from the first communication path to the second communication path in a case that the current communication path is interrupted or that the current communication path is the first communication path, a QoS parameter achievable or satisfiable on the first communication path does not meet the fifth QoS threshold, and an RSRP on the second communication path is greater than the RSRP threshold (Note: MPEP 2111.04: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because condition(s) precedent are not met.; See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of a contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches wherein the target path switching information further comprises at least one of the following information:
a first path switching indication, used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for at least one of all services, all sessions, or all quality of service (QoS) flows on a current communication path between the first terminal and the second terminal in a case that the trigger condition is met (¶ [0148] The path switch request may include PDU session information (e.g., session ID, session type, quality of service (QoS) Flow Identifiers (QFIs); ¶ [0167] N1 SM NAS information that is sent to relay UE may include switching UE ID, PDU session ID, session type, associated NSSAI, QoS rules, or DNN (Data Network Name).; ¶ [0168] Relay UE may communicate with switching UE about the session modification over the PC5 link, including session ID, session type and QoS rules.);
a second path switching indication, comprising a first service type and/or a first session type and used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for a service corresponding to the first service type and/or a session corresponding to the first session type on the current communication path, or for all services and/or all sessions on the current communication path in a case that the trigger condition is met;
a third path switching indication, comprising a first service identifier and/or a first session identifier and used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for a service corresponding to the first service identifier and/or a session corresponding to the first session identifier on the current communication path, or for all services and/or all sessions on the current communication path in a case that the trigger condition is met;
a fourth path switching indication, comprising a first QoS flow identifier and used for indicating to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path for a QoS flow corresponding to the first QoS flow identifier on the current communication path, or for all services and/or all sessions on the current communication path in a case that the trigger condition is met; or a path switching direction, used for indicating a switching direction of a communication path; or
the trigger condition comprises at least one of the following information: a first QoS threshold and/or first communication interruption information, wherein the first QoS threshold and the first communication interruption information are associated with the current communication path between the first terminal and the second terminal, and the first QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the current communication path;
a second QoS threshold and/or second communication interruption information, wherein the second QoS threshold and the second communication interruption information are associated with the first service type and/or the first session type, and the second QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the service corresponding to the first service type and/or the session corresponding to the first session type on the current communication path;
a third QoS threshold and/or third communication interruption information, wherein the third QoS threshold and the third communication interruption information are associated with the first service identifier and/or the first session identifier, and the third QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the service corresponding to the first service identifier and/or the session corresponding to the first session identifier on the current communication path;
a fourth QoS threshold and/or fourth communication interruption information, wherein the fourth QoS threshold and the fourth communication interruption information are associated with the first QoS flow identifier, and the fourth QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the QoS flow corresponding to the first QoS flow identifier on the current communication path; or
a fifth QoS threshold and a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, wherein the current communication path is the first communication path, the fifth QoS threshold is a threshold of a QoS parameter for the first communication path, and the RSRP threshold is a threshold of an RSRP for the second communication path (Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Claims 2, 13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lei further in view of Chu et al. (US 2013/0266136 A1; hereinafter Chu).
Regarding claims 2, 13, and 22, Li and Lei do not explicitly teach sending, by the first terminal, first path switching cancellation information to the second terminal in a case that the first terminal is unable to perform switching between the first communication path and the second communication path; wherein the first path switching cancellation information is used to indicate the second terminal to skip switching between the first communication path and the second communication path;
receiving, by the first terminal, first path switching cancellation reply information sent by the second terminal; or
receiving, by the first terminal, second path switching cancellation information sent by the second terminal; wherein the second path switching cancellation information is used to indicate the first terminal to skip switching between the first communication path and the second communication path;
skipping, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path based on the second path switching cancellation information; sending, by the first terminal, second path switching cancellation reply information to the second terminal.
In analogous art, Chu teaches sending, by the first terminal (read as responder), first path switching cancellation information to the second terminal (read as initiator) in a case that the first terminal is unable to perform switching (read as does not support) between the first communication path and the second communication path; wherein the first path switching cancellation information is used to indicate the second terminal to skip switching between the first communication path and the second communication path (¶ [0027] If the FST responder does not support the operation defined in FST Setup Request, the responder can reject the FST Setup Request by sending a FST Setup Response indicating that the related operation is not supported by the responder.);
receiving, by the first terminal (read as responder), first path switching cancellation reply information sent by the second terminal (read as initiator) (¶ [0027] A FST Setup Response indicating that the related operation is not supported by the responder.; ¶ [0028] Upon receipt of the FST Setup Response, the FST initiator acknowledges receipt via an acknowledgement frame ACK.); or
receiving, by the first terminal, second path switching cancellation information sent by the second terminal; wherein the second path switching cancellation information is used to indicate the first terminal to skip switching between the first communication path and the second communication path;
skipping, by the first terminal, switching between the first communication path and the second communication path based on the second path switching cancellation information; sending, by the first terminal, second path switching cancellation reply information to the second terminal (Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine rejection when unable to perform switching as taught by Chu with communication of switching information as taught by Lei and path switching as taught by Li. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve reliability and avoid unsuccessful path switching, which would lead to an unsatisfactory experience by the user, by notifying the other terminal when a requested switch cannot be performed and coordinating the path switching operation between the terminals (Chu: ¶¶ [0002-0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shariat et al. (US 2022/0369408 A1) discloses “Improvements in and Relating to Dynamic Path Switching”
Xu et al. (US 2024/0129830 A1) discloses “Communication Mode Switching Method and Related Apparatus”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464