CTNF 18/618,403 CTNF 91743 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-12, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2009/0197438) . Regarding claim 1 : Liu teaches an electrical connector housing (see Fig. 1), comprising: a first housing part 21 ; and a second housing part 22 independent of the first housing part (see Fig. 2), at least one of the first housing part or the second housing part defines a receiving slot 225 sized to receive a plurality of connection terminals 321 and a circuit board 3 (see Figs. 1-5), the first housing part 21 and the second housing part 22 are adapted to be slidably assembled together (see Figs. 1-5). Regarding claim 2 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein one side of the second housing part 22 is formed with a side opening (at 2236 ; Fig. 2), and the first housing part 21 is adapted to slide into the second housing part from the side opening of the second housing part (see Figs. 1-5). Regarding claim 3 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein: the first housing part 21 is formed with a sliding guide slot 2135 ; and the second housing part 22 is formed with a sliding guide bar 6 , the sliding guide bar adapted to slide along the sliding guide slot and guide the sliding of the first housing part into the second housing part (see Fig. 4). Regarding claim 4 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the sliding guide bar 6 is further adapted to abut against the connection terminal placed into the receiving slot when the first housing part is received into the second housing part (see Figs. 4-5 for all components abutting against each other when the two housing parts are slid together). Regarding claim 5 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the second housing part 22 includes a locking notch (at 2235 ; Fig. 2) adapted to permit the connection terminal 321 placed into the receiving slot to extend thereinto (see Figs. 1-5), and to abut against the connection terminal when the receiving slot is kept closed by the first housing part and the second housing part being assembled together (see Figs. 4-5 for all components abutting against each other when the two housing parts are slid together). Regarding claim 6 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein: the first housing part 21 is provided with a first engagement portion 2136 ; the second housing part 22 is provided with a second engagement portion 2237 ; and the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion are adapted to engage with each other when the first housing part and the second housing part are assembled together such that the receiving slot is kept closed (see Figs. 1-5). Regarding claim 7 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the first engagement portion 2136 and the second engagement portion 2237 engage in a snap-fit manner (see Figs. 1-5). Regarding claim 8 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and further teaches wherein one of the first engagement portion or the second engagement portion is a protruding block (at 2136 ; Fig. 3), and the other of the first engagement portion or the second engagement portion is an elastic sheet (at 2237 ; Fig. 3) with an opening adapted to accommodate the protruding block (see Figs. 1-5). Regarding claim 9 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the first engagement portion is integrally formed with the first housing part, and the second engagement portion is integrally formed with the second housing part (see Fig. 3). Regarding claim 10 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first housing part 21 further defines a first receiving slot and a second receiving slot adapted to receive the plurality of connection terminals and the circuit board (e.g. two receiving slots forming an L-shape to receive the terminals and board; see Fig. 3). Regarding claim 11 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the first receiving slot and the second receiving slot are positioned on opposite sides of the first housing part 21 , respectively (see Fig. 3). Regarding claim 12 : Liu teaches an electrical connector (Fig. 1), comprising: an electrical connector housing 2 , including: a first housing part 21 ; and a second housing part 22 independent of the first housing part (see Fig. 2), at least one of the first housing part or the second housing part defines a receiving slot 225 sized to receive a plurality of connection terminals 321 and a circuit board 3 (see Figs. 1-5), the first housing part 21 and the second housing part 22 are adapted to be slidably assembled together (see Figs. 1-5); a plurality of connection terminals 321 ; and a circuit board 3 , the plurality of connection terminals and the circuit board are connected together and placed into the receiving slot of the electrical connector housing (see Figs. 1-5). Regarding claim 19 : Liu teaches an electrical connector housing 2 , comprising: a first housing part 21 ; and a second housing part 22 slidably receiving the first housing part therein (see Figs. 1-5), at least one of the first housing part or the second housing part defines a receiving slot (at 225 ; Fig. 2) receiving a plurality of connection terminals 321 and a circuit board 3 , the second housing part is slidably received within the first housing part in a first direction transverse to a longitudinal extension direction of the plurality of connection terminals (see Figs. 1-5). Regarding claim 20 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 19 and further teaches wherein the first direction is parallel to a direction along which the plurality of connection terminals are arranged side by side (see Fig. 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2009/0197438), in view of Ebata (US 11,245,220) . Regarding claim 13 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein each connection terminal includes a crimping portion. Ebata teaches each connection terminal includes a crimping portion (see Fig. 2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with each connection terminal includes a crimping portion as taught by Ebata into the electrical connector of Liu in order to achieve the advantage of providing terminals capable of crimping to wire ends and a receptacle connecting end. Regarding claim 17 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of connection terminals are fitted with the circuit board via crimping. Ebata teaches a plurality of connection terminals are fitted with a circuit board via crimping (see Fig. 2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the plurality of connection terminals fitted with the circuit board via crimping as taught by Ebata into the electrical connector of Liu in order to achieve the advantage of providing terminals capable of crimping to wire ends of a flexible board. Regarding claim 18 : Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the circuit board is a flexible printed circuit board. Ebata teaches a circuit board 90 is a flexible printed circuit board (see Fig. 2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the circuit board being a flexible printed circuit board as taught by Ebata into the electrical connector of Liu in order to achieve the advantage of providing a flexible circuit board capable of fitting in various areas without breaking and damaging due to bending . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for pertinent prior art, the following references being of closest relevance: Chiu (US 2012/0231670) teaches a two part connector housing capable of housing a flexible printed circuit board and connection terminals within; Yu (US 2013/0052842) teaches a two part connector housing, wherein two parts slide relative to each other when joining and capable of housing a flexible printed circuit board and connection terminals within; Wu (US 2020/0203865) teaches a two part connector housing capable of housing a flexible printed circuit board and connection terminals within; Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OSCAR C JIMENEZ whose telephone number is (571)270-0272. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Renee Luebke can be reached at (571) 272-2009. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/618,403 Page 2 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/618,403 Page 3 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/618,403 Page 4 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/618,403 Page 5 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/618,403 Page 6 Art Unit: 2831