Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on March 27, 2024, August 1, 2024, and September 18, 2025. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0377819), herein referred to as “Zhou”, in view of Wan et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0039762), herein referred to as “Wan”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Zhou discloses: A method for managing an operation of a wireline access gateway function (W-AGF) in a wireless network, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a W-AGF control plane (W-AGF-C) entity of the W-AGF to a W-AGF user plane (W-AGF-U) entity of the W-AGF,
and receiving, by the W-AGF-C entity from the W-AGF-U entity,
[0004] There is a connection between the 5G-RG and the W-AGF for transmitting control plane packets and user plane packets from the 5G-RG to the 5G network, where the control plane packets are non-access stratum (NAS) messages. For the user plane packets, the W-AGF needs to identify a protocol data unit (PDU) session and a quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to a received uplink packet, and correspondingly forward the PDU session and the QoS flow through an N3 interface to the UPF. Meanwhile, for a downlink packet, the W-AGF also needs to provide an identifier (ID) for a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can distinguish the PDU session and the QoS flow.
Note: The object is being interpreted as the QoS flow for the uplink and downlink packets.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose: a performance statics response message in response to the performance statistics request message.
However, Wan discloses: a performance statics response message in response to the performance statistics request message.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: Messaging is being sent between the two entities (AGF-CP and AGF-UP), and is obvious to further send statistics request and response messages.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of indicating sending and receiving statistics request and response messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Regarding Claim 2,
Zhou does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Wan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the performance statistics request message includes at least one of a message type, transaction identifier (ID), a W-AGF-C key performance indicator (KPI) ID, a W-AGF-U KPI ID, a KPI Registration Request, KPI report characteristics, and a KPI reporting periodicity.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: The “message type” is being broadly interpreted as the session establishment request message/session establishment response message.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of a message type messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Regarding Claim 3,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the KPI report characteristics indicate the at least one object.
[0004] There is a connection between the 5G-RG and the W-AGF for transmitting control plane packets and user plane packets from the 5G-RG to the 5G network, where the control plane packets are non-access stratum (NAS) messages. For the user plane packets, the W-AGF needs to identify a protocol data unit (PDU) session and a quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to a received uplink packet, and correspondingly forward the PDU session and the QoS flow through an N3 interface to the UPF. Meanwhile, for a downlink packet, the W-AGF also needs to provide an identifier (ID) for a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can distinguish the PDU session and the QoS flow.
Regarding Claim 4,
Zhou does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Wan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the performance statics response message includes at least one of a message type, transaction identifier (ID), a W-AGF-C key performance indicator (KPI) ID, a W-AGF-U KPI ID and criticality diagnostics.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: The “message type” is being broadly interpreted as the session establishment request message/session establishment response message.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of a message type messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Regarding Claim 5,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising
receiving, by the W-AGF-C entity from the W-AGF-U entity, a performance statistics update message including at least one key performance indicator (KPI) for the at least one object.
[0071] At operation 3, sending, from the SMF, a session management context update response message to the AMF.
[0072] At operation 4, sending, from the AMF, a second N2 session request to the W-AGF.
[0073] It should be noted that the second N2 session request is generated by the AMF according to a PDU session management context update response sent from the SMF, and the second N2 session request contains a PDU session modification instruction message sent to the 5G-RG.
[0074] At operation 5a, sending, from the W-AGF, a second W-CP request message to the 5G-RG. The second W-CP request message contains a PDU session ID to be modified and an updated QFI(s).
[0075] At operation 5b, sending, by the 5G-RG, a second W-CP response message to the W-AGF.
[0076] In this embodiment, the updated QFI includes, but is not limited to, deletion or addition of a QoS flow on the PDU session.
Note: The updated message is contained within the request message that contains updated QFIs.
Regarding Claim 6,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein the performance statistics update message further includes at least one of a message type, transaction identifier (ID), a W-AGF-C key performance indicator (KPI) ID, a W-AGF-U KPI ID, an error indication indicator and criticality diagnostics.
[0071] At operation 3, sending, from the SMF, a session management context update response message to the AMF.
[0072] At operation 4, sending, from the AMF, a second N2 session request to the W-AGF.
[0073] It should be noted that the second N2 session request is generated by the AMF according to a PDU session management context update response sent from the SMF, and the second N2 session request contains a PDU session modification instruction message sent to the 5G-RG.
[0074] At operation 5a, sending, from the W-AGF, a second W-CP request message to the 5G-RG. The second W-CP request message contains a PDU session ID to be modified and an updated QFI(s).
[0075] At operation 5b, sending, by the 5G-RG, a second W-CP response message to the W-AGF.
[0076] In this embodiment, the updated QFI includes, but is not limited to, deletion or addition of a QoS flow on the PDU session.
Note: The updated message is contained within the request message that contains updated QFIs, and this message is being interpreted as a “message type.”
Regarding Claim 8,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, by the W-AGF-C entity to the W-AGF-U entity,
receiving, by the W-AGF-C entity from the W-AGF-U entity,
[0004] There is a connection between the 5G-RG and the W-AGF for transmitting control plane packets and user plane packets from the 5G-RG to the 5G network, where the control plane packets are non-access stratum (NAS) messages. For the user plane packets, the W-AGF needs to identify a protocol data unit (PDU) session and a quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to a received uplink packet, and correspondingly forward the PDU session and the QoS flow through an N3 interface to the UPF. Meanwhile, for a downlink packet, the W-AGF also needs to provide an identifier (ID) for a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can distinguish the PDU session and the QoS flow.
Note: A peer device can be interpreted as the UPF being connected via the N3 interface.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose: a peer user plane feedback response message in response to the peer user plane feedback request message.
However, Wan discloses: a peer user plane feedback response message in response to the peer user plane feedback request message.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: Messaging is being sent between the two entities (AGF-CP and AGF-UP), and is obvious to further send peer user plane feedback request and response messages.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of indicating sending and receiving peer user plan feedback request and response messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Regarding Claim 9,
Zhou does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 9.
However, Wan discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the peer user plane feedback request message includes at least one of a message type, transaction identifier (ID), a W-AGF-C peer user plane (UP) feedback ID, a W-AGF-U peer UP feedback ID, a peer UP feedback registration request, peer UP feedback report characteristics, and a peer UP feedback reporting periodicity.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: The “message type” is being broadly interpreted as the session establishment request message/session establishment response message.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of a message type messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Regarding Claim 10,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein the peer UP feedback report characteristics indicate the at least one peer up feedback object.
[0004] There is a connection between the 5G-RG and the W-AGF for transmitting control plane packets and user plane packets from the 5G-RG to the 5G network, where the control plane packets are non-access stratum (NAS) messages. For the user plane packets, the W-AGF needs to identify a protocol data unit (PDU) session and a quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to a received uplink packet, and correspondingly forward the PDU session and the QoS flow through an N3 interface to the UPF. Meanwhile, for a downlink packet, the W-AGF also needs to provide an identifier (ID) for a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can distinguish the PDU session and the QoS flow.
Regarding Claim 11,
Zhou does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Wan discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the performance statics response message includes at least one of a message type, transaction identifier (ID), a W-AGF-C peer user plane (UP) feedback ID, a W-AGF-U peer UP feedback ID and criticality diagnostics.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: The “message type” is being broadly interpreted as the session establishment request message/session establishment response message.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of a message type messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Regarding Claim 12,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving, by the W-AGF-C entity from the W-AGF-U entity, a peer user plane feedback update message including a peer user plane feedback for the at least one peer up feedback object.
[0071] At operation 3, sending, from the SMF, a session management context update response message to the AMF.
[0072] At operation 4, sending, from the AMF, a second N2 session request to the W-AGF.
[0073] It should be noted that the second N2 session request is generated by the AMF according to a PDU session management context update response sent from the SMF, and the second N2 session request contains a PDU session modification instruction message sent to the 5G-RG.
[0074] At operation 5a, sending, from the W-AGF, a second W-CP request message to the 5G-RG. The second W-CP request message contains a PDU session ID to be modified and an updated QFI(s).
[0075] At operation 5b, sending, by the 5G-RG, a second W-CP response message to the W-AGF.
[0076] In this embodiment, the updated QFI includes, but is not limited to, deletion or addition of a QoS flow on the PDU session.
Note: The updated message is contained within the request message that contains updated QFIs.
Regarding Claim 13,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 12, wherein the peer user plane feedback update message further includes at least one of a message type, transaction identifier, ID, a W-AGF-C peer user plane, UP, feedback ID, a W-AGF-U peer UP feedback ID, a peer UP feedback indicator and a transport layer address.
[0071] At operation 3, sending, from the SMF, a session management context update response message to the AMF.
[0072] At operation 4, sending, from the AMF, a second N2 session request to the W-AGF.
[0073] It should be noted that the second N2 session request is generated by the AMF according to a PDU session management context update response sent from the SMF, and the second N2 session request contains a PDU session modification instruction message sent to the 5G-RG.
[0074] At operation 5a, sending, from the W-AGF, a second W-CP request message to the 5G-RG. The second W-CP request message contains a PDU session ID to be modified and an updated QFI(s).
[0075] At operation 5b, sending, by the 5G-RG, a second W-CP response message to the W-AGF.
[0076] In this embodiment, the updated QFI includes, but is not limited to, deletion or addition of a QoS flow on the PDU session.
Note: The updated message is contained within the request message that contains updated QFIs.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Zhou discloses: An apparatus for a wireline access gateway function (W-AGF) in a wireless network, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to, when executing the instructions, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
transmitting, by a W-AGF control plane (W-AGF-C) entity of the W-AGF to a W-AGF user plane (W-AGF-U) entity of the W-AGF,
and receiving, by the W-AGF-C entity from the W-AGF-U entity,
[0004] There is a connection between the 5G-RG and the W-AGF for transmitting control plane packets and user plane packets from the 5G-RG to the 5G network, where the control plane packets are non-access stratum (NAS) messages. For the user plane packets, the W-AGF needs to identify a protocol data unit (PDU) session and a quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to a received uplink packet, and correspondingly forward the PDU session and the QoS flow through an N3 interface to the UPF. Meanwhile, for a downlink packet, the W-AGF also needs to provide an identifier (ID) for a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can distinguish the PDU session and the QoS flow.
Note: The object is being interpreted as the QoS flow for the uplink and downlink packets.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose: a performance statics response message in response to the performance statistics request message.
However, Wan discloses: a performance statics response message in response to the performance statistics request message.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: Messaging is being sent between the two entities (AGF-CP and AGF-UP), and is obvious to further send statistics request and response messages.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of indicating sending and receiving statistics request and response messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 14=7 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 12.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Zhou discloses: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of an apparatus for a wireline access gateway function (W-AGF) in a wireless network, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
transmitting, by a W-AGF control plane (W-AGF-C) entity of the W-AGF to a W-AGF user plane (W-AGF-U) entity of the W-AGF,
and receiving, by the W-AGF-C entity from the W-AGF-U entity,
[0004] There is a connection between the 5G-RG and the W-AGF for transmitting control plane packets and user plane packets from the 5G-RG to the 5G network, where the control plane packets are non-access stratum (NAS) messages. For the user plane packets, the W-AGF needs to identify a protocol data unit (PDU) session and a quality of service (QoS) flow corresponding to a received uplink packet, and correspondingly forward the PDU session and the QoS flow through an N3 interface to the UPF. Meanwhile, for a downlink packet, the W-AGF also needs to provide an identifier (ID) for a user equipment (UE) so that the UE can distinguish the PDU session and the QoS flow.
Note: The object is being interpreted as the QoS flow for the uplink and downlink packets.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose: a performance statics response message in response to the performance statistics request message.
However, Wan discloses: a performance statics response message in response to the performance statistics request message.
[0088] After determining that the separate PFCP session model is to be used (e.g., for the 5G-RG 102), as discussed above with regard to S206 in FIG. 2, the AGF 10 establishes a PFCP session including a set of forwarding rules for control messages between the 5G-RG 102 and the 5GC 110. In at least this example, once having established the PFCP session at the AGF-CP 106, at S28 the AGF-CP 106 outputs a PFCP session establishment request message (PFCP Session Est. Req.) to the AGF-UP 108. Based on the PFCP session establishment request message, the AGF-UP 108 establishes the PFCP session at the AGF-UP 108. The AGF-UP 108 then outputs a PFCP session establishment response message (PFCP Session Est. Resp.) to the AGF-CP 106 at S30, indicating that the PFCP session has been established at the AGF-UP 108. Because PFCP session establishment messages and methods for establishing a PFCP session are generally known, further detailed discussion is omitted.
Note: Messaging is being sent between the two entities (AGF-CP and AGF-UP), and is obvious to further send statistics request and response messages.
Zhou and Wan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of indicating sending and receiving statistics request and response messages as taught by Wan so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Claims 7, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Wan, held further in view of Nallusamy and Padebettu (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0307091), herein referred to as “Nallusamy”.
Regarding Claim 7,
Zhou in view of Wan does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Nallusamy discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one object comprises at least one of W-AGC-C E12 setup failure, W-AGC-C configuration update failure, resource status failure, bearer context setup failure, bearer context modification failure, performance statistics failure, and peer user plane feedback failure.
[0067] FIG. 7 is a flowchart 700 illustrating example operations of a method for responding to a tunnel failure or disconnect according to aspects of the disclosure. An AGF may detect a failure or disconnect of a tunnel associated with a multicast stream (702). The disconnect may be for a primary tunnel that carries the network data for the multicast stream or a secondary tunnel that indicates the multicast stream is to be replicated but does not carry the network data for the multicast stream. As noted above, the AGF node may detect a tunnel failure may by detecting connectivity loss to the UPF node, PDU session release, subscriber connectivity loss and cleanup due to keep-alive failure.
Note: Figure 92 displays a heartbeat request and response message, to which is being interpreted as the “keep alive” feature/status failure in this reference.
Zhou in view of Wan and Nallusamy are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Wan to include the concept of a status failure as taught by Nallusamy so as to further improve gateway function operations.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411