DETAILED ACTION
The following is final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 07/29/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 04/30/2026. Independent claims 1 and 14 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 13-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhamri et al. (2024/0048333), Bhamri hereinafter. Bhamri teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claims 1 and 14, Bhamri teaches a method (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0116 -¶0119/¶0126 & ¶0146-¶0151), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 105/Fig. 10) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 10, 1005); and at least one non-transitory memory storage (Fig.10, 1010) comprising instructions that, when executed (Fig. 10 & ¶0163) by the one or more processors, cause the UE to: receive a downlink control information (DCI), the DCI scheduling one or more data channel transmissions (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0113 - When the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ is present in DCI format 1_2 and when the number of codepoints S in the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ of DCI format 1_2 is smaller than the number of TCI codepoints that are activated by the activation command, …. only the first S activated codepoints are applied for DCI format 1_2. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0126 - For multi-PDSCH scheduling with a single DCI, study the QCL assumption(s) the UE should apply for each PDSCH for the case when some of the scheduled PDSCHs have scheduling offset less than timedurationForQCL while some have scheduling offset equal to or greater than timedurationForQCL. For multi-PDSCH scheduling with a single DCI, study the QCL assumption(s) the UE should apply for each PDSCH for the case when all of the scheduled PDSCHs have scheduling offset less than timedurationForQCL. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0149 - As depicted in FIG. 6, a DCI 601 is received by the UE 205 on PDCCH. Here, the PDCCH schedules 3 PDSCH transmission (i.e., first PDSCH 603 (denoted “PDSCH1”), second PDSCH 605 (denoted “PDSCH2”), and third PDSCH 607 (denoted “PDSCH3”)), where the TCI field is present in the DCI 601. Because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the first PDSCH 603 is less than to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the first PDSCH 603. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams activated for the lowest CORESET ID for the reception of at least the first PDSCH 603. However, because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the last scheduled PDSCH (i.e., third PDSCH 607) is greater than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the third PDSCH 607. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams indicated in DCI 601 for all PDSCH scheduled after the threshold timedurationForQCL (including the third PDSCH 607)); determine a transmit configuration indicator (TCI)-state based on a time duration for quasi co-location (QCL), a value of tci-PresentInDCI, and a scheduling offset; (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - When the UE would transmit a PUCCH with Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (“HARQ-ACK”) information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslotsup.subframe,μ where μ is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH. If parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ or parameter tci-PresentDCI-1-2 is configured for the CORESET scheduling the PDSCH, and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than timedurationForQCL. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0116 – If the PDSCH is scheduled by a DCI format having the TCI field present, the TCI field in DCI in the scheduling component carrier points to the activated TCI states in the scheduled component carrier or DL BWP, the UE shall use the parameter TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location. The UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL type parameter(s) given by the indicated TCI state if the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than a threshold timedurationForQCL, where the threshold is based on reported UE capability. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0117 - When the UE is configured with CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling and the UE is not configured with parameter enableDefaultBeamForCCS, the UE expects parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set as ‘enabled’ or parameter tci-PresentDCI-1-2 is configured for the CORESET, and if one or more of the TCI states configured for the serving cell scheduled by the search space set contains parameter qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, the UE expects the time offset between the reception of the detected PDCCH in the search space set and the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL. Fig. 3-9 & ¶0118 - if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timedurationForQCL and at least one configured TCI state for the serving cell of scheduled PDSCH contains qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, then the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. In this case, if the parameter qcl-Type is set to ‘typeD’ of the PDSCH DM-RS is different from that of the PDCCH DM-RS with which they overlap in at least one symbol, the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. Fig. 6 & ¶0146 - where multiple PDSCHs are scheduled by a DCI format (where TCI field is present), and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and some of the corresponding PDSCHs of a serving cell is less than a threshold timedurationForQCL. Note that the threshold timedurationForQCL is based on reported UE capability, if applicable. In such scenarios, for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location, the UE 205 assumes that the TCI state or the QCL assumption for each of those corresponding PDSCHs is based on the TCI/QCL/beam (associated with the lowest CORESET ID used for the PDCCH transmission within the active BWP of the serving cell) that has TCIduration equal or greater than the scheduling offset of those corresponding PDSCHs with respect to the scheduling PDCCH. Fig. 6 & ¶0149 - Because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the first PDSCH 603 is less than to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the first PDSCH 603. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams activated for the lowest CORESET ID for the reception of at least the first PDSCH 603. However, because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the last scheduled PDSCH (i.e., third PDSCH 607) is greater than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the third PDSCH 607. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams indicated in DCI 601 for all PDSCH scheduled after the threshold timedurationForQCL (including the third PDSCH 607).); and receive, based on the TCI-state, data symbols from the one or more data channel transmissions scheduled by the DCI (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0118 - if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timedurationForQCL and at least one configured TCI state for the serving cell of scheduled PDSCH contains qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, then the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. In this case, if the parameter qcl-Type is set to ‘typeD’ of the PDSCH DM-RS is different from that of the PDCCH DM-RS with which they overlap in at least one symbol, the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0119 – If a UE is configured with parameter enableDefaultTCIStatePerCORESETPoolIndex and the UE is configured by higher layer parameter PDCCH-Config that contains two different values of CORESETPoolIndex in different ControlResourceSets, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH associated with a value of parameter CORESETPoolIndex of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs, which are configured with the same value of CORESETPoolIndex as the PDCCH scheduling that PDSCH, in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs associated with the same value of CORESETPoolIndex as the PDCCH scheduling that PDSCH within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. In this case, if the ‘QCL-TypeD’ of the PDSCH DM-RS is different from that of the PDCCH DM-RS with which they overlap in at least one symbol and they are associated with same CORESETPoolIndex, the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. This also applies to the intra-band CA case (when PDSCH and the CORESET are in different component carriers. Fig. 6 & ¶0146 - where multiple PDSCHs are scheduled by a DCI format (where TCI field is present), and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and some of the corresponding PDSCHs of a serving cell is less than a threshold timedurationForQCL. Note that the threshold timedurationForQCL is based on reported UE capability, if applicable. In such scenarios, for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location, the UE 205 assumes that the TCI state or the QCL assumption for each of those corresponding PDSCHs is based on the TCI/QCL/beam (associated with the lowest CORESET ID used for the PDCCH transmission within the active BWP of the serving cell) that has TCIduration equal or greater than the scheduling offset of those corresponding PDSCHs with respect to the scheduling PDCCH. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0149 – As depicted in FIG. 6, a DCI 601 is received by the UE 205 on PDCCH. Here, the PDCCH schedules 3 PDSCH transmission (i.e., first PDSCH 603 (denoted “PDSCH1”), second PDSCH 605 (denoted “PDSCH2”), and third PDSCH 607 (denoted “PDSCH3”)), where the TCI field is present in the DCI 601. Because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the first PDSCH 603 is less than to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the first PDSCH 603. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams activated for the lowest CORESET ID for the reception of at least the first PDSCH 603. However, because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the last scheduled PDSCH (i.e., third PDSCH 607) is greater than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the third PDSCH 607. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams indicated in DCI 601 for all PDSCH scheduled after the threshold timedurationForQCL (including the third PDSCH 607)).
Re. Claims 2 and 15, Bhamri teaches claims 1 and 14.
Bhamri further teaches wherein the scheduling offset comprises a time offset between a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion that comprises the DCI and a corresponding physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0118 - if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timedurationForQCL and at least one configured TCI state for the serving cell of scheduled PDSCH contains qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, then the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. In this case, if the parameter qcl-Type is set to ‘typeD’ of the PDSCH DM-RS is different from that of the PDCCH DM-RS with which they overlap in at least one symbol, the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0146 - where multiple PDSCHs are scheduled by a DCI format (where TCI field is present), and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and some of the corresponding PDSCHs of a serving cell is less than a threshold timedurationForQCL. Note that the threshold timedurationForQCL is based on reported UE capability, if applicable. In such scenarios, for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location, the UE 205 assumes that the TCI state or the QCL assumption for each of those corresponding PDSCHs is based on the TCI/QCL/beam (associated with the lowest CORESET ID used for the PDCCH transmission within the active BWP of the serving cell) that has TCIduration equal or greater than the scheduling offset of those corresponding PDSCHs with respect to the scheduling PDCCH. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0149 – As depicted in FIG. 6, a DCI 601 is received by the UE 205 on PDCCH. Here, the PDCCH schedules 3 PDSCH transmission (i.e., first PDSCH 603 (denoted “PDSCH1”), second PDSCH 605 (denoted “PDSCH2”), and third PDSCH 607 (denoted “PDSCH3”)), where the TCI field is present in the DCI 601. Because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the first PDSCH 603 is less than to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the first PDSCH 603. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams activated for the lowest CORESET ID for the reception of at least the first PDSCH 603. However, because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the last scheduled PDSCH (i.e., third PDSCH 607) is greater than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the third PDSCH 607. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams indicated in DCI 601 for all PDSCH scheduled after the threshold timedurationForQCL (including the third PDSCH 607)).
Re. Claims 3 and 16, Bhamri teaches claims 1 and 14.
Bhamri further teaches wherein the scheduling offset is less than the time duration for the QCL, and wherein the TCI-state indicates a beam utilized in receiving. (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0146 - where multiple PDSCHs are scheduled by a DCI format (where TCI field is present), and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and some of the corresponding PDSCHs of a serving cell is less than a threshold timedurationForQCL. Note that the threshold timedurationForQCL is based on reported UE capability, if applicable. In such scenarios, for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location, the UE 205 assumes that the TCI state or the QCL assumption for each of those corresponding PDSCHs is based on the TCI/QCL/beam (associated with the lowest CORESET ID used for the PDCCH transmission within the active BWP of the serving cell) that has TCIduration equal or greater than the scheduling offset of those corresponding PDSCHs with respect to the scheduling PDCCH. Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0149 – As depicted in FIG. 6, a DCI 601 is received by the UE 205 on PDCCH. Here, the PDCCH schedules 3 PDSCH transmission (i.e., first PDSCH 603 (denoted “PDSCH1”), second PDSCH 605 (denoted “PDSCH2”), and third PDSCH 607 (denoted “PDSCH3”)), where the TCI field is present in the DCI 601. Because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the first PDSCH 603 is less than to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the first PDSCH 603. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams activated for the lowest CORESET ID for the reception of at least the first PDSCH 603.).
Re. Claims 9 and 17, Bhamri teaches claims 1 and 14.
Bhamri further teaches wherein the scheduling offset is greater than or equal to the time duration for the QCL (Fig. 6 & ¶0149 - …because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the last scheduled PDSCH (i.e., third PDSCH 607) is greater than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the third PDSCH 607. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams indicated in DCI 601 for all PDSCH scheduled after the threshold timedurationForQCL (including the third PDSCH 607)), and wherein the TCI-state is conveyed via a transmit configuration indicator (TCI) field indicated by the DCI (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0116 - If the PDSCH is scheduled by a DCI format having the TCI field present, the TCI field in DCI in the scheduling component carrier points to the activated TCI states in the scheduled component carrier or DL BWP, the UE shall use the parameter TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location. Fig. 6 & ¶0149 - As depicted in FIG. 6, a DCI 601 is received by the UE 205 on PDCCH. Here, the PDCCH schedules 3 PDSCH transmission (i.e., first PDSCH 603 (denoted “PDSCH1”), second PDSCH 605 (denoted “PDSCH2”), and third PDSCH 607 (denoted “PDSCH3”)), where the TCI field is present in the DCI 601. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.), or wherein the TCI-state indicates a prior TCI state used by a monitoring occasion containing the DCI, and wherein the TCI field is absent in the DCI.
Re. Claims 13 and 20, Bhamri teaches claims 1 and 14.
Bhamri further teaches wherein the TCI-state indicates a first receive beam that is different from a second receive beam with a reference signal having a QCL type indicated by a current TCI-state, the method further comprising: determining, by the UE, a decision of a TCI state switch associated with the current TCI-state to the TCI-state based on a precedence relation. (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0117 - When the UE is configured with CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling and the UE is not configured with parameter enableDefaultBeamForCCS, the UE expects parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set as ‘enabled’ or parameter tci-PresentDCI-1-2 is configured for the CORESET, and if one or more of the TCI states configured for the serving cell scheduled by the search space set contains parameter qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, the UE expects the time offset between the reception of the detected PDCCH in the search space set and the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL. Fig. 3-9 & ¶0118 - if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timedurationForQCL and at least one configured TCI state for the serving cell of scheduled PDSCH contains qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, then the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. In this case, if the parameter qcl-Type is set to ‘typeD’ of the PDSCH DM-RS is different from that of the PDCCH DM-RS with which they overlap in at least one symbol, the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. Fig. 6 & ¶0146 - where multiple PDSCHs are scheduled by a DCI format (where TCI field is present), and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and some of the corresponding PDSCHs of a serving cell is less than a threshold timedurationForQCL. Note that the threshold timedurationForQCL is based on reported UE capability, if applicable. In such scenarios, for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location, the UE 205 assumes that the TCI state or the QCL assumption for each of those corresponding PDSCHs is based on the TCI/QCL/beam (associated with the lowest CORESET ID used for the PDCCH transmission within the active BWP of the serving cell) that has TCIduration equal or greater than the scheduling offset of those corresponding PDSCHs with respect to the scheduling PDCCH. Fig. 6 & ¶0149 - Because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the first PDSCH 603 is less than to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the first PDSCH 603. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams activated for the lowest CORESET ID for the reception of at least the first PDSCH 603. However, because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the last scheduled PDSCH (i.e., third PDSCH 607) is greater than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the third PDSCH 607. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams indicated in DCI 601 for all PDSCH scheduled after the threshold timedurationForQCL (including the third PDSCH 607).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri, in view of Gao et al. (2023/0144103), Gao hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Bhamri teaches claim 3.
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach wherein a first data symbol of the data symbols is at least the time duration for the QCL after a PDCCH monitoring occasion comprising the DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly discloses wherein a first data symbol of the data symbols is at least the time duration for the QCL after a PDCCH monitoring occasion comprising the DCI (Fig. 5-7 & ¶0068 - If the PDCCH carrying the scheduling DCI is received on one component carrier, and the PDSCH scheduled by that DCI is on another component carrier: The timeDurationForQCL is determined based on the subcarrier spacing of the scheduled PDSCH. If μPDCCH<μPDSCH an additional timing delay d is added to the timeDurationForQCL, where d is defined as 8 symbols if subcarrier spacing for the PDCCH is 15 kHz, or 8 symbols if subcarrier spacing for the PDCCH is 30 kHz, or 14 symbols if subcarrier spacing for the PDCCH is 60 kHz. For example, the symbol is PDCCH symbol, or the symbol is based on the subcarrier spacing of PDCCH (for example, as defined in Table 5.2.1.5.1a-1 of TS 38.214); For both the cases when tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ and the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL and when tci-PresentInDCI is not configured, the UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH in the active BWP of the scheduled cell. Fig. 5 & ¶0091 - The terms “the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding first PDSCH repetition is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of the corresponding first PDSCH repetition is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of the corresponding last PDSCH repetition is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL” and “Condition 3-1” can be used interchangeably, and in the following Condition 3-1 is used to describe for convenience. The terms “the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of the corresponding first PDSCH repetition is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of the corresponding last PDSCH repetition is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”and “Condition 3-2” can be used interchangeably, and in the following Condition 3-2 is used to describe for convenience. The terms “the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and all of the corresponding PDSCH transmission occasion(s) is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of all of the corresponding PDSCH transmission occasions is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and both of the two transmission occasions is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”, “the offset between the last symbol of the reception of the DL DCI and the first symbol of both of the two transmission occasions is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL”and “Condition 3-1-1” can be used interchangeably, and in the following Condition 3-1-1 is used to describe for convenience. For example, as shown in FIG. 5.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Gao’s invention of a system and a method for multi-TRP based URLLC scheduled by single DCI in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for applying different modulation orders for different layers with non-overlapped frequency resource allocation when a plurality of transmission occasions of a physical shared channel is scheduled and a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states to be used for the plurality of transmission occasions is determined by a user device operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0040-¶0048/Abstract, Gao)
Re. Claim 5, Bhamri teaches claim 3.
Bhamri further teaches wherein a default beam corresponds to a search space set of a plurality of search space sets (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0037 - for associating multiple default beams for multiple PDSCH/PUSCH and monitoring of same CORESET on different beams in different monitoring occasions. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0170 - the first apparatus is configured with a time duration for QCL, where the multiple physical channel transmissions are scheduled by a single DCI that does not contain a TCI field, and where a time offset between reception of the DCI and a first portion (or subset) of the multiple physical channel transmissions is less than the time duration for QCL. In such embodiments, communicating with the RAN includes applying a default beam associated with the lowest CORESET ID for the first portion of the multiple physical channel transmissions and switching to a beam associated with the first CORESET for a remaining portion of the multiple physical channel transmissions.), and
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach wherein each default beam of each search space set of the plurality of search space sets is indicated by a corresponding TCI-state containing QCL information and a reference signal associated with the default beam.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly discloses wherein each default beam of each search space set of the plurality of search space sets is indicated by a corresponding TCI-state containing QCL information and a reference signal associated with the default beam. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0094 - the terms “the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetld in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE”, “the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID among CORESETs, which are configured with the same value of CORESETPoolIndex as the PDCCH scheduling that PDSCH, in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs associated with the same value of CORESETPoolIndex as the PDCCH scheduling that PDSCH within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE”, and “default beam-1” can be used interchangeably, and in the following “default beam-1” is used to describe for convenience. The terms “the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) associated with the TCI states corresponding to the lowest codepoint among the TCI codepoints containing two different TCI states” and “default beam-2” can be used interchangeably, and in the following “default beam-2” is used to describe for convenience. The terms “one transmission occasion” and “UE is expected to receive one transmission occasion” can be used interchangeably. The terms “two transmission occasion” and “UE is expected to receive two transmission occasions” can be used interchangeably. The terms “the number of transmission occasion(s)” and “the number of transmission occasion(s) UE is expected to receive” can be used interchangeably. The terms “the UE may assume that the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with”, “the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with”, “QCL parameter(s)/configuration is applied to the transmission occasion(s)” and “TCI state is applied to the transmission occasion(s)” can be used interchangeably. The terms “the UE may assume that the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with default beam-1”, “the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with default beam-1”, “default beam-1 is applied to the transmission occasion(s)” can be used interchangeably. The terms “the UE may assume that the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with one or two TCI states of default beam-2”, “the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with one or two TCI states of default beam-2”, “one or two TCI states of default beam-2 is applied to the transmission occasion(s)”. The terms “the UE may assume that the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with the first TCI state of default beam-2”, “the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with the first TCI state of default beam-2”, “the first TCI state of default beam-2 is applied to the transmission occasion(s)” can be used interchangeably. The terms “the UE may assume that the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with the second TCI state of default beam-2”, “the DMRS port(s) of the transmission occasion(s) are quasi co-located with the second TCI state of default beam-2”, “the second TCI state of default beam-2 is applied to the transmission occasion(s)” can be used interchangeably.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Gao’s invention of a system and a method for multi-TRP based URLLC scheduled by single DCI in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for applying different modulation orders for different layers with non-overlapped frequency resource allocation when a plurality of transmission occasions of a physical shared channel is scheduled and a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states to be used for the plurality of transmission occasions is determined by a user device operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0040-¶0048/Abstract, Gao)
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri, in view of ABEBE et al. (2024/0137179), ABEBE hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Bhamri teaches claim 3.
Bhamri further teaches wherein the default beam is based on QCL parameters of a CORESET with a lowest CORESET identifier (ID) among the at least one CORESET (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0149 - As depicted in FIG. 6, a DCI 601 is received by the UE 205 on PDCCH. Here, the PDCCH schedules 3 PDSCH transmission (i.e., first PDSCH 603 (denoted “PDSCH1”), second PDSCH 605 (denoted “PDSCH2”), and third PDSCH 607 (denoted “PDSCH3”)), where the TCI field is present in the DCI 601. Because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the first PDSCH 603 is less than to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the first PDSCH 603. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams activated for the lowest CORESET ID for the reception of at least the first PDSCH 603. However, because the time offset 609 between the DCI 601 and the last scheduled PDSCH (i.e., third PDSCH 607) is greater than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL, the UE 205 is able to process the DCI 601 and switch beams before reception of the third PDSCH 607. Therefore, the UE 205 applies the TCI/QCL/beams indicated in DCI 601 for all PDSCH scheduled after the threshold timedurationForQCL (including the third PDSCH 607). Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0170 - where a time offset between reception of the DCI and a first portion (or subset) of the multiple physical channel transmissions is less than the time duration for QCL. In such embodiments, communicating with the RAN includes applying a default beam associated with the lowest CORESET ID for the first portion of the multiple physical channel transmissions and switching to a beam associated with the first CORESET for a remaining portion of the multiple physical channel transmissions. Fig. 3-9 & ¶0171 - where the multiple physical channel transmissions are scheduled by a single DCI that contains a TCI field indicating a set of beams, and where a time offset between reception of the DCI and a first portion (or subset) of the multiple physical channel transmissions is less than the time duration for QCL, wherein communicating with the RAN includes applying a default beam associated with the lowest CORESET ID for the first portion of the multiple physical channel transmissions and switching to the set of beam indicated by the DCI for a remaining portion of the multiple physical channel transmissions.).
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach wherein one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) are assigned to the UE, wherein each of the one or more CORESETs is configured with a corresponding flag, wherein the one or more CORESETs comprises at least one CORESET with the corresponding flag set to be true, and wherein a default beam is based on QCL parameters of a CORESET with a lowest CORESET identifier (ID) among the at least one CORESET.
However, in the analogous art, ABEBE explicitly discloses wherein one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) are assigned to the UE, wherein each of the one or more CORESETs is configured with a corresponding flag, wherein the one or more CORESETs comprises at least one CORESET with the corresponding flag set to be true, and wherein a default beam is based on QCL parameters of a CORESET with a lowest CORESET identifier (ID) among the at least one CORESET. (Fig.2-3 / Fig.7-16 & ¶0281 - In the FIG. 8 it is shown that if the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo (801) is not provided and if the RRC parameter enableDefaultBeamPLForPUCCH (803) is present (default beam is enabled), then the UE applies the default beam (804), i.e., a TCI state of the CORESET with lowest ID. Fig.2-3 / Fig.7-16 & ¶0283 - if both PL-RS is not provided (201) while enableDefaultBeamPL-ForPUCCH (903) is configured, i.e., default beam is enabled, the UE employs a periodic RS resource configured with qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’ in the TCI state or the QCL assumption of a CORESET with the lowest index in the active bandwidth part (905). Fig.2-3 / Fig.7-16 & ¶0398 - For Solution I.7 and Solution II.7, the case for multiple coresetPoolIndex is considered. In this case, the mTRP PDCCH transmission could be associated to multiple (two in Rel. 16 and 17 NR) CORESET pools. Then the corresponding multiple beams for PL-RS and transmission of PUCCH, could be derived from CORESETs associated with different coresetPoolIndex depending on the rules given in Solution I.7.1-7.2 and Solution II.7.1-7.2, respectively. FIG. 15 illustrates an example for Solution II.7.1. In this example, two PUCCH repetitions are transmitted based on two default beams (1505) and (1506) derived from the spatial settings with the same QCL assumption as the CORESETs with lowest ID in their respective pools, i.e., coresetPoolIndex=0 (1503) and coresetPoolIndex=1 (1502)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include ABEBE’s invention of a system and a method for selecting a default beam and pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for transmission of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in selecting a single or multitude of default beams that can be applied at least to the situation where repetitions of PUCCH transmission is intended for multiple transmit receive points (mTRP) operations, supporting for high uplink data transmission rate in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0121/¶0276-¶0277, ABEBE)
Re. Claim 7, Bhamri and ABEBE teach claim 6.
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach wherein each corresponding flag is UE-specific and configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, in the analogous art, ABEBE explicitly discloses wherein each corresponding flag is UE-specific and configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Fig.2-3 / Fig.7-16 & ¶0281 - In the FIG. 8 it is shown that if the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo (801) is not provided and if the RRC parameter enableDefaultBeamPLForPUCCH (803) is present (default beam is enabled), then the UE applies the default beam (804), i.e., a TCI state of the CORESET with lowest ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include ABEBE’s invention of a system and a method for selecting a default beam and pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for transmission of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in selecting a single or multitude of default beams that can be applied at least to the situation where repetitions of PUCCH transmission is intended for multiple transmit receive points (mTRP) operations, supporting for high uplink data transmission rate in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0121/¶0276-¶0277, ABEBE)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri, in view of ABEBE, further in view of Wang et al. (2023/0198719), Wang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Bhamri and ABEBE teach claim 6.
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach wherein the at least one CORESET with the corresponding flag set to be true is prior to a slot containing the data symbols.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses wherein the at least one CORESET with the corresponding flag set to be true is prior to a slot containing the data symbols. (Fig. 7-25 & ¶0118 - The default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal of the SRS follows the TCI state/QCL assumption of the lowest indexed CORESET among those CORESETs, whose configured CORESETPoolindex is the same as the CORESET pool associated with the SRS, in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs whose configured CORESETPoolindex is the same as the CORESET pool associated with the SRS are monitored by the UE. The ‘latest slot’ is prior to the SRS transmission. If there is no SRS transmission at all, i.e. it's just for spatial relation derivation for the PUSCH, then the ‘latest slot’ is prior to the corresponding PUSCH transmission. Fig. 7-25 & ¶0128 - The default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal of the PUCCH may follow the TCI state/QCL assumption of the lowest indexed CORESET among those CORESETs, whose configured CORESETPoolindex is the same as the CORESET pool associated with the PUCCH, in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs whose configured CORESETPoolindex is the same as the CORESET pool associated with the PUCCH are monitored by the UE. The ‘latest slot’ is prior to the PUCCH transmission. The associated CORESET pool with the PUCCH is indicated by associatedCORESETPool-PUCCH. Also, see claim 11, “..a default spatial relation of the PUSCH transmission is to follow a scheduling TCI state of one of a scheduling CORESET or another TCI state of a lowest ID CORESET having a lowest ID in a latest slot prior to the PUSCH transmission in which the lowest ID CORESET is monitored..”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the ngeffective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and ABEBE’s invention of a system and a method for selecting a default beam and pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for transmission of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of default spatial relation for uplink transmission in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism by enabling multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) operation with a single DCI and with multiple DCI for PUCCH transmissions, PUSCH transmissions and SRS transmissions in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (Abstract/¶0002, Wang)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri, in view of Chen et al. (2022/0264661), Chen hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Bhamri teaches claim 1.
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach wherein a time gap between any consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions with UE-specific search space sets (USSs) is greater than or equal to the time duration for the QCL.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein a time gap between any consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions with UE-specific search space sets (USSs) is greater than or equal to the time duration for the QCL. (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0081: ¶0082 - at a second time, first spatial information is determined according to the indication information, and a time interval between the second time and a receiving time of the indication information is greater than or equal to a second preset time…Duration of the second preset time may be predefined or configured by the network, and a unit of the second preset time may be a sub-frame, a time slot, or a symbol. The indication information includes the beam information, TCI state, or QCL of an indication from the network side. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0153- a receiving module 702, configured to receive, according to the first spatial information, a random access response message of a 2-step random access procedure triggered by beam failure recovery (BFR) in common search space (CSS) and/or UE-specific search space (USS). Fig. 1-6 & ¶0179 - determine, at a second time, the first spatial information <see ¶0153, USS> according to the indication information, where a time interval between the second time and a receiving time of the indication information is greater than or equal to a second preset time; and the indication information includes the beam information, TCI state, or QCL of the indication from the network side.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method for initiating a beam failure recovery (Beam Failure Recovery, BFR) procedure through a 2-step random access channel (Random Access Channel, RACH) after a beam failure in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in receiving a successful random access response (RAR) message, assists in determining by a user equipment (UE) for a successful initiation of a random access procedure due to the BFR for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Chen)
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri, in view of JUNG et al. (2022/0408470), JUNG hereinafter.
Re. Claims 11 and 18, Bhamri teaches claims 1 and 14.
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach wherein the time duration for the QCL is configured by a base station using RRC signaling.
However, in the analogous art, JUNG explicitly discloses wherein the time duration for the QCL is configured by a base station using RRC signaling .(Fig. 8 & ¶0226 – The Rel-15-based base station may allocate data in consideration of a scheduling time offset t_so from a point in time when reception of the PDCCH in the CORESET is completed to a point in time when the PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH is transmitted. The scheduling time offset t_so refers to a duration from a last symbol (or a next symbol thereto) of the PDCCH allocating the PDSCH to a previous symbol at which a PDSCH transmitting data in a corresponding slot indicated by k0 described with reference to FIG. 8 starts. The scheduling time offset t_so may determine a start symbol of the PDSCH based on a Start and Length Indicator (SLIV) index configured in startSymbolAndLength (0 to 127) of PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation configured in a higher layer. The application of the beamforming may vary for each terminal according to the capability of the terminal, and the capability is transmitted to the base station as a timeDurationForQCL value in an RRC configuration process with the base station. In the disclosure, the timeDurationForQCL may be referred to as a time interval for the terminal to apply QCL or a QCL application time interval.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include JUNG’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting or receiving multiple data in a wireless cooperative communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in determining a default QCL < quasi co-location > along with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) for a plurality of TRP (Transmission and Reception Point) for transmitting or receiving one or more pieces of data between a transmission node and a terminal to perform cooperative communication, in turns, achieves higher data rate for users devices operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0009, JUNG)
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri, in view of XU et al. (2022/0361006), XU hereinafter.
Re. Claims 12 and 19, Bhamri teaches claims 1 and 14.
Yet, Bhamri does not expressly teach receiving, by the UE, a second DCI, wherein at least one of the DCI or the second DCI schedules multi-slot transmission, and wherein the second DCI is ignored by the UE.
However, in the analogous art, XU explicitly discloses receiving, by the UE, a second DCI, wherein at least one of the DCI or the second DCI schedules multi-slot transmission, and wherein the second DCI is ignored by the UE. (Fig. 20-24 & ¶0242 - The wireless device may receive, from the base station, a second DCI and the first CORESET (e.g., CORESET1) via a first slot (e.g., at time T2). The CORESET1 may be a CORESET with the lowest CORESET identity (ID) in the first slot. In an example, the wireless device may receive the second DCI via the first CORESET (e.g., CORESET1). The second DCI may comprise a downlink scheduling assignment scheduling a transmission of multiple transport blocks (TBs) via multiple PDSCHs and multiple slots (e.g., TB1 transmitted via PDSCH1 and a second slot, TB2 transmitted via PDSCH2 and a third slot, TB3 transmitted via PDSCH3 and a fourth slot, TB4 transmitted via PDSCH4 and a fifth slot, and TB5 transmitted via PDSCH5 and a sixth slot). Fig. 20-24 & ¶0245 -the wireless device may not switch to the first spatial filter in response to not receiving beam switching gap (e.g., for the PDSCH4/CSI-RS4) indicated by the second DCI. Fig. 20-24 & ¶0262 - the wireless device may not switch, from the first spatial filter associated with the first TCI state, to the second spatial filter associated with the second TCI state in response to the wireless device performing the common beam update outside of the time duration threshold (e.g., TimeDurationForQCL), for example, a time difference between the second DCI and the PDSCH3/CSI-RS3 may be equal to or greater than the time duration threshold (e.g., TimeDurationForQCL). The wireless device may ignore the second TCI state in response to the wireless device performing the common beam update (or the common beam update being applied) outside of the time duration threshold for the multiple PDSCHs (or the multiple CSI-RSs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bhamri’s invention of method and device for associating default beams for multiple physical downlink shared channel and/or physical uplink shared channel (PDSCH/PUSCH) in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include XU’s invention of beam determination procedures in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in determining beam determination mode based on an indication of a base station and wireless device capability information, which increases flexibility of beam determination procedures along with meeting requirements of low capability wireless devices operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0240, XU)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §102/§103 rejection filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Earlier claim objections for claims 2-4, 6, 9-11, 13, 16-17 and 19-20 have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 07/29/2026.
Regarding remarks on pages 5-6 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Bhamri fails to teach, “determine a transmit configuration indicator (TCI)-state based on a time duration for quasi co-location (QCL), a value of tci-PresentInDCI, and a scheduling offset.”. In particular, applicant asserts, “Bhamri does not disclose that a value of tci-PresentinDCI is a factor in its asserted determining the TCI state…… the value of tci-PresentinDCI plays no role in Bhamri's asserted TCI-state determination.” See at least on page 6 of remarks as submitted on 07/29/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Bhamri discloses that when DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ is present in DCI format 1_2 and when the number of codepoints S in the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ of DCI format 1_2 is smaller than the number of TCI codepoints that are activated by the activation command, …. only the first S activated codepoints are applied for DCI format 1_2. When the UE would transmit a PUCCH with Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (“HARQ-ACK”) information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslotsup.subframe,μ where μ is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH. If parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ or parameter tci-PresentDCI-1-2 is configured for the CORESET scheduling the PDSCH, and the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than timedurationForQCL. See ¶0113-¶0114 along with Fig. 1/Fig. 6.
Bhamri further discloses that If the PDSCH is scheduled by a DCI format having the TCI field present, the TCI field in DCI in the scheduling component carrier points to the activated TCI states in the scheduled component carrier or DL BWP, the UE shall use the parameter TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location. The UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL type parameter(s) given by the indicated TCI state if the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than a threshold timedurationForQCL, where the threshold is based on reported UE capability. When the UE is configured with CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling and the UE is not configured with parameter enableDefaultBeamForCCS, the UE expects parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set as ‘enabled’ or parameter tci-PresentDCI-1-2 is configured for the CORESET, and if one or more of the TCI states configured for the serving cell scheduled by the search space set contains parameter qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, the UE expects the time offset between the reception of the detected PDCCH in the search space set and the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timedurationForQCL. if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timedurationForQCL and at least one configured TCI state for the serving cell of scheduled PDSCH contains qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’, then the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. In this case, if the parameter qcl-Type is set to ‘typeD’ of the PDSCH DM-RS is different from that of the PDCCH DM-RS with which they overlap in at least one symbol, the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. See ¶0116-¶0118 along with Fig. 1/Fig. 6. In fact, the aforesaid disclosures by Bhamri, is similar to instant application, at least in ¶0077 & ¶0176, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at pages 5-6 as submitted on 07/29/2026.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhamri.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from independent claims 1 and 14, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467