DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed with the written response received on 30 September 2025 have been considered and an action on the merits follows. As directed by the amendment, claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, and 17 has/have been amended, and claim(s) 3, 8, and 16 has/have been withdrawn. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in this application with an action on the merits to follow regarding claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-15, and 17-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patton US 20190053572.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Patton discloses a fluid flow control system (Figs. 1A-2A #200) for an article of footwear (Figs. 1A-1C #100), comprising: a fluid transfer system (Patton Annotated Fig. 1B; Figs. 2A-F); connector (Figs. 2A #220/230/240/222H/222F/230H/240H) including: (i) a connector body (Figs. 2A #220/230/240), (ii) a first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H has a path inside of it) defined through the connector body (Fig. 2A; Fig. 2D) and extending from a first connector port (Fig. 2A #230B) that is in fluid communication with the fluid transfer system (¶0027) to a second connector port (Fig. 2A #204H), (iii) a first pressure sensor mount (¶0032) defined in the connector body or extending from the connector body (Fig. 2A), and (iv) a first open channel (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped channel extending from pressure sensor #260H) extending between the first pressure sensor mount and the first connector fluid path (Figs. 2A; ¶0045), wherein the fluid transfer system and the connector are configured and connected such that: (a) the connector supplies fluid to an interior chamber of the fluid transfer system (inside of housing #120; ¶0026-0032), and (b) the connector receives fluid discharged from the fluid transfer system (¶0020, 0026-0032); and a first pressure sensor (Fig. 2D #260H) mounted at the first pressure sensor mount in a fluid tight manner (¶0032).
Regarding Claim 2, Patton discloses the fluid flow control system according to claim 1, wherein the connector further includes: (i) a second connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #240F) defined through the connector body (Fig. 2A) and extending from a third connector port (Fig. 2A #240B) that is in fluid communication with the fluid transfer system (¶0028) to a fourth connector port (Fig. 2A #204F), (ii) a second pressure sensor mount (¶0032) defined in the connector body or extending from the connector body (Fig. 2A), and (iii) a second open channel (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped channel extending from pressure sensor #260F) extending between the second pressure sensor mount and the second connector fluid path (Fig. 2A; ¶0045), and wherein the fluid flow control system further comprises: a second pressure sensor (Fig. 2D #260F) mounted at the second pressure sensor mount in a fluid tight manner (¶0032).
Regarding Claim 4, Patton discloses the fluid flow control system according to claim 1, wherein the first pressure sensor mount includes one of a raised tube extending away from a base portion of the connector body or a recess that extends into the connector body (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped tube extending from the sensor #260H/260F).
Regarding Claim 5, Patton discloses the fluid flow control system according to claim 1, wherein the first connector fluid path defined through the connector body is formed by a first connector body component (Fig. 2A #230H-left of valve #230V) forming a first portion of the first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H-left, all path on the left side of valve #230V) and a second connector body component (Fig. 2A #230H-right of valve #230V) forming a second portion of the first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H-left, all path on the left side of valve #230V).
Regarding Independent Claim 6, Patton discloses a foot support system (Figs. 1A-1B #200/202H/202F) for an article of footwear (Figs. 1A-1C #100), comprising: a foot support bladder (Figs. 1A-2A #202H); a fluid flow control system (Figs 1A-2A #200) for moving fluid into and out of the foot support bladder (¶0022), wherein the fluid flow control system includes: a fluid transfer system (Patton Annotated Fig. 1B; Figs. 2A-F), connector (Figs. 2A #220/230/240/222H/222F/230H/240H) including: (i) a connector body (Figs. 2A #220/230/240), (ii) a first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H has a path inside of it) defined through the connector body (Fig. 2A; Fig. 2D) and extending from a first connector port (Fig. 2A #230B) that is in fluid communication with the fluid transfer system (¶0027) to a second connector port (Fig. 2A #204H), (iii) a first pressure sensor mount (¶0032) defined in the connector body or extending from the connector body (Fig. 2A), and (iv) a first open channel (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped channel extending from pressure sensor #260H) extending between the first pressure sensor mount and the first connector fluid path (Figs. 2A; ¶0045), wherein the fluid transfer system and the connector are configured and connected such that: (a) the connector supplies fluid to an interior chamber of the fluid transfer system (inside of housing #120; ¶0026-0032), and (b) the connector receives fluid discharged from the fluid transfer system (¶0020, 0026-0032); and a first pressure sensor (Fig. 2D #260H) mounted at the first pressure sensor mount in a fluid tight manner (¶0032); and a first fluid line (Fig. 2A #230H) connected with the foot support bladder and moving fluid between the foot support bladder and the second connector port (Fig. 2A; ¶0027).
Examiner notes that italicized limitations in the Prior Art rejections are functional and do not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead require the ability of the structure to perform and/or function. As the Prior Art of Patton discloses the structure of the foot support system, there would be a reasonable expectation for the foot support system to perform such functions as explained after each functional limitation.
Regarding Claim 7, Patton discloses the foot support system according to claim 6, further comprising: a fluid container (Fig. 2A #220); and a second fluid line (Fig. 2A #240F), connected with the fluid container (Fig. 2A #240B), wherein the connector further includes: (i) a second connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #240F) defined through the connector body (Fig. 2A) and extending from a third connector port (Fig. 2A #240B) that is in fluid communication with the fluid transfer system (¶0028) to a fourth connector port (Fig. 2A #204F), (ii) a second pressure sensor mount (¶0032) defined in the connector body or extending from the connector body (Fig. 2A), and (iii) a second open channel (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped channel extending from pressure sensor #260F) extending between the second pressure sensor mount and the second connector fluid path (Fig. 2A; ¶0045), and wherein the fluid flow control system further comprises: a second pressure sensor (Fig. 2D #260F) mounted at the second pressure sensor mount in a fluid tight manner (¶0032), and wherein the second fluid line moves fluid between the fluid container and the fourth connector port (¶0028).
Regarding Claim 9, Patton discloses the foot support system according to claim 7, wherein the fluid flow control system is configured to move fluid from the fluid container, through the second connector fluid path, through the fluid transfer system, through the first connector fluid path, and into the foot support bladder (¶0026-0028).
Regarding Claim 10, Patton discloses the foot support system according to claim 6, wherein the first pressure sensor mount includes a raised tube extending away from a base portion of the connector body (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped tube extending from the sensor #260H/260F).
Regarding Claim 12, Patton discloses the foot support system according to claim 6, wherein the first connector fluid path defined through the connector body is formed by a first connector body component (Fig. 2A #230H-left of valve #230V) forming a first portion of the first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H-left, all path on the left side of valve #230V) and a second connector body component (Fig. 2A #230H-right of valve #230V) forming a second portion of the first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H-left, all path on the left side of valve #230V).
Regarding Independent Claim 13, Patton discloses an article of footwear (Figs. 1A-1C #100), comprising: an upper (Figs. 1A-1B # 102); a sole structure (Figs. 1A-1B #104) engaged with the upper (¶0022), wherein the sole structure includes a foot support bladder (Figs. 1A-2A #202H); a fluid flow control system (Figs 1A-2A #200) for moving fluid into and out of the foot support bladder (¶0022), wherein the fluid flow control system includes: a fluid transfer system (Patton Annotated Fig. 1B; Figs. 2A-F), a manifold (Fig. 2B #120) including a connector (Figs. 2A #220/230/240/222H/222F/230H/240H) including: (i) a connector body (Figs. 2A #220/230/240), (ii) a first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H has a path inside of it) defined through the connector body (Fig. 2A; Fig. 2D) and extending from a first connector port (Fig. 2A #230B) that is in fluid communication with the fluid transfer system (¶0027) to a second connector port (¶0027), (iii) a first pressure sensor mount (¶0032) defined in the connector body or extending from the connector body (Fig. 2A), and (iv) a first open channel (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped channel extending from pressure sensor #260H) extending between the first pressure sensor mount and the first connector fluid path (Figs. 2A; ¶0045), wherein the fluid transfer system and the connector are configured and connected such that: (a) the connector supplies fluid to an interior chamber of the fluid transfer system (inside of housing #120; ¶0026-0032), and (b) the connector receives fluid discharged from the fluid transfer system (¶0020, 0026-0032); and a first pressure sensor (Fig. 2D #260H) mounted at the first pressure sensor mount in a fluid tight manner (¶0032); and a first fluid line (Fig. 2A #230H) connected with the foot support bladder and moving fluid between the foot support bladder and the second connector port (¶0027).
Regarding Claim 14, Patton discloses the article of footwear according to claim 13, further comprising: a fluid container (Fig. 2A #220); and a second fluid line (Fig. 2A #240F), connected with the fluid container (Fig. 2A #240B), wherein the connector further includes: (i) a second connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #240F) defined through the connector body (Fig. 2A) and extending from a third connector port (Fig. 2A #240B) that is in fluid communication with the fluid transfer system (¶0028) to a fourth connector port (Fig. 2A #204F),(ii) a second pressure sensor mount (¶0032) defined in the connector body or extending from the connector body (Fig. 2A), and (iii) a second open channel (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped channel extending from pressure sensor #260F) extending between the second pressure sensor mount and the second connector fluid path (Fig. 2A; ¶0045), and wherein the fluid flow control system further comprises: a second pressure sensor (Fig. 2D #260F) mounted at the second pressure sensor mount in a fluid tight manner (¶0032), and wherein the second fluid line moves fluid between the fluid container and the fourth connector port (¶0028).
Regarding Claim 15, Patton discloses the article of footwear according to claim 14, wherein the second pressure sensor mount includes one of: (i) a raised tube extending away from a base portion of the connector body (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped tube extending from the sensor #260H/260F).
Regarding Claim 17, Patton discloses the article of footwear according to claim 14, wherein the fluid flow control system is configured to move fluid from the fluid container, through the second connector fluid path, through the fluid transfer system, through the first connector fluid path, and into the foot support bladder (¶0024-0032).
Regarding Claim 18, Patton discloses the article of footwear according to claim 13, wherein the first pressure sensor mount includes a raised tube extending away from a base portion of the connector body (Fig. 2A shows an L-shaped tube extending from the sensor #260H/260F).
Regarding Claim 20, Patton discloses the article of footwear according to claim 13, wherein the first connector fluid path defined through the connector body is formed by a first connector body component (Fig. 2A #230H-left of valve #230V) forming a first portion of the first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H-left, all path on the left side of valve #230V) and a second connector body component (Fig. 2A #230H-right of valve #230V) forming a second portion of the first connector fluid path (Fig. 2A #230H-left, all path on the left side of valve #230V).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Potter US 6430843.
Regarding Claim 11, Patton discloses the foot support system according to claim 6, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first pressure sensor mount includes a recess that extends into the connector body.
Potter teaches a shoe with pressure sensors (Abstract) wherein a first pressure sensor mount (Fig. 2A #206i) includes a recess (Fig. 2A #15i) that extends into the connector body (Fig. 3 #20).
Both Patton and Potter teach analogous inventions in the art of shoes with pressure sensors. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Patton with the teachings of Potter such that the pressure sensor mount would be in a recess that extends to the connector body to keep the pressure sensor out of the way the fluid flow (which could have particulates in it that would damage the pressure sensor) while still allowing the sensor to capture information and relay it to the control module.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton as applied to claims 13 and 14 above, and further in view of Potter.
Regarding Claim 19, Patton discloses the article of footwear according to claim 13, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first pressure sensor mount includes a recess that extends into the connector body.
Potter teaches a shoe with pressure sensors (Abstract) wherein a first pressure sensor mount (Fig. 2A #206i) includes a recess (Fig. 2A #15i) that extends into the connector body (Fig. 3 #20).
Both Patton and Potter teach analogous inventions in the art of shoes with pressure sensors. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Patton with the teachings of Potter such that the pressure sensor mount would be in a recess that extends to the connector body to keep the pressure sensor out of the way the fluid flow (which could have particulates in it that would damage the pressure sensor) while still allowing the sensor to capture information and relay it to the control module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 30 September 2025, with respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10. 12-15, 17-18, and 20 and the 35 USC 103 of claims 11 and 19 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 of claims 1, 6, and 13, Applicant argues:
Amending the claim to include the limitations “The fluid transfer system and the connector are configured and connected such that: (a) the connector supplies fluid to an interior chamber of the fluid transfer system, and (b) the connector receives fluid discharged from the fluid transfer system” would overcome the prior art of record as these features are not found in the prior art of Patton (Remarks Pg. 8-9).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Patton ¶0026-0032 discusses the fluid transfer system (Patton Annot. Fig. 1B) and connector (Figs. 2A #220/230/240/222H/222F/230H/240H), “a fluid line 222H supplies gas from the gas outlet 220H of solenoid valve 220 to a solenoid valve 230 for controlling gas flow and gas pressure in the heel based fluid-filled bladder 202H. Solenoid valve 230 includes a gas intake port 230A connected to fluid line 222H (to receive gas from solenoid valve 220) and a gas inlet/outlet port 230B that connects via fluid line 230H to heel based foot support fluid-filled bladder 202H (which may include a gas port 204H). The fluid line 230H may include a two-way valve 230V, which may be electronically controlled (e.g., by controller 250), to control the direction of fluid flow into and out of heel support fluid-filled bladder 202H… Solenoid valve 230 of this illustrated example further includes an external gas outlet port 230C that may be in (or may be placed in) fluid communication with the external environment (e.g., the ambient atmosphere, for reasons to be described in more detail below). As some more specific examples, this external gas outlet port 230C may be a simple opening in the solenoid valve 230, a conventional “port” type opening, and/or a fluid line extending to and open to the external environment,” and ¶0020 notes, “This first solenoid valve may be configured to be changeable at least between: (a) a first configuration in which gas discharged from the compressor is transmitted to the second solenoid valve and (b) a second configuration in which gas discharged from the compressor is transmitted to the third solenoid valve (and optionally to a third configuration in which gas discharged from the compressor is transmitted to the second solenoid valve and the third solenoid valve simultaneously).” Since the fluid distribution system (which contains all components as shown in Patton Annot. Fig. 1B) and the connector move fluid between an internal chamber (inside of housing #120) which is part of the fluid transfer system, and the connector receives fluid discharged from the fluid transfer system (as noted from ¶0020), the limitations as claimed are not sufficient to overcome the prior art of record. See 35 USC 102 rejections above.
Applicant submits that the dependent claims are patentable based on their dependencies from claim(s) 1, 6, and 13; however, as discussed in the rejection and in the arguments above, claim(s) 1, 6, and 13 are not allowable over the prior art. Therefore, these arguments have not been found convincing and the rejections of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 have been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732