DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “incudes” should be “includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Noh et al. (US 2024/0306100).
Regarding Claim 1, Noh teaches a communication method, comprising:
receiving a first message from a second node ([0228] Referring to FIG. 13, an IAB network may include an IAB node 1300, upper nodes (e.g., parent/donor nodes) 1310 of the IAB node 1300, child nodes 1320 that are lower nodes of the IAB node 1300, a terminal; [0229] the IAB node 1300 may communicate with the upper node 1310 through the IAB-MT. The upper node 1310 may recognize the corresponding IAB node 1300 as one terminal. This may be because the IAB-MT of the IAB node 1300 and an IAB-DU of the upper node 1310 are connected through the NR Uu interface 1340 which is an air interface between a base station and a terminal), wherein the first message is usable to indicate a first ratio corresponding to a first downlink reference signal, the first ratio is a power ratio that is between data and a downlink reference signal ([0282] the base station may configure differences in the transmission powers of downlink channels and signals to the terminal through the following three parameters; [0283] PDSCH relative transmission power parameter Pc 1720: The PDSCH relative transmission power parameter Pc may mean a difference of the PDSCH EPRE with respect to the CSI-RS EPRE (i.e., assumed difference between the PDSCH EPRE and a NZP CSI-RS EPRE when the terminal derives a CSI feedback). The PDSCH relative transmission power parameter Pc may be configured for each CSI-RS resource configuration through a higher layer parameter for a power control offset (e.g., powerControlOffset), and may indicate values between -8 and 15 dB at 1 dB intervals) and that is obtained after downlink transmission power adjustment performed by a parent node ([0283] assumed difference between the PDSCH EPRE and a NZP CSI-RS EPRE when the terminal derives a CSI feedback), and the first ratio is usable to indicate a downlink transmission power adjustment amount used by the second node ([0283] The PDSCH relative transmission power parameter Pc may mean a difference of the PDSCH EPRE with respect to the CSI-RS EPRE (i.e., assumed difference between the PDSCH EPRE and a NZP CSI-RS EPRE when the terminal derives a CSI feedback). The PDSCH relative transmission power parameter Pc may be configured for each CSI-RS resource configuration through a higher layer parameter for a power control offset (e.g., powerControlOffset), and may indicate values between -8 and 15 dB at 1 dB intervals. For example, a Pc value configured for a certain CSI-RS resource may be 0 dB. In this case, an EPRE of an RE through which the corresponding CSI-RS is transmitted may be the same as an EPRE of an RE through which the PDSCH is transmitted. As another example, a Pc value configured for a certain CSI-RS resource may be −3 dB. In this case, an EPRE of an RE through which the CSI-RS is transmitted may be twice (e.g., 3 dB) larger than an EPRE of an RE through which the PDSCH is transmitted); and
sending a second message to the parent node, wherein the second message includes a first measurement result, the first measurement result is determined based on the first ratio, and the first measurement result is determined based on the first downlink reference signal ([0283] The PDSCH relative transmission power parameter Pc may mean a difference of the PDSCH EPRE with respect to the CSI-RS EPRE (i.e., assumed difference between the PDSCH EPRE and a NZP CSI-RS EPRE when the terminal derives a CSI feedback)).
Regarding Claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 8-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. (US 2023/0080162).
Regarding Claim 2, Noh does not teach the receiving the first message from the second node includes receiving the first message from the parent node, the first message further is usable to indicate a first beam corresponding to the downlink transmission power adjustment amount used by the parent node.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad teaches the receiving the first message from the second node includes receiving the first message from the parent node, the first message further is usable to indicate a first beam corresponding to the downlink transmission power adjustment amount used by the parent node ([0081] information (e.g., including one or more configuration messages, which is referred to herein as a power-offset resource set (PORS) configuration) conveyed through a configuration and/or other control signaling may include: 1) an ID for the configuration; 2) a resource set: a) resources in time: slots, symbols, periodicity of occurrence, and so forth, b) resources in frequency: PRB, BWP, CC, and so forth; 3) power offset ... 4) beam-based information (e.g., spatial QCL with respect to a reference signal); and/or 5) received target power from parent node—the target reception power at the IAB node ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ghanbarinejad’s method with Noh’s method so that power control configurations such as PORS and PCRS configurations may be provided by a CU of an IAB donor. In such embodiments, IAB nodes in an IAB system served by an IAB donor may be able to communicate power control configurations to improve coordination, control interference, and so forth (Ghanbarinejad [0216]). Moreover, a latest receive power or RSRP may be specified to be associated with a specific beam or a QCL parameter, especially in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Ghanbarinejad [0149]).
Regarding Claim 3, Noh does not teach the receiving the first message includes receiving the first message usable to indicate the first beam by using one or more of the following: a resource identifier of the first downlink reference signal, an identifier of the first beam, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier corresponding to the first beam.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad teaches the receiving the first message includes receiving the first message usable to indicate the first beam by using one or more of the following: a resource identifier of the first downlink reference signal, an identifier of the first beam, or a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier corresponding to the first beam ([0081] information (e.g., including one or more configuration messages, which is referred to herein as a power-offset resource set (PORS) configuration) conveyed through a configuration and/or other control signaling may include: 1) an ID for the configuration; 2) a resource set: a) resources in time: slots, symbols, periodicity of occurrence, and so forth, b) resources in frequency: PRB, BWP, CC, and so forth; 3) power offset ... 4) beam-based information (e.g., spatial QCL with respect to a reference signal); and/or 5) received target power from parent node—the target reception power at the IAB node ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ghanbarinejad’s method with Noh’s method so that power control configurations such as PORS and PCRS configurations may be provided by a CU of an IAB donor. In such embodiments, IAB nodes in an IAB system served by an IAB donor may be able to communicate power control configurations to improve coordination, control interference, and so forth (Ghanbarinejad [0216]). Moreover, a latest receive power or RSRP may be specified to be associated with a specific beam or a QCL parameter, especially in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Ghanbarinejad [0149]).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Noh and Ghanbarinejad, specifically Noh teaches in response to a beam for measuring the first downlink reference signal being a beam associated with the first beam, determining to report the first measurement result corresponding to the beam for measuring the first downlink reference signal ([0283] assumed difference between the PDSCH EPRE and a NZP CSI-RS EPRE when the terminal derives a CSI feedback).
Regarding Claim 5, Noh does not teach before the receiving the first message from the second node, the method further comprises: sending a third message to the parent node, wherein the third message is usable to indicate a downlink transmission power adjustment amount desired by the first node, and the third message is further usable to indicate a second beam or a second downlink reference signal corresponding to the desired downlink transmission power adjustment amount.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad teaches before the receiving the first message from the second node, the method further comprises: sending a third message to the parent node, wherein the third message is usable to indicate a downlink transmission power adjustment amount desired by the first node, and the third message is further usable to indicate a second beam or a second downlink reference signal corresponding to the desired downlink transmission power adjustment amount ([0119] a downlink power control (DL-PC) request may contain some or all the following information: 1) an identification number (ID); 2) a desired value of power change, for example, by a ratio RDL—the value may normally be described in decibels (dB)—in some embodiments, maximum and minimum values for a power change may be included; 3) a reference power if the transmission power is different for different downlink signals—for example, if PN applies power P1 for signal and/or channel C1 and power P2 for transmitting signal and/or channel C2, then the DL-PC request may contain a reference to either C1 or C2—examples of C1 and C2 are a PDCCH, a PDSCH, a SS/PBCH block, a CSI-RS, and so forth; 4) time information for applying the power change—for example, the DL-PC request may contain a request to change a transmission power for a certain signal and/or channel, for a certain time interval, for the transmissions that follow until a next DL-PC signaling, and so forth; 5) frequency information, such as a sub-band of interest (e.g., a start PRB and a number of PRBs); and/or 6) spatial information, for example, information of a specific beam—the DL-PC request may make a reference to a beam by a beam index such as a CRI, or a QCL reference to a signal and/or channel such as a PDCCH, PDSCH, SSB/PBCH block, and so forth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ghanbarinejad’s method with Noh’s method so that power control configurations such as PORS and PCRS configurations may be provided by a CU of an IAB donor. In such embodiments, IAB nodes in an IAB system served by an IAB donor may be able to communicate power control configurations to improve coordination, control interference, and so forth (Ghanbarinejad [0216]). Moreover, a latest receive power or RSRP may be specified to be associated with a specific beam or a QCL parameter, especially in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Ghanbarinejad [0149]).
Regarding Claim 6, Noh does not teach sending the third message usable to indicate the second beam includes sending one or more of the following: a resource identifier of the second downlink reference signal, an identifier of the second beam, or a TCI state identifier corresponding to the second beam.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad teaches sending the third message usable to indicate the second beam includes sending one or more of the following: a resource identifier of the second downlink reference signal, an identifier of the second beam, or a TCI state identifier corresponding to the second beam ([0119] a downlink power control (DL-PC) request may contain some or all the following information: 1) an identification number (ID); 2) a desired value of power change, for example, by a ratio RDL ... 6) spatial information, for example, information of a specific beam—the DL-PC request may make a reference to a beam by a beam index such as a CRI, or a QCL reference to a signal and/or channel such as a PDCCH, PDSCH, SSB/PBCH block, and so forth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ghanbarinejad’s method with Noh’s method so that power control configurations such as PORS and PCRS configurations may be provided by a CU of an IAB donor. In such embodiments, IAB nodes in an IAB system served by an IAB donor may be able to communicate power control configurations to improve coordination, control interference, and so forth (Ghanbarinejad [0216]). Moreover, a latest receive power or RSRP may be specified to be associated with a specific beam or a QCL parameter, especially in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Ghanbarinejad [0149]).
Regarding Claim 8, Noh does not teach in response to the second node being the parent node, the first message is further usable to indicate a first beam corresponding to the downlink transmission power adjustment amount usable by the parent node.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad teaches in response to the second node being the parent node, the first message is further usable to indicate a first beam corresponding to the downlink transmission power adjustment amount usable by the parent node ([0081] information (e.g., including one or more configuration messages, which is referred to herein as a power-offset resource set (PORS) configuration) conveyed through a configuration and/or other control signaling may include: 1) an ID for the configuration; 2) a resource set: a) resources in time: slots, symbols, periodicity of occurrence, and so forth, b) resources in frequency: PRB, BWP, CC, and so forth; 3) power offset ... 4) beam-based information (e.g., spatial QCL with respect to a reference signal); and/or 5) received target power from parent node—the target reception power at the IAB node ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ghanbarinejad’s method with Noh’s method so that power control configurations such as PORS and PCRS configurations may be provided by a CU of an IAB donor. In such embodiments, IAB nodes in an IAB system served by an IAB donor may be able to communicate power control configurations to improve coordination, control interference, and so forth (Ghanbarinejad [0216]). Moreover, a latest receive power or RSRP may be specified to be associated with a specific beam or a QCL parameter, especially in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Ghanbarinejad [0149]).
Regarding Claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 11, Noh does not teach sending a third message to the parent node, wherein the third message is usable to indicate a downlink transmission power adjustment amount desired by a first node, and the third message is further usable to indicate a second beam or a second downlink reference signal corresponding to the desired downlink transmission power adjustment amount.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad teaches sending a third message to the parent node, wherein the third message is usable to indicate a downlink transmission power adjustment amount desired by a first node, and the third message is further usable to indicate a second beam or a second downlink reference signal corresponding to the desired downlink transmission power adjustment amount ([0119] a downlink power control (DL-PC) request may contain some or all the following information: 1) an identification number (ID); 2) a desired value of power change, for example, by a ratio RDL—the value may normally be described in decibels (dB)—in some embodiments, maximum and minimum values for a power change may be included; 3) a reference power if the transmission power is different for different downlink signals—for example, if PN applies power P1 for signal and/or channel C1 and power P2 for transmitting signal and/or channel C2, then the DL-PC request may contain a reference to either C1 or C2—examples of C1 and C2 are a PDCCH, a PDSCH, a SS/PBCH block, a CSI-RS, and so forth; 4) time information for applying the power change—for example, the DL-PC request may contain a request to change a transmission power for a certain signal and/or channel, for a certain time interval, for the transmissions that follow until a next DL-PC signaling, and so forth; 5) frequency information, such as a sub-band of interest (e.g., a start PRB and a number of PRBs); and/or 6) spatial information, for example, information of a specific beam—the DL-PC request may make a reference to a beam by a beam index such as a CRI, or a QCL reference to a signal and/or channel such as a PDCCH, PDSCH, SSB/PBCH block, and so forth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ghanbarinejad’s method with Noh’s method so that power control configurations such as PORS and PCRS configurations may be provided by a CU of an IAB donor. In such embodiments, IAB nodes in an IAB system served by an IAB donor may be able to communicate power control configurations to improve coordination, control interference, and so forth (Ghanbarinejad [0216]). Moreover, a latest receive power or RSRP may be specified to be associated with a specific beam or a QCL parameter, especially in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Ghanbarinejad [0149]).
Regarding Claim 12, Noh does not teach the third message is usable to indicate the second beam by using one or more of the following: a resource identifier of the second downlink reference signal, an identifier of the second beam, or a TCI state identifier corresponding to the second beam.
In an analogous art, Ghanbarinejad teaches the third message is usable to indicate the second beam by using one or more of the following: a resource identifier of the second downlink reference signal, an identifier of the second beam, or a TCI state identifier corresponding to the second beam ([0119] a downlink power control (DL-PC) request may contain some or all the following information: 1) an identification number (ID); 2) a desired value of power change, for example, by a ratio RDL ... 6) spatial information, for example, information of a specific beam—the DL-PC request may make a reference to a beam by a beam index such as a CRI, or a QCL reference to a signal and/or channel such as a PDCCH, PDSCH, SSB/PBCH block, and so forth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ghanbarinejad’s method with Noh’s method so that power control configurations such as PORS and PCRS configurations may be provided by a CU of an IAB donor. In such embodiments, IAB nodes in an IAB system served by an IAB donor may be able to communicate power control configurations to improve coordination, control interference, and so forth (Ghanbarinejad [0216]). Moreover, a latest receive power or RSRP may be specified to be associated with a specific beam or a QCL parameter, especially in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Ghanbarinejad [0149]).
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shim et al. (US 2024/0340803) teaches method for adjusting downlink power in wireless communication system.
Taghizadeh Motlagh et al. (US 2024/0163058) teaches method of full duplex reference signal configuration.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413