DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a ground plane, GND plane” which should be changed to “a ground plane which is a GND plane” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection for related terms “GND plane”, “first GND point”, “first common GND connection”. Dependent claims are likewise objected to.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements, first N IFA elements” which should be changed to “a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements which are first N IFA elements” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection. Dependent claims are likewise objected to.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a printed circuit board assembly, PCBA” which should be changed to “a printed circuit board assembly which is a PCBA” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a ground plane, GND plane” which should be changed to “a ground plane which is a GND plane” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection for related terms “GND plane”, “first GND point”, “first common GND connection”. Dependent claims are likewise objected to.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements, first N IFA elements” which should be changed to “a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements which are first N IFA elements” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection. Dependent claims are likewise objected to.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a second number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements, second N IFA elements” which should be changed to “a second number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements which are second N IFA elements” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection. Dependent claims are likewise objected to.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “a ground plane, GND plane” which should be changed to “a ground plane which is a GND plane” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection for related terms “GND plane”, “first GND point”, “first common GND connection”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements, first N IFA elements” which should be changed to “a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements which are first N IFA elements” in order to clarify that they are not different elements and avoid a potential 112(b) rejection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 & 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "second N IFA elements" in the 3rd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claim 3 is likewise rejected.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "any of the first or second set of the IFA elements" in the 2nd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the prior claims does not introduce a second set of the IFA elements, only a first set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. CN Patent Publication CN110556625A (cited by applicant, see attached machine translation for cited references) and Fasenfest et al. US Patent Application Publication 2017/0237169.
Regarding Claim 1, Yin et al. teaches an antenna system (Figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a first set of radiating elements (set of 1 Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0036) configured to operate at least in a first frequency bandwidth (L1 Par. 0008);
a ground plane, GND plane (grounding metal plate to which 5 is shorted Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0008, 0050);
wherein the first set of radiating elements includes a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements, first N IFA elements (set of 1 Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0036);
wherein each of the first N IFA elements includes:
a first arm including at least a first section extending, at a first extension point, into a second section (sections of 1 extending from 2 Figs. 1, 2);
wherein the first section of the first arm includes a connection to a respective feeding point (2 connected to feed network 3 Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0045, 0047);
a second arm including at least a first section extending, at a first GND point into a second section, the second section of the second arm connected to the first extension point (sections of 5 connected to ground and 1, respectively Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0048);
wherein the first sections of all the N second arms form a first common GND connection (Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0048), between the first GND point and the GND plane, wherein a length of the first common GND connection defines a first height and the first GND point is common to the N second sections of the second arms (“H is the distance between the circular FR4 dielectric plate and the rectangular FR4 dielectric plate, i.e., the height of the radiator from the grounding metal plate” Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0050);
wherein the first N IFA elements are distributed around the first GND point on a plane A (plane of 1 Figs. 1, 2), wherein the plane A is parallel to the GND plane and distanced from the GND plane the first height (Figs. 1, 2), such that the first GND point is positioned in the plane A (Figs. 1, 2);
wherein any of the second sections of the first arm or second arms of the first N IFA elements form respective angles between 0° and 30°, where 0° and 30° are included, with respect to the plane A (0° angle seen in Figs. 1, 2).
Yin et al. is silent on wherein at least one of the second section of the first arms of the IFA elements have an increasing width along the length of the first arms, starting with a first width at at least one of the first extension points and ending in a second width at an open end of the first arms.
However, Fasenfest et al. teaches “widths 138 (FIG. 1) of the panel bodies 113 are tapered as the panel bodies 113 extend from respective distal ends 128 toward the respective feed points 117” (Fig. 1 Par. 0043).
In this particular case, providing at least one of the second section of the first arms of the IFA elements have an increasing width along the length of the first arms, starting with a first width at at least one of the first extension points and ending in a second width at an open end of the first arms is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Fasenfest et al. to reduce the size of the antenna while providing sufficient bandwidth (Par. 0005).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the second section of the first arms of the IFA elements of Yin et al. to have an increasing width along the length of the first arms, starting with a first width at at least one of the first extension points and ending in a second width at an open end of the first arms based on the teachings of Fasenfest et al. as a result effect in order to reduce the size of the antenna while providing sufficient bandwidth.
Regarding Claim 2, Yin et al. as modified teaches further comprising a printed circuit board assembly, PCBA (“rectangular FR4 dielectric substrate” Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0017), wherein the PCBA comprises the GND plane, the feeding points (Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0023); and wherein the first N IFA elements or the first and second N IFA elements are placed on or over the PCBA and in connection to the PCBA (Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Yin et al. as modified teaches wherein the PCBA has a first side on which any of the first or second set of the IFA elements, the GND plane and the connection to the feeding points are placed (Figs. 1, 2); and a second side, opposite to the first side (Figs. 1, 2), comprising at least a polarizer (“Wilkinson power divider phase shifter printed on the rectangular FR4 substrate” Par. 0023-0024).
Regarding Claim 4, Yin et al. as modified teaches wherein a dimension of the GND plane is larger than the largest length of any of the sets of antennas, such that the GND plane encompasses a complete projection of the sets of antennas on the GND plane (rectangular ground plate larger than antenna elements 1 as seen in Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Yin et al. as modified teaches further comprising a housing, the housing configured to encompass all the sets of radiating elements and the ground plane (implied housing for wireless communication systems and global positioning systems Par. 0008 / Fasenfest et al. housing Par. 0021, 0034).
Regarding Claim 6, Yin et al. as modified teaches wherein at least one IFA element comprises fixation elements to fix the at least one IFA element to the housing (implied from circular FR4 dielectric substrate to secure the antenna element to the housing Par. 0016).
Regarding Claim 7, Yin et al. as modified teaches wherein the first arm has a first length, wherein the first length is the sum of the lengths of at least the first section and the second section, wherein the first length has a value from λ1/8 to λ1/4, being λ1 a wavelength of the lowest frequency in the first frequency bandwidth; and/or wherein the second arm has a second length wherein the second length has a value from λ1/20 to λ1/2, wherein the second length is the sum of at least the lengths of the first and second sections of the second arm (1/4 λ Par. 0050-0051).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. CN Patent Publication CN110556625A (cited by applicant, see attached machine translation for cited references) and Baliarda et al. US Patent Application Publication 2016/0172758.
Regarding Claim 20, Yin et al. teaches an antenna system (Figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a first set of radiating elements (set of 1 Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0036) configured to operate at least in a first frequency bandwidth (L1 Par. 0008);
a ground plane, GND plane (grounding metal plate to which 5 is shorted Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0008, 0050);
wherein the first set of radiating elements comprises a first number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements, first N IFA elements (set of 1 Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0036);
wherein each of the first N IFA elements comprise:
a first arm comprising at least a first section extending, at a first extension point, into a second section (sections of 1 extending from 2 Figs. 1, 2);
wherein the first section of the first arm comprises a connection to a respective feeding point (2 connected to feed network 3 Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0045, 0047);
a second arm comprising at least a first section extending, at a first GND point, into a second section, the second section of the second arm connected to the first extension point (sections of 5 connected to ground and 1, respectively Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0048);
wherein the first sections of all the N second arms form a first common GND connection (Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0048), between the first GND point and the GND plane, wherein a length of the first common GND connection defines a first height and the first GND point is common to the N second sections of the second arms (“H is the distance between the circular FR4 dielectric plate and the rectangular FR4 dielectric plate, i.e., the height of the radiator from the grounding metal plate” Figs. 1, 2 Par. 0050);
wherein the first N IFA elements are distributed around the first GND point on a plane A (plane of 1 Figs. 1, 2), wherein the plane A is parallel to the GND plane and distanced from the GND plane the first height (Figs. 1, 2), such that the first GND point is comprised in the plane A (Figs. 1, 2); and
wherein any of the second sections of the first arm or second arms of the first N IFA elements form respective angles between 0° and 30°, where 0° and 30° are included, with respect to the plane A (0° angle seen in Figs. 1, 2).
Yin et al. is silent on wherein at least one of any of the second sections of the second arm have a meandered shape.
However, Baliarda et al. teaches an antenna arm having a meandered / zigzag / space-filling curved shape (Fig. 8A-8F Par. 0056).
In this particular case, providing an antenna arm section having a meandered shape is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Baliarda et al. to extend the length of the antenna while miniaturizing its size (Par. 0051, 0056).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide at least one of any of the second sections of the second arm of Yin et al. to have a meandered shape based on the teachings of Baliarda et al. as a result effect in order to extend the length of the antenna while miniaturizing its size.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-19 are allowed.
Reasons For Allowance
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination, does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitations “wherein the antenna system further comprises: a second set of radiating elements configured to operate at least in a second frequency bandwidth; wherein the second set of radiating elements comprises a second number N of at least 3 inverted-F radiating elements, second N IFA elements; wherein each of the second set of N IFA elements comprise: a third arm comprising at least a first section extending, at a second extension point, into a second section; wherein the first section of the third arm comprises a connection to a corresponding feeding point; a fourth arm comprising at least a first section extending, at a second GND point, into a second section, the second section of the fourth arm connected to the second extension point; wherein the first sections of all the N fourth arms form a second common GND connection between the second GND point and the GND plane, wherein a length of the second common GND connection defines a second height and the second GND point is common to the N second sections of the fourth arms; wherein the second N IFA elements are distributed around the second GND point on a plane B, wherein the plane B is parallel to the GND plane and distanced from the GND plane the second height, such that the second GND point is comprised in the plane B; wherein any of the second sections of the third arms or of the fourth arms of the second N IFA elements form respective angles between 0° and 30°, where 0° and 30° are included, with respect to the plane B” in the arrangement as required by the claim. Claims 9-19 directly or indirectly depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845