17609589DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/12/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 1/12/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/12/24 and 7/22/24 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval (US 20220184375 filed on 2/28/22 as cited in the IDS) in view of Higgins (US 20200030510 filed on 7/29/19 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Tuval teaches a percutaneous circulatory support device, comprising: a housing (¶163-pump-outlet tube 24) comprising an inlet (¶163-the pump-outlet tube typically defines one or more blood inlet openings 108), an outlet (¶163-the pump-outlet tube defines one or more blood outlet openings 109), a proximal end portion (¶163-proximal section 106 of the pump-outlet tube), a distal end portion (¶163-distal end 32 of the pump-outlet tube), and a longitudinal axis extending between the proximal end portion and the distal end portion (¶170-blood to flow out of the blood outlet openings along flow lines that are substantially parallel with the longitudinal axis of tube 24 at the location of the blood outlet openings; Fig. 1B); an impeller disposed within the housing (¶163-an impeller 50 is disposed within a distal section 102 of pump-outlet tube 24), the impeller configured to rotate relative to the housing to cause blood to flow into the inlet, through the housing, and out of the outlet (¶80-drive the impeller to pump blood from a distal end of the impeller to a proximal end of the impeller, by rotating the impeller in a given direction of rotation); a motor operably coupled to the impeller (¶80-a motor that is configured to drive the impeller), the motor configured to rotate the impeller relative to the housing (¶80-a motor that is configured to drive the impeller to pump blood from a distal end of the impeller to a proximal end of the impeller, by rotating the impeller in a given direction of rotation); and a pressure sensor coupled to the housing (¶315-a pressure sensor 216 (illustrated schematically in FIG. 1A) measures pressure of blood within the ventricular blood-pressure-measurement tube. Typically, by measuring pressure of blood within the left ventricular blood-pressure-measurement tube, the pressure sensor thereby measures the subject's blood pressure outside tube 24 (i.e., left ventricular blood pressure)). However, Tuval does not teach the pressure sensor disposed at a non-zero angle relative to the longitudinal axis.
Higgins relates generally to an intravascular blood pump comprising a pump assembly without a flow inducer or diffuser, and proximal and distal flow rate or pressure sensors (Abstract). Higgins further teaches the invention using the following step:
the pressure sensor disposed at a non-zero angle relative to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6A-imaginary longitudinal axis between the proximal and distal sections, 202 is at an angle to that line; ¶41- at least one distal sensor 202, which may comprise a pressure sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include the pressure sensor disposed at a non-zero angle relative to the longitudinal axis of Higgins in order to allow for LVDP pressure sensing and measurement to determining offloading of the ventricle as well as the flow rate out of the left ventricle (Higgins, ¶38).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises an internal chamber (Higgins, Fig. 6A-internal chamber inside housing) and an aperture coupled to the internal chamber (Higgins, ¶26-outflow apertures 10 on the right side of the device), and the pressure sensor is disposed within the internal chamber (Higgins, Fig. 6A-pressure sensor 202 located inside the internal chamber of the housing; ¶41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include wherein the housing further comprises an internal chamber and an aperture coupled to the internal chamber, and the pressure sensor is disposed within the internal chamber of Higgins in order to allow for LVDP pressure sensing and measurement to determining offloading of the ventricle as well as the flow rate out of the left ventricle (Higgins, ¶38).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 2, wherein the aperture is a transversely-facing aperture (Higgins, Fig. 6B-imaginary longitudinal axis between the proximal and distal sections, the inlet and outlet flow apertures would not be parallel to that line; Fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include wherein the aperture is a transversely-facing aperture of Higgins in order to be located within the patient’s aorta (Higgins, ¶43).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 2, further comprising a sensor mount disposed within the internal chamber and coupled to the pressure sensor (Higgins, ¶43-at least one proximal pressure or flow rate sensor 206 may be mounted within the blood pump sheath; Fig. 6A-pressure sensor 206 inside the housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include a sensor mount disposed within the internal chamber and coupled to the pressure sensor of Higgins in order to allow for LVDP pressure sensing and measurement to determining offloading of the ventricle as well as the flow rate out of the left ventricle (Higgins, ¶38).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 2, further comprising a sensor cable coupled to the pressure sensor (Higgins, ¶44-the electrical lead 208 P, 208 D for both sensors 206 , 204 may run from an externally located power source and the controller through the sheath as shown, along the lumen created outside the drive shaft when the drive shaft is translated through the sheath).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include a sensor cable coupled to the pressure sensor of Higgins in order for operative connection and communication with the external power source and the controller and being adapted to transmit pressure or flow rate data to the controller (Higgins, ¶44).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 5, wherein the aperture is a transversely-facing aperture (Higgins, Fig. 6B-imaginary longitudinal axis between the proximal and distal sections, the inlet and outlet flow apertures would not be parallel to that line; Fig. 6A), the housing further comprises a proximally-facing aperture coupled to the internal chamber (Fig. 6B-shows the inlet flow and outlet flow, then looking at Fig. 6A-the outlet flow aperture is at the proximal section inside the sheath; ¶26), and the sensor cable extends through the proximally-facing aperture (Higgins, ¶44-the electrical lead 208 P, 208 D for both sensors 206 , 204 may run from an externally located power source and the controller through the sheath as shown, along the lumen created outside the drive shaft when the drive shaft is translated through the sheath; Fig. 6A-sensor 202 is on the proximal side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include wherein the aperture is a transversely-facing aperture, the housing further comprises a proximally-facing aperture coupled to the internal chamber, and the sensor cable extends through the proximally-facing aperture of Higgins in order for operative connection and communication with the external power source and the controller and being adapted to transmit pressure or flow rate data to the controller (Higgins, ¶44).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 1, wherein a direction perpendicular to a sensing membrane of the pressure sensor is disposed at the non-zero angle relative to the longitudinal axis (Higgins, Fig. 6A-imaginary longitudinal axis between the proximal and distal sections, 202 is at an angle to that line; ¶41- at least one distal sensor 202, which may comprise a pressure sensor; Fig. 6A-there would be a non-zero angle from a perpendicular axis through 202 and the longitudinal axis through the proximal and distal sections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include wherein a direction perpendicular to a sensing membrane of the pressure sensor is disposed at the non-zero angle relative to the longitudinal axis of Higgins in order to allow for LVDP pressure sensing and measurement to determining offloading of the ventricle as well as the flow rate out of the left ventricle (Higgins, ¶38).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval in view of Higgins as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Muller (US 20180326131 filed on 6/27/18).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 2. However, the combination of Tuval and Higgins does not teach wherein the housing further comprises a plurality of outlet apertures defining the outlet and a plurality of struts disposed between the plurality of outlet apertures, and the pressure sensor is carried by one of the plurality of struts.
Muller teaches wherein the housing further comprises a plurality of outlet apertures defining the outlet (Fig. 18B-a plurality of outlet apertures 522) and a plurality of struts disposed between the plurality of outlet apertures (Fig. 18B-structures surrounding the holes), and the pressure sensor is carried by one of the plurality of struts (¶128-the first proximal sensor location 521A can be disposed nearer the outlets 522; Fig. 18B-pressure sensor 521A is carried on an arm of the device).
Muller is directed to a catheter pump for mechanical circulatory support of a heart, and related components, systems and methods. In particular, this application is directed to sensors used in catheter pumps (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include wherein the housing further comprises a plurality of outlet apertures defining the outlet and a plurality of struts disposed between the plurality of outlet apertures, and the pressure sensor is carried by one of the plurality of struts of Muller in order to provide more accurate fluid measurements, which can be advantageous in estimating the position and/or orientation of the impeller housing relative to the anatomy (Muller, ¶128).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval in view of Higgins as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Spanier (US 20150141842 filed on 4/25/13).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tuval and Higgins teaches the percutaneous circulatory support device of Claim 2. However, the combination of Tuval and Higgins does not teach wherein the pressure sensor comprises one of an optical pressure sensor and an electrical pressure sensor.
Spanier teaches wherein the pressure sensor comprises one of an optical pressure sensor and an electrical pressure sensor (¶25-optical pressure sensor)
Spanier relates to an intravascular rotary blood pump having one or more pressure sensors for measuring pressures within the patient's vascular system which are important for operating the blood pump and/or for assessing the patient's state of health (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tuval to include wherein the pressure sensor comprises one of an optical pressure sensor and an electrical pressure sensor of Spanier in order to shift relative to the pumping device 50 within said hose or tubelet upon changes of bend of the flow cannula 53 (Spanier, ¶31).
Conclusion
/L.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792