Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 5-6, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LEGROS ERIC et al. (Hereinafter, “Eric”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2008047001 A2 (Publication Date 2008-04-24) and the rejection of Claim(s) 3 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of ZINOBER SVEN (Hereinafter, “Zinober”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2014005769A2 (Publication Date 2014-01-09) and the rejection of Claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of Kawate et al. (Hereinafter, “Kawate”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020097042 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 5-6, of the remarks, filed on 3/16/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LEGROS ERIC et al. (Hereinafter, “Eric”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2008047001 A2 (Publication Date 2008-04-24) and the rejection of Claim(s) 3 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of ZINOBER SVEN (Hereinafter, “Zinober”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2014005769A2 (Publication Date 2014-01-09) and the rejection of Claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of Kawate et al. (Hereinafter, “Kawate”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020097042 A1, that “Amended independent claim 1 recites, in part, "a proof body (CE) that is movable or deformable, in a first direction (Z)," and "a magnetic coupling element (Fe) that is distinct from the proof body (CE), wherein the magnetic coupling element (FE) is mechanically secured to the proof body (CE) so as to follow the movement or deformation of the proof body (CE) in the first direction." Eric does not disclose at least the highlighted features of clarified claim 1. Support for the amendments can be found in at least FIGS. 1a-c, 2a, 3, 4, 5a-b, 6, and 7.
As explained above, during the interview conducted on Tuesday March 10, 2026, the Examiner indicated that the amendments to claim 1, which clarify that the claimed proof body (CE) and the claimed magnetic coupling element (Fe) are distinct (e.g., separate) structural (Remarks-Page 5) components, differentiate the invention of claim 1 from that of Eric. Accordingly, Applicant submits that Eric does not anticipate amended independent claim 1.
Because Eric does not teach each and every feature of claim 1, claim 1 is patentable and the rejection under Section 102 should be withdrawn. Because dependent claims 2, 4-6, and 8-14 depend, either directly or indirectly from claim 1, they too are patentable for at least the same reasons as claim 1, as well as for the additional features they recite. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the § 102 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-14 is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 6).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 5-6 (stated above), filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LEGROS ERIC et al. (Hereinafter, “Eric”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2008047001 A2 (Publication Date 2008-04-24) and the rejection of Claim(s) 3 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of ZINOBER SVEN (Hereinafter, “Zinober”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2014005769A2 (Publication Date 2014-01-09) and the rejection of Claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of Kawate et al. (Hereinafter, “Kawate”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020097042 A1, as applied to the Final Office Action mailed on 1/09/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive.
Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-15 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “a magnetic coupling element (Fe) that is distinct from the proof body (CE), wherein the magnetic coupling element (FE) is mechanically secured to the proof body (CE) so as to follow the movement or deformation of the proof body (CE) in the first direction” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Goto et al. (Hereinafter, “Goto”) in the US Patent Number US 6552666 B1is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by LEGROS ERIC et al. (Hereinafter, “Eric”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2008047001 A2 (Publication Date 2008-04-24), as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 1/09/2026 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEGROS ERIC et al. (Hereinafter, “Eric”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2008047001 A2 (Publication Date 2008-04-24) in view Goto et al. (Hereinafter, “Goto”) in the US patent Number US 6552666 B1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 set forth in the amendment submitted 3/16/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEGROS ERIC et al. (Hereinafter, “Eric”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2008047001 A2 (Publication Date 2008-04-24) in view Goto et al. (Hereinafter, “Goto”) in the US patent Number US 6552666 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Eric teaches an inductive sensor ("Inductive device for measuring the position of a target, and method implemented by this device"; Description Line 1; a device for measuring the position or displacement of a target by induction balance. It also targets a process implemented by this device; TECHNICAL FIELD Line 1-2; Figure 1-4) comprising
a fixed part [1] (sensor 1 as the fixed part) and a movable part [2] (target 2 as the movable part) (The sensor 1 according to the invention makes it possible to determine the distance between said sensor 1 and a target 2, preferably metallic and/or ferromagnetic; Page 12 Line 35-36; the sensor being able to be fixed; Page 2 Description Line 12-13),
the movable part [2] (Magnetic devices can measure the movements of a target without contact; Page 2; State of the prior art Line 1) comprising:
a proof body [pendulum or concrete] that is movable or deformable, in a first direction (Z) (the invention can be applied in a non-limiting manner to the measurement of relative positions of two objects, for example in the field of robotics or machine tools, or for the measurement of the relative positions of segmented mirrors of a telescope. It can also be applied in a non-limiting manner to any measurement of position or deformation in the field of civil engineering such as the evolution of a crack, the sensor and the target being able to be fixed on two sides of the crack substantially facing each other, or for example the inclination of a pendulum (tele pendulum), or the effects of stresses in concrete (extensometer); Page 2 Description Line 8-15; target is fixed to a telescope or pendulum or concrete as the proof body as it deforms because of the stress or crack; magnetic coupling element is moving in a direction as the first direction and therefore the test body is also moving in the same direction as the first direction),
a magnetic coupling element (Fe) [2] (target 2 as the coupling element) (The sensor 1 according to the invention makes it possible to determine the distance between said sensor 1 and a target 2, preferably metallic and/or ferromagnetic; Page 12 Line 35-36; the invention can be applied in a non-limiting manner to the measurement of relative positions of two objects, for example in the field of robotics or machine tools, or for the measurement of the relative positions of segmented mirrors of a telescope. It can also be applied in a non-limiting manner to any measurement of position or deformation in the field of civil engineering such as the evolution of a crack, the sensor and the target being able to be fixed on two sides of the crack substantially facing each other, or for example the inclination of a pendulum (tele pendulum), or the effects of stresses in concrete (extensometer); Page 2 Description Line 8-15);
the fixed part [1] (the sensor as the fixed part being able to be fixed; Page 2 Description Line 12-13) comprising:
a voltage generator [VE] configured to generate an excitation signal [IE] (A voltage source, generating an alternating excitation voltage VE of pulsation w, is connected to the terminals of the transmitter coils El, E2 connected in series. The voltage VE generates an excitation current IE passing through the two transmitter coils El and E2 which respectively create a magnetic field Hl and H2; Page 12 Line 22-25);
a coil transformer comprising an emission inductance ([E1, E2] in Figure 4 [L1, LG] in Figure 9) mounted in parallel with the generator [VE] and a reception inductance [R]/LM (A sensor 1 comprises a set of three coils, including two transmitter coils E1, E2 and one receiver coil R. To simplify Figure 1, only one turn has been drawn per coil. In reality, each coil consists of several turns; Page 12 Line 18-21; The sensor comprises a first peripheral transmitter coil LI (shown in bold in Figure 10) surrounding a second receiver coil LM (or measuring coil). The LM coil can either surround a third LG transmitter coil (or guard coil, shown in dotted lines in Figures 10 to 12) as shown in Figure 11, or be "interdigitated" with the LG coil as shown in Figure 12. In a variant not shown, one could imagine that the LG coil surrounds the LM coil. The LM, LI, and LG coils are made in plane 3 of the sensor, and each consist of several turns which are contained in plane 3, of different and substantially concentric diameters; Page 17 Line 13-19);
the axis of the emission inductance (L1) and the axis of the reception inductance (LM) being oriented in the first direction (Z) (Claim 24: Device according to claim 23, characterized in that it comprises an alignment, along an alignment direction (Y), of several transmitting or receiving coils (LMc4, LMcI; LMg4, LMd4) each belonging to a different sensor, and in that it further comprises means for determining, from the reception signals of the sensors to which the aligned coils belong, an angular coordinate or an angular displacement of the target around an axis (Z, X) substantially perpendicular to the alignment direction (Y));
the magnetic coupling element [2] being placed with respect to the coil transformer so as to magnetically couple the emission inductance (L1) and the reception inductance [LM]; the magnetic coupling element being separated from an end of the emission inductance [L1] by a separation distance [d] (The sensor 1 according to the invention makes it possible to determine the distance between said sensor 1 and a target 2, preferably metallic and/or ferromagnetic. The shape, dimensions, number of turns, winding direction and relative positions of the coils are such that, when target 2 is a defined equilibrium distance from sensor 1, the mutual inductances M1 and M2 are of the same value but of opposite signs, i.e. the reception signal VR is substantially zero; Page 12 Line 35-38 & Page 13 Line 1-2; This sensor allows the measurement of the frontal distance (along the X axis) separating the plane 3 of production of the sensor coils and a target 2. The sensor comprises a first peripheral transmitter coil LI (shown in bold in Figure 10) surrounding a second receiver coil LM (or measuring coil). The LM coil can either surround a third LG transmitter coil (or guard coil, shown in dotted lines in Figures 10 to 12) as shown in Figure 11, or be "interdigitated" with the LG coil as shown in Figure 12. In a variant not shown, one could imagine that the LG coil surrounds the LM coil. The LM, LI, and LG coils are made in plane 3 of the sensor, and each consist of several turns which are contained in plane 3, of different and substantially concentric diameters; Page 17 Line 11-19);
an acquisition chain [7] (measuring circuit 7 as the acquisition chain) connected to the reception inductance (Lz) and configured to generate a signal [VR] of measurement of the variation of the distance (d) following a movement or the deformation of the proof body [2] (A measuring circuit 7 connected to the terminals of the receiving coil processes the reception signal VR: the reception signal VR is amplified by at least one amplification stage 4 of gain gl, then is demodulated with a demodulator 5 synchronous with the excitation signal VE, then finally is filtered using a low-pass filter 6 defining the bandwidth of the sensor 1. The amplitude of the obtained VS output signal depends on the value of the absolute distance between the target surface of the coils and the sensor. Circuit 7 therefore makes it possible to determine the distance d between the sensor and the target. An analog computer and a set of offset and gain adjustments can improve the linearity of the distance measurement in order to directly obtain an output voltage VS which depends linearly on the distance d: VS = K d with K a linearity constant; Page 14 Line 4-13);
the measurement signal [VR] corresponding to a measurement of the variation of the frequency or of the amplitude of the voltage at the terminals of the reception inductance (Lz) (The reception signal VR may further include information on the nature of a material of the target modifying the mutual inductances. Ml, M2. If the frequency of the VE excitation signal is less than a few hundred kilohertz, the phase of the VR reception signal relative to the VE excitation signal depends on the nature of the target material. The circuit may therefore further comprise means for analyzing the phase of the reception signal VR and means for determining, from the reception signal VR, the material of the target. However, in a preferred embodiment, the frequency or pulsation w of the excitation signal is high (typically between a few hundred kilohertz and a few megahertz). In this way, the sensitivity of the VR reception signal to the type of target material is minimized and the sensitivity of the reception signal to the position or displacement of the target relative to the sensor is maximized; Page 14 Line 14-25).
However, Eric fails to teach that a magnetic coupling element (Fe) is distinct from the proof body (CE), wherein the magnetic coupling element (FE) is mechanically secured to the proof body (CE) so as to follow the movement or deformation of the proof body (CE) in the first direction.
Goto teaches a phase difference detection device and method for use in position detection and a position detection system which are applicable to detection of both rotational positions and linear positions (Column 1 Line 12-15),
wherein a magnetic coupling element (Fe) [20] (magnetic coupling section 20) in Figure 1 is distinct from the proof body (CE) [10] (the winding section 10 as the proof body) (Figure 1 shows a magnetic coupling element [20] (magnetic coupling section 20) in Figure 1 is distinct from the proof body [10]),
wherein the magnetic coupling element [20] is mechanically secured to the proof body [10] (FIG. 1 is a perspective view of an example of a linear position detector device which is applicable to a phase difference detection device according to the present invention. The linear position detector device generally comprises a winding section 10 and a variable magnetic coupling section 20. The variable magnetic coupling section 20, which is coupled to a predetermined mechanical system (not shown) that is an object of detection by the detector device, is capable of linearly reciprocating in response to a varying linear position of the mechanical system; Column 6 Line 33-42; Figure 1 shows the magnetic coupling element [20] is mechanically secured to the proof body [10]) so as to follow the movement or deformation of the proof body (CE) in the first direction (On the other hand, the winding section 10 is positionally fixed in a suitable manner. Thus, the variable magnetic coupling section 20 linearly moves relative to the winding section 10, in response to a varying linear position of the mechanical system to be detected (object of detection). Conversely, the winding section 10 may be constructed to move in response to a varying linear position of the mechanical system to be detected, with the variable magnetic coupling section 20 fixed in position. In short, this detector device is constructed to detect a linear position of the variable magnetic coupling section 20 relative to the winding section 10. The direction of such a relative linear displacement is denoted in FIG. 1 by a double-head arrow X; Column 6 Line 42-55). The purpose of doing so is to provide a phase difference detection device, to perform a high-accuracy position detection without being influenced by unwanted phase variation caused by various factors, other than a position-to-be-detected, such as impedance change in a position sensor due to temperature change, to provide superior high-speed response characteristics, to significantly simplify detection-signal transmission lines and also to minimize adverse influences of external disturbances, such as temperature changes, on the detection signal on the transmission lines, to permit a high-accuracy position detection without being influenced by various factors, other than the position-to-be-detected, such as impedance change of the sensor due to temperature change and ununiform lengths of wiring cables.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the proof body and the magnetic coupling element of Eric with the winding section and magnetic coupling element of Goto, because Goto teaches to secure the magnetic coupling element mechanically to the proof body provides a phase difference detection device, performs a high-accuracy position detection without being influenced by unwanted phase variation caused by various factors, other than a position-to-be-detected, such as impedance change in a position sensor due to temperature change, provides superior high-speed response characteristics, significantly simplifies detection-signal transmission lines and also minimizes adverse influences of external disturbances, such as temperature changes, on the detection signal on the transmission lines (Column 2 Line 39-50), permits a high-accuracy position detection without being influenced by various factors, other than the position-to-be-detected, such as impedance change of the sensor due to temperature change and ununiform lengths of wiring cables (Column 4 Line 22-26).
Regarding claim 2, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the acquisition chain comprises an analogue-digital converter (DAC) for converting the voltage at the terminals of the reception inductance (Lz) into a first digital signal (Vaig) (These combinations can be made directly at the level of the electronic signals coming from the sensors, or after demodulation of the amplitudes (or even phase) of the signals from the different sensors. In the latter case, the signals to be combined are analog values, or digital values resulting from an analog/digital conversion. Similarly, linearization operations (e.g. division) can be done at different levels, analog before or after demodulation, or on digital signals; Page 34 Line 15-20).
Regarding claim 4, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the excitation signal (Vin) is a square-wave pulse (The currents applied on the coils produce a weak force, little disturbing on the position of the target. The superposition of a direct current or more generally at a frequency (s) different from that used for the measurement, or of pulse shape, or switched over time, can be used to control the position of the target, for example in a position control device provided around the device according to the invention; Page 35 Line 6-10; Therefore, excitation signal can be pulsed and example of pulsed signal is triangular or square wave signal).
Regarding claim 5, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the fixed part further comprises a capacitive element (C1) and a resistive element (Rs) mounted in series with the emission inductance (L1) so as to produce an RLC circuit powered by the voltage generator (G1) (The relative position of LG versus LM was compared (see Figures 11 and 12). The two possibilities of FIGS. 11 and 12 are valid for each pair LMi, LGi (i being an index varying from 1 to 4, which can of course also describe the means of the center "ci" cl to c4). A better sensitivity is obtained by winding simultaneously (or contiguously) LG and LM over a part of the space, as illustrated in Figure 12. We will say that the coils are "interdigitated" in this common area. However, this configuration also leads to significantly increase parasitic capacitances between these windings. This results in a limitation of the resonant frequency, as well as a greater thermal drift of the sensor, due to parasitic capacitance-series resistance coupling. Although this decreases the initial sensitivity of the sensor, a preferred embodiment of the invention is to realize the LG coils inside LM, without common area "interdigitated", as shown in Figure 11; Page 27 Line 23-33).
Regarding claim 6, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the acquisition chain comprises a computer (ECU) (A measuring circuit 7 connected to the terminals of the receiving coil processes the reception signal VR: the reception signal VR is amplified by at least one amplification stage 4 of gain gl, then is demodulated with a demodulator 5 synchronous with the excitation signal VE, then finally is filtered using a low-pass filter 6 defining the bandwidth of the sensor 1. The amplitude of the obtained VS output signal depends on the value of the absolute distance between the target surface of the coils and the sensor. Circuit 7 therefore makes it possible to determine the distance d between the sensor and the target. An analog computer and a set of offset and gain adjustments can improve the linearity of the distance measurement in order to directly obtain an output voltage VS which depends linearly on the distance d: VS = K d with K a linearity constant; Page 14 Line 4-13) configured to:
carry out a sampling of the first digital signal (Vaig) in order to extract the amplitude (A1) of the voltage at the terminals of the reception inductance (Lz);
calculate the deviation between the extracted amplitude (A1) and a predetermined reference amplitude (Ao). (For example, the amplitude of the signals recorded will be used. These different relationships were explained throughout the presentation. For ease of reading, they are included in this section. Y comes from (LM1-LM3), with a relation of proportionality (and non-linearities with strong Y). The coefficient of proportionality depends on X. Linearizations of the latter are possible by dividing for example by (LM1 + LM3) or other linear combinations. From this term (LM1-LM3) is subtracted k times θ .sub.y (described later) if this angular term is measured. The term k of geometric origin is not very variable with X.
Similarly, Z is proportional to (LM2-LM4).
X comes from LMc or the sum of all the sensors, for example LM1 + LM2 + LM3 + LM4 possibly supplemented by LMc1 + LMc2 + LMc3 + LMc4,. The relation is not linear, but can be more by transformations (inverse x gives 1 / x ...)
. θ .sub.y is from (+ LMCL LMc4) - (+ LMc2 LMc3). Similarly θ .sub.z comes from (LMc1 + LMc2) - (LMc3 + LMc4). The coefficient of proportionality also depends on X.
θ .sub.x comes from (LMgI-LMdI), or (LMgI-LMdI) + (LMg3-LMd3) (which is preferred to reduce the cross-sensitivities to Y or Z), or from (LMgI-LMdI) + (LMg2- LMd2) + (LMg3-LMd3) + (LMg4-LMg4). The relationship is linear. The coefficient of proportionality depends primarily on X. (LMgi + LMdi replaces LMi in the previous equations.)
These linear combinations therefore result in the first order of the sum or the subtraction possibly weighted by coefficients (as for the fifteenth embodiment of FIG. 27 for example). These combinations can be done directly at the electronic signals from the sensors, or after demodulation of the amplitudes (or phase) of the signals of the different sensors. In the latter case, the signals to be combined are analog values, or digital values resulting from an analog / digital conversion. Similarly, the linearization operations (for example division) can be done at different levels, analog before or after demodulation, or on digital signals; Page 32 Line 33-38 & Page 33 Line 1-20).
Regarding claim 8, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the acquisition chain comprises an amplifier circuit (AMP) mounted upstream of the analogue-digital converter (DAC) to amplify the voltage at the terminals of the reception inductance (Lz) (A measuring circuit 7 connected to the terminals of the receiving coil processes the reception signal VR: the reception signal VR is amplified by at least one amplification stage 4 of gain gl, then is demodulated with a demodulator 5 synchronous with the excitation signal VE, then finally is filtered using a low-pass filter 6 defining the bandwidth of the sensor 1. The amplitude of the obtained VS output signal depends on the value of the absolute distance between the target surface of the coils and the sensor. Circuit 7 therefore makes it possible to determine the distance d between the sensor and the target. An analog computer and a set of offset and gain adjustments can improve the linearity of the distance measurement in order to directly obtain an output voltage VS which depends linearly on the distance d: VS = K d with K a linearity constant; Page 14 Line 4-13; These combinations can be made directly at the level of the electronic signals coming from the sensors, or after demodulation of the amplitudes (or even phase) of the signals from the different sensors. In the latter case, the signals to be combined are analog values, or digital values resulting from an analog/digital conversion. Similarly, linearization operations (e.g. division) can be done at different levels, analog before or after demodulation, or on digital signals; Page 34 Line 15-20).
Regarding claim 9, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the magnetic coupling element (Fe) is an object made of a ferrite material in tT form or in half-torus form or in rod form or in sheet form (Figure 9 shows that the magnetic coupling element 2 is in sheet form).
Regarding claim 10, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the ferrite material is chosen such that the thermal sensitivity of the relative magnetic permeability (ur) of said material is less than 1%/°C (For metal targets, the conduction of eddy currents does not occur in the whole mass of the target but on a certain thickness. This phenomenon is called "skin effect". The thickness depends on the square root of the conductivity of the target, itself subject to a strong thermal drift (typically 3900 ppm / ° C - part per million per degree Celsius - for copper). The position of the thickness of the target opposing the field of the coil is therefore poorly defined and depends on the temperature. Similarly, the variation of the inductance of the target depends on the conductance of the target and therefore the temperature. Since the variation of the inductance of the coil is small compared to the nominal value of this impedance, this type of device has the defect of being very sensitive to the surrounding temperature. This type of device therefore needs to be coupled to a temperature measurement in order to be able to correct a measurement of the position of the target by measuring the inductance variation; Page 3 Line 26-33).
Regarding claim 11, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the emission inductance (L1) and the reception inductance (L2) are produced by coplanar metal tracks deposited on a printed circuit board (PCB) (The turns of each coil may be non-limiting circular, square or rectangular. The transmitting and receiving coils of a sensor can be made substantially in the same area. The coils can for example be made on different grooves of the same rigid structure. The coils can also be made by screen printing turns on a single layer or multilayer printed circuit, each coil can then be made on a different layer of circuit; Page 7 Line 1-5; Figure 10).
Regarding claim 12, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein each of the emission inductance (L1) and of the reception inductance (Lz) is produced by a coil wound around a solid rod (The turns of each coil may be non-limiting circular, square or rectangular. The transmitting and receiving coils of a sensor can be made substantially in the same area. The coils can for example be made on different grooves of the same rigid structure. The coils can also be made by screen printing turns on a single layer or multilayer printed circuit, each coil can then be made on a different layer of circuit; Page 7 Line 1-5; Figure 10; Page 13 Line 1-22; coil can be wound around a solid rod as the rigid structure).
Regarding claim 13, Eric teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the emission inductance (L1) is disposed alongside the reception inductance (Lz) or superposed on the reception inductance (L2) (A preferred arrangement of the coils makes it possible to obtain these conditions: the coils are arranged so that, when the target 2 is at the equilibrium distance, the two flows Ψl and Ψ2 are, as seen by the receiver coil R, of the same value but opposite signs (Ψl and Ψ2 equilibrate at the level of the coil R), that is to say that the flow seen by the receiver coil R is substantially zero. For this, the transmitting coils El, E2 and receiver R of the assembly are made substantially in the same plane 3. Each coil comprises several turns contained in the plane 3, of different diameters and substantially concentric. The emitting coils E1, E2 are connected in series with opposite directions of rotation of their turns. Thus, if the current IE traverses the first transmitting coil El in the plane 3 in one direction (clockwise in FIG. 1), the current IE travels the second transmitting coil E2 in the plane 3 in an opposite direction (counter-clockwise direction). in Figure 1). The first transmitting coil El surrounds the second transmitting coil E2 which surrounds the receiver coil R. Les. three coils El, E2, R are substantially concentric. In Figure 1, the coils El, B2 and R are shown circular, but they can also be for example square or rectangular. The coils are made on a multilayer printed circuit. The first transmitting coil El is formed in a layer of the circuit between a layer in which the second transmitting coil E2 is produced and a layer in which the receiver coil R. is produced. Alternatively, the receiver coil R could surround the second transmitter coil E2. Similarly, the receiver coil R could be made in a layer between the layer where the emitting coil El is produced and the layer in which the emitter coil E2 is produced; Page 13 Line 1-22).
Regarding claim 14, Eric in view of Goto teaches an inductive sensor (D1),
wherein the movable part comprises N magnetic coupling elements (Fei, Fez) mechanically secured to the proof body (CE) aligned in a row, with N an integer strictly greater than 1; and wherein the fixed part comprises N-1 intermediate magnetic coupling elements disposed between the emission inductance (L1) and the reception inductance (Lz) (How to perform excitation and measurement, in current or voltage mode? For a couple of two coils L1 and L2 in magnetic coupling, the relationship connecting currents and voltages is as follows: Ul = Llωj .il + M12.ωj.I2 U2 = M12.ωj. il + L2.ωj.i2; M12 being the mutual inductance between L1 and L2, UI being the voltage across L1 U2 being the voltage across L2, it being the flowing current L1 i2 being the flowing current L2 ω being the pulsation of the excitation signal U1, it is on L1. We could have written M21 in the second equation, but this term is exactly M12. We can then: - Apply a voltage on the coil 1, - Apply a current on the coil 1, - Measure a voltage on the coil 2; Page 32 Line 7-18; Eric discloses more than one magnetic coupling and therefore magnetic coupling N is more than one disposed between the emission inductance (L1) and the reception inductance (Lz)).
Claim(s) 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of Goto ‘666 B1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of ZINOBER SVEN (Hereinafter, “Zinober”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO2014005769A2 (Publication Date 2014-01-09).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Eric and Goto fails to teach an inductive sensor (D1), wherein the acquisition chain comprises a computer (ECU) configured to: extract the resonance frequency (f1) of the voltage at the terminals of the reception inductance (L2) from the first digital signal (Vaig). calculate the deviation between the extracted resonance frequency (fi) and a predetermined reference frequency (fo).
Zinober teaches an eddy current sensor and a method for measuring a force (DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION Line 3),
wherein the acquisition chain comprises a computer (ECU) configured to: extract the resonance frequency (f1) of the voltage at the terminals of the reception inductance (L2) from the first digital signal (Vaig). calculate the deviation between the extracted resonance frequency (fi) and a predetermined reference frequency (fo) (Series resonant circuit comprising a capacitance C, an inductance L (p) and a resonant circuit comprising: The resistance R. The inductance L (p) corresponds to the sensor coil from the eddy current sensor according to the approach presented here. The sensor coil changes its inductance value in response to a positional change Δp of the sensor surface. When the inductance is changed, the resonant circuit has a changed resonant frequency. In a frequency range above and below the frequency range of the two stages; Page 14 Line 7-11). The purpose of doing so is to adjust the characteristic quality of the sensor resonant circuit, to determine the impedance of the sensor coil, the resonant frequency of the sensor resonant circuit or the quality of the sensor
resonant circuit or any combination thereof using a suitable impedance, to evaluate an alternating current flowing through the sensor coil and to infer the distance between the sensor surface and the sensor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eric and Goto in view of Zinober, because Zinober teaches to extract the resonance frequency of the voltage at the terminals of the reception inductance adjusts the characteristic quality of the sensor resonant circuit, determines the impedance of the sensor coil, the resonant frequency of the sensor resonant circuit or the quality of the sensor resonant circuit or any combination thereof using a suitable impedance (Page 4), evaluates an alternating current flowing through the sensor coil and to infer the distance between the sensor surface and the sensor coil (Page 5).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Eric and Goto fails to teach a device for measuring weight or pressure comprising an inductive sensor (D1) as claimed in claim 1.
Zinober teaches an eddy current sensor and a method for measuring a force (DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION Line 3),
wherein a device for measuring weight or pressure comprising an inductive sensor (D1) (In other words, FIG. 1 shows an eddy current sensor 100 for detecting force, pressure or acceleration, for example in a MEMS design, i.e. in microsystem technology. The basic principle of the eddy current measurement method is based on the following principle; Page 11 Line 21-23). The purpose of doing so is to measure a force or a pressure, a counterpart to generate a defined resistance against the force or the pressure, to detect a deflection of the counterpart and to measure the force or force per area (pressure) , can be deduced via a spring constant or an equivalent material value, to deduce an applied acceleration via the deflection, the spring constant and a mass of the counterpart, to measure a deflection of a surface with respect to an emitter, for example an electrical coil (Page 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eric and Goto in view of Zinober, because Zinober teaches to include a device for measuring weight or pressure measures a force or a pressure, a counterpart to generate a defined resistance against the force or the pressure, detects a deflection of the counterpart and measures the force or force per area (pressure), can be deduced via a spring constant or an equivalent material value, deduces an applied acceleration via the deflection, the spring constant and a mass of the counterpart, measures a deflection of a surface with respect to an emitter, for example an electrical coil (Page 2).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eric ‘001 A2 in view of Goto ‘666B1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kawate et al. (Hereinafter, “Kawate”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020097042 A1.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Eric and Goto fails to teach an inductive sensor (D1), wherein the excitation signal (Vin) is a voltage ramp.
Kawate teaches non-contact position sensors and more particularly to such sensors which are digital pulse transformer position sensors (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the excitation signal (Vin) is a voltage ramp (Due to the inductance of the coil, grounding the capacitor produces an approximately linear current ramp resulting in a sustained signal to the sense input. A sample rate generator provides a signal x for turning on the transistor; Paragraph [0032] Line 7-14). The purpose of doing so is to provide a signal x for turning on the transistor allowing the capacitor to discharge producing the desired di/dt pulse as well as a signal for latching a sampled value in each sense circuit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Eric and Goto in view of Kawate, because Kawate teaches to include the excitation signal (Vin) as a voltage ramp provides a signal for turning on the transistor allowing the capacitor to discharge producing the desired di/dt pulse as well as a signal for latching a sampled value in each sense circuit (Paragraph [0032]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kirchdoerffer et al. (US 20050212510 A1) discloses, “Inductive Proximity Sensor- [0001] The present invention concerns the field of electromagnetic based detection and sensing, in particular in an industrial environment, and relates particularly to an inductive proximity sensor or switch. [0029] As shown in FIGS. 1, 2A and 2B, the inductive proximity sensor D comprises: [0030] an inductive coil L defining a front working plane of the sensor D and associated with a covering plate or a plane part of a housing, said plate or part being made of a non magnetic metal with low electrical conductivity, said plate or part being disposed perpendicularly to the coil axis and parallel to its front working plane, and thus forming part of the equivalent magnetic circuit, [0031] means C, S for supplying the coil or inductance repeatedly with current, [0032] means SP for processing signals which correspond to the voltages V induced in said coil or inductance L when fed, said induced voltages V being influenced by the presence of objects or bodies B within a given detection area, depending on their distance and on their constituting material(s), and said coil or inductance L being part of a parallel LC circuit. [0033] According to the invention, said supplying means consist basically of the capacity or capacitor C of the LC circuit. The LC circuit is repeatedly switched between two states, namely a first state in which the coil or inductance L is disconnected from the capacity C and said capacity C is charged and a second state in which the coil or inductance L is connected to the capacity C and said capacity C discharges through said coil or inductance L, the LC circuit being allowed to freely oscillate while in said second state and until the following change of state and the effective circuit parameters, and thus the oscillating voltage signal, being modified by the possible object(s) and/or body(ies) B located within the detection area, and in that a voltage signal amplitude measurement is performed at a certain predefined point of said oscillating voltage signal after each switching from the first to the second state and the result of said measurement is computed in connection with reference measurements in order to calculate the distance to the front working plane forming the active surface or end of the sensor D, the nature of the constituting material(s), and/or a mass indicative value of the object(s) or body(ies) B located within the detection area-However Kirchdoerffer does not disclose a magnetic coupling element (Fe) that is distinct from the proof body (CE), wherein the magnetic coupling element (FE) is mechanically secured to the proof body (CE) so as to follow the movement or deformation of the proof body (CE) in the first direction”.
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858